Customer Reviews for

The Summoning (Darkest Powers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(858)

4 Star

(285)

3 Star

(103)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The Summoning

Chloe Saunders's life is flipped upside down the first time she see a ghost and it sees her. She's sent to Lyle House, a place for troubled teens. There she meets Liz, Rae, Tori, Simon, and Derek, five seemingly normal teenagers - well, as normal as teenagers with psych...
Chloe Saunders's life is flipped upside down the first time she see a ghost and it sees her. She's sent to Lyle House, a place for troubled teens. There she meets Liz, Rae, Tori, Simon, and Derek, five seemingly normal teenagers - well, as normal as teenagers with psychotically problems can get, that is.
But things aren't what they seems like in Lyle House. A place where its secrets could end up killing you. Incidents begin happening, raising suspicions on what's really going here.
With the help her unstable powers and a couple of ghosts, Chloe starts to uncover secrets about herself, the other residents, and Lyle House itself. She finds out enough to know that she has to escape.
At first, I kept saying, "I'm not going to review this. I'm not going to review this." What do you know, I'm reviewing this. After a few hours, I realized this was the only thing I kept thinking about.
The first few chapters were a bore. I was about to give up on this book, but instead, I skipped them - which should have really annoyed me, but with this book it didn't for some reason - and kept reading.
Things got interesting when Chloe arrived at Lyle house. At that point, the story never seemed to drop and it just kept going and going. Situations between the characters really draw you in and keep you in up until the end.

posted by Debbie-J-1970 on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I Don't Recommend To My Friends

I thought it was slow, boring, immature, and dead. I kept waiting for something to happen but it never really did. I thought the writing was too young as well. Not the kind of book for me or any of my friends.

posted by purpleCB on September 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 858 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 43
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Looking for adrenaline induced chills? Look no further than The Summoning!

    Celebrated adult fantasy author Kelly Armstrong flexes her literary muscle by delving into the Young Adult genre.

    The Summoning is the inauguration of The Darkest Powers trilogy. Set in the same universe as Armstrong's popular Otherworld series.

    Recounted in first person (not my favorite viewpoint) by the enchanting Chloe, The Summoning is brimming w/ spine-tingling suspense.


    The Summoning illustrates energetic teens uncovering & exploring their diverse supernatural abilities. What is unique about this enthralling series are the teenagers scattered throughout the pages. Armstrong's spirited young adults are coping w/ their newly unearthed powers w/o direction &/or nourishment from individuals they can depend on.


    Armstrong does a spectacular job demonstrating all the humiliation, insecurity, restlessness, suffering, terror & turbulence the electrifying cast of players endure.

    Chloe is a mesmerizing character & literally jumps off the page. I was glued to the The Summoning from the riveting start to the explosive cliffhanger.


    Armstrong does an unparalleled undertaking showcasing Chloe's journey to self discovery. The way Armstrong not only reveals Chloe's "gift" but phenomenally displays her tolerance of it is spot on!


    The first book in a series usually sets up the premise but the The Summoning delivers the goods in impressive storytelling.


    The players are adorable, comical, intriguing & whimsical. Each cast member is fascinating on their own. Tori, Simon, Rae, Derek & Liz radiate three dimensionally & are not just there for filler. Kudos to Armstrong for that crafted feat!

    I find Derek utterly intriguing & would love to see much more of him in the future ~ I am rooting for a lil' romance between him & Chloe ; ).

    This was my first Armstrong & now I really want to read her adult fantasy series!!!

    What was superbly scribbled was Lyle House, Armstrong really heightened the creep factor in such a striking way ~ it was a character all its own.


    Looking for adrenaline induced chills? Look no further than The Summoning!


    Quick! Grab a copy of The Summoning & lock up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    Totally amazing

    This book was way more than I ever expected...I was just looking for a book to read to have something to do, but i got really into this. It has that supernatural theme that a lot of teens enjoy, but its also relateable. Youre taken by surprise SO MANY TIMES. Its just great. I really recommend this book. Im Extremely picking about books that i read. I just wish the second one would come out sooner!!! I cant wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    ...

