Customer Reviews for

The Summoner (Chronicles of the Necromancer Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 408 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

enthralling tale

This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured ...
This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured my attention. Reminded me of well written historical fiction. The story is so well developed and told in such a page turning way that it takes on the authority of history. Definitely a must read for anyone interested in fantasy or looking for an enthralling tale.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It was so-so

I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would...
I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would fluctuate between being different and interesting to all sounding the same. This story had a lot of potiental but I think it could of been pulled off better. It wasn't so horrible that I won't give this Author a second chance but as for this particular book...I'd like to see what else she comes up with.

posted by Enma on December 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 410 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    enthralling tale

    This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured my attention. Reminded me of well written historical fiction. The story is so well developed and told in such a page turning way that it takes on the authority of history. Definitely a must read for anyone interested in fantasy or looking for an enthralling tale.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was so-so

    I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would fluctuate between being different and interesting to all sounding the same. This story had a lot of potiental but I think it could of been pulled off better. It wasn't so horrible that I won't give this Author a second chance but as for this particular book...I'd like to see what else she comes up with.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    A Fun Fantasy Adventure

    To the lengthy bad review, I must write a protest. The first 5 pages this book had me smiling and looking forward to a thoroughly fun and entertaining read. Being a geek, it felt like I had been thrown into the midst of a Dungeons & Dragons adventure. No, the characters and plotline are not epic or laced with greater truths, but the story is well written. I never felt bogged down by unnecessary words or awkward interactions. I flew through the story with a smile on my face, enjoying every moment of this book. The characters were well described and individualized enough that I could see them clearly without lengthy descriptive passages. The plotline was engaging without being overwhelming. The world was comfortable and well-crafted. And overall the adventure was so much fun to read. Yes, there are dark moments and dangerous situations these are balanced by the way the author makes you feel as if you are part of the adventure. If you are heavy into books that make you work for every page, you may not like this one. But, if you are in the mood to have great fun for a few hours with a good old-fashioned fantasy novel, I highly recommend this one. I read it in a day, and if the bookstore wasn't already closed, I'd be reading the second one in the series already!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Just ok

    3 stars means I wouldn't recommend to a friend but I wouldn't discourage someone from reading it either.

    I felt like the story was told to me rather than living the story through the characters. A fast fun read but nothing notable.

    Clean book with no swearing that I noticed and no sex.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fans will appreciate the opening of the Chronicles of the Necromancer

    Heir to the throne of Margolan, Prince Jared chooses to no longer wait for his father King Bricen to die. He and his mage Foor Arontala assassinate the monarch and the rest of the royal family except one. Warned by a ghost to beware of treachery, Jared¿s half-brother Martris ¿Tris¿ Drayke flees his home. He is accompanied by Captain of the Guard Soterius, the Court Bard Carroway, and the royal guard assigned to the younger prince Harrtuck.<BR/><BR/>The quartet needs time and allies; as they know Jared and Arontala will hunt them down like rabid dogs. Time is not available as Jared goes after the only living threat to his iron clad rule and allies are not forthcoming at least amongst the living as few are willing to risk their lives in what looks like a lost cause. Feeling he is the SUMMONER heir to his late grandmother, the greatest sorceress ever known, Tris seeks supporters from the ghosts of the dead. <BR/><BR/>At the same Tris struggles to survive, Jared tightens his control over Margolan and turns to the neighboring Isencroft whose ruler is dying from a spell and whose crops failed from what also looks like dark magic. He demands Princess Kiara Sharsequin marry him or else. Buying time that is running out, Kiara travels to the Sisterhood praying they can save her father and her people; if they cannot she knows her duty is to her people.<BR/><BR/>This is an exciting opening fantasy thriller with an intriguing premise of a good guy raising an army of the dead. The story line is fast-paced while following the exploits of the beleaguered hero and heroine and the two nasty villains yet allows the audience to understand the people and cultures of the two kingdoms. Although an ¿outside¿ force the ¿Lady¿ who is not fully explained or developed¿ slows down the action with intervention at perilous moments, fans will appreciate the opening of the Chronicles of the Necromancer.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    PASSABKE Passable

    While I didn't find this book to be amazing, it was certainly readable. The story sounds great, right? A guy on the run with the power to summon the dead? Awesome! Right? Not so much. In reality, the characters are one dimensional stereotypes, with no background or past whatsoever. Additionaly, the author is extremely poor at showing character's feelings and emotions. Tris, the main character, loses his beloved sister right away in the book. He's so sad the author tells us. He can hardly go on with his life; the pain is too great. Why then, is he perfectly alright three days later?
    This book falls sadly short of its potential, due largely in part to its lack of character development, but also its childish predictibility and vocabulary. Stories are supposed to be exciting! Adventures are supposed to be full of uncertainty and suspense! This novel fails to deliver on both prerequisites. At no point did I find myself wondering about the character's future. My pulse never quickened with anticipation. In fact, it almost feels like another person is telling you a story; you never quite get the full experience.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Why reinvent the wheel when all you need is a better tire?

