Customer Reviews for

The Summoning (Darkest Powers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(854)

4 Star

(284)

3 Star

(103)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The Summoning

Chloe Saunders's life is flipped upside down the first time she see a ghost and it sees her. She's sent to Lyle House, a place for troubled teens. There she meets Liz, Rae, Tori, Simon, and Derek, five seemingly normal teenagers - well, as normal as teenagers with psych...
Chloe Saunders's life is flipped upside down the first time she see a ghost and it sees her. She's sent to Lyle House, a place for troubled teens. There she meets Liz, Rae, Tori, Simon, and Derek, five seemingly normal teenagers - well, as normal as teenagers with psychotically problems can get, that is.
But things aren't what they seems like in Lyle House. A place where its secrets could end up killing you. Incidents begin happening, raising suspicions on what's really going here.
With the help her unstable powers and a couple of ghosts, Chloe starts to uncover secrets about herself, the other residents, and Lyle House itself. She finds out enough to know that she has to escape.
At first, I kept saying, "I'm not going to review this. I'm not going to review this." What do you know, I'm reviewing this. After a few hours, I realized this was the only thing I kept thinking about.
The first few chapters were a bore. I was about to give up on this book, but instead, I skipped them - which should have really annoyed me, but with this book it didn't for some reason - and kept reading.
Things got interesting when Chloe arrived at Lyle house. At that point, the story never seemed to drop and it just kept going and going. Situations between the characters really draw you in and keep you in up until the end.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I Don't Recommend To My Friends

I thought it was slow, boring, immature, and dead. I kept waiting for something to happen but it never really did. I thought the writing was too young as well. Not the kind of book for me or any of my friends.

posted by purpleCB on September 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 854 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 43
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Summoning

    Chloe Saunders's life is flipped upside down the first time she see a ghost and it sees her. She's sent to Lyle House, a place for troubled teens. There she meets Liz, Rae, Tori, Simon, and Derek, five seemingly normal teenagers - well, as normal as teenagers with psychotically problems can get, that is.
    But things aren't what they seems like in Lyle House. A place where its secrets could end up killing you. Incidents begin happening, raising suspicions on what's really going here.
    With the help her unstable powers and a couple of ghosts, Chloe starts to uncover secrets about herself, the other residents, and Lyle House itself. She finds out enough to know that she has to escape.
    At first, I kept saying, "I'm not going to review this. I'm not going to review this." What do you know, I'm reviewing this. After a few hours, I realized this was the only thing I kept thinking about.
    The first few chapters were a bore. I was about to give up on this book, but instead, I skipped them - which should have really annoyed me, but with this book it didn't for some reason - and kept reading.
    Things got interesting when Chloe arrived at Lyle house. At that point, the story never seemed to drop and it just kept going and going. Situations between the characters really draw you in and keep you in up until the end.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Better than twilight!

    This book was so much better that the Twilight Saga! It was full of action and suspense the whole time! I can't wait for the Awakening!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING Book!

