Customer Reviews for

Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely love it!

Confession: I really really dislike inspirational books. Especially the ones that call on me to have a life vision of some sort. I'm not a machine and I don't come with an instruction manual and a single over-riding purpose. So books that turn me into a Purpose Driv...
Confession: I really really dislike inspirational books. Especially the ones that call on me to have a life vision of some sort. I'm not a machine and I don't come with an instruction manual and a single over-riding purpose. So books that turn me into a Purpose Driven Bake-sale drive me crazy. This book doesn't do that. What this book did for me was give me a framework for grappling with the promises of God in my life. Steven Furtick is a man with a practice, not a theory. It's not neat and tidy, and it doesn't boil down to 10 easy steps, but it's all there in the book, and it's able to cope with your day to day reality.

This book is for all of us who know God has more for us than the 9 to 5 work day and getting by to make ourselves comfortable. If you've got a dream or a vision for something greater, or a yearning in your heart to do great things and see God come through in your life, but can't figure out how to get there, this book is for you.

posted by crum4519 on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sincere But It Left Me Wanting

"Sun Stands Still" is Charlotte pastor Stephen Furtick's call for Christians to dare to do big things with their faith. He draws parallels to the story of Joshua praying for the sun to stand still in the sky to the type of faith that Christians should have to-a faith he...
"Sun Stands Still" is Charlotte pastor Stephen Furtick's call for Christians to dare to do big things with their faith. He draws parallels to the story of Joshua praying for the sun to stand still in the sky to the type of faith that Christians should have to-a faith he calls "audacious faith." He also uses his experience starting the now-megachurch Elevation Church to give a modern day example of a "Page 23 Vision" (he explains the term) about which we are to pray "Sun Stand Still prayers," which are prayers asking God for the "impossible" (by which he means improbable for us, but not impossible for God) There were things I appreciated about the book. Pastor Furtick's enthusiasm for his subject certainly comes through, and his personal experience is a solid testimony of what God can do when we step out in faith. His writing has a easygoing style that reminded me more of a laid-back megachurch-style sermon than of refined prose. With that said, I would not recommend "Sun Stand Still" except to relatively new or less-mature Christian believers who are looking for inspiration to do "big things" for God. Other recent books with the same type of message, such as Francis Chan's "Crazy Love" and David Platt's "Radical," are a bit more serious and challenging. The book is a little thin on Scriptural support for its points, generally sticking to just the Joshua story to make the point. In doing so, it tends to err in assuming that Old Testament narrative is always practically applicable to modern day believers where the biblical text would not support such a conclusion. Also, at times the book seemed to have a "prosperity gospel" feel to it as opposed to a Christ- and gospel-centered focus which I find essential for a good Christian book. So, while I could appreciate the book and Furtick's experiences, I personally would look elsewhere for this kind of motivational message. Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

posted by Rich_Starnes on March 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Captivating!

    If you're sick and tired of mediocrity. If you need a vision of what God wants to do in and through your life. If you're ready for a challenge. If you're willing to pray ridiculous prayers and believe for ridiculous things. Then Steven Furtick's book, Sun Stand Still, is for you! The focus is on an intriguing Old Testament encounter between the people of God and their enemy, the Amorites. Knowing they have lined up to attack, Joshua launches a surprise counter-attack and completely catches the Amorites off-guard. He has defeated them, but is in need of more time to completely destroy them. Thus, Joshua prays an audacious prayer in Joshua 10:12: O sun, stand still over Gibeon, O moon, over the Valley of Aijalon. Furtick writes, "Can you see why I love this story? Joshua had the audacity to ask God to make the sun stop in the sky. The freeze time on behalf of his people." And God did! He responded to Joshua's prayer and the sun delayed going down about a full day. The book, then, is the practical application of Joshua's audacious prayer to our present day lives. Furtick challenges readers to a renewed understanding of God's ability to still perform the supernatural; to a vision that might be described as the spiritual imagination to see what God wants to do personally; to an audacious faith (the key phrase in the book) that believes for the impossible; to radical prayers, flowing from that audacious faith, that ask God to work in us, for us, and through us, so that His amazing power is seen and experienced still today; to demonstrate our faith, and put feet to our prayers, through active obedience to the voice of God. The book is well-written, inspiring, and uncomfortable. It targets our feeble, faithless and fruitless spiritual lives. It highlights what we're NOT doing by demonstrating what we MUST be doing. It is practical. It is compelling. It is stimulating. If there is an ounce of spiritual life in you, it will re-ingnite your faith, drive you to your knees, and compel you to action. Thanks Steven for a kick in the pants! Through this book may God raise up more young people like yourself!
    *I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for this honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Highly recommended, learn to pray audaciously

    I received Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick to review from WaterBrook Press through their Blogging for Books program. I was not required to give a positive review, these are my honest thoughts.

