Customer Reviews for

The Summoning (Darkest Powers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1294 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(857)

4 Star

(285)

3 Star

(103)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The Summoning

Chloe Saunders's life is flipped upside down the first time she see a ghost and it sees her. She's sent to Lyle House, a place for troubled teens. There she meets Liz, Rae, Tori, Simon, and Derek, five seemingly normal teenagers - well, as normal as teenagers with psych...
Chloe Saunders's life is flipped upside down the first time she see a ghost and it sees her. She's sent to Lyle House, a place for troubled teens. There she meets Liz, Rae, Tori, Simon, and Derek, five seemingly normal teenagers - well, as normal as teenagers with psychotically problems can get, that is.
But things aren't what they seems like in Lyle House. A place where its secrets could end up killing you. Incidents begin happening, raising suspicions on what's really going here.
With the help her unstable powers and a couple of ghosts, Chloe starts to uncover secrets about herself, the other residents, and Lyle House itself. She finds out enough to know that she has to escape.
At first, I kept saying, "I'm not going to review this. I'm not going to review this." What do you know, I'm reviewing this. After a few hours, I realized this was the only thing I kept thinking about.
The first few chapters were a bore. I was about to give up on this book, but instead, I skipped them - which should have really annoyed me, but with this book it didn't for some reason - and kept reading.
Things got interesting when Chloe arrived at Lyle house. At that point, the story never seemed to drop and it just kept going and going. Situations between the characters really draw you in and keep you in up until the end.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I Don't Recommend To My Friends

I thought it was slow, boring, immature, and dead. I kept waiting for something to happen but it never really did. I thought the writing was too young as well. Not the kind of book for me or any of my friends.

posted by purpleCB on September 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1299 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 65
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Summoning

    Chloe Saunders's life is flipped upside down the first time she see a ghost and it sees her. She's sent to Lyle House, a place for troubled teens. There she meets Liz, Rae, Tori, Simon, and Derek, five seemingly normal teenagers - well, as normal as teenagers with psychotically problems can get, that is.
    But things aren't what they seems like in Lyle House. A place where its secrets could end up killing you. Incidents begin happening, raising suspicions on what's really going here.
    With the help her unstable powers and a couple of ghosts, Chloe starts to uncover secrets about herself, the other residents, and Lyle House itself. She finds out enough to know that she has to escape.
    At first, I kept saying, "I'm not going to review this. I'm not going to review this." What do you know, I'm reviewing this. After a few hours, I realized this was the only thing I kept thinking about.
    The first few chapters were a bore. I was about to give up on this book, but instead, I skipped them - which should have really annoyed me, but with this book it didn't for some reason - and kept reading.
    Things got interesting when Chloe arrived at Lyle house. At that point, the story never seemed to drop and it just kept going and going. Situations between the characters really draw you in and keep you in up until the end.

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Better than twilight!

    This book was so much better that the Twilight Saga! It was full of action and suspense the whole time! I can't wait for the Awakening!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING Book!

