Customer Reviews for

The Sun Also Rises

Average Rating 4
( 301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

not so fast

What I like most about Hemingway, is his pacing. I'm not one who thinks that how fast one can turn the pages necessarily equates to the quality of the writing. I find for me to really enjoy Hemingway, I have to read some parts even slower than I typically would, so that...
What I like most about Hemingway, is his pacing. I'm not one who thinks that how fast one can turn the pages necessarily equates to the quality of the writing. I find for me to really enjoy Hemingway, I have to read some parts even slower than I typically would, so that the writing really soaks in, and leaves a lasting impression. A few passages that come to mind that I happily waded through, was the bus trek through the mountains and when Jake goes into great detail describing bull fighting.

Don't feel like you need to burn right through the book (unless, I guess if you're reading it for a paper due tomorrow). Hemingway's writing really shines at a slower reading pace than say, compared to a Dan Brown novel.

It's definitely a good read, as long as you are willing to commit to Hemingway's style and pacing. If not, you'll be miserable.

posted by timtimtim on February 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

If you're in high school and looking for an interesting book to read for a project, this is not it.

During a visit to my school library, the librarian had been discussing the book, “The Sun Also Rises.” The way she described it, it seemed to be something I’d be interested in reading, especially her subtle suggestion that it was about a guy who had some “male issues.” ...
During a visit to my school library, the librarian had been discussing the book, “The Sun Also Rises.” The way she described it, it seemed to be something I’d be interested in reading, especially her subtle suggestion that it was about a guy who had some “male issues.” After being introduced to the main character, Jake Barnes, who also makes subtle suggestions, you find that he is impotent, most likely from an injury he sustained during World War I. From what I gathered he and a group of friends are all American Expatriates who tend to Globe Trot. They take many trips and meet up all over the world. One of Jakes closest friends Robert Cohn is the first that he mentions, before the love of his life, Lady Brett Ashley. Robert Cohn is not a war veteran, but a former middle-weight boxing champion at Princeton. Lady Brett Ashley is a very attractive British socialite who met Jake Barnes while treating his war wounds. Although they were quite close and cared about each other, you find that she is unwilling to be with Jake because she cannot have a sexual relationship due to his injury. Instead you are introduced to more of Jake’s war buddies as the story goes along, and find that Lady Brett Ashley is quite a promiscuous woman. She seems to have sex with everyone but Jake Barnes. On a trip to Spain to party and watch bullfights, and Lady Brett Ashley, now married, she finds herself in love with a 19 year old “Star Bullfighter,” who she insists on meeting, and of course has sex with him too. I was actually pretty surprised by this story, since I always thought World War I times had very feminine and innocent women with good morals. I think how loose Lady Brett Ashley is tortures Jake Barnes and adds to his drunkenness makes her a total female version of a womanizer. I ended up feeling really bad for Jake, to see someone you care about being intimate with other men and not you, when you care the most about her. Jake’s problem makes him seem like he has very low self-esteem because he is not a “full man.” At the end of the story, you do know that she cares for Jake, and did imagine how great they could have been together if everything was all right. Overall, I can’t say it was a bad story, but I was disappointed that the book wasn’t as good as the Librarian and back cover summary was. It’s like I was hoping that some miracle would happen and Jake would really get the girl.

posted by 10821002 on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 304 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    not so fast

    What I like most about Hemingway, is his pacing. I'm not one who thinks that how fast one can turn the pages necessarily equates to the quality of the writing. I find for me to really enjoy Hemingway, I have to read some parts even slower than I typically would, so that the writing really soaks in, and leaves a lasting impression. A few passages that come to mind that I happily waded through, was the bus trek through the mountains and when Jake goes into great detail describing bull fighting.

    Don't feel like you need to burn right through the book (unless, I guess if you're reading it for a paper due tomorrow). Hemingway's writing really shines at a slower reading pace than say, compared to a Dan Brown novel.

