Customer Reviews for

Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely love it!

Confession: I really really dislike inspirational books. Especially the ones that call on me to have a life vision of some sort. I'm not a machine and I don't come with an instruction manual and a single over-riding purpose. So books that turn me into a Purpose Driv...
Confession: I really really dislike inspirational books. Especially the ones that call on me to have a life vision of some sort. I'm not a machine and I don't come with an instruction manual and a single over-riding purpose. So books that turn me into a Purpose Driven Bake-sale drive me crazy. This book doesn't do that. What this book did for me was give me a framework for grappling with the promises of God in my life. Steven Furtick is a man with a practice, not a theory. It's not neat and tidy, and it doesn't boil down to 10 easy steps, but it's all there in the book, and it's able to cope with your day to day reality.

This book is for all of us who know God has more for us than the 9 to 5 work day and getting by to make ourselves comfortable. If you've got a dream or a vision for something greater, or a yearning in your heart to do great things and see God come through in your life, but can't figure out how to get there, this book is for you.

posted by crum4519 on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

boring

too drawn out he says the same things over and makes no point not a fan love his purse just not a fan of this book he lost me

posted by SayBunny on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Absolutely love it!

    Confession: I really really dislike inspirational books. Especially the ones that call on me to have a life vision of some sort. I'm not a machine and I don't come with an instruction manual and a single over-riding purpose. So books that turn me into a Purpose Driven Bake-sale drive me crazy. This book doesn't do that. What this book did for me was give me a framework for grappling with the promises of God in my life. Steven Furtick is a man with a practice, not a theory. It's not neat and tidy, and it doesn't boil down to 10 easy steps, but it's all there in the book, and it's able to cope with your day to day reality.

    This book is for all of us who know God has more for us than the 9 to 5 work day and getting by to make ourselves comfortable. If you've got a dream or a vision for something greater, or a yearning in your heart to do great things and see God come through in your life, but can't figure out how to get there, this book is for you.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Sincere But It Left Me Wanting

    "Sun Stands Still" is Charlotte pastor Stephen Furtick's call for Christians to dare to do big things with their faith. He draws parallels to the story of Joshua praying for the sun to stand still in the sky to the type of faith that Christians should have to-a faith he calls "audacious faith." He also uses his experience starting the now-megachurch Elevation Church to give a modern day example of a "Page 23 Vision" (he explains the term) about which we are to pray "Sun Stand Still prayers," which are prayers asking God for the "impossible" (by which he means improbable for us, but not impossible for God) There were things I appreciated about the book. Pastor Furtick's enthusiasm for his subject certainly comes through, and his personal experience is a solid testimony of what God can do when we step out in faith. His writing has a easygoing style that reminded me more of a laid-back megachurch-style sermon than of refined prose. With that said, I would not recommend "Sun Stand Still" except to relatively new or less-mature Christian believers who are looking for inspiration to do "big things" for God. Other recent books with the same type of message, such as Francis Chan's "Crazy Love" and David Platt's "Radical," are a bit more serious and challenging. The book is a little thin on Scriptural support for its points, generally sticking to just the Joshua story to make the point. In doing so, it tends to err in assuming that Old Testament narrative is always practically applicable to modern day believers where the biblical text would not support such a conclusion. Also, at times the book seemed to have a "prosperity gospel" feel to it as opposed to a Christ- and gospel-centered focus which I find essential for a good Christian book. So, while I could appreciate the book and Furtick's experiences, I personally would look elsewhere for this kind of motivational message. Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    boring

    too drawn out he says the same things over and makes no point not a fan love his purse just not a fan of this book he lost me

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    A great book on faith!

    Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick is a challenging book on audacious faith. As I read through Furtick's up front honesty about the smallness of most Christian's faith, I couldn't help but analyze my own faith in God. It was very stirring to be challenged to have enough faith to ask God for what would be for me impossible. However, this book does a great job showing the reader that God wants exactly that.faith to see Him display His glory. Furtick challenges you to examine your faith, vision, prayer life, and basic understanding of God Himself. By the end of the book your hungry to see what God can and will do.

