Customer Reviews for

Summer's Crossing

Average Rating 4
( 1155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(473)

4 Star

(277)

3 Star

(198)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(121)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

You would have to read the other books in the series to understand the begining, since this is just a fun little spin-off. Once you get to the 10th page, the story is easy to follow and easy to understand. It is a fun little stodry that isn't too short, but it isn't rea...
You would have to read the other books in the series to understand the begining, since this is just a fun little spin-off. Once you get to the 10th page, the story is easy to follow and easy to understand. It is a fun little stodry that isn't too short, but it isn't really long either. The book is only 54 pages and is ideal for when you have some down time to spare.

posted by 10810719 on August 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Fun twist on old characters!

This Harlequin Teen short story was a fun twist on the famous characters from "A Midsummer Night's Dream". I am interested in reading more complete stores.

posted by tamlaw on June 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    A for effort.

    I read this as my intro to the series. The concept was intriging, the ploy wasnt too bad, I like I stumbled upon the charcters and just started rolling with them. This I liked, a great formula for a short story.

    From the POV of Puck, Ash was somewhat of vague discription, and I felt he was only a surface character. I enjoyed Puck, his humor, cleaverness, intelligence and that he was relateable.

    However, from the first page I questioned the authors ability to transform readers to another world. Fey, having their own existence and culture, I would imagine, would not need to reference human pop culture and slang. They are supposed to be very old yet that connection was never reenforced.

    All in all I was a bit disappointed and will not continue on with the series based on the above and reviews regarding the novels. I will search for a simiular concept, just much better written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    It's not that bad IT's not that bad

    Ok

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Okay, but hard to pick up after reading the first books in the series.

    I've read all of the books in the Iron Fey series and have loved them. I was really pulling for Puck, but got over it eventually. This 'book' a novella between books was okay, nothing spectacular. The main reason why I'm giving it a lower score is because the first few books and novellas were from Meghan's point of view. I thought it was very tough to transition from the Iron Queen where' I' meant Meghan to Summer's Crossing where' I' meant Puck. My advice: take a breather between so you don't get confused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended for Fans of the Iron Fey Series!

    This short story is between two of the main books in the series. It is enough to keep the fans interested in the series. Very well written and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Questionable?

    Ok if you just want something to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    August 15 2012

    Definately a fun quick read for younger teens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    good book

    Aubu1964
    I started this novel on Sunday July 1st, 2012.
    I enjoyed this novel but they had weird characters names. It was about Spring going into summer. But it had have names like Meghan and Ash those are at least common names of people. Meghan sobs is she mourned her winter prince because he had passed away. She had know him for a long time. I enjoyed this novel. ShelleyMA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    PEOPLE, HONESTLY??????

    STOP USING THIS AS A WAY TO COMMUNICATE!!!!!!! This is not facebook. Go to facebook or myspace or whatever if you want to chat with your friends. Or *gasp* e-mail them! I just wanted a review on the book, not to listen to you people talk with each-other! Plz stop!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Ok book... jk pretty good book

    Pretty good book. So if ur looking for a good short book... get this one. I finished it really fast

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    easy reading

    just a so-so series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Highly recommend!!

    After reading summers crossing it took me no time to go read the Iron King and i am waiting for the rest of Julie's books to come in .Must Read.Didn't put the book down untill it was finished and I wanted more.Looking into Winters Passage now!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Fast moving

    Good scifi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    LOOK HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVED the plot but there was some rather questionable language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Three stars

    This book was ok. I liked the ending, but it was slow getting started. But it was free so thats a plus. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Okay

    Okay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    fair

    it,s a interesting book when you have a slow day the stort line will keep you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    Entertaining story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Good

    From what ive read its a pretty good book but maybe the more i read it the better ill like it. : )

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Confusing

    Idont know if there is book begore his book but the beginning isvery confusing and i couldnget past the first 5pagest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    too short

    would have loved for there to be more of this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10