Customer Reviews for

Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely love it!

Confession: I really really dislike inspirational books. Especially the ones that call on me to have a life vision of some sort. I'm not a machine and I don't come with an instruction manual and a single over-riding purpose. So books that turn me into a Purpose Driv...
Confession: I really really dislike inspirational books. Especially the ones that call on me to have a life vision of some sort. I'm not a machine and I don't come with an instruction manual and a single over-riding purpose. So books that turn me into a Purpose Driven Bake-sale drive me crazy. This book doesn't do that. What this book did for me was give me a framework for grappling with the promises of God in my life. Steven Furtick is a man with a practice, not a theory. It's not neat and tidy, and it doesn't boil down to 10 easy steps, but it's all there in the book, and it's able to cope with your day to day reality.

This book is for all of us who know God has more for us than the 9 to 5 work day and getting by to make ourselves comfortable. If you've got a dream or a vision for something greater, or a yearning in your heart to do great things and see God come through in your life, but can't figure out how to get there, this book is for you.

posted by crum4519 on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sincere But It Left Me Wanting

"Sun Stands Still" is Charlotte pastor Stephen Furtick's call for Christians to dare to do big things with their faith. He draws parallels to the story of Joshua praying for the sun to stand still in the sky to the type of faith that Christians should have to-a faith he...
"Sun Stands Still" is Charlotte pastor Stephen Furtick's call for Christians to dare to do big things with their faith. He draws parallels to the story of Joshua praying for the sun to stand still in the sky to the type of faith that Christians should have to-a faith he calls "audacious faith." He also uses his experience starting the now-megachurch Elevation Church to give a modern day example of a "Page 23 Vision" (he explains the term) about which we are to pray "Sun Stand Still prayers," which are prayers asking God for the "impossible" (by which he means improbable for us, but not impossible for God) There were things I appreciated about the book. Pastor Furtick's enthusiasm for his subject certainly comes through, and his personal experience is a solid testimony of what God can do when we step out in faith. His writing has a easygoing style that reminded me more of a laid-back megachurch-style sermon than of refined prose. With that said, I would not recommend "Sun Stand Still" except to relatively new or less-mature Christian believers who are looking for inspiration to do "big things" for God. Other recent books with the same type of message, such as Francis Chan's "Crazy Love" and David Platt's "Radical," are a bit more serious and challenging. The book is a little thin on Scriptural support for its points, generally sticking to just the Joshua story to make the point. In doing so, it tends to err in assuming that Old Testament narrative is always practically applicable to modern day believers where the biblical text would not support such a conclusion. Also, at times the book seemed to have a "prosperity gospel" feel to it as opposed to a Christ- and gospel-centered focus which I find essential for a good Christian book. So, while I could appreciate the book and Furtick's experiences, I personally would look elsewhere for this kind of motivational message. Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

posted by Rich_Starnes on March 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Great Book if You're Believing for Great Things

    Sun Stand Still by Pastor Steven Furtick delivers a fresh perspective on faith that takes you way beyond flippant Christian cliches into the reality of an unshakable confidence in the character of God he refers to as Audacious Faith! As Furtick lays it out, "if we have the audacity to ask, God has the ability to perform" (1 John 5:14-15).

    This is not a "name it and claim it" book as some have critiqued unfairly. This is a solid biblical and prophetic call to a generation that rarely sees a radical, biblical faith lived out in today's culture.

    From the Table of Contents to the Acknowledgements (I'm not joking), Sun Stand Still's pages are full of nuggets that will navigate you from living a life of complacency into an audacious faith to believe God for the impossible.

    If you're a dreamer, visionary, entrepreneur, believing God for big things, or a person in need of a faith lift, I highly recommend you put this book at the top of your reading list this year. I received Sun Stand Still for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Must read for every Christian

    First, I read this book about 5 months ago while out hunting in the woods, but since I can post a review of any Multonomah book... I figured I should put my two cents in. This book changed the way I pray. Steven Furtick's account with his father has led me to pray huge prayers over my children, my ministry and my own parents. I know see God sized things as "Sun Stand Still Moments".

    I would recommend this book to everyone... in fact, I already have been. Even after 5 months of finishing this book, I continually talk about it to ministry friends and those in our church body. Everyone can grow from the way Steven lays out a faith that moves God to action.

    Five stars all the way... there is no chapter that lacked in teachable moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Great book - very inspirational

    "Sun Stand Still" is fast paced, and easy to follow. Steven Furtick gives biblical truths and great stories of his life, to illustrate how prayer is an effective form of not only worship, but motivation. He explains how we can use prayer for the greater things that God has planned for us, and not just something to do at dinner time. Wow. I read this book in two days. Loved it. I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dare to Ask God for the Impossible and See It Happen!

    I had a great opportunity to be profoundly touched by a great book that I just read called Sun Stand Still. In a nutshell it teaches all of us believers that we can ask impossible things from God and share the belief that He will come through for us.

    So many of us simply pray for what we would like to see happen but we lack the confidence in truly believing whether or not that would actually happen. What about asking God for something as impossible for us, like making the sun stand still in the sky? Sound a little on the prayer extreme??

    Well that is exactly what Joshua prayed for and with no doubts that God couldn't do it, or if He wanted to...no Joshua spoke it and believed with his whole heart, that God would follow through.

    Joshua 10:12 " O sun, stand still of Gibeon, O moon, over the Valley of Aijalon."

    What happened next? We'll God extended the day for Joshua so he could eliminate his enemies as they ran for the cover of darkness hoping to get away.

    In the book, Sun Stand Still, Steven Furtick teaches believers a simple truth, "If you're not daring to believe God for the impossible, you're sleeping through some of the best parts of your Christian life!"

    He teaches you to have "audacious" faith, as any Christian believer should be made of. When you live this way, you'll discover that faith isn't just a Get Out Of Hell Free card. It's the most vital building block of your relationship with God. In this book, he teaches you to expand on your existing faith in a whole new way. In a life changing way! In a way that will show you through many stories how God is still making the miraculous and impossible happen right before our eyes.

    I received this amazing book, compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest review and believe that every Christian should get a copy of this, pastors should begin Bible Studies on this and marriages should pray Sun Stand Still prayers over their partners and families! I would rate this one a stellar 5 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing. Just Amazing.

    I'd also like to recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" by R.A. Clark. It's revealing look at the power of forgiveness. If you ever felt trapped by anger, guilt, resentment and/or pain, then this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Want to be equipped to impact your marketplace?

    If you are in the secular world and have a hard time connecting the profits with a purpose then this is a book that will help position you for the unique work that God wants to accomplish in you and through you. Furtick challenges you not to disqualify yourself because God has you exactly where He wants you even if you got there by disobedience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Lazy People Stay Away

    Buy it! Read it! Love it! And then get off your butt and do something about it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Challenging and Inspiring Message

    The message captured within the pages of this book challenges and inspires everyone who hears it to act in audacious faith. Not only does it allow you to better understand what audacious faith looks like but it also gives practical application on what audacious faith looks like now for all of us (students, mom's, business leaders).

    This is a book you need to purchase for yourself and additional copies for your friends.
    This book, I believe, is going to ignite a movement. Not only is it the best book I've read -- it's also the message that has activated my faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4