    This was honestly a great read for me. Furtick held my attention, not just because I am a pastor, but because he revealed a passion that could be felt on each page. I truly hated to come to the end of the book, because I wanted to gain even more insight on what real faith really looks like. I would definitely recommend this book to any believer, because it's not just a theological thesis meant only for the spiritual "elite" or the "professionals." Sun Stand Still is a very practical tool for all who want to see their faith reach beyond the norm.

    Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Captivating!

    If you're sick and tired of mediocrity. If you need a vision of what God wants to do in and through your life. If you're ready for a challenge. If you're willing to pray ridiculous prayers and believe for ridiculous things. Then Steven Furtick's book, Sun Stand Still, is for you! The focus is on an intriguing Old Testament encounter between the people of God and their enemy, the Amorites. Knowing they have lined up to attack, Joshua launches a surprise counter-attack and completely catches the Amorites off-guard. He has defeated them, but is in need of more time to completely destroy them. Thus, Joshua prays an audacious prayer in Joshua 10:12: O sun, stand still over Gibeon, O moon, over the Valley of Aijalon. Furtick writes, "Can you see why I love this story? Joshua had the audacity to ask God to make the sun stop in the sky. The freeze time on behalf of his people." And God did! He responded to Joshua's prayer and the sun delayed going down about a full day. The book, then, is the practical application of Joshua's audacious prayer to our present day lives. Furtick challenges readers to a renewed understanding of God's ability to still perform the supernatural; to a vision that might be described as the spiritual imagination to see what God wants to do personally; to an audacious faith (the key phrase in the book) that believes for the impossible; to radical prayers, flowing from that audacious faith, that ask God to work in us, for us, and through us, so that His amazing power is seen and experienced still today; to demonstrate our faith, and put feet to our prayers, through active obedience to the voice of God. The book is well-written, inspiring, and uncomfortable. It targets our feeble, faithless and fruitless spiritual lives. It highlights what we're NOT doing by demonstrating what we MUST be doing. It is practical. It is compelling. It is stimulating. If there is an ounce of spiritual life in you, it will re-ingnite your faith, drive you to your knees, and compel you to action. Thanks Steven for a kick in the pants! Through this book may God raise up more young people like yourself!
    *I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for this honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Please. Use. Your. Brain.

    Please. There is no god, and it's OK! Just live THIS life!! Make yourself happy, without bothering anyone else! That's the meaning of Life, for free! Happy to share it!

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    This was a wonderful book, easy to read and understand and writt

    This was a wonderful book, easy to read and understand and written in the vernacular of the day.  It presented the Gospel message accurately and was an inspiration to me.  Thanks. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Wow, motive you to do more.

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Generally speaking, this was a good book with a number of strong

    Generally speaking, this was a good book with a number of strong points. At times it was inspiring and challenging in ways that would empower nearly anyone to live a life of confidence for the cause of Christ; something that this world and the Christian community truly needs. (Are you anticipating a “but”?) But…

    I struggled to get through this one. There is a significant difference between the usage of language when communicating orally and communicating in written form. This book read as a combination of sermons in a number of ways. When reading 6 months worth of sermons there are certain things that are important speaking techniques that makes a piece of writing seem redundant and circular. Furtick overused alliteration and listing as memorization tools. He also repeated concepts every time he attempted to expand the concept by introducing a new idea. When I’m reading something, if I forget a concept I can flip back to the original explanation and reread it word for word. If I didn’t forget the concept, I’d rather not reread the original explanation word for word two chapters later… and then two chapters after that… and again in the next chapter.

    However, conceptually the book was passionately written and compelling. There were times when I wanted to challenge how Furtick made his case with the reader. Not enough to give up on reading it, though! Here are a few quotes from the book, in no particular order, that I truly LOVED. I have repeated many of these phrases in daily conversation and during devotional time (something that is key to a books lasting effect).

