Customer Reviews for

The Summoner (Chronicles of the Necromancer Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

enthralling tale

This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured ...
This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured my attention. Reminded me of well written historical fiction. The story is so well developed and told in such a page turning way that it takes on the authority of history. Definitely a must read for anyone interested in fantasy or looking for an enthralling tale.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It was so-so

I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would...
I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would fluctuate between being different and interesting to all sounding the same. This story had a lot of potiental but I think it could of been pulled off better. It wasn't so horrible that I won't give this Author a second chance but as for this particular book...I'd like to see what else she comes up with.

posted by Enma on December 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was so-so

    I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would fluctuate between being different and interesting to all sounding the same. This story had a lot of potiental but I think it could of been pulled off better. It wasn't so horrible that I won't give this Author a second chance but as for this particular book...I'd like to see what else she comes up with.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I picked this up while waiting for the next Brent Weeks book to come out and I must say disappointed may not even be the appropriate word. I barely made it through half the book before I had to stop. There was little to no depth to any of the characters, the plot is beyond predictable, and if I wanted to have my vocabulary insulted I would've picked up Sesame Street. Maybe I'm biased because Mr. Weeks has such a detailed and deep style, but this just didn't live up to it's potential. Great concept, awful execution.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    Don't Buy Until the Whole Book is Available

    I am unable to give a complete review of this book, because the copy I downloaded started in the middle of Chapter 9. How about some quality control, B&N?

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Meh

    If you find this on your own and are interested, by all means read it. If, however you find it like I did, based on your interest in books by Robert Jordan, Brandon Sanderson, Patrick Rothfuss, or George R.R. Martin then don't expect it to be the same caliber, it is not.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    So basic

    The book follows the fantasy framework set down from generation of authors. The band of unlikely hero's
    Sets off to acomplish the impossible and prevails. Not good read as its to predictable and basic. Maybe good for a 12-13 year old but not a great fantas epic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Level Up

    Did I enjoy reading the book? Most of the time. This feels like YA writing though. Every genre cliche is marched out proudly with nearly no unique spin. The pacing is fast most of the time, but jerky even at that. Readers will find that they have created better characters playing Dungeons and Dragons or video games. The political and economic realities of this fantasy world are simplistic to the point of being dimissive. I liked the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Cover art is the best part

    Abysmal writing. Flat characters, formulaic plot, halfhearted world-building. Only a matter of time till the movie adaptation comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Fairytale fantasy

    This book was promising form the outset. From the summary on the back of the book I assumed that the main character would be, at the least, semi-dark. Ofcourse assumptions are made to be broken but I didn't expect the book to be so dissapointing. The book gives the impression that everything will be all right while the key to a good fantasy and any action at all is doubt and suspense. This book is like a fairytale, an amusing read but not nearly scintillating. Oh, and changing your main character's eye color half way through the book is NOT advised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2