    As the title implies, this is a fantasy novel taking place in a rather feudal time on another world. Personally I loved the novel. The characters were properly developed as necessary, however to fully grasp them you must read at least up to the next novel (The Blood King). There are a number of side characters, all of whom are vividly dynamic throughout both books, and so the book does switch perspectives. Also, the author adds a concept of religion in this series. The Lady (who has four faces and eight personas) is a rather unique and well researched creation by the author. The lavish history behind these novels is introduced properly, and slowly developed throughout (none of that "Oh well yeah it's history so I'm just going to tell you or give you a cheat sheet with all the info on it" crap. A page turner and as I see it a must read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Picked up the book on a whim a couple of years ago, and it does

    Picked up the book on a whim a couple of years ago, and it does not dissapoint. The feel of this series is along the lines of the legend of drizzt series, though more magically involved.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I picked this up while waiting for the next Brent Weeks book to come out and I must say disappointed may not even be the appropriate word. I barely made it through half the book before I had to stop. There was little to no depth to any of the characters, the plot is beyond predictable, and if I wanted to have my vocabulary insulted I would've picked up Sesame Street. Maybe I'm biased because Mr. Weeks has such a detailed and deep style, but this just didn't live up to it's potential. Great concept, awful execution.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Pretty good epic fantasy with

    Some really original elements to it. The ghosts and the concwpt behind a summoner for one but there are other things that i like as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    Incredibly Bad Fantasy

    This is hands down one of the worst written fantasy books I have ever read. There are a sparse couple spots where characters feel alive and interesting, but the majority of the time they are the same or go off character on some issue (like the character Vahanian, an untrusting rogue, immediately trusting the newcomer vampire that he has never met and who has just delivered a very cryptic message). The plot is loosely thrown together. And instead of writing a genuine challenge for the characters, the author decides to throw easy fixes at them. For example, trying to find the lost Great Library that will hold all your answers to defeat the baddies, instead of a long troublesome search, they are handed a map.

    I feel more than a little ripped off at this purchase. Overall, it felt like someone threw together a story that they had role played. I only gave it one star cause they didn't have half of a star.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    Don't Buy Until the Whole Book is Available

    I am unable to give a complete review of this book, because the copy I downloaded started in the middle of Chapter 9. How about some quality control, B&N?

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Not good enough to move on to the second book

    Well, I made it through this book which means it can¿t be all that bad. Though it is a bit of a disappointment and I will not be moving on to the next book in the series. For the positives, the setting is great. As a reader you can really get the feel of the world and the winter kingdoms. Martin does a great job of combining the world of the living and the dead into a setting that is believable. Not an easy thing to do I think. The characters are pretty good as well, despite the sometimes tacky dialogue. I appreciated the fast pace as well. Many fantasy authors get caught up describing every detail and every bit of a travel or waiting time that the characters go through. Martin does a pretty good job of keeping things moving along. Where this book falls apart is in the dressed up fairy tale characteristics that it takes on. I realize this is fantasy, but just as an adult knows that nothing bad is going to happen to sleeping beauty and prince charming, we also know that there is going to be some magic talisman or newly found magic or fantastic creature that will come and save the day. Now, this isn¿t an insult to fairly tales, because they have their place. It is just when an author tries to make a fairly tale for adults when things fall apart, and it comes off as a bit pretentious. It seems like every main character has to have emerald or strikingly blue eyes or something striking about their eyes. All the main characters have to be breathtakingly beautiful or roguishly handsome. It gets old real fast. It got old after the first few chapters. Within this book there were two budding romantic relationships. One of them was built up slowly and was done well. The other is very forced and awkward writing. This book isn¿t a total loss, but I can¿t give it more than two stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Weak

    Terrible knockoff of better books in the genre. Broad, archetypical characters with bland dialogue and blundering attempts at romance. This book was really quite awful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Meh

    If you find this on your own and are interested, by all means read it. If, however you find it like I did, based on your interest in books by Robert Jordan, Brandon Sanderson, Patrick Rothfuss, or George R.R. Martin then don't expect it to be the same caliber, it is not.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Really good read

    It was slow at begining ,but it gets better. I recedmendate.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Not a bad read

    Started off a bit slow, but soon I found that I really like this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Amazing!!!!

    Im only 14 so it was hard to understand some words but after reading this book and looking up the words i have done so much better on spelling tests. Great plot with great characters and their personalitys. Cant wait to read the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for fantasy lovers

    This is a very good epic/fantasy book. I know firsthand how hard it is to find a serious well written fantasy book, and I must say this is one of the best fantasy novels I have read recently. Characters are very well developed, it is fast paced, and even though the plot is cliche, it keeps you engaged the whole time. Will the story stay with you the rest of your life? Probably not, but it is a great story and I strongly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very very good

    The book was great. The writer developes the characters well, even the minor ones, and makes them come to life. The sotryline itself is not very original but the telling of the story, the plot twists, and characters make that acceptable. There is enough detail to immerse you in the story and bring the world to life but not too much that the book is hard to read. Definetly a good one, I bought the next two also and loved them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 410 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21