    It's definitely a good read, as long as you are willing to commit to Hemingway's style and pacing. If not, you'll be miserable.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My First Hemingway

    I thought The Sun Also Rises was a great book. It was my first Hemingway and I was unsure of how much I would like it. I have heard a lot of things about his books being boring. I think boring is a terrible word people are using. Maybe they mean 'simple'. His writing style is very to the point and very matter of fact. He does not use words he doesn't need to. The story is easy to follow, other than the conversations sometimes can get tricky. I thought it was a beautifully written book that is somewhat easy to relate to. The ending of the book is PERFECT. If you read this for class you may benefit reading it again for leisure.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    If you're in high school and looking for an interesting book to read for a project, this is not it.

    During a visit to my school library, the librarian had been discussing the book, “The Sun Also Rises.” The way she described it, it seemed to be something I’d be interested in reading, especially her subtle suggestion that it was about a guy who had some “male issues.” After being introduced to the main character, Jake Barnes, who also makes subtle suggestions, you find that he is impotent, most likely from an injury he sustained during World War I. From what I gathered he and a group of friends are all American Expatriates who tend to Globe Trot. They take many trips and meet up all over the world. One of Jakes closest friends Robert Cohn is the first that he mentions, before the love of his life, Lady Brett Ashley. Robert Cohn is not a war veteran, but a former middle-weight boxing champion at Princeton. Lady Brett Ashley is a very attractive British socialite who met Jake Barnes while treating his war wounds. Although they were quite close and cared about each other, you find that she is unwilling to be with Jake because she cannot have a sexual relationship due to his injury. Instead you are introduced to more of Jake’s war buddies as the story goes along, and find that Lady Brett Ashley is quite a promiscuous woman. She seems to have sex with everyone but Jake Barnes. On a trip to Spain to party and watch bullfights, and Lady Brett Ashley, now married, she finds herself in love with a 19 year old “Star Bullfighter,” who she insists on meeting, and of course has sex with him too. I was actually pretty surprised by this story, since I always thought World War I times had very feminine and innocent women with good morals. I think how loose Lady Brett Ashley is tortures Jake Barnes and adds to his drunkenness makes her a total female version of a womanizer. I ended up feeling really bad for Jake, to see someone you care about being intimate with other men and not you, when you care the most about her. Jake’s problem makes him seem like he has very low self-esteem because he is not a “full man.” At the end of the story, you do know that she cares for Jake, and did imagine how great they could have been together if everything was all right. Overall, I can’t say it was a bad story, but I was disappointed that the book wasn’t as good as the Librarian and back cover summary was. It’s like I was hoping that some miracle would happen and Jake would really get the girl.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    A book lover

    Wow this was definately one of the worst books I've ever read. Despite coming with high reccomendations from two people I really just didn't understand why it was so famous. Little plot, character development, etc. It isn't even one of those books where you finish it confused but appreciate it through reflection

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sun Also Rises

    The Sun Also Rises is Hemingway's Great Gatsby. Fun and quirky characters, various city settings, and a great attention to story development keep the narration of this novel flowing. You become a part of these characters' lives, and delve into their various worlds.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    Literary pugilist hits with campy dialogue, but masterful and authoritative plot and tone

    Sparse, sharp dialogue, beautiful countryside and a romantic portrayal of loss frame this sad examination of the lives of young post-war yuppies in the 20¿s. A great tourist feel pervades much of this book, which gives readers a brief, but fun visit to France and a more drawn out familiarity with Pamplona, the city famous for the Running of the Bulls or Encierro. A good read when traveling in France or Spain. Hemingway masterfully puts metaphors from the bull fighting and human sexual escapades in the ring, and creates a sympathetic and miserable few characters in a quality novel. It has a Bogie and Becall feel to it, but that was the era Hemingway created. Romantic locales, romance, tragedy. It¿s all in there. I think many of those movies copied his dialogue anyway. The modern reader would enjoy this book due to the fast-paced action and the irony. There is a lot implied and the characters are drunk through most of the book, but this is tame by today¿s standards. All in all a work of art¿in a pre pop art sort of way-- old school.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2000

    It didn't put me to sleep, but...