    I absolutely loved this book! I couldn't put it down. I read it in one day, almost in one sitting but sadly I had to go to school. <BR/>I think my favorite thing about this book is how Chloe is just like a normal teenager except that she can see and talk to dead people. Her mom died when she was young and her dad is always away on business so she is normally alone, except for a few friends and her aunt Lauren who tries to fill in for Chloe's mom. She usually keeps to herself so when things start to get weird she can't really tell anyone. <BR/>So, at the beginning Chloe is in a school for the arts and she is just like all the other people in her school, except a little bit of a late bloomer. On the same day that she gets her first period she also sees her first dead person or at least the first person that she knows is dead. After being chased through the school by a dead janitor, Chloe is sedated and sent to the hospital and told that she must spend at least two weeks in Lyle House, a group home for unstable teens. <BR/>Once in Lyle House, Chloe meets some interesting people such as Liz, Rae, Simon, and Derek. Derek is a little scary at first, always sneaking up on Chloe and accidentally throwing her across a room. Once she gets to know him, though, she realizes that he is just like her and can't control his powers. At first, Simon seems like he is just in the group home to stay with his brother, Derek, but once she starts talking to him she realizes that he is a supernatural also but his powers aren't as obvious as Chloe's and Derek's. Liz also seems to have some powers but she never realizes that she is controlling them. She is transferred shortly after Chloe arrives because instead of getting better she seemed to be getting worse. Rae also may have powers but it was really hard to tell. She was placed in the group home shortly after giving her mom first degree burns when she never had a lighter or anything else that could have caused them. <BR/>There are others in the group home, such as Tori and Peter, but Peter gets sent home after Chloe arrives and Tori is the group's resident witch and not in the supernatural way. Tori believes that because her mom is on the board of Lyle House she can do and get whatever she wants but Chloe interferes with her plans as soon as she arrives. Tori manages to get Chloe in many terrible situations, some potentially deadly, but it's only because she doesn't want her mom to be disappointed in her. Tori doesn't play a really big role in the story, all she really does is get everyone in trouble.<BR/>Chloe, Derek, Simon, and Rae discover Lyle Houses' secrets and realize that, maybe they aren't there because they are crazy but because of their powers. They realize that they need to escape and that they need to do it soon. Once out, though, things don't go exactly as planned. They are hunted down by the nurses and owners of Lyle House and chased through warehouses by guys with tranquilizer guns. Once the girls escape and find a safe place they think things are going to get better but none of them realized that someone close to them betrayed their trust. <BR/>Of course, I'm not gonna say who. That would give everything away. I truly loved this book and if you really want to know how it ends you will just have to find a copy to read. This book is first in a new series by Kelley Armstrong. The next book, The Awakening, will be out on April 28.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    I Don't Recommend To My Friends

    I thought it was slow, boring, immature, and dead. I kept waiting for something to happen but it never really did. I thought the writing was too young as well. Not the kind of book for me or any of my friends.

    10 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    LOVED this book!

    I was just a barnes and noble one day looking for some new books to read and the cover of this book caught my eye...it sounded interesting so i bought it but read all the other books i bought first...i was a little iffy about it at first but the more i read the more i loved it...i read the book in less than a day and will def. read it again! I cant wait for the next books to come out! I'm looking forward to see what happens next!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Excellent read for all ages

    I found this book on accident in Walmart, of all places. I bought it because it was cheap and the back flap made it sound interesting. I am so glad that I decided to pick this book up.

    It is a great read full of twists and turns and suspense. The author does a wonderful job of making the characters come alive and creates a fun journey for the reader filled with all sorts of surprises. This book is incredibly fun to read, it has witty and funny moments and also times where you will be at the edge of your seat rooting for your "friends" to overcome whatever adversity they face.

    If you are looking for a fun summer read, this is definitely a book you won't want to pass up.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Kelley Armstrong has managed to mix a supernatural drama with a

    Kelley Armstrong has managed to mix a supernatural drama with a dash of teenage angst and a whole lot of conspiracy. This novel had an underlying sense of eeriness throughout it, waiting to burst. The middle of the story did drag a little, I will admit, but the end was thoroughly exhilarating. This book was amazing and the ending left it completely open for what is sure to be a fantastic trilogy.  When Chloe was a toddler, she lived in a house that had ghosts in the basement. One of the ghosts was a hanged man. Another liked to scare her. Chloe's mom talked her dad into moving them to another place and Chloe forgot all about the experience and now doesn't believe in ghosts. Her mother died when she was 8 and she's been raised mostly by housekeepers as her dad travels for his job. I was surprised how quickly and totally I got into The Summoning. I love Kelley Armstrong, and everything I have read by her thus far, but ghosts just aren't my thing. Troubled teens, paranormal abilities and boarding school type places are definitely my thing though. Especially when it's written well, which always applies to Armstrong's works. There are some great mysteries here, plus a lot of tension that could be leading fun places. This is a series I'm very excited to continue.  

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    You must read it!!