    I absolutely loved this book! I couldn't put it down. I read it in one day, almost in one sitting but sadly I had to go to school. <BR/>I think my favorite thing about this book is how Chloe is just like a normal teenager except that she can see and talk to dead people. Her mom died when she was young and her dad is always away on business so she is normally alone, except for a few friends and her aunt Lauren who tries to fill in for Chloe's mom. She usually keeps to herself so when things start to get weird she can't really tell anyone. <BR/>So, at the beginning Chloe is in a school for the arts and she is just like all the other people in her school, except a little bit of a late bloomer. On the same day that she gets her first period she also sees her first dead person or at least the first person that she knows is dead. After being chased through the school by a dead janitor, Chloe is sedated and sent to the hospital and told that she must spend at least two weeks in Lyle House, a group home for unstable teens. <BR/>Once in Lyle House, Chloe meets some interesting people such as Liz, Rae, Simon, and Derek. Derek is a little scary at first, always sneaking up on Chloe and accidentally throwing her across a room. Once she gets to know him, though, she realizes that he is just like her and can't control his powers. At first, Simon seems like he is just in the group home to stay with his brother, Derek, but once she starts talking to him she realizes that he is a supernatural also but his powers aren't as obvious as Chloe's and Derek's. Liz also seems to have some powers but she never realizes that she is controlling them. She is transferred shortly after Chloe arrives because instead of getting better she seemed to be getting worse. Rae also may have powers but it was really hard to tell. She was placed in the group home shortly after giving her mom first degree burns when she never had a lighter or anything else that could have caused them. <BR/>There are others in the group home, such as Tori and Peter, but Peter gets sent home after Chloe arrives and Tori is the group's resident witch and not in the supernatural way. Tori believes that because her mom is on the board of Lyle House she can do and get whatever she wants but Chloe interferes with her plans as soon as she arrives. Tori manages to get Chloe in many terrible situations, some potentially deadly, but it's only because she doesn't want her mom to be disappointed in her. Tori doesn't play a really big role in the story, all she really does is get everyone in trouble.<BR/>Chloe, Derek, Simon, and Rae discover Lyle Houses' secrets and realize that, maybe they aren't there because they are crazy but because of their powers. They realize that they need to escape and that they need to do it soon. Once out, though, things don't go exactly as planned. They are hunted down by the nurses and owners of Lyle House and chased through warehouses by guys with tranquilizer guns. Once the girls escape and find a safe place they think things are going to get better but none of them realized that someone close to them betrayed their trust. <BR/>Of course, I'm not gonna say who. That would give everything away. I truly loved this book and if you really want to know how it ends you will just have to find a copy to read. This book is first in a new series by Kelley Armstrong. The next book, The Awakening, will be out on April 28.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    LOVED this book!

    I was just a barnes and noble one day looking for some new books to read and the cover of this book caught my eye...it sounded interesting so i bought it but read all the other books i bought first...i was a little iffy about it at first but the more i read the more i loved it...i read the book in less than a day and will def. read it again! I cant wait for the next books to come out! I'm looking forward to see what happens next!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Excellent read for all ages

    I found this book on accident in Walmart, of all places. I bought it because it was cheap and the back flap made it sound interesting. I am so glad that I decided to pick this book up.

    It is a great read full of twists and turns and suspense. The author does a wonderful job of making the characters come alive and creates a fun journey for the reader filled with all sorts of surprises. This book is incredibly fun to read, it has witty and funny moments and also times where you will be at the edge of your seat rooting for your "friends" to overcome whatever adversity they face.

    If you are looking for a fun summer read, this is definitely a book you won't want to pass up.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    You must read it!!

    This book is now one of my favorites. I loved how Chole(the main character) was just like any normal 9th grader. If your thinking about reading please do. This book was amazing. I can't wait for the seguel to come out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    An Exciting New Novel

    7 of 8 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting New Novel, July 1, 2008 From when Chloe Saunders was just a little girl, she saw ghosts. Of course then, she thought they were only nightmarish imaginary friends. And her life seemed to become almost normal when they moved out of that haunted house and after her mom died. But when Chloe hits puberty, she starts seeing the ghosts again. Now she's forced to stay in Lyle House so she can learn to cope with her 'schizophrenia.' But the other kids at Lyle House have also been incorrectly diagnosed with mental problems. There's a reason certain doors remain locked and there special kids are gathered in this institution. As Chloe works to uncover these sinister secrets, she starts to question everything around her, from her 'schizophrenia,' to what happened to her roommate who was taken away, and even to her mother's death. My first reaction after finishing this novel was WOW. Kelley Armstrong does an amazing job of connecting Chloe's past with her present and weaving the other characters' stories in as well. the story was highly suspenseful and action-packed and the exciting twists and turns kept me guessing. The novel focuses mainly on plot, so there isn't much characterization, but the suspense, secrets, and action were more than enough to hold my interest. I most definitely recommend this novel, especially to fans of the Maximum Ride series by James Patterson or the Uglies and Midnighters series by Scott Westerfeld. The Summoning will be part of a trilogy, which I am very excited about.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome tale

    Great plot! Couldn't put it down. I started one night and read till morning.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Summoning buy it now

