Customer Reviews for

Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely love it!

Confession: I really really dislike inspirational books. Especially the ones that call on me to have a life vision of some sort. I'm not a machine and I don't come with an instruction manual and a single over-riding purpose. So books that turn me into a Purpose Driv...
Confession: I really really dislike inspirational books. Especially the ones that call on me to have a life vision of some sort. I'm not a machine and I don't come with an instruction manual and a single over-riding purpose. So books that turn me into a Purpose Driven Bake-sale drive me crazy. This book doesn't do that. What this book did for me was give me a framework for grappling with the promises of God in my life. Steven Furtick is a man with a practice, not a theory. It's not neat and tidy, and it doesn't boil down to 10 easy steps, but it's all there in the book, and it's able to cope with your day to day reality.

This book is for all of us who know God has more for us than the 9 to 5 work day and getting by to make ourselves comfortable. If you've got a dream or a vision for something greater, or a yearning in your heart to do great things and see God come through in your life, but can't figure out how to get there, this book is for you.

posted by crum4519 on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

boring

too drawn out he says the same things over and makes no point not a fan love his purse just not a fan of this book he lost me

posted by SayBunny on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Generally speaking, this was a good book with a number of strong

    Generally speaking, this was a good book with a number of strong points. At times it was inspiring and challenging in ways that would empower nearly anyone to live a life of confidence for the cause of Christ; something that this world and the Christian community truly needs. (Are you anticipating a “but”?) But…

    I struggled to get through this one. There is a significant difference between the usage of language when communicating orally and communicating in written form. This book read as a combination of sermons in a number of ways. When reading 6 months worth of sermons there are certain things that are important speaking techniques that makes a piece of writing seem redundant and circular. Furtick overused alliteration and listing as memorization tools. He also repeated concepts every time he attempted to expand the concept by introducing a new idea. When I’m reading something, if I forget a concept I can flip back to the original explanation and reread it word for word. If I didn’t forget the concept, I’d rather not reread the original explanation word for word two chapters later… and then two chapters after that… and again in the next chapter.

    However, conceptually the book was passionately written and compelling. There were times when I wanted to challenge how Furtick made his case with the reader. Not enough to give up on reading it, though! Here are a few quotes from the book, in no particular order, that I truly LOVED. I have repeated many of these phrases in daily conversation and during devotional time (something that is key to a books lasting effect).

    “…extraordinary moves of God begin with ordinary acts of obedience.”
    “But no matter who pays your salary, you’re a full-time employee of the Kingdom of God. And wherever you work, that’s your ministry. Whatever you’re good at, that’s your calling. The components of your assignment are the sources of your significance. And there are burning bushes all around you.”
    “The people who accomplish the most astounding things for God’s glory aren’t the people who feel the least fear. … They act on the part of God’s direction they do understand.”
    “Faith is not an abstract theological proposition.”
    “On a good day, I’m 55 percent sure. And that’s enough certainty to take the next step.”

    I will end my thoughts with the same invitation that Furtick used to close this book. It is a powerful invitation. It’s striking in a strangely comfortable way (maybe that’s just me though…). It’s something I would love to say every time I greet someone at a ministry function because I believe that everyone has the potential to be “living, breathing, forcefully advancing people of God” if we are willing to live for this cause and the purpose God has given each of us. So, just in case you ever choose to read this book (or simply follow your call),

    “Welcome to the middle of a move of God.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Big Vision

    I enjoyed Steven Furtick's book simply because the guy is not scared to have a vision that is completely ridiculous! I believe he called it his page 23 vision. The books seems very engergetic, uplifting, exciting and full of hope for Christians with a vision today. Often many times in churches today people and pastors are in complete maintance mode. They are paralized by fear of their friends or congregations. It is incredibly sad because many pastors have God sized visions, but simply do not act on them because of what others will think. It was a good simple read, no crazy theological terms.Also it was a fresh look at the story in the Word of God about the Day the Sun stood still.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Sun Stand Still

    Product Description
    If you're not DARING TO BELIEVE GOD for the impossible,
    you may be SLEEPING THROUGH
    some of the BEST PARTS of your Christian Life.