    This book is now one of my favorites. I loved how Chole(the main character) was just like any normal 9th grader. If your thinking about reading please do. This book was amazing. I can't wait for the seguel to come out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    An Exciting New Novel

    7 of 8 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting New Novel, July 1, 2008 From when Chloe Saunders was just a little girl, she saw ghosts. Of course then, she thought they were only nightmarish imaginary friends. And her life seemed to become almost normal when they moved out of that haunted house and after her mom died. But when Chloe hits puberty, she starts seeing the ghosts again. Now she's forced to stay in Lyle House so she can learn to cope with her 'schizophrenia.' But the other kids at Lyle House have also been incorrectly diagnosed with mental problems. There's a reason certain doors remain locked and there special kids are gathered in this institution. As Chloe works to uncover these sinister secrets, she starts to question everything around her, from her 'schizophrenia,' to what happened to her roommate who was taken away, and even to her mother's death. My first reaction after finishing this novel was WOW. Kelley Armstrong does an amazing job of connecting Chloe's past with her present and weaving the other characters' stories in as well. the story was highly suspenseful and action-packed and the exciting twists and turns kept me guessing. The novel focuses mainly on plot, so there isn't much characterization, but the suspense, secrets, and action were more than enough to hold my interest. I most definitely recommend this novel, especially to fans of the Maximum Ride series by James Patterson or the Uglies and Midnighters series by Scott Westerfeld. The Summoning will be part of a trilogy, which I am very excited about.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Glad I picked this book up...

    I'm not in high school, so I was a little nervous that I just wasted my $ but I was pleasantly suprised. This is a good series that has me itching to find out what will happen to the kids. If you enjoy an easy read with a good storyline then read this series...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome tale

    Great plot! Couldn't put it down. I started one night and read till morning.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid Supernatural Characters

    The Summoning is not just another Twilight knock off. The characterization is strong; the characters are individuals with personal motivations for their actions. The love interest is not who is it appears at first glance--this plot twist, among others, will keep readers returning to this series. Fans of YA Supernatural like City of Bones will enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great page turner, creepy and not what I expected

    This book was great. I felt myself turning page after page and wanting to read more. Although the beginning wasn't what I quite expected, it wasn't such a bad thing and the ending was awesome and I am definitely going to add the sequel to my wishlist. The plot was great from beginning to end. It was well written, clear and had enough teasers, and although naturally all questions weren't answered some which bugged me the most were so I wasn't entirely left hanging. This book had a great way of gradually introducing you to the paranormal aspect of the plot, sort of as if you're Chloe herself and just learning about it with her. I like the way it's done as it makes it more realistic. The plot is darker than I expected and more serious for a YA book. The paranormal parts, especially when Chloe starts practicing her gift, has a skin crawling creepy effect and it's definitely well written to give you the goose bumps. The ghosts she sees, are also well done and their descriptions are chilling and menacing.

    I'm not that attached to Chloe even though she's the main character. I found as I read later into the book I suddenly became much more frustrated and I wanted to hit her upside the head for her stupidity at times. I'm surprised Derek has managed to keep his temper in check with Chloe bumbling about sometimes. Although Derek may seem abrasive, I actually like him the most in the book so far. He's surprisingly mature despite his surly manner and horrible attitude. He seems to be the strongest character, I think in the book. Tori was horrible and I was hoping Chloe would clock her across the face. Perhaps sometime I'll be satisfied to see Tori in a horrible demise. She's just an awful person and I hope I never meet anyone like that ever. Chloe does seem to develop through the novel although I don't think she really matures yet. I think perhaps because she doesn't really have all the information and facts concerning her and her "condition/gift". So, she still has room for development which I am looking forward to seeing in the next book.

    When I said the beginning wasn't what I expected, I meant that I expected a lot of paranormal activity to happen. It didn't. It was gradual, and even then there is bits and parts of it, but not as much as I thought. There's a lot of "real life" in the book and it adds realism to the plot and it's a refreshing surprise to read something like this. So it's not really a criticism, it was just interesting to read and something new to see, I think.

