Customer Reviews for

Summerland

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Great book I read this already but it was so good i bought it again on my nook Only bad thing is that its very long but i think its worth it

posted by Anonymous on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boooooring

This book was really boring and hard to follow. It did'nt hold my attention past the second chapter.

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Good book

    Great book I read this already but it was so good i bought it again on my nook
    Only bad thing is that its very long but i think its worth it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A brand new twist to fairy tales

    Summerland is an amazing story filled with borrowed folklore concepts and history. The switching narratives and entwined story lines are just amazing- this is the kind of book you want to read and reread through your life. Each time you can find something else, some small joke or metaphor. Read the book- it's long but so worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    Summerland

    Four different universes, sprouting off from the same tree of life, each one connected in rare places, where baseball rules all. In the book Summerland, Michael Chabon creates a magical world, showing you there may be more to life than you think. Summerland is a world that can only be accessed by "Changelings", are creatures that are a cross between humans and another creature, like werefoxes, werewolves, etc. A certain spot on Clam Island is where the story begins, the home of Ethan Feld, is unlike the rest of the island. On the rest of the island it rains almost constantly, but this place is connected to the Summerlands by what is called a gall, a place where two branches of the tree of life cross. Because of this there is almost no rain and the weather is always perfect. There are even magical creatures called Ferishers only reveal themselves to those who already believe in them. In this amazing story Ethan Feld is the chosen one, but chosen for what? Even he himself is not sure. But will he be able to stop the evil Coyote's plan to destroy the entire universe? And not just ours, all four of them.

    Ethan Feld, is the main character of the story, and not exactly a baseball fanatic. Ethan tends to be unsure of himself, terrible at baseball, and he eventually becomes the catcher of the team (though usually put in right field). He is eleven years old. Jennifer T, on the other hand, is obsessed with baseball, she is a star pitcher and is determined to have their team win at least one game this year, as the story progresses Ethan and Jennifer become better friends. finding they have more in common than they thought. Thor is a tall kid, bigger than all of the people on his team, though he's not that great at baseball. Thor believes that he is a synthetic human, saying information is stored in his "database". Thor is confused, not acting human and yet it's impossible for him to be anything else, he is too tall to be a ferisher and he doesn't look like a changeling.

    Summerland is an amazing and magical book. This book kept me wanting more with its clever plot twists and the questions it made me ask. I recommend this book to anyone to anyone who enjoys fantasy. I liked this book because it turned baseball into a magical thing that shaped the universe, something more than a sport. I also liked it because it's filled with excitement and action with lots of baseball in-between. I'm sure you'll enjoy this book as much as I did, pick it up at your local bookstore TODAY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    Summerland review

    Summer-land<BR/>Michael Chabon<BR/>Hyperion Books<BR/>Realistic and fantasy<BR/><BR/> Have you ever wondered if there is another world that is full of magic, adventure, and baseball? In the book Summer-land, by Michael Chabon, you will go to another world and play baseball, have tons of adventures, and even see a little magic. Ethan Feld is taken into a magical place called the Middling. One day, he races home from his friend, Jennifer T's., house and sees that his father is captured. He has to go into the Middling with his friends and save his dad. On top of getting his dad back, he has to save the world from ending by the evil Coyote. Will Ethan save his dad and save the world?<BR/><BR/> If you look at Ethan Feld, you will see that he is an average kid like you and me. At the beginning of the book, Ethan does not like baseball because he couldn't hit or catch the ball. Then he decided to try being the catcher which ended up working out fine. Ethan is a static protagonist and a primary character of the story. He is on a mission to save his dad with the help of his friends, Jennifer T., Taffy, Thor, Grim the Giant, Spider-Rose, and Cinquefoil (secondary characters). Ethan's father, Mr. Bruce Feld, just like Ethan, is an average man and he loves to work on experiments. Once he starts an experiment, he can not stop working and he tells himself that since he is so close, he should finish the experiment. Mr. Feld is taken to the Winter-lands and has to do an experiment for Coyote. Mr. Feld, just like Ethan, is a static protagonist and primary character. Now Coyote, on the other hand, is a dynamic antagonist and primary character. Even though you may see Coyote as a man, you also may see him as some other human/animal form. He is a very mean, bossy, and rude person or thing and get this, he wants to end the world just because he does not like how it looks and how it is today.<BR/><BR/> Summer-land is a fascinating book to read and I recommend you to read it. When I first picked up the book, the cover caught my eye. Right there I said to myself that this book held lots of mysteries and adventures. I immediately picked it up, started reading, and couldn't stop. As I was reading along, I said to myself that there were a lot of mysteries and adventures. What surprised me was that sometimes I could not put the book down and do something else. I also found out that it was about a sport, baseball, and if you know me you know that I love sports. Plus, along the way of the characters journey, I met some new characters. Those people are pretty fascinating I would say. On a scale of 1-5, I would give this book a 5. I hope you read this book and like it as much as I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    A Good Read