    “…extraordinary moves of God begin with ordinary acts of obedience.”
    “But no matter who pays your salary, you’re a full-time employee of the Kingdom of God. And wherever you work, that’s your ministry. Whatever you’re good at, that’s your calling. The components of your assignment are the sources of your significance. And there are burning bushes all around you.”
    “The people who accomplish the most astounding things for God’s glory aren’t the people who feel the least fear. … They act on the part of God’s direction they do understand.”
    “Faith is not an abstract theological proposition.”
    “On a good day, I’m 55 percent sure. And that’s enough certainty to take the next step.”

    I will end my thoughts with the same invitation that Furtick used to close this book. It is a powerful invitation. It’s striking in a strangely comfortable way (maybe that’s just me though…). It’s something I would love to say every time I greet someone at a ministry function because I believe that everyone has the potential to be “living, breathing, forcefully advancing people of God” if we are willing to live for this cause and the purpose God has given each of us. So, just in case you ever choose to read this book (or simply follow your call),

    “Welcome to the middle of a move of God.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Inspiring

    If you want to know God's true strength, Sun Stand Still will make it clear. Biblically sound, Sun Stand Still inspires and challenges. It's no wonder God has chosen Steven Furtick to build the Kingdom in a "game changer" sort of way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Time to take the plunge!

    Go on, you need a fresh challenge to your faith and purpose in Christ. Get the book and get ready to be set aflame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Big Vision

    I enjoyed Steven Furtick's book simply because the guy is not scared to have a vision that is completely ridiculous! I believe he called it his page 23 vision. The books seems very engergetic, uplifting, exciting and full of hope for Christians with a vision today. Often many times in churches today people and pastors are in complete maintance mode. They are paralized by fear of their friends or congregations. It is incredibly sad because many pastors have God sized visions, but simply do not act on them because of what others will think. It was a good simple read, no crazy theological terms.Also it was a fresh look at the story in the Word of God about the Day the Sun stood still.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Good book

    I. Love. This. Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    I+believe+God+led+me+to+this+book...

    I%27d+been+asking+God+to+accelerate+His+purpose+for+my+life.++I+know+that+He+has+a+huge+purpose+for+my+life%2C+but+its+been+years+now+and+i+feel+like+there+hasnt+been+much+movement.+After+reading+this+book%2C+i+know+this+was+an+answer+to+my+prayer.++I+totally+felt+that+everything+Steve+said%2F+wrote+witnessed+to+and+was+in+agreement+with+my+spirit.+%0A%0AI+highly+recommend+for+those+who+are+believing+God+for+the+impossible+%28imparted+by+the+Holy+Spirit%29.++%0A%0AGod+can+dream+a+bigger+dream+for+you+than+you+can+for+yourself%21%21%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Very Inspirational!

    If you have a glimmer of faith this book will stir you to shine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Don't pass this book up--its that powerful!

    I received Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick to review from WaterBrook Press through their Blogging for Books program. I was not required to give a positive review, these are my honest thoughts. Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick is one of the most inspirational books I have read in a long time. He bridges the disconnect between the heros of faith in the Old Testament and our everyday lives right now. If you need an extra dose of faith, this book is the one for you. If you need the courage to jump and know that our Father will catch you, this book is the one for you. Packed with powerful statements, Furtick is right-this book is not a snuggie. It will break you out of the mundane, boring faith rut you are in and propel you to new heights of faith. Don't miss this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Best Book I've ever read on faith!

    Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick is one of the most inspirational books I have read in a long time. He bridges the disconnect between the heros of faith in the Old Testament and our everyday lives right now. If you need an extra dose of faith, this book is the one for you. If you need the courage to jump and know that our Father will catch you, this book is the one for you. Packed with powerful statements, Furtick is right-this book is not a snuggie. It will break you out of the mundane, boring faith rut you are in and propel you to new heights of faith. Don't miss this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Highly recommended, learn to pray audaciously

    I received Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick to review from WaterBrook Press through their Blogging for Books program. I was not required to give a positive review, these are my honest thoughts.

    I must say that I've been struggling in my prayer life, I'm pretty good at reading the Bible and praying every day, but I kind of have gotten into a rut in my life with prayers. I was really looking forward to reading this book and seeing how I could pray audaciously through the Word of God. And I did take a lot from this book. I learned that you should ask God for what you cannot humanly do yourself, and you will find that things happen because of Him. You must show faith. And I have changed my prayers. A lot. And my prayers have changed me.

