Customer Reviews for

The Summons

Average Rating 3.5
( 254 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another solid tale by Grisham!

John Grisham once again goes to Mississippi to weave a tale of family, greed, and paranoia that is solid from beginning to end. The main character is likeable although a little bland at times. The story had me guessing as to who was behind what. Although there were l...
John Grisham once again goes to Mississippi to weave a tale of family, greed, and paranoia that is solid from beginning to end. The main character is likeable although a little bland at times. The story had me guessing as to who was behind what. Although there were legal elements in the book it isn't a legal thriller but it was a thriller. One complaint was I wanted more of Clanton, MS. Many times Grisham has transported me to the South and here it was just a locale. Overall, a solid read but not Grisham's best.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on September 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Exhausting and Unexciting

This is the first book I've read by John Grisham, and I was very disappointed given his stellar and famous reputation as a best-selling author. NOT recommended for those who find the area of the law boring nor for those who enjoy multi-faceted, changing characters. Af...
This is the first book I've read by John Grisham, and I was very disappointed given his stellar and famous reputation as a best-selling author. NOT recommended for those who find the area of the law boring nor for those who enjoy multi-faceted, changing characters. After a while the people in the southern town become very predictable (there's Ray's friend who sleeps with a woman in his law office, there's the broad whom the judge slept with for decades who wants money after his death, there's the brother who has a drug problem, etc.) There really isn't much character development beyond stereotypes (for instance the male stereotype is when Ray says that he must call one of his former students for a date because her body is just too hot to resist). Overall could be interesting at times (like when he finds the money), but besides that you read on for at least a hundred pages waiting for something worthwhile to happen. Meanwhile all Ray does is jog, drive, and gamble. Just not what I'd have expected from someone of Grisham's acclaim. Be careful of this one. Only buy it if you find it for $3 at a local bookstore like I did.

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    !

    LOVES THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I really enjoy Grisham's writing, and looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Excellent

    I love this book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Huh

    I loved this book, but why do some of you feel the need to write dissertations and/or basically rewrite the back cover? Highly annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    What an incredible story!

    Another John Grisham incredible story. I listened to this book and it was as good as anything he has written. It is definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    GREAT BOOK

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Best Grisham yet

    Being an avid Grisham reader, I actually found this to be his best novel. Not neccessarily the most exciting or best written, but definitely best plot. I very much enjoyed the twist at the end. I also think it offers a thoughtful moral lesson on greed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    GREAT! Couldn't put it down!

    This book was fast-paced and constantly moving! I recommend beginning it when you have time to read it through until the end because you will not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    WOW

    What a great book, couldn't put it down all I can say is that i've read every single one of Grisham's books and it can be easily seen that he's getting better!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    Awsome

    This story was about two sons whose father was a judge. The judge was found dead by Ray the older son. Ray found something in the house and someone started chasing him for it. This book was extremely suspenseful. Any one who loves a triller should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    Best Yet!!

    In my opinion this is one of his best books yet! I did not expect the ending but it was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    Very Good!!

    Read this book in 2 days. I couldn't put it down. It was the second book that I read from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    John Grisham Strikes again

    I read this book several months ago, when I received a First Edition Hardcover for my birthday. Since I was in seventh grade and read The Client (thanks to a very caring librarian, and trusted friend who is no longer with us.) I have submerged myself in John Grisham. I have to tell you I could not put this book down, and cannot wait to read King of Torts, I have read everything John Grisham has written from A Time to Kill to Skipping Christmas, although the legal stories are my favorite, I do not know what I would do without my John Grisham collection. Keep up the outstanding job John.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Grisham does it again

    This book was great, plain and simple. I have read every one of his books and I keep wondering how he comes up with these ideas. His last few seemed to meld together in my mind because of similar details, though they were still enjoyable, but The Summons kept me guessing and left me amazed. Grisham is a gifted writer, I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    A Book You Won't Want To Put Down

    "The Summons" is the kind of book that only comes around once in a while-classic. Grisham's extensive use of imagery puts the reader into the story so much that I guarantee you won't want to put the book down. If you like the legal thriller, this one has it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    A Right on Target Character Study Combined with an Engrossing Plot

    Their mother dies while the two boys, Ray and Forrest, are still young. Their father is a crusty, old time Southern judge, politically powerful, distant, involved with his career. Ray, the smart, good boy, becomes an objective, controlled law professor. Forest, the vulnerable younger brother, becomes self-destructive and struggles with addiction. When their elderly father dies, Ray, finds an unexplained stash of 3 million in cash in the family home. The money becomes more of a burden than a blessing as Ray struggles with what to do with it. He becomes unglued when he finds his life is in jeopardy because of it. In the end, the professor learns a lesson that gives this story depth and poignancy. The father and sons are drawn with dead on accuracy, much more rounded than his previous characterization of two brothers in The Firm. Thrillers rely on improbable plot twists and colorful characters, to give the reader an entertaining ride. There is rarely little more to them. The Summons also entertains, but it is a cut above the usual thriller because the family dynamics are right on target.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Brillant!!!!

    John Grisham has a talent in keeping readers coming back for more. "The Summons" is a captivating novel that will not leave you disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    John Grisham's new book The Summons is great

    This book is a supsense the whole way through the book. This is one of my favorite books by John Grisham. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read John Grisham's book. It will have you reading this book till the end like most of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    My First Grisham

    This is the first book I've ever read by John Grisham, and though it was not what I expected, I found it highly entertaining. Also, the premiss is brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    Simply an irresistible read.

    It was an amazing story that I couldn't wait to finish. The ending was unexpected and suprising.. All around a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4