    Although I enjoyed the ongoing saga of Brett Ashley's love-life, this book was a disappointment to me. Hemingway has never really thrilled my reading taste-buds (even though the only other book of his I've attempted to read is 'The Old Man and the Sea'). 'The Sun Also Rises' is an easy-to-read book with fairly interesting characters and good descriptions, but it seems to have no point. I wouldn't recommend it unless it was the only book within a 50-mile radius and you were really, really bored anyway.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book about an odd group of friends and thier adventure while in Spain for Bull Fights

    This book was recommended to me by my Father-in-law who is a retired English teacher. Hemingway's dialog can be difficult to follow but if you stick with it, it's worth your while. I look forward to reading more of Hemingway work.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2007

    I thought it was just me.

    I'm glad to see there were people here who hated this, also. This has got to be one of the most boring things I've ever read. I'm calling it 'dissapointing' instead of 'poor,' because this was a book I was looking forward to, due to the author's reputation. If I was interested in the lives of the vacuuous and self-absorbed, I could just eavesdrop on one of the many conversations I hear here in NYC, on a daily basis.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    A review from a reader with taste.

    I have to agree with my fellow reviewers in saying that this novel genuinely lacked. This is a disappointment. Especially coming from Hemingway. There is little to hold your attention, the character development is null and void, and overall, it's tedious and boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Reader with taste

    This is the worst book that I've ever finished. Every character has the same manner of speaking, which is also the way it is narrated. Hemingway could not hold John Steinbach's jock strap. What do the characters look like? Horribly written, but now that I see that such an awful book achieves so much acclaim, I have new found confidence that I can write a great novel. OVER over OVER RATED.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    NOW THAT WERE DONE LETS GO WATCH SOME PAINT DRY!

    Wow, talk about boring. I still can't understand why people write boring books. They must be very boring people. Do yourself a favor and don't read this book, unless you like reading about someone elses average boring life.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    Surely not a work of Ernest's...

    At first glance of the book, I was excited to read Hemingway's beginning work of literature and a tale about bull fighting! Unfortunately, I am still ambling on in blase Paris with the drunkards, sex-aholics, hard-core partiers, and half-wits that Ernest calls 'characters'. Seriously? No, this book isn't serious enough. There is no plot. There is no revelation and development of character. There is no anything! It is merely a tale of a depressed, dependant fool who finds himself loving already married women and not wanting to go anywhere else but the one place he hates most: lovely Paris. No wonder this time era was forgotten...if everything was like this, who would want to recall memories of such?! Don't waste your time if you don't have to. For those other unfortunate souls like myself whom are required to read this for class, make do with keeping yourself awake through this muck called a 'book'. I highly recommend a pack of chocolate and a strong cup of coffee.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    A Waste of Time

    I believe that reading this book and doing a project on it is the biggest waste of time I have ever come across. There is no plot, no real draw to the book. How can this garbage be called a classic when the average high school student can ramble on for 247 pages and make it more interesting?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    interested in this book

    i reaky interested in this book i need to now moor informations about 'the sun also rises.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Not understanding it

    I read this book for my 8th grade book report. As i read it, i found it to be extremly boring and i didn't understand it. Later i went on cliff notes about it, and realized that the book's theme was TOTALLY different than what i got out of it. Maybe i just didn't get it because i'm only 13, but for my age and grade level, i wouldn't recommend it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    NO STARS WHATSOEVER!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is the most terrible book i've ever read. There is no plot and i'm sorry i ever read it. It is about four drinks who go around and get drunk. They travel with the parents money and party all day. It is an outdated book which should be burned!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    This book is all hype!!

    This book is utter trash. I don't see why Hemingway receives such good reviews. The plot is highly detailed, yet serves no purpose. If you haven't read the book you are lucky, since you haven't wasted your time as I have!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2001

    Only a solid 3 star

    251 pages. the first 180 pages of this book were just meandering with hardly a story to realize and without much to like at all..then the last 70 took off with the story it should have had from the start. However, sorry folks its still a 3 star from any angle of approach. Perhaps if this book had been written by 'John Smith' instead of a name with a ring like 'Hemingway', it would never have lasted throughout the years.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    At least it's realistic...

    A somewhat boring novel but as my headline states very realistic. There is great meaning behind the story, which is not fully revealed until the very end. Was expecting more but still enjoyed the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 304 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16