Customer Reviews for

The Summons

Average Rating 3.5
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another solid tale by Grisham!

John Grisham once again goes to Mississippi to weave a tale of family, greed, and paranoia that is solid from beginning to end. The main character is likeable although a little bland at times. The story had me guessing as to who was behind what. Although there were l...
John Grisham once again goes to Mississippi to weave a tale of family, greed, and paranoia that is solid from beginning to end. The main character is likeable although a little bland at times. The story had me guessing as to who was behind what. Although there were legal elements in the book it isn't a legal thriller but it was a thriller. One complaint was I wanted more of Clanton, MS. Many times Grisham has transported me to the South and here it was just a locale. Overall, a solid read but not Grisham's best.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on September 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring.

Nothing much happened. Too much talking.

posted by 8952317 on October 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Huh

    I loved this book, but why do some of you feel the need to write dissertations and/or basically rewrite the back cover? Highly annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Another great one by Grisham

    Grisham is on another one of his wonderful books. Not my favorite of his works but a well composed with very detail. It's partially suspenseful throughout the majority of the book, then rages the last couple of chapters. I can hardly wait for his next book. Very good book overall and I recommend it to anyone and everyone. My all-time favorite Grisham is The Broker, if you liked this book than you will also love the Broker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham does it again

    The Summons is another example of a good Grisham book. When Ray and his brother are summoned home to talk with their dying father Judge Atlee, who would have guessed the adventure that was soon to begin. Although not my favorite Grisham book, the characters are likeable and the plot of disception keeps you guessing. This is a great rainy day book and was a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted it to end so I could figure out the mystery but wanted it to keep going because I liked the characters.

    This book had the plot twists, developed and likeable characters, amusing dialogue, suspenseful and dramatic situations, and level-headedness to satisfy the book reader. Although it might not have actually done much in hindsight, the book is entertaining as you try to figure out what the main character should do with the troubling situation that he is put in (which only gets worse). The characters (and a big amount of secret money) make the book and make you remember it. Rated: PG-13 for mild adult situations and language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    A good read

    John Grisham can write good novels and this is one that is enjoyable. Soem endings of novels I don't care for but the ending of this one is good.

    What can you say about this book? It is interesting, enjoyable reading, one that you can settle in with and just read.

    J. Robert Ewbank author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    A good novel....

    The Summons was a quality piece of literature. While I enjoyed it, it seemed to somewhat drag the plot throughout the story simply to make the book longer. It did keep me intrigued, though. (3.5/5.0)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    What an incredible story!

    Another John Grisham incredible story. I listened to this book and it was as good as anything he has written. It is definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    'The Summons' commands your interest

    An intriguing and suspenseful story, in addition to it being totally plausible. The main characters actions and conflicts of conscience are easy to identify with. The ending was somewhat anti climatic, but it didn't detract from the value of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    Easy read that will keep you page turning.

    It took me twice to get through this book but I finally made it happen. The first part of the book starts out slow but the suspense builds as the pages turn. The ending could of been better but other than that I recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Riveting Action and Unexpected Twists

    If you¿re searching for a suspenseful and riveting novel, The Summons, by John Grisham, is the book for you. Though not as immediately engaging as The Firm, this thrilling novel will slowly captivate you and keep your attention to the end. This read confirms to me why Publisher¿s Weekly declared Grisham the ¿bestselling novelist of the 90¿s.¿ As soon as Ray Atlee, a law professor at the University of Virginia, walked into his Mississippi childhood home and found his father, a prominent retired judge, dead, his life and this novel took off in a series of unexpected directions. From high-powered attorneys to multi-million dollar lawsuits, The Summons leads you on a journey of Ray Atlee as he not only inherits his father¿s estate, but also his father¿s ultimate dilemma. This novel is a must-read as Grisham wraps up all the loose ends and ties it up in a bow, presenting his readers, from teenagers to adults, with an unexpected twist at the end no one can believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    A great Grisham novel

    Judge Atlee Died leaving his oldest son Ray, a law professor, executor of his Estate. The estate consisted of an old home, a small bank account and a very large sum of unexplained cash. Ray struggles with many questions of his own, some of his brother's demons and some one who knows about the cash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    GREAT BOOK

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Fan of Grishams books!

    The Summons is not Grishams best work. The build up to the end was exciting, and suspenseful, but the ending was disappointing, and anti-climatic. The characters were well developed and deserved a better ending. The final scenes of the Summons appeared to be a rushed job, and lacked the intensity I've grown to love about Grisham's work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Best Grisham yet

    Being an avid Grisham reader, I actually found this to be his best novel. Not neccessarily the most exciting or best written, but definitely best plot. I very much enjoyed the twist at the end. I also think it offers a thoughtful moral lesson on greed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    Ending could have been better!!!

    The story had all the makings for an better ending. It didn't give me closure on the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    GREAT! Couldn't put it down!

    This book was fast-paced and constantly moving! I recommend beginning it when you have time to read it through until the end because you will not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    Captured & Unsatisfied

    Really Captured by its body full of suspense, but the same end made itself too predictable. I expected more action at the end. It was the first Grisham book I read (only seen movies that by the way I loved *The Client, *The Firm, *The Pelican Brief)and can't wait to start my next (Runaway Jury).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    Summons? Uhmmm...

    Well, we've come to know Grisham for his legal thrillers that so far, have remained unsurpassed. But Summons, hasn't just seem to follow the stereotypical Grisham-esque. Such a complete failure on Grisham's part to portray his twisted plots and cool characters. This is one book that you read, only if you're intent on following up every Grisham that's published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    Too Much Ado, About Nothing.

    Very weak and unrealistic...I think what destroyed it was keeping all the money hidden....what would someone with common sense do?? Take it to a bank....Too much ado, about nothing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Not a New Standard

    This book started fine. but failed in the end. The character developement for the main characters were great. The development of the secondary characters were too in depth. Disappointing and predictable ending. I was looking for more of a hook at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13