Customer Reviews for

Summerland

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Great book I read this already but it was so good i bought it again on my nook Only bad thing is that its very long but i think its worth it

posted by Anonymous on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

ugh

Personally, I thought the book was terrible. The plot was boring and confusing with too many one-sided characters, and events that had absolutely no effect on the outcome of the story. I also enjoy baseball, and that did not change my ideas of the story.

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Good book

    Great book I read this already but it was so good i bought it again on my nook
    Only bad thing is that its very long but i think its worth it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    Summerland

    Four different universes, sprouting off from the same tree of life, each one connected in rare places, where baseball rules all. In the book Summerland, Michael Chabon creates a magical world, showing you there may be more to life than you think. Summerland is a world that can only be accessed by "Changelings", are creatures that are a cross between humans and another creature, like werefoxes, werewolves, etc. A certain spot on Clam Island is where the story begins, the home of Ethan Feld, is unlike the rest of the island. On the rest of the island it rains almost constantly, but this place is connected to the Summerlands by what is called a gall, a place where two branches of the tree of life cross. Because of this there is almost no rain and the weather is always perfect. There are even magical creatures called Ferishers only reveal themselves to those who already believe in them. In this amazing story Ethan Feld is the chosen one, but chosen for what? Even he himself is not sure. But will he be able to stop the evil Coyote's plan to destroy the entire universe? And not just ours, all four of them.

    Ethan Feld, is the main character of the story, and not exactly a baseball fanatic. Ethan tends to be unsure of himself, terrible at baseball, and he eventually becomes the catcher of the team (though usually put in right field). He is eleven years old. Jennifer T, on the other hand, is obsessed with baseball, she is a star pitcher and is determined to have their team win at least one game this year, as the story progresses Ethan and Jennifer become better friends. finding they have more in common than they thought. Thor is a tall kid, bigger than all of the people on his team, though he's not that great at baseball. Thor believes that he is a synthetic human, saying information is stored in his "database". Thor is confused, not acting human and yet it's impossible for him to be anything else, he is too tall to be a ferisher and he doesn't look like a changeling.

    Summerland is an amazing and magical book. This book kept me wanting more with its clever plot twists and the questions it made me ask. I recommend this book to anyone to anyone who enjoys fantasy. I liked this book because it turned baseball into a magical thing that shaped the universe, something more than a sport. I also liked it because it's filled with excitement and action with lots of baseball in-between. I'm sure you'll enjoy this book as much as I did, pick it up at your local bookstore TODAY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    A Good Read

    I believe that Summerland is a good read on a dull day. It's totally engrossing, although if you read Madeleine L'Engle's 'A Wrinkle in Time', you will see that it's plot is almost exactly the same as 'A Wrinkle in Time'. Overall, Summerland is very enlightening and opens new thoughts about the world. Wethere you like books or not, I'm pretty sure you'll like Summerland. Baseball fans will ¢¾ this book as well, since Summerland is about a boy, Ethan, and his friends Thor and Jennifer T. trying to save the world- and a few friends along the way by baseball.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    Amanda Shepphard's Review

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Summerland by Michael Chabon
    Title of review:
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 3

    Introduction
    This book is about a magical place called Summerland where the local Little League gathers to play baseball. The ages for this book would be 13 through 18 years old.

    Description and summary of main points
    Michael Chabon is the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay. His other books include Wonder Boys and the Mysteries of Pittsburgh. He lives in Berkeley, California, with his novelist wife, Ayelet Waldman, and their four children.

    Evaluation
    Summerland is a magical place, where the local Little League gathers to play baseball on a perfectly manicured lawn, and the sun is always shining in a flawless blue sky. However, the small beings known as ferishers, who ensure this perfect weather, are threatened by an ancient enemy and need a hero- a baseball star, in fact-to vanquish their foe.


    Conclusion
    In conclusion this book is good for kids ages 13 trough 18 years old. And I thought it was a really good book and I would recommend it to anyone between the ages of 13 and 18. And if you get a chance to read this book you should because it is really great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Delightful!

    Michael Chabon recently dipped into genre (mystery, to be exact) with the less-than-stellar 'The Final Solution,' but this 2001 dive into children's literature produced one of the finest young adult novels in recent memory. What Chabon does so fantastically and with such a gleeful aplomb is write in the thematic and narrative style of Lewis Carroll and C.S. Lewis. This is not your typical, late-20th/early-21st century children's book. It's grammatically complex, dense, psychologically dark, and slow to its payoff (purposefully so, mind you). Chabon doesn't play ball, so to speak, and make this an easy to digest story - he plays it more maturely, and hence the general negativity directed at this book by a plethora of Chabon's fans. It's unconventional in this era of the simplicity of Harry Potter and Lemony Snicket. But, that is to say, horribly, delightfully welcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Good... but wierd

    This is a good book, but it is just a bit odd. The whole thing about the sasquatch and the little people was bizarre, but this is a very well written story. Chabon's debut in children's literature was a bit overhyped, but the story is still engaging. Question: why does Chabon write about things like Baseball and comic books so much? Maybe he's just a nostalgic... whatever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    Summerland

    Summmerland, with all of the hype it has attracted, has been fairly dissapointing.It remains, however, a good piece of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    Almost as good as King Fortis the Brave and Harry Potter

    This is a pretty good book, and if you love baseball you will probably think it is great. The main flaw that I found was that it was a very male-oriented book. Unlike King Fortis the Brave which has two very strong female characters (Aimee and Gillian) and Harry Potter who has Hermione, Summerland was a male-dominated book with female characters that were flat and one-dimensional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Outrageous

    This book was fantastic. A good read. Put it on your "I MUST READ" list for 2003.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Pretety good

    This is an okay book. It's better than a lot of other books! The reader is immersed in culture, myth and fantasy! It is the story that'll get you more than anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    Almost Perfect

    I'm a huge Harry Potter fan -- and a huge Kavalier and Clay fan. But I don't really care for baseball -- at least in that "what a great metaphor for life" way. So here's the truth: Chabon has almost done it -- it's a three-run homer, not a grand slam. Summerland gets off to a great, great start. And it has a great, surprisingly amusing finish (just as we're in the bottom of the ninth inning!) But he could have loped off a 100 pages, or stopped himself from overexplaining everything in his fantastic new world. Ironically, the one weakness of Summerland just points out what story-telling genius goes on in the set up of Harry Potter books: because Harry's in school and was rasied a muggle, all the explanations and expositions are seamlessly weaved into the story. When Harry learns something, so do we. It doesn't seem forced. Anyway, Chabon's book is missing that clever structure, but it's a small blemish on what is essentially a terrific book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1