Customer Reviews for

The Summoner (Chronicles of the Necromancer Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 408 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

enthralling tale

This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured ...
This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured my attention. Reminded me of well written historical fiction. The story is so well developed and told in such a page turning way that it takes on the authority of history. Definitely a must read for anyone interested in fantasy or looking for an enthralling tale.

posted by Anonymous on February 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

It was so-so

I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would...
I only got through half of the book before throwing it down. I liked the story idea and the writing style was good but over all its mediocre at best. The majority of it was predictable and there's only so many times you can get hurt in the shoulder. The characters would fluctuate between being different and interesting to all sounding the same. This story had a lot of potiental but I think it could of been pulled off better. It wasn't so horrible that I won't give this Author a second chance but as for this particular book...I'd like to see what else she comes up with.

posted by Enma on December 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    enthralling tale

    This book has a great start, but gets even better as you go. The characters are well developed and the story is captivating. The author breathes new life into traditional 'bad' actors. My normal genre choice is historical fiction, but this selection really captured my attention. Reminded me of well written historical fiction. The story is so well developed and told in such a page turning way that it takes on the authority of history. Definitely a must read for anyone interested in fantasy or looking for an enthralling tale.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fans will appreciate the opening of the Chronicles of the Necromancer

    Heir to the throne of Margolan, Prince Jared chooses to no longer wait for his father King Bricen to die. He and his mage Foor Arontala assassinate the monarch and the rest of the royal family except one. Warned by a ghost to beware of treachery, Jared¿s half-brother Martris ¿Tris¿ Drayke flees his home. He is accompanied by Captain of the Guard Soterius, the Court Bard Carroway, and the royal guard assigned to the younger prince Harrtuck.<BR/><BR/>The quartet needs time and allies; as they know Jared and Arontala will hunt them down like rabid dogs. Time is not available as Jared goes after the only living threat to his iron clad rule and allies are not forthcoming at least amongst the living as few are willing to risk their lives in what looks like a lost cause. Feeling he is the SUMMONER heir to his late grandmother, the greatest sorceress ever known, Tris seeks supporters from the ghosts of the dead. <BR/><BR/>At the same Tris struggles to survive, Jared tightens his control over Margolan and turns to the neighboring Isencroft whose ruler is dying from a spell and whose crops failed from what also looks like dark magic. He demands Princess Kiara Sharsequin marry him or else. Buying time that is running out, Kiara travels to the Sisterhood praying they can save her father and her people; if they cannot she knows her duty is to her people.<BR/><BR/>This is an exciting opening fantasy thriller with an intriguing premise of a good guy raising an army of the dead. The story line is fast-paced while following the exploits of the beleaguered hero and heroine and the two nasty villains yet allows the audience to understand the people and cultures of the two kingdoms. Although an ¿outside¿ force the ¿Lady¿ who is not fully explained or developed¿ slows down the action with intervention at perilous moments, fans will appreciate the opening of the Chronicles of the Necromancer.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Why reinvent the wheel when all you need is a better tire?

    As the title implies, this is a fantasy novel taking place in a rather feudal time on another world. Personally I loved the novel. The characters were properly developed as necessary, however to fully grasp them you must read at least up to the next novel (The Blood King). There are a number of side characters, all of whom are vividly dynamic throughout both books, and so the book does switch perspectives. Also, the author adds a concept of religion in this series. The Lady (who has four faces and eight personas) is a rather unique and well researched creation by the author. The lavish history behind these novels is introduced properly, and slowly developed throughout (none of that "Oh well yeah it's history so I'm just going to tell you or give you a cheat sheet with all the info on it" crap. A page turner and as I see it a must read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Picked up the book on a whim a couple of years ago, and it does

    Picked up the book on a whim a couple of years ago, and it does not dissapoint. The feel of this series is along the lines of the legend of drizzt series, though more magically involved.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Really good read

    It was slow at begining ,but it gets better. I recedmendate.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Amazing!!!!

    Im only 14 so it was hard to understand some words but after reading this book and looking up the words i have done so much better on spelling tests. Great plot with great characters and their personalitys. Cant wait to read the rest of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for fantasy lovers

    This is a very good epic/fantasy book. I know firsthand how hard it is to find a serious well written fantasy book, and I must say this is one of the best fantasy novels I have read recently. Characters are very well developed, it is fast paced, and even though the plot is cliche, it keeps you engaged the whole time. Will the story stay with you the rest of your life? Probably not, but it is a great story and I strongly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very very good

    The book was great. The writer developes the characters well, even the minor ones, and makes them come to life. The sotryline itself is not very original but the telling of the story, the plot twists, and characters make that acceptable. There is enough detail to immerse you in the story and bring the world to life but not too much that the book is hard to read. Definetly a good one, I bought the next two also and loved them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    Great Start to a Great Series

    I picked up a copy of The Summoner at a bookstore while waiting for a flight out of Orlando this March. I had just tore through Brent Weeks' Night Angel Trilogy and wanted something similar to read. The Summoner caught my eye because of the somewhat similar packaging and though I wasn't completely sold by the summary, I gave it a shot and bought it. From the first chapter I was so captivated by Martin's epic storytelling that I finished the book in about two days and then went out to find Blood King and Dark Haven, which I then finished before the week was through.
    What really captured me about this series was the unique depiction of vampires (aka vayash maru). When I tell my friends about this series and mention the vampires, the nearly automatic response I hear is "Oh like Twilight?" I then explain that the only similarity between the two stories is the word vampire and go on to imply that The Chronicles of the Necromancer is like Twilight for guys. It definitely shows a rougher side of vampire fantasy than that pretty boy Edward, somewhat similar to the Underworld series of films. And Martin doesn't overdo it with the vampires, having them as only a single piece of a complex jigsaw plot.
    I eagerly await the fourth installment, Dark Lady's Chosen, which comes out December 29th!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Looooved it!

    I loved this series! Its adventurous and fun and not all focused on romance.

    And for all the reviews that say it goes on and on, you do realize you bought the abridged version right? As in it has ALL the thing that editors took out? Try reading the other copy first loves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    A blast to read

    Strong charaters very direct writing style

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    This was a very good book

    Love this story. I am now reading the third book in this series.I really enjoyed this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    Slow at parts but a great start to the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great book! You are on your way through a great adventure with

    A great book! You are on your way through a great adventure with this one and the two that follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Highle Recommended

    My new favorite aurthor for sure. I am on the fourth book now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    This book hooked me on this series. The action starts very earl

    This book hooked me on this series. The action starts very early and the story just never let you catch your breath. It could use some editing but I don't let some minor slips hurt my enjoyment. Good fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    You must read it

    I love the chronicles of the necromancer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Awesome

    A must read series!!! Its great-you gotta read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Fantastic Read!

    Absoulutly loved this book! Unique yet familiar... would love to see this series as a movie! Eventhough i know it will never be as good as the books... loved it. You wont be disapointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Check it out!

    The Summoner was a fun and entertaining read from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10