    I am not a young adult anymore but still love reading all kinds of books. I already loved Kelley Armstrong's books for adults so I had to check this one out. I finished it in less than a week and was disappointed when it was over, I went out and bought the second book in the series the day it came out. I usually like to wait for paperbacks as they take up less space on my limited bookshelf but I just had to buy both of these right away, hardback and all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THRILLER and SUSPENSEFUL!! :)

    I loved this book.once i started reading this book i got hooked.This book did not disappoint me it was good from the beginning.I read this book in only two days.If you are thinking about buying this book i think you should.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    Amazing!

    This book started out well and ended even better!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Love this book and this Series. Chloe is so cool and relatable i

    Love this book and this Series. Chloe is so cool and relatable i love the romance and how vivid the picture is painted in your head, it immediately captures you and sucks you into Chloes world. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER, and best series! Perfect start, middle and endin

    BEST BOOK EVER, and best series! Perfect start, middle and ending! I'd defiantly recommend people this book! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing read! I could not put this book down! I highly recommend

    Amazing read! I could not put this book down! I highly recommend this whole series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Interesting

    Good book but leaves u with a cliff hanger. Good thing there is another already out :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    Loved it

    I loved it. It kept me interested. Had lots of twists. I highly reccomend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh my gosh!!

    I was so excited to read this book that I finished it in a night. It was that good!! I couldn't put it down for even a second. Kelley Armstrong delievers the perfect book and to boot #2 "The Awakening" is just as good maybe even better. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys this genre of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best series I have ever read

    Not only was this book absolutely amazing, but i couldn't put it down or even stop thinking about it! Written amazingly. One chapter the next, there's a cliff hanger at the end of each, making you thirst for what is going to happen.
    Great story line, amazing characters that you fall in love with. And even the ones that you don't like will surprise you.
    It kept me up into the dark hours of the night, and once i finished all I wanted to do was go to the bookstore and buy the next one!
    Overall an amazing book. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nice creepy factor

    I love the beginning of this book the creepiness factor is great! It's a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Looking for adrenaline induced chills? Look no further than The Summoning!

    Celebrated adult fantasy author Kelly Armstrong flexes her literary muscle by delving into the Young Adult genre.

    The Summoning is the inauguration of The Darkest Powers trilogy. Set in the same universe as Armstrong's popular Otherworld series.

    Recounted in first person (not my favorite viewpoint) by the enchanting Chloe, The Summoning is brimming w/ spine-tingling suspense.


    The Summoning illustrates energetic teens uncovering & exploring their diverse supernatural abilities. What is unique about this enthralling series are the teenagers scattered throughout the pages. Armstrong's spirited young adults are coping w/ their newly unearthed powers w/o direction &/or nourishment from individuals they can depend on.


    Armstrong does a spectacular job demonstrating all the humiliation, insecurity, restlessness, suffering, terror & turbulence the electrifying cast of players endure.

    Chloe is a mesmerizing character & literally jumps off the page. I was glued to the The Summoning from the riveting start to the explosive cliffhanger.


    Armstrong does an unparalleled undertaking showcasing Chloe's journey to self discovery. The way Armstrong not only reveals Chloe's "gift" but phenomenally displays her tolerance of it is spot on!


    The first book in a series usually sets up the premise but the The Summoning delivers the goods in impressive storytelling.


    The players are adorable, comical, intriguing & whimsical. Each cast member is fascinating on their own. Tori, Simon, Rae, Derek & Liz radiate three dimensionally & are not just there for filler. Kudos to Armstrong for that crafted feat!

    I find Derek utterly intriguing & would love to see much more of him in the future ~ I am rooting for a lil' romance between him & Chloe ; ).

    This was my first Armstrong & now I really want to read her adult fantasy series!!!

    What was superbly scribbled was Lyle House, Armstrong really heightened the creep factor in such a striking way ~ it was a character all its own.


    Looking for adrenaline induced chills? Look no further than The Summoning!


    Quick! Grab a copy of The Summoning & lock up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 854 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 43