    I believe that Summerland is a good read on a dull day. It's totally engrossing, although if you read Madeleine L'Engle's 'A Wrinkle in Time', you will see that it's plot is almost exactly the same as 'A Wrinkle in Time'. Overall, Summerland is very enlightening and opens new thoughts about the world. Wethere you like books or not, I'm pretty sure you'll like Summerland. Baseball fans will ¢¾ this book as well, since Summerland is about a boy, Ethan, and his friends Thor and Jennifer T. trying to save the world- and a few friends along the way by baseball.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    ugh

    Personally, I thought the book was terrible. The plot was boring and confusing with too many one-sided characters, and events that had absolutely no effect on the outcome of the story. I also enjoy baseball, and that did not change my ideas of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Boooooring

    This book was really boring and hard to follow. It did'nt hold my attention past the second chapter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    HORRIBLE

    I'm sorry, but this book wasn't that fun to read. I forced myself to read it for school, and that was a big mistake. It's not captivating, it's boring, and I FELL ASLEEP reading it! Please do not ad this to your collection.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    Move Over, Harry Potter, Ethan Feld is Here!

    Knowing little about baseball, I was initially hesitant to buy this novel, but, after reading the first page, I was hooked. The writing is flawless, the characters are engaging, and the story flows seemlessly. What a terrific hero tale this is, with its baseball playing fairies and its oracular clam! Run! Get yourself a copy and read it out loud to everyone you know!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Read the book

    i reallly think summerland is a great book. Michael Chabon did a great job on it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Havent read it yet

    Illreview on it when i get it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    Amanda Shepphard's Review

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Summerland by Michael Chabon
    Title of review:
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 3

    Introduction
    This book is about a magical place called Summerland where the local Little League gathers to play baseball. The ages for this book would be 13 through 18 years old.

    Description and summary of main points
    Michael Chabon is the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay. His other books include Wonder Boys and the Mysteries of Pittsburgh. He lives in Berkeley, California, with his novelist wife, Ayelet Waldman, and their four children.

    Evaluation
    Summerland is a magical place, where the local Little League gathers to play baseball on a perfectly manicured lawn, and the sun is always shining in a flawless blue sky. However, the small beings known as ferishers, who ensure this perfect weather, are threatened by an ancient enemy and need a hero- a baseball star, in fact-to vanquish their foe.


    Conclusion
    In conclusion this book is good for kids ages 13 trough 18 years old. And I thought it was a really good book and I would recommend it to anyone between the ages of 13 and 18. And if you get a chance to read this book you should because it is really great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    Summerland

    For my fantasy book that had to be chosen, I decided to read "Summerland". In this story an 11 year old boy named Ethan will use his strength and courage to not give up and let the world down. A lot of people are counting on he and his friends that he meets along the way to help save the world in 9 innings of a special game. This special game is just like a baseball game, except for the fact that your not always playing baseball. In a baseball game almost everyone wants to win. This is what it is like in the book. Coyote and his team want to end the world but Ethan and his team want to prevent that. The young boy, Ethan Feld, will learn to defeat monsters or creatures and save his father from the evil Coyote. To do this, Ethan has to learn to make a ship for him and his team. He will use this special ship to travel to different places. It will take a long time to travel to places like Diamond Green, for example and finally reach Winterland. Will Ethan Feld ever be able to save the world? In "Summerland", there are some positives and negatives. On the positive side I like how the book inspired me to help when things go wrong and it brings me into another world where I can think differently than our real world. Also, I like how the characters are inspirational and how the author made them so creative. What I don't enjoy about "Summerland" is that there are so many characters in this novel that it is hard to recognize or know them all. The author also makes it a bit confusing how many events take place at the same time and also how there are many confusing words or phrases. Finally, I didn't like how the book didn't always grab me and make me want to keep reading. That's why I wouldn't really recommend this book to someone like me. If you like adventures then you should try this book. The author's writing style in this novel is not always that clear to me and uses hard words with long, complex sentences. The author uses lots of details and senses, such as smell, see, or here. He also gives a looser, casual tone. Some other stories similar to "Summerland" are "The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay" and "Wonder Boys." This book is a very creative one and it makes you feel out of this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    SOOO AWESOME

    this book is sooo totaly awesome!! Michael chabon uses so much elaborating detail im writing a report on it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    A really good read!!

