Customer Reviews for

The Summoner (Chronicles of the Necromancer Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 408 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

enthralling tale

This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured ...
This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured my attention. Reminded me of well written historical fiction. The story is so well developed and told in such a page turning way that it takes on the authority of history. Definitely a must read for anyone interested in fantasy or looking for an enthralling tale.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It was so-so

I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would...
I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would fluctuate between being different and interesting to all sounding the same. This story had a lot of potiental but I think it could of been pulled off better. It wasn't so horrible that I won't give this Author a second chance but as for this particular book...I'd like to see what else she comes up with.

posted by Enma on December 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    Incredibly Bad Fantasy

    This is hands down one of the worst written fantasy books I have ever read. There are a sparse couple spots where characters feel alive and interesting, but the majority of the time they are the same or go off character on some issue (like the character Vahanian, an untrusting rogue, immediately trusting the newcomer vampire that he has never met and who has just delivered a very cryptic message). The plot is loosely thrown together. And instead of writing a genuine challenge for the characters, the author decides to throw easy fixes at them. For example, trying to find the lost Great Library that will hold all your answers to defeat the baddies, instead of a long troublesome search, they are handed a map.

    I feel more than a little ripped off at this purchase. Overall, it felt like someone threw together a story that they had role played. I only gave it one star cause they didn't have half of a star.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Not good enough to move on to the second book

    Well, I made it through this book which means it can¿t be all that bad. Though it is a bit of a disappointment and I will not be moving on to the next book in the series. For the positives, the setting is great. As a reader you can really get the feel of the world and the winter kingdoms. Martin does a great job of combining the world of the living and the dead into a setting that is believable. Not an easy thing to do I think. The characters are pretty good as well, despite the sometimes tacky dialogue. I appreciated the fast pace as well. Many fantasy authors get caught up describing every detail and every bit of a travel or waiting time that the characters go through. Martin does a pretty good job of keeping things moving along. Where this book falls apart is in the dressed up fairy tale characteristics that it takes on. I realize this is fantasy, but just as an adult knows that nothing bad is going to happen to sleeping beauty and prince charming, we also know that there is going to be some magic talisman or newly found magic or fantastic creature that will come and save the day. Now, this isn¿t an insult to fairly tales, because they have their place. It is just when an author tries to make a fairly tale for adults when things fall apart, and it comes off as a bit pretentious. It seems like every main character has to have emerald or strikingly blue eyes or something striking about their eyes. All the main characters have to be breathtakingly beautiful or roguishly handsome. It gets old real fast. It got old after the first few chapters. Within this book there were two budding romantic relationships. One of them was built up slowly and was done well. The other is very forced and awkward writing. This book isn¿t a total loss, but I can¿t give it more than two stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Weak

    Terrible knockoff of better books in the genre. Broad, archetypical characters with bland dialogue and blundering attempts at romance. This book was really quite awful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    BELOW TO AVERAGE FANTASY BOOK

    ON THE WHOLE I WOULDN'T SAY THIS WAS A BAD NOVEL, I PICKED IT UP MORE OUT OF CURIOSITY THAN ANYTHING. I'M MORE INTO SCI FI THAN FANTASY, BUT GAIL SEEMS TO DRAWL TO HEAVILY ON OTHER SOURCES LIKE STAR WARS, LORD OF THE RINGS, HARRY POTTER, THE LATEST CRAZE WITH VAMPIRES, AND IT REALY SHOWS. HER WRITING SEEMS VERY AMATURISH, THIS MUST BE HER FIRST NOVEL I ASSUME, AND LIKE THE ONE REVIEWER SAID THE DIALOUGE SEEMS STUNTED, NOT TO MENTION WHOEVER EDDITED AND PUT THIS TOGETHER DIDN'T DO THAT GREAT A JOB EITHER.<BR/><BR/>LIKE I SAID I DIDN'T TOTALY DISLIKE IT, I FOUND IT TO BE A QUICK READ, READ IT IN ABOUT A WEEK. I WILL AT LEAST READ THE NEXT BOOK, BUT IF IT DOSENT GET ANY BETTER THAN THE FIRST THEN I WON'T READ THE OTHERS.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1