Customer Reviews for

Summons: A Goblin King Prequel

Average Rating 4
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

;0)

This is not a novel or novella story. It's basically an introduction called Summons: The Goblin King for the upcoming novel The Goblin King that will be released October 2011.

Book starts nine years earlier. Eliza's brother Matt is having a house party while their f...
This is not a novel or novella story. It's basically an introduction called Summons: The Goblin King for the upcoming novel The Goblin King that will be released October 2011.

Book starts nine years earlier. Eliza's brother Matt is having a house party while their father is out of town on business. While at the party, 16 year old Eliza encounters a little problem with her brothers friend. He is trying to come on to her a little too heavy and she tries to ditch him. While locked in a room listening to him trying to get in, she made a wish to the Goblin King and he answered.

Roan, the Goblin King is from the Shadowlands and is now in the fix realm of Eliza. Though Eliza is young he finds himself drawn to her. He helps Eliza and takes her to the summerland realm where he informs her not to summon him again. When Eliza wakes up she is unable to stop think of the Goblin King and Roan senses this.

This introduction for the upcoming book surely caught my attention and I enjoyed it. It surely accomplished what it set out to do, get my interest for a soon to be released book. I definitely want to find out what happens to the Goblin King and Eliza. I have to say though I am getting a little irritated with these free ebooks that looks like a novel/ novella but are basically a sneak peek for books that we have to wait months for. I just don't like being excited just to have it come to an abrupt ending. Other than that I still encourage the read, I thought it was good and interesting. Haven't read anything by the author and look forward to more books.

Storyline: GOOD
Enjoyment: Fair
Ebook length: 404
 
****************************
LIKE us on FaceBook at Romance Novel Junkies Book Reviews.  Also join us on our FB group Romance Novel Junkies that includes 600+ members

posted by LadyRavenRAVE1 on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

short

20 pages deleted

posted by koon on March 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 264 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Just as Juicy

    I've already read through this series, so I knew Husk wouldn't disappoint. She has a style of story telling all her own. She's quite able to lay out a scene that can intrigue as well as shock.
    And if this were the one I read first, I'd definately been hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Great book!!

    This was a wonderful book. What I found was helpful was to get the prequil to this book for free on nook. I really enjoyed the amount of detail that was put into this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    recommend

    this is going to be a great series i enjoyed this book the charactors the plot and the story cant wait for another leaves you wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    I would read if i were you!!!

    I really liked this book i think the afthor did a godd job. Very creative and goid story line. But tbh i wish it to be longer. If there was a second book i would read. Must admit you like it or you dont with this book, no in between.
    OH AND FOR RANDOMS SAKE
    I like 1D idk why...just do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Sweet

    This was a good quick read. I enjoyed the characters and thought it was a nice prequel. I'll be checking out the Goblin King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    I like it

    Good read it keeps you wanting more:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Jensen Eckles look alike

    Dude on the cover could pass for the guy on theTV show Supernatural.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Good Read!!

    Enough of a teaser to make me want more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Anonymous

    Short but made me interested enough to purchase Goblin King.jas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    leaves you wanting more!!!

    I just got done reading this book and I wanna know what happens!!! Its a very short read but well worth your time!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Goblin King

    Good read. However, the guy on the cover looks like Jensen Ackles or Dean from "Supernatural". It works for me:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    I loved it! Can't wait to read the Goblin King.

    I loved it! Can't wait to read the Goblin King.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    SENSUOUS AND ROMANTIC This short story was a very nice treat and

    SENSUOUS AND ROMANTIC
    This short story was a very nice treat and a great set up for 2 great full length novels to come. As I said in my review of Kiss of the Goblin Prince (Shadowlands #2), each installment of this highly imaginative paranormal romance series by talented author Shona Husk can be read as a stand-alone novel, but it can be fully appreciated if read in order.
    In this prequel we get to know how Roan and Eliza, the main characters of The Goblin King ( Shadowlands #1) meet for the first time. Roan is a Celtic king turned into a heartless goblin by a curse that had destroyed his people. He lives in The Shadowlands, a desolated realm populated and ruled by greedy monsters obsessed with gold: the Goblins. Roan visits the Fixed Realm (our world) at will, using people’s dreams and nightmares, but with his ugly goblin looks and an empty and cold spot where his heart used to be, he would rather hide in the darkness and dismiss the summons of those humans. Until Eliza, a 16 years old girl from the XXI century, a girl who grew up believing in fairy tales, summons him when she is in danger, and he just cannot resists her call.

    "Her mother had said always be careful what you wish for as she’d told stories about a man who’d been cursed for loving gold and had been given a heart of gold as punishment. Damned to be goblin, now he was forced to answer other people’s wishes. She closed her eyes. She had to answer hers. “I wish the Goblin King would take me away from here.”

    To save her from an overzealous suitor, Roan answers Eliza’s call and takes her in a place of light and life (the Summerland) where he can show himself in his original human appearance without scaring her. Something about Liza’s strikes some cords in his soul, making him wish to be remembered as a man, not as a greedy monster, rekindling his humanity and his desire to go back to his true kind and honorable self.

    “Where I go the Shadowland follows. I bring darkness, death, and despair. I rule land made of dust and famine. My subjects are goblins who’d eat you alive. Do not summon me again for next time I may not return you.”

    But when they part their ways to return to their realms, Roan and Eliza will not forget about each other. He saw in Eliza something worthier than gold, and she saw in Roan a man who needed to be saved.
    Highly recommended as an introductory read to The Goblin King (Shadowlands #1).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    Fabulous Starter Story! As the Goblin King, Roan was forced to

    Fabulous Starter Story!

    As the Goblin King, Roan was forced to answer a summons when he was called, but over the centuries he'd been able to resist them and earning himself a bead for his hair with each time he resisted. When he is called by a young girl one night he was just going to show up and leave like he had with others before her, but something is different.

    Eliza just wanted to be away from her brother's friend that was wanting more from her then she was willing to give. She remembered an old story her mother had told her about the Goblin King and how he had to answer a summons and hopes its true. She calles out to him and asks to be taken away.

    When Roan sees the teen reduced to tears in her parents bathroom he decides to help Eliza out, but not quite in the way she'd asked. After all,  he hasn't actually answered a summons in many years. Afterward, Roan takes her to the Summerlands so she can look upon him as a man and not a monster all the while warning her not to summons him again unless she really wants to be taken away next time.

    This was a great prequel to The Goblin King. I really enjoyed the story and how Roan helped Eliza because she hadn't wanted him to kill anybody or do anything else but take her away from the guy bothering her. I recommend reading this whether you've read The Goblin King already or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Surprised

    I don't read this kind of literature very often, but the hot guy on the cover pulled me in, I'll admit it. It was actually really cute. Makes me want to read the rest of it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Great!

    I immediately had to buy the real novels!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Hospital:reg

    If you are sick,injured,or hurt come here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Fantastic introduction!

    Can not wait to read The Globin King!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Fast read

    It was good. Just got the other epub. Will start to read it soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 264 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14