    Michael Chabon has a wonderful imagination. He makes you feel like you are in the story. You can relate to so many of the characters, they are all so life like. The book takes you in and out of different worlds. If you like magic and creatures that are very strange this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    An Enchanting Baseball tale

    Baseball is America¿s pastime and a game loved by many devoted fans. Ethan Feld is not one of those people. Every at-bat is another begging for a walk. His baseball obsessed father tries to encourage him but Ethan has no love for the game, or does he? One morning, Ethan wakes up to find a fox-like creature on his stomach. This ¿shadowtail¿ takes him to the Summerlands, one of the four worlds on the lodgepole, a tree that holds them all up. All of the creatures in these lands are obsessed with baseball, and they play as often as possible. Ethan brings along his two friends, Thor and Jennifer T. Jennifer has a true obsession for the game and can throw some heat on the ball. Thor is the unique one of the trio. He is always speaking in scientific terms and claims that he is from another planet. We soon find out that he is not human at all, but a changeling, a unique creature in the Summerlands. The nemesis, Coyote wants to destroy the universe and end life for all eternity, with the help of Ethan¿s captured father, Bruce Feld. Ethan and his friends Thor and Jennifer T. are the only ones that can stop his tormenting conquest and save his father. Michael Chabon brings a mature approach to a classic hero versus villain novel. I was brought into a world of mystical creatures and endless games of baseball. This book gave me a whole new look on baseball and how life progresses. The first 100 pages were a bit slow, but after that I became much more content. Soon conflicts arose that puzzled me, as well as fantasy theories that dazzled my brain. One theory that interests me is that the creatures can perform magic using ¿Grammers.¿ It is a kind of magic where they only use their brain to do it, and they don¿t have to say any silly enchantments. They use ¿Grammers to do everything from floating to keeping people bound to them for life. I would recommend this one for teens and adults who are young at heart. This is a terrific fantasy novel and is one of the best I have read. So pick up the bat, and have a ball with this fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    This was the best book I've ever read!

    This book was simply outstanding, and it isn't only for adults. I really love Chabon, and this was undoubtably the best of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Delightful!

    Michael Chabon recently dipped into genre (mystery, to be exact) with the less-than-stellar 'The Final Solution,' but this 2001 dive into children's literature produced one of the finest young adult novels in recent memory. What Chabon does so fantastically and with such a gleeful aplomb is write in the thematic and narrative style of Lewis Carroll and C.S. Lewis. This is not your typical, late-20th/early-21st century children's book. It's grammatically complex, dense, psychologically dark, and slow to its payoff (purposefully so, mind you). Chabon doesn't play ball, so to speak, and make this an easy to digest story - he plays it more maturely, and hence the general negativity directed at this book by a plethora of Chabon's fans. It's unconventional in this era of the simplicity of Harry Potter and Lemony Snicket. But, that is to say, horribly, delightfully welcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    wuts up with comparing everything to harry p.

    hey i havent even started this book but its on my bookshelf and as soon as im done with this im gonna go read it. ya but im not writing about the book, im writing this because i wanted to comment on the fact that everyone compares every single stupid book to harry potter. i admit hp is good but seriously... there are those stupid people out there who keep going oh theres a new harry potter or violet baudelaire is better than hermione or cornelia funke is the german jk rowling. well i just think that is TOTALLY stupid. harry p isnt that great, people reading this probably think im stupid but if u do this, seriously get a life....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Good... but wierd

    This is a good book, but it is just a bit odd. The whole thing about the sasquatch and the little people was bizarre, but this is a very well written story. Chabon's debut in children's literature was a bit overhyped, but the story is still engaging. Question: why does Chabon write about things like Baseball and comic books so much? Maybe he's just a nostalgic... whatever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3