    The only thing I took issue with is Mr Furtick discussed how he used to pray saying "if it be your will", as if to give God a way out, but interestingly we are going through a prayer series at my church where we are going over Matthew 6:10-14 where Jesus teaches us how to pray and one thing he does say is that we should pray "Your will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven" Matthew 6:10.

    I did really like how he showed that you should use Biblical references to "support" your request, which reinforces your faith and your faithfulness.

    All in all I think this is a good book to help you pray for God's help in your life, and I really like that he shows you how to do it with all your faith. I would recommend this book without hesitation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Are you Insulting God?

    "Sun Stands Still" speaks of God that didn't just once do great things, but STILL does the miraculous. Steven Furtick writes with a passion that is contagious as the chapters seem to fly by. As he goes back and forth from biblical miracle to stories of people like you and me (including the author himself), it is very hard to not realize the point of this book. That point is quite simply this: God still does (and wants to perform) miracles.
    I feel this book stands apart from many other books you might encounter, because you realize that Furtick not only believes these truths, but lives them as well. His use of humor, personal stories from his life and the church he leads (Elevation Church) carry you through the book. I left this book not simply satisfied with an encouraging read but with a desire to get mobile and ask God for great things. The best part for me was I couldn't wait until the book was over.
    Pastor Steven takes timeless truth and wraps it into a contemporary package. Despite his overuse of the word "audacity" and all of its variations, I think you will be compelled to keep the book in hand from start to finish. I think the following states the premise of the book perfectly. "If the size of your vision for your life isn't intimidating to you, there's a good chance it's insulting to God." I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Sun Stand Still

    Product Description
    If you're not DARING TO BELIEVE GOD for the impossible,
    you may be SLEEPING THROUGH
    some of the BEST PARTS of your Christian Life.

    "This book is not a Snuggie. The words on these pages will not go down like Ambien. I'm not writing to calm or coddle you. With God's help, I intend to incite a riot in your mind. Trip your breakers and turn out the lights in your favorite hiding places of insecurity and fear. Then flip the switch back on so that God's truth can illuminate the divine destiny that may have been lying dormant inside you for years.
    In short, I'm out to activate your audacious faith. To inspire you to ask God for the impossible. And in the process, to reconnect you with your God-sized purpose and potential."
    -STEVEN FURTICK, from Sun Stand Still


    "Steven Furtick challenges all of us-from the missionary in the third world to the family in the suburbs-to believe God for the impossible and begin living a life of faith beyond the ordinary."
    -ANDY STANLEY, senior pastor, North Point Community Church

    "I don't know anyone better positioned to challenge you to rise above mundane living and embrace faith-filled audacity than Steven Furtick."
    -CRAIG GROESCHEL, senior pastor, LifeChurch.tv

    "For too long Christians have embraced a miniscule vision of faith.. Steven Furtick reminds us that the God who accomplished the impossible through the great heroes of faith still desires to do the same through us today."
    -JENTEZEN FRANKLIN, senior pastor, Free Chapel

    "This book will show you that your hopes and expectations are truly just the beginning of what God can do."
    -ED YOUNG, senior pastor, Fellowship Church

    Sun Stand Still is one of the most important books you will ever read. This message will inspire you to believe that God can actually do the impossible in your life, and to chase after the dreams He has placed in your heart. Not only should you read this book, but get it in the hands of the people in your life that need to embrace a bigger vision for what God wants to do through them.

    In any case, there were a number of powerful insights I took away from the book.
    - The key to being a disciple is being completely available to Jesus: unconditional obedience.
    - Whatever you're good at, that's your calling. Wherever and wherever it may lead you, is holy ground.
    - Every member of the body of Christ is a link in the life-change process of other people
    - Furtick also hates the phrases "just a volunteer" and "full-time Christian ministry"
    - The scope and impact of your vision will be determined by who you believe God is.
    - "If you're going to pray for God to make the sun stand still, you'd better be ready to march all night!"



    i received this book free from Multnomah Books as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5