Customer Reviews for

The Summons

Average Rating 3.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another solid tale by Grisham!

John Grisham once again goes to Mississippi to weave a tale of family, greed, and paranoia that is solid from beginning to end. The main character is likeable although a little bland at times. The story had me guessing as to who was behind what. Although there were l...
John Grisham once again goes to Mississippi to weave a tale of family, greed, and paranoia that is solid from beginning to end. The main character is likeable although a little bland at times. The story had me guessing as to who was behind what. Although there were legal elements in the book it isn't a legal thriller but it was a thriller. One complaint was I wanted more of Clanton, MS. Many times Grisham has transported me to the South and here it was just a locale. Overall, a solid read but not Grisham's best.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on September 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring.

Nothing much happened. Too much talking.

posted by 8952317 on October 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another solid tale by Grisham!

    John Grisham once again goes to Mississippi to weave a tale of family, greed, and paranoia that is solid from beginning to end. The main character is likeable although a little bland at times. The story had me guessing as to who was behind what. Although there were legal elements in the book it isn't a legal thriller but it was a thriller. One complaint was I wanted more of Clanton, MS. Many times Grisham has transported me to the South and here it was just a locale. Overall, a solid read but not Grisham's best.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    A Classic Mystery- Enter if you Dare

    This book is an apple waiting to be plucked by anybody who is interested in law work or just interested in mysteries. The storyline revolves around lawyers and courthouse work. I learned some about the difficulties and controversies that take place in the courtroom. This is the first book that I have read by John Grisham and because I enjoyed it I will look forward to reading more of his novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I would recommend this book. It's John Grisham and it's a good read.

    If you like Grisham you'll enjoy this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Somehow, The Summons, Captivates, Charming and Melancholic, I wish it Would not have ended as it Did. Nonetheless, Grisham is good as usual.

    Grisham's " The Summons" takes readers back to Clanton, Mississippi, where judge Reuben tAlee is dying, and has summoned his two sons for one more trip to Clanton. Upon his arrival Ray now a professor of Law at a prestigious university, and the older of the two siblings found his father dead, along with three million dollars in cash money. Fearing for his lost and unstable brother Forrest he decides to take the money, and hide it from the IRS. It is in this process that he will find the adventure of his life, Beautifully written, and with an elite of characters that you will find only in Grisham's novels. The summons is great, so great that it becomes a page turner. I like finding characters that are so likable. Harry Rex is great as usual, a great representation of Clanton. Forrest is just Forrest I guess. But what I did not expected is the fact, that Grisham did not end the novel, It leaves readers thinking or wishing for more. I honestly don't know if that was the right ending, or I just did not want the author to end it like that. I found no closure when it comes to Ray's character, His character was still in development, and I wish I would have seem more of Forrest. Nonetheless, the book is great, and Grisham knows how to write a book and somehow make readers think and wonder in his own world of writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Better than others

    Classic Grisham left the building many years ago ( think Painted House and Skipping Christmas ( made into the cruddy movie Christmas with the Kranks). However, this book brings out his old style in a story of brotherly "love", a cranky old father, money, envy and consequences.

    The writing is tight and enjoyable. The character of Ray Atlee is much better than Forrest, his addicted brother, but it's the characters of Harry Rex and Claudia that shine the best in this book that might just make me look for other Grisham authored books again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Ok

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Grisham

    Good book,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Another great one by Grisham

    Grisham is on another one of his wonderful books. Not my favorite of his works but a well composed with very detail. It's partially suspenseful throughout the majority of the book, then rages the last couple of chapters. I can hardly wait for his next book. Very good book overall and I recommend it to anyone and everyone. My all-time favorite Grisham is The Broker, if you liked this book than you will also love the Broker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I wanted it to end so I could figure out the mystery but wanted it to keep going because I liked the characters.

    This book had the plot twists, developed and likeable characters, amusing dialogue, suspenseful and dramatic situations, and level-headedness to satisfy the book reader. Although it might not have actually done much in hindsight, the book is entertaining as you try to figure out what the main character should do with the troubling situation that he is put in (which only gets worse). The characters (and a big amount of secret money) make the book and make you remember it. Rated: PG-13 for mild adult situations and language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    A good read

    John Grisham can write good novels and this is one that is enjoyable. Soem endings of novels I don't care for but the ending of this one is good.

    What can you say about this book? It is interesting, enjoyable reading, one that you can settle in with and just read.

    J. Robert Ewbank author "John Wesley, Natural Man, and the 'Isms'"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    A good novel....