    i do love this book.i never thought i would be so giddy to read the second book.i picked it up because it poped out to me and im glad it did. this book has every kind of magical and demonic and monsterious creatures but just because they are powerful doesn't mean they are safe. i dont want to spoile it for you but chloe,the main caricature, realy finds herself. it starts out a little slow, this book took me until maybe the seventh chapter until i was wanting more, so wait it out and keep reading because i thought it was really excellent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    awesomeeee boooook =)

    this book is amazingggggg. it makes you want to keep reading and never put it down. the suspense is greattt. chloe is a regualr 9th grade girl. her mom died when she was younger and her dad is away a lot of the time for business. one day she wakes up and at school she realizes she can see and hear ghosts!!!!! it totallly freaks her out and she ends up at Lyle house. People here arent always as they seem and they turn out to be much better (or worse). Before a week is up shes out on a resque mission with some poeple she barely knows, yet they seem sooo simial to her in different ways. people are betrayed, truths are broken, and friend ships tested. i would recommend this to anyone who is into book about suspense, ghosts, or r just looking for a goood boook

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    MY NEW FAVORITE!

    This is a really good book full of paranormal twists! I really love Chloe, she's just an average girl(besides seeing spirits) and her story is really awesome. I can't wait for the Awakening!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Very good.

    I really liked this book. I kind of didn't like how they used one part in the book that sort of resembled Twilight. Other than that it was very good. I kind of hope for a little more romance in the second because in this one, I guess they were all gettin got know each other. I don't know. It was very good and I am really excited for the second, The Awakening.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2015

    To: Kelley Armstrong

    KEEP ON WRITING GIRLFRIEND!!!! -your friend... chocolate oh so amazing :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    Omg

    I love this writer i just fineshed this secerys i really hope she writes a notherone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    taylorstocker

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Reader.

    I dont have this book on my nook, but i read them irl (summoning, awakening, and the other i cant remember the name) but i love them so much. Thank you auther!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally

    I've been thinking I'll read this, maybe I'll read this, nah maybe I'll read it eventually. Finally, FINALLY, I saw this on the shelf at the library one day and thought, WTH I'll read it. Now after finishing this, I'm thinking, that's it, I will not do that again with whatever read looks interesting. If I see it on the shelf, I am so picking up that damn book. Phew, so after that little rant, this first in the trilogy I kept going back and forth with four to five stars, having started to really liking it to just loving the story and characters. Girl in the cover when I first saw it, reminded me a bit of Taylor Swift. So with this, you have a girl that sees ghosts, is sent to a group home and meets other "disturbed" kids like hers. As the days go by while she's there, she meets the other kids, some she even becomes friends with and others, well one in particular, let's just say you feel sorry for her. However, at the same time, having a hard time feeling sorry for her when a moment happens between her and our MC. Found myself wondering, what was going on and if the staff didn't seem what they appeared to be. If I were to say anymore would obviously be a spoiler, right? The plot reminded me a bit Born of Midnight. Another good read. Liked the movie references and well, how she imagined the scenarios like a movie and what not. Also liked Chloe as well. Anyway, near the end, wow was I thinking, oh no, what's going to happen, how's it going to lead to the next book. No, cliffhanger, oh what do you do know, cliffhanger, fan freaking tastic, I thought. So in the end, I'm finally relieved and happy that I read this. This was a good, intense at times, creepy, suspenseful read and a good start to the trilogy. Also loved that the insta love was absent from this. Not quite a love triangle...yet. I'll watching you insta love and love triangles. So thanks for not showing up in this, even if it was a sort of hint or whatever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved this series. I especially liked how Simon liked her but she fell in love with Derek.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    LOVED

    Loved this series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Ive read the series

    The love triangle between the brothers and chole

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    #AMAZING

    Okay i got this book from the library and i want to buy it on my nook and read it over and over agian can i just say that this is the best book ive ever read! I cant wait to read the second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Omg! AMAZING

    Chloe is just like me. I felt the drama, suspense the hole time. Read them all, book 1,2, and 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Just a teen

    I love this book took me a month but i wold give it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Good

    All in all this was a good book but if your not teen u wont get it.

    Love, nobody

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Great Book!!!

    Not just this book, but the whole series was good. I could not get enough of these characters. Plus if you like the series you can get a similar series by Kelley Armstrong that starts with The Gathering. Plus in The Rising characters from The Summoning and The Gathering are introduced again. It was interesting to see Chloe and her friends from somebody elses perspective. Highly recomended, and I can't think of anything bad to say!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Amazing series. But i still have one question........

    What are the names of th two bonus books?please answer to* book lover*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 858 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 43