    I must say that I've been struggling in my prayer life, I'm pretty good at reading the Bible and praying every day, but I kind of have gotten into a rut in my life with prayers. I was really looking forward to reading this book and seeing how I could pray audaciously through the Word of God. And I did take a lot from this book. I learned that you should ask God for what you cannot humanly do yourself, and you will find that things happen because of Him. You must show faith. And I have changed my prayers. A lot. And my prayers have changed me.

    The only thing I took issue with is Mr Furtick discussed how he used to pray saying "if it be your will", as if to give God a way out, but interestingly we are going through a prayer series at my church where we are going over Matthew 6:10-14 where Jesus teaches us how to pray and one thing he does say is that we should pray "Your will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven" Matthew 6:10.

    I did really like how he showed that you should use Biblical references to "support" your request, which reinforces your faith and your faithfulness.

    All in all I think this is a good book to help you pray for God's help in your life, and I really like that he shows you how to do it with all your faith. I would recommend this book without hesitation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Get book on praying

    Sun Stand Still is a book about praying big prayers. This at times is not a feel good book but a book to push you over the edge to expect big things from God. Steven Furtick uses the verses in Joshua 10 to illustrate how can God take a simple prayer and turn it into a big solution. Some of the ideas in the book are new ones and some are just package different. The package different is not bad because we all learn in different ways. I really enjoyed this book and being stretched. The one chapter I liked the most is near the end of the book. It gives you guidelines to Sun Stand Still prayers. It is a great book easy to read but not a feel good book.

    WaterBrook Multnomah has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Sun Stand Still

    Sun Stand Still is a call to live with audacious faith. Pastor and author Steven Furtick uses Joshua as an example to propel us into a new dimension of faith where we are brave enough to ask God for that which seems impossible.
    I chose this book because I thought it would be a book that helps increase my faith and moves me to a new level. I did not get that out of this book. While the message of this book is relevant to todays society, for me, it wasn't as motivational as I thought it would be. Don't get me wrong, this book is an excellent book.

    I would highly recommend it to a new believer who has questions about what faith is and how to increase it. This book is Biblically based and is filled with wonderful examples. However, if you have been a believer for awhile, and are looking for a deeper challenge, then I would not recommend this book for you.

    Sun Stand Still is a great book to help you realize that God is calling His people to ask, seek and knock and to look for His hand in your impossible situations.
    Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book to review by Multnomah. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Read it and Do!

    Steven Furtick puts a book on any bookstore's shelf that will be beneficial to any believer. The book serves as an "audacious" reminder of what it means to walk by faith and obedience. I was a little bit skeptical of the book, I was fearful it might have been another "name it and claim it" or "your best life now" book, but it wasn't. The book provided good biblical basis for what a faith filled life looks like and what it looks like for a person to rely on God to provide, to rely on God to be truthful to His promises and for God to come through for us in a biblical way.

    There are a couple of things that bothered me about the book. Steven is very good at making easy to remember statements for biblical principles. In his sermons, they serve him well, but in the book he goes a little bit overboard with the catchy phrases. I also was a little bit concerned with the basic premise of the book. It was stated early and then began to begin to be repetitive after reading it.

    Please do not let those few negative things stop you from reading this book. I wholeheartedly recommend this book, in fact I intend to pass it along, hoping it will ignite a kind of faith that will ask God for the impossible! The book demands a response! This book is a wake up call for God's people to realize their call on their life and act on it... change the world!
    Like Steven says,
    "This book is not a Sunggie. The words on these pages will not go down like Ambien. I'm not writing to calm or coddle you. With God's help, I intend to incite a riot in your mind. Trip you breakers and turn out the lights in your favorite hiding places of insecurity and fear. Then flip the switch back on so that God's truth can illuminate the divine destiny that may have been lying dormant inside you for years."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    lots to learn!

    Sun Stand Still is a new book and small group study by Stephen Furtick and it looks to change the way we view and use faith. To give us a renewed faith that is strong in Christ. There are also videos by the author to use for small group discussion.

    This new book pushes forward and looks to God as the source of all that is good. It asks us to place everything in the arms of God as we ask him for physical and spiritual healing, ask for our every waking need. There is a lot to be learned for many Christians today as many of us have little to no faith in God and what he will do for us.

    I definitely recommend this book to those who are struggling in our faith, which is really all of us. I'm sure the study will be highly beneficial for those looking for more. So check it out for yourself when it comes out September 21st!

    read this and other reviews of mine at http://fablefreak.wordpress.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1