    Overall, a wonderful creepy page turner, mix in realistic life scenes and a huge cliffhanger ending, you'll want more from this series. A lot more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Scary things at Lyle House

    I found this book to be totally different than I expected. It tells the story of a young girl who can see dead people. Its these visions that get her kicked out of her art school and into a mental institution. But the other teenagers at this institution are very special, like her, and she soon learns that this hospital has a very bad history. This is the first in a series by Kelley Armstrong and is a very dark and chilling novel. After reading only a short passage, you feel how drab and dreary the hospital and surroundings must be. Well written and if you are a fan of supernatural abilities, this will be a book you will tear right thru.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Summoning buy it now

    I am not a young adult anymore but still love reading all kinds of books. I already loved Kelley Armstrong's books for adults so I had to check this one out. I finished it in less than a week and was disappointed when it was over, I went out and bought the second book in the series the day it came out. I usually like to wait for paperbacks as they take up less space on my limited bookshelf but I just had to buy both of these right away, hardback and all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THRILLER and SUSPENSEFUL!! :)

    I loved this book.once i started reading this book i got hooked.This book did not disappoint me it was good from the beginning.I read this book in only two days.If you are thinking about buying this book i think you should.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Margaret Waterman for TeensReadToo.com

    "A banner week for me. Getting short-listed for the director spot. Nate asking me about the dance. My first period. And now my first criminal act. After I fixed myself up, I dug into my backpack for my brush and emerged instead with the tube of hair color. I lifted it. My reflection in the mirror grinned back." <BR/><BR/>Chloe Saunders is a very special girl. Not just because she has an in-depth and intense obsession with movies, filming, and directing. Not just because of her unusual home life. She is special, because on top of all this, Chloe Saunders can see ghosts. <BR/><BR/>On the day of her first period, she goes to the bathroom and skips class. She dyes her hair, feeling particularly rebellious. Upon exiting, Chloe sees a strange man wearing an old custodian's uniform, who follows her around school. She thinks she is in trouble for skipping class... <BR/><BR/>When he starts to talk to her, she ignores him. He gets angry, and deliberately shows her his face... and she sees it is burned so badly she can barely distinguish his features. When he disappears into thin air, she starts making a scene and freaking out, and school officials round her up. When she accidentally punches a teacher, they sedate her and take her to the hospital. <BR/><BR/>From there she is sent to Lyle House, which is a place for troubled teenagers. There she meets a wide variety of people - a pyromaniac, a girl with a poltergeist, an unusually moody girl, a boy with extremely bad people-skills, and a boy who, strangely, she finds nothing unusual about. As her new friends' stories unfold, Chloe begins to question the <BR/>motivation behind Lyle House. <BR/><BR/>With everything from ghosts and magic to romance, humor, and growing up, THE SUMMONING will have you laughing, wondering, and in disbelief. This book has many plot twists that will keep the reader guessing throughout the course of the novel. Kelley Armstrong uses great characterization and dialogue, which makes THE SUMMONING an overall good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    Amazing!

    This book started out well and ended even better!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent YA from Kelley Armstrong

    This is a YA novel from Women of the Otherworld series author Kelley Armstrong. While it clearly takes place in the same universe (ie, the same rules are followed), it's not part of that series. However, you will find all the necromancers, half-demons, sorcerers, werewolves, and so on, you've come to expect from Armstrong- just with a YA slant.<BR/><BR/>This book follows the story of Chloe, a teen necromancer just beginning to come into her own powers, unaware of what she is and what that means. The onset of Chloe's abilities leads to a major meltdown in school, which in turn leads to her placement in a house for mentally ill teens. Once at Lyle House, Chloe discovers that some of her fellow patients are as unusual as she is, and the game is afoot.<BR/><BR/>This is absolutely the first novel in a series, and ends on a cliffhanger. However, Armstrong offers some interesting characters, a few big plot twists, and a good set-up for the rest of the series. Hopefully, if she chooses to shift POVs in each book as she does in her adult series, this series will give her the opportunity to write from the guys' POV (I would love a Derek book), something I know she wishes to be able to do with the WotO. Either way, I'm looking forward to the next installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Love this book and this Series. Chloe is so cool and relatable i

    Love this book and this Series. Chloe is so cool and relatable i love the romance and how vivid the picture is painted in your head, it immediately captures you and sucks you into Chloes world. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1299 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 65