Customer Reviews for

The Summons

Average Rating 3.5
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another solid tale by Grisham!

John Grisham once again goes to Mississippi to weave a tale of family, greed, and paranoia that is solid from beginning to end. The main character is likeable although a little bland at times. The story had me guessing as to who was behind what. Although there were l...
John Grisham once again goes to Mississippi to weave a tale of family, greed, and paranoia that is solid from beginning to end. The main character is likeable although a little bland at times. The story had me guessing as to who was behind what. Although there were legal elements in the book it isn't a legal thriller but it was a thriller. One complaint was I wanted more of Clanton, MS. Many times Grisham has transported me to the South and here it was just a locale. Overall, a solid read but not Grisham's best.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on September 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring.

Nothing much happened. Too much talking.

posted by 8952317 on October 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    I rarely rate a book with less than 3 stars, but this one deserv

    I rarely rate a book with less than 3 stars, but this one deserved it--
    Not much to say about this book, particularly the main character, Ray. Lots of action, I suppose, with him driving back and forth from 
    Virginia to Mississippi with some unknown scary individual following his every move. However, I couldn't find a 
    reason to like Ray or any of the other characters for that matter. All I knew was that he was obsessed with greed, and later, fear,
    despite making a huge salary as an underworked college professor. Very minimal character development in this book. It reminded me of The Firm.
    If you want to read a better Grisham book, pick up "A Painted House."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Exhausting and Unexciting

    This is the first book I've read by John Grisham, and I was very disappointed given his stellar and famous reputation as a best-selling author. NOT recommended for those who find the area of the law boring nor for those who enjoy multi-faceted, changing characters. After a while the people in the southern town become very predictable (there's Ray's friend who sleeps with a woman in his law office, there's the broad whom the judge slept with for decades who wants money after his death, there's the brother who has a drug problem, etc.) There really isn't much character development beyond stereotypes (for instance the male stereotype is when Ray says that he must call one of his former students for a date because her body is just too hot to resist). Overall could be interesting at times (like when he finds the money), but besides that you read on for at least a hundred pages waiting for something worthwhile to happen. Meanwhile all Ray does is jog, drive, and gamble. Just not what I'd have expected from someone of Grisham's acclaim. Be careful of this one. Only buy it if you find it for $3 at a local bookstore like I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    i recommend the summons .i must be honest it is not as good as the Brethdrens, or the Partner.

    I enjoyed reading some.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Fan of Grishams books!

    The Summons is not Grishams best work. The build up to the end was exciting, and suspenseful, but the ending was disappointing, and anti-climatic. The characters were well developed and deserved a better ending. The final scenes of the Summons appeared to be a rushed job, and lacked the intensity I've grown to love about Grisham's work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    Summons? Uhmmm...

    Well, we've come to know Grisham for his legal thrillers that so far, have remained unsurpassed. But Summons, hasn't just seem to follow the stereotypical Grisham-esque. Such a complete failure on Grisham's part to portray his twisted plots and cool characters. This is one book that you read, only if you're intent on following up every Grisham that's published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    Too Much Ado, About Nothing.

    Very weak and unrealistic...I think what destroyed it was keeping all the money hidden....what would someone with common sense do?? Take it to a bank....Too much ado, about nothing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Not a New Standard

    This book started fine. but failed in the end. The character developement for the main characters were great. The development of the secondary characters were too in depth. Disappointing and predictable ending. I was looking for more of a hook at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    Dissappointing Ending

    When I finished reading this book I felt ripped off. The characters were ordinary and the story line too long and drawn out, not to mention an ending that was blah and predictable. I got more enjoyment reading the back cover. Definitly not one of his better reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    Hit or miss anymore....

    I'm beginning to think that with Grisham it's either hit or miss, and this was more a miss. No real suspense, plots that didn't go anywhere and characters that were pretty boring. I guess I read this because I've read all his others and he's usually a quick read. I won't be rushing to read his next one......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    Poor Ending

    A Painted House and The Summons are exactly the same in the fact that I couldn't put it down, but then he left me hanging with terrible endings to both books. Many subplots were left undone and made to seem irrelevent. I would not recommend these two John Grisham novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    I have read better books.

    I am a big fan of John Grisham. I have found The Summons to be a book that I would least recommend. The book left me hanging with unaswered questions. I hope his books in the future be a lot better than his last two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    whimper

    the ending left me with a let down feeling. It surely ended with a whimper instead of a bang.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    I think I missed the point?

    The only part of the book that interested me was the fact a lot of it was set in Charlottesville at the University of Virginia, which is where I am a student. Other than that - there was no substance at all ... very predictable and not at all a thrilling read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2003

    Worst Grisham I've read

    While there were one or two parts that were suspenseful and I did not want to stop reading, it did not make up for the lack of good characters and interesting plot. The story seemed like a jumble of his previous books and the situations the characters come across: a large amount of money, corrupt lawyer making a lot of money, "colorful" local lawyer from southern town, house fire. And the main character just wasn't very interesting at all. He was a lonely guy who didn't talk to too many people. Occasionally he talked to brother and of course his students, but nothing to provide entertainment which fiction books are usually supposed to do. I was very disappointed with the book. Why couldn't he at least have an epilogue when his brother gets out of detox and resolve what happens with the money? I just expected more enjoyment from the book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2002

    Not a typical Grisham

    A quick read, but not the excitement I'm use to from a John Grisham book. Not a bad story, but more background info and less suspense. A MUCH lighter story than any of his past work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Summons -- Not Grisham's best work!

    I am a big fan of John Grisham, and have read all of his books, but the Summons, was very disappointing to say the least. Even though his two earlier books, Skipping Christmas and the Painted House were not his best work either, (very different from all his legal thrillers), the Summons was very predictable with many holes and a very predictable ending. I miss the depth and twists of his other legal thrillers. I hope that he gets back on track with the next one, because I love his writing style that makes it easy and entertaining to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2002

    Very Disappointing

    A simple plot that does not come close to the intricacy or relevence of his earlier books. The writing style still makes for pleasant enough reading but it is clearly form over substance. A very poor ending that could be seen from page 41, I expected better. I had the feeling that he was just filling pages until had enough to fulfill his publishers requirement. I hope he can get back to his earlier form and quality. His other books were great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    Slightly Disappointed

    I am a huge Grisham fan, unfortunately I was disappointed in The Summons. The plot was predictable and weak. Perhaps the problem is due to the pressure of deadlines - quantity over quality. If Mr. Grisham was given more time, I am certain that he would produce stories with the same suspense and detail as his earlier books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Dissapointment

    As an avid reader of all of Mr. Grisham's books and an avid re-reader of the first four, I was dissapointed in this book. As I'm sure many others have stated, it had potential and was exciting up to about the last 25 pages where the action just drooped off and the reader knows exactly what is going to happen....NOTHING. I hope that one day Mr. Grisham will return to his splendor of the early years like The Firm, The Pelican Brief, A Time to Kill. I could read and re-read those books forever...and I might have to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    Thud!

    A very poor ending to an otherwise entertaining book. I expected a more unpredictable ending. Too bad, the book was colorful and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2