    "This book is not a Snuggie. The words on these pages will not go down like Ambien. I'm not writing to calm or coddle you. With God's help, I intend to incite a riot in your mind. Trip your breakers and turn out the lights in your favorite hiding places of insecurity and fear. Then flip the switch back on so that God's truth can illuminate the divine destiny that may have been lying dormant inside you for years.
    In short, I'm out to activate your audacious faith. To inspire you to ask God for the impossible. And in the process, to reconnect you with your God-sized purpose and potential."
    -STEVEN FURTICK, from Sun Stand Still


    "Steven Furtick challenges all of us-from the missionary in the third world to the family in the suburbs-to believe God for the impossible and begin living a life of faith beyond the ordinary."
    -ANDY STANLEY, senior pastor, North Point Community Church

    "I don't know anyone better positioned to challenge you to rise above mundane living and embrace faith-filled audacity than Steven Furtick."
    -CRAIG GROESCHEL, senior pastor, LifeChurch.tv

    "For too long Christians have embraced a miniscule vision of faith.. Steven Furtick reminds us that the God who accomplished the impossible through the great heroes of faith still desires to do the same through us today."
    -JENTEZEN FRANKLIN, senior pastor, Free Chapel

    "This book will show you that your hopes and expectations are truly just the beginning of what God can do."
    -ED YOUNG, senior pastor, Fellowship Church

    Sun Stand Still is one of the most important books you will ever read. This message will inspire you to believe that God can actually do the impossible in your life, and to chase after the dreams He has placed in your heart. Not only should you read this book, but get it in the hands of the people in your life that need to embrace a bigger vision for what God wants to do through them.

    In any case, there were a number of powerful insights I took away from the book.
    - The key to being a disciple is being completely available to Jesus: unconditional obedience.
    - Whatever you're good at, that's your calling. Wherever and wherever it may lead you, is holy ground.
    - Every member of the body of Christ is a link in the life-change process of other people
    - Furtick also hates the phrases "just a volunteer" and "full-time Christian ministry"
    - The scope and impact of your vision will be determined by who you believe God is.
    - "If you're going to pray for God to make the sun stand still, you'd better be ready to march all night!"



    i received this book free from Multnomah Books as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    For those looking to re-invigorate their faith

    From the get-go, author Steven Furtick is honest about the intent and intensity of his new book, Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible

    "This book is not a Snuggie. The words on these pages will not go down like Ambien. I am not writing to calm or coddle you."

    Audacity is a word that Furtick uses again and again in this book. He speaks of having the audacity to believe that we were meant for more than spiritual complacency - just waiting around for the world to end. He challenges us to have the audacity to ask God for a 'sun stand still' type event in our lives; and he assures us, that it is possible. He also points out that audacity isn't just an act, but a lifestyle. Living an audacious faith is not some radical, hippy-dippy twenty-first century thing. It's actually a return to the Biblical depictions of Christianity - a return to a faith and trust that we seem to have lost along the way.

    To bolster these claims, Furtick tells stories (with ease), incorporates scripture, and deftly helps us to see the audacious we were missing in the ordinary. Yes, Sun Stand Still is challenging at times - constantly trying to drag us from our comfort zone, to see that God is calling us to more than the ordinary, but it didn't seem all that scary to me. And oddly I felt a little comforted even though Furtick said I wouldn't.

    Then again, it almost always comforts me to be reminded that God is there in everything, that he's capable of anything, and that he loves me and sees me (this lowly creature) as a vessel to be used for his glory. Maybe I'm just funny that way.

    For me, Sun Stand Still didn't quite live up to it's title or the hype it had, bit that might be because I've experienced this kind of radical Christianity before. It's not brand new, and thus, not totally mind-blowing. Bur this is a solid book for anyone looking to reinvigorate a faith that they may have let grow stagnant over the years.

    Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book to review by Multnomah. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1