Customer Reviews for

Summoning the Night (Arcadia Bell Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

First of all, if you haven't checked out Kindling the Moon.. you

First of all, if you haven't checked out Kindling the Moon.. you should. The world building is solid, the cast of characters are engaging, and the story moves at a good pace.

I am a huge fan of the fact that I think the story is pretty visual. I can *see* the world the...
First of all, if you haven't checked out Kindling the Moon.. you should. The world building is solid, the cast of characters are engaging, and the story moves at a good pace.

I am a huge fan of the fact that I think the story is pretty visual. I can *see* the world the author is describing, or
rather, I don't have problems conjuring up an image in my head.

Bennett does a fantastic job with making Cady very believable and realistic. She has issues and insecurities with her relationship with the sexy demon, Lon Butler. With all the supernatural elements that take place within an urban fantasy, imo, having something that grounds the book with issues that are commonplace make it all the more remarkable.

Summoning the Night begins with a mystery that opens up more avenues in Arcadia Bell's world. This second novel is better than the first, when you think you have the villain, D'oh, try again! Though the novel also introduces a very unlikable character and I absolutely cannot wait to see where that particular interaction may head.

I will just mention the teenage element briefly. Jupiter Butler, by far, is one of my favorite characters in urban fantasy that I've read in a long while. Funny, but with smart ass tendencies and the vulnerabilities of a teenager.

The writing moves quickly, yet is easy to follow. Imaginative and visual.. Jenn Bennett creates a hell of a world and I absolutely cannot wait to see what's in store for Arcadia Bell!!

posted by Readsalot81 on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Total Dissapointment!

I have been looking forward to the 2nd book in this series for months!!!! What a dissapointment and waste of money this book was. The character Lon is a man without a spine. He let's Caddy's character be blackmailed, and just stands there and let's his son be kidnapp...
I have been looking forward to the 2nd book in this series for months!!!! What a dissapointment and waste of money this book was. The character Lon is a man without a spine. He let's Caddy's character be blackmailed, and just stands there and let's his son be kidnapped by a demon. Plus the relationship between Lon and Cady just really stays the same without any growth of there relationships. Plus at one point Caddy tells Lon there will be no more secrets between us, yet when Mr. Dare threatens and blackmails Cady and she doesn't tell him?????? Does the arthur have amnesia or what???? I do not reccomend this book to anybody, don't waste your time or money!!!

posted by sgoodin on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Enjoyable Read Brought to you by OBS reviewer Verushka Arca

    An Enjoyable Read

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Verushka

    Arcadia Bell is back! And so is Lon and Jupiter and the Hellfire Club, in this the second of the series by Jenn Bennett.

    The book opens with Arcadia firmly a part of Lon and Jupiter’s life, to the extent that her boyfriend has no qualms about leaving his son with her while he is away on a shoot. As a result, we are treated to some Jupiter/Arcadia time which goes a long way to showing most effectively how much a part of his life he is, and how he trusts her.

    One thing their relationship highlighted for me in the beginning and during the rest of the book is how effortlessly Arcadia has been adopted into Lon and Jupiter’s life. Part of me wonders if,as a reader, I’ve missed on seeing how they came to trust her and wants a little more angst, but there are too many books that can provide that. What I like about this series is that Arcadia has to learn how not to be a loner, and I confess the trials and tribulations of a supernatural couple bringing up a supernatural son in an incredibly normal surroundings is far more interesting and provides an interesting source of conflict. In this title, Jupiter develops his “knack”, his power as the child of two supernatural beings and it is the ability to make people do what he wants. Something dangerous in the hands of a teenager, no matter how hard the parents try to teach him to do better. In this book, Jupiter is still a very young teen, so I expect and hope things change for the interaction between the three as a family is far more interesting than if Arcadia was angsting over a possible love interest.

    The book begins with and maintains a fast pace, in keeping with the premise of this novel – children are being snatched, very much like children were thirty-something years ago in the town and the pacing emphasises the fear every adult has for the safety of their child. The HellFire Club asks Lon and Arcadia to look into the case and the action moves quickly, with tightly written prose. Suffice it to say, the case is long and winding and Arcadia is forced to use her MoonChild power, the same power her parents essentially bred her for and tried to kill her for. She begins afraid of it, but by the end of the book, she is more in tune with the power than she might care to admit. Her greatest fear is that she will turn out like her parents, and Jupiter too is a catalyst for bringing that fear out in her.

    The only thing I am unsure about is the speed with which Arcadia falls under the thumb of the head of the HellFire Club, Dare, the same man who hires her to search for the missing children. On the one hand, I can understand the need for an antagonist for Arcadia as she is firmly settled in her bar and her town. How often can new people come into town to give her a case to solve? But, then again, people can come into town, asking for her help. She cannot exactly build a reputation if she wants to keep her identity safe, but the way in which Dare managed to get information about her past and became a threat felt too much like a convience in what was already a packed novel.

    Overall, an effortless, enjoyable read. If you liked the Charlie Madigan series by Kelly Gay – and I love that series – you’ll enjoy Arcadia, Lon and Jupe immensely.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    This second book in the series made me want to read the first,


    This second book in the series made me want to read the first, so after reading Kindling the Moon I was ready for action. When you read other reviews on Goodreads and Amazon they all talk about how amazing the love between Lon and Arcadia is. I have to say they’re completely 100% right! My gosh! It’s like a match made in heaven. Both of them have each other’s backs and they act like they’ve been married for quite some time. They work as a team, not individually. Lon’s son, Jupe, is also a wonderful character. Almost all the time teenagers in books are moody, have some sort of war with their parent, and have so much angst you just want to skip those parts. In this book, it was a wonderful relief to see how nice and caring he is. No tantrums or “I hate you get away from me whaaaaa!” that makes readers roll their eyes. The plot moved at a great pace; nothing was too fast or too slow.

    I do have to give ONE criticism. During the book, Arcadia has some “oops” moments that make me want to take her by the shoulders and shake her. It’s not fair for me to say because the actions she takes have a back-story, but it still was annoying. Also, the mystery aspect was kind of off. The readers know who the bad guy is within a few chapters, so if you’re looking for a huge twist you’ll already know it before anyone says anything. Don’t get me wrong, there are twists, but the biggest one was a let down.

    What steals the book are the characters… watching them grow is exciting to see and I recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy. Bennett is an amazing author and I became a huge fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    3.7 Stars

    I like it, but something was missing for me to love it. Perhaps the next book will invole more of the "outside" characters and broaden Cady's world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1