Customer Reviews for

The Summoner (Chronicles of the Necromancer Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 408 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

enthralling tale

This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured ...
This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured my attention. Reminded me of well written historical fiction. The story is so well developed and told in such a page turning way that it takes on the authority of history. Definitely a must read for anyone interested in fantasy or looking for an enthralling tale.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It was so-so

I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would...
I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would fluctuate between being different and interesting to all sounding the same. This story had a lot of potiental but I think it could of been pulled off better. It wasn't so horrible that I won't give this Author a second chance but as for this particular book...I'd like to see what else she comes up with.

posted by Enma on December 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Just ok

    3 stars means I wouldn't recommend to a friend but I wouldn't discourage someone from reading it either.

    I felt like the story was told to me rather than living the story through the characters. A fast fun read but nothing notable.

    Clean book with no swearing that I noticed and no sex.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    PASSABKE Passable

    While I didn't find this book to be amazing, it was certainly readable. The story sounds great, right? A guy on the run with the power to summon the dead? Awesome! Right? Not so much. In reality, the characters are one dimensional stereotypes, with no background or past whatsoever. Additionaly, the author is extremely poor at showing character's feelings and emotions. Tris, the main character, loses his beloved sister right away in the book. He's so sad the author tells us. He can hardly go on with his life; the pain is too great. Why then, is he perfectly alright three days later?
    This book falls sadly short of its potential, due largely in part to its lack of character development, but also its childish predictibility and vocabulary. Stories are supposed to be exciting! Adventures are supposed to be full of uncertainty and suspense! This novel fails to deliver on both prerequisites. At no point did I find myself wondering about the character's future. My pulse never quickened with anticipation. In fact, it almost feels like another person is telling you a story; you never quite get the full experience.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Is okay

    The story keeps me reading, the characters do not. Personalities lack reliable qualities. Example: In battle so & so hangs back while other guy steps forward with bravado, complete with explanations for these personal choices that begin to make said characters have dimension, but then in another battle it will be the opposite.
    Still the adventure itself is pretty good and I am likely to read the next in series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Liked It/It Was Okay

    I liked this book because the necromancer is the good guy. Normally they're the unkillable zombie villain. Along with the vayash moru, vampires, it's a good and creative change from the many fantasy novels I've read. Tris is happily satisfied that he will not be king, however when his evil brother Jared murders their entire family, Tris finds that he is the successor to the great sorceress Bava K'aa. He is remembering his training, and as a Summoner, him and his troop of highly-skilled swordsmen journey to defeat The Obsidian King. The interesting bits come with learning about the feared and most powerful mage, The Obsidian King, the details of the Mage Wars, the history of Tris's grandmother Bava K'aa, and the intentions of the creepy Foor Arontala. I'm looking forward to Tris's confrontation against The Obsidian King and Arontala.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Liked It/It Was Okay

    I liked this book because the necromancer is the good guy. Normally they're the unkillable zombie villain. Along with the vayash moru, vampires, it's a good and creative change from the many fantasy novels I've read. Tris is happily satisfied that he will not be king, however when his evil brother Jared murders their entire family, Tris finds that he is the successor to the great sorceress Bava K'aa. He is remembering his training, and as a Summoner, him and his troop of highly-skilled swordsmen journey to defeat The Obsidian King. The interesting bits come with learning about the feared and most powerful mage, The Obsidian King, the details of the Mage Wars, the history of Tris's grandmother Bava K'aa, and the intentions of the creepy Foor Arontala. I'm looking forward to Tris's confrontation against The Obsidian King and Arontala.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good triumphs over evil again!

    This is a good book and well written. It kept me captive until the end. The only con that I have is that the ending is so open that it all but requires you to read the next book in the series. I recommend this book, unless you're not interested in reading the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mediocre

    All in all, a mediocre book. Bad character introduction and the pet of one of the characters is evidently a creature that only exists on DeviantArt, but a good plot overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4