    The Summons was a quality piece of literature. While I enjoyed it, it seemed to somewhat drag the plot throughout the story simply to make the book longer. It did keep me intrigued, though. (3.5/5.0)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    'The Summons' commands your interest

    An intriguing and suspenseful story, in addition to it being totally plausible. The main characters actions and conflicts of conscience are easy to identify with. The ending was somewhat anti climatic, but it didn't detract from the value of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Riveting Action and Unexpected Twists

    If you¿re searching for a suspenseful and riveting novel, The Summons, by John Grisham, is the book for you. Though not as immediately engaging as The Firm, this thrilling novel will slowly captivate you and keep your attention to the end. This read confirms to me why Publisher¿s Weekly declared Grisham the ¿bestselling novelist of the 90¿s.¿ As soon as Ray Atlee, a law professor at the University of Virginia, walked into his Mississippi childhood home and found his father, a prominent retired judge, dead, his life and this novel took off in a series of unexpected directions. From high-powered attorneys to multi-million dollar lawsuits, The Summons leads you on a journey of Ray Atlee as he not only inherits his father¿s estate, but also his father¿s ultimate dilemma. This novel is a must-read as Grisham wraps up all the loose ends and ties it up in a bow, presenting his readers, from teenagers to adults, with an unexpected twist at the end no one can believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2004

    An Outstanding Mystery from Cover to Cover!

    The Summons, written by John Grisham, is a mystery that will have the reader on the edge of their seat the whole way through. The main character, Ray Atlee, has just found a little over $3,000,000 in cash in his dead father¿s estate. Ray had always known his father, a prestigious judge from Clanton, Mississippi, to be conservative and never would have kept so much money to himself. The fight for the money begins the night of his father¿s death when someone attempts to break into the house, presumably for the money. From that point forward, Ray scours the tiny town of Clanton looking for some answers while someone is hot on his trail dying to get their hands on the money. I found this book to be quite the page turner. There were many elements to the book¿s characters and plot that caused it to steer away from your average mystery. The first thing I liked was that it was written in present day. Some books leave the reader confused because they were not written in this day and age, but The Summons is very descriptive in the time setting the author chose, which made it easier to follow. The plot also made the book very exciting to read because it had two mysteries rolled into one novel. The first mystery was a ¿whodunit¿ type. The reader is left with tiny hints on each page leading to a possible suspect in the crimes Ray Atlee faces. There are times in the book where the reader may say they know who is causing Ray so much turmoil, but then something Ray finds crosses that person off the suspect list. The second mystery asks ¿where¿. The reader is in constant suspense as Ray Atlee tries to find out where the money initially came from. Once again the reader is left constantly guessing. The characters also made the novel a fun read. Ray Atlee is the average middle-aged man whose wife just left him. At the beginning he is a depressed college professor but as the mysteries unfold his character evolves into an interesting detective one can¿t help but enjoy. Ray¿s brother, Forrest, is an alcoholic and a drug addict. He doesn¿t become a main character until the end of the novel, but whenever he is mentioned in short you can be sure there will be excitement to follow. There are some other very interesting characters which comprise the plot of the novel such as suspects in crime and some of Ray¿s alliances. The one feature of the book that makes it a great read from beginning to end is the cultural significance and the theme of the book. The novel shows what great power money can have over mankind. Throughout the book we follow Ray as he tries everything in his power to keep his newly found money safe from anyone who wants to take it away. There are criminals with heavy weapons not only trying to get the money, but to also get Ray. One may wonder why Ray doesn¿t leave the money to get back to a safe and normal life free of guilt and fear. The answer lies in a trait everyone possesses - greed. Ray¿s greed and yearn for wealth was enough for him to risk his life for. The theme expresses that American¿s today do not live for life itself but they live for money and power. When one stops living for something that may be completely out of reach, life can be a lot less hectic. The one aspect of the novel that may confuse the reader is the language used. Ray Atlee¿s father was a judge and Ray is a professor of law. The novel consistently uses legal terminology which can be confusing to anyone who is not familiar with the language. At times the novel can drift into what may be seen as lengthy and boring but the author makes every paragraph like a piece of a puzzle, towards the end the reader begins seeing the whole picture and the useless facts come together. The Summons is a well written piece of literature. Not only does the reader get a suspense story but they also get a moral to apply to everyday life. Though the language may be difficult to understand at times and could be better understood by someone in a law profession, anyone ca

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    A great Grisham novel

    Judge Atlee Died leaving his oldest son Ray, a law professor, executor of his Estate. The estate consisted of an old home, a small bank account and a very large sum of unexplained cash. Ray struggles with many questions of his own, some of his brother's demons and some one who knows about the cash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    I loved it!!!

    I liked the story line and how the story was put together. Now I'm off to read The Testement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Whoo-Hoo!

    I thought this book rocked. But it seemed like the plot dragged on and on in some parts of the book. It was still a good read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2003

    Another hit for Grisham!

    It was a good plot.I didn't know who was the bad guy until the end. Grisham will keep you entertained with this story of greed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    Another Page Turner

    Grisham never disappoints. The Summons is no exception. Another great weekend of pure reading pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    I want a different ending!

    Great story! It sure kept me interested and so looking forward to find out whodunit, although I had a pretty good idea. I am however, a bit disappointed about the ending and was/am looking forward to reading The King of Torts...but after scanning through the first chapter, I can see it's not a follow-up to The Summons....gosh darn! The possibilities!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4