BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sunday Brunch: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Love, love, love this book! This is the book that began my journ

    Love, love, love this book! This is the book that began my journey in reading A-A Christian fiction. I look forward to reading everything else Ms. Jarrett brings us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Sunday brunch

    This story is about five close friends that share there ups and downs about life with men while. The meet every Sunday and have lunch and decuss how there week went it is adventurous and funny to read. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Not very good

    Boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2005

    A good read for all types of readers.

    I must admit that I don't do enough leisure reading, but I couldn't stop reading this book for thirty minutes. I bought the book on Friday and finished it Saturday. Now, I'm upset that I didn't pace myself, but the story was too interesting. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Nice Story

    This is a nice book, but very predictable and not a lot of depth to it. The way the author looped spirituality throughout was good, and realistic. But the characters were not explored as much as I would have liked. And the title to each chapter gave away what was going to happen with all 46 chapters. That was frustrating to me. I like to see it unfold, not be told up front. The ending was a little too perfect too. But nevertheless it did keep my attention, and the storyline was decent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    Christian Fiction and excellent story telling

    Although placed in the General Fiction genre, I feel that Sunday Brunch is best categorized as Christian Fiction. As such, I think this book could hold its own in a book discussion of a church book club, and it comes conveniently packaged with discussion questions and creative tips for discussion at the end. While I felt the storyline has been done before-probably because I read extensively-I liked how it was done. I liked the inclusion of prayers and scripture in the day-to-day lives of the characters, but if you¿re not a Christian this might be over the top for you. Five friends, who met in law school, get together every Sunday after church for brunch. This is an opportunity for Lexi, Capri, Jewel, Jermane and Angel to catch up on the events of their week, and talk through their situations. Each lady is an individual with her own unique set of problems but feel confident enough in their friendship to be candid. The storyteller Lexi keeps this story moving. She is searching for a closer walk with God. She is portrayed as the one who keeps this camaraderie flowing. She is called upon by all of her friends and she takes each of their issues to heart and prays constantly for them. Although it appears her prayers are answered for things in her friends¿ lives, she believes her own needs aren¿t being met but she remains vigilant in her faith. Capri is the standoffish member of the brunch bunch. She¿s been emotionally scarred but her friends encourage her to explore a relationship; it¿s okay for her to let her guard down concerning love. Jewel is the extrovert in the bunch. Egregious and effervescent, she¿s considered ¿over the top¿ but what would a circle of friends be without the self-centered but loveable member. She too is searching for love, but not with a brother who does not have a bank account to back it. Angel is reserve. She doesn¿t attend church, feeling mainly that church folks are hypocrites but she doesn¿t knock her friend¿s choices. Lexi feels that she must convert Angel, but must do so in a non-preachy way. Angel has health problems and most of the book, if the reader feels any concern or bonding with the characters, Angel garners this feeling. Jermane, the last of the ladies, is probably the most sheltered. She¿s married to Rex, an attorney in her father¿s law office, and who feels he must spend time working to impress his father-in-law and not his wife. Jermane feels alone and while she has this circle of friends, they aren¿t exactly the company she desires. As the lives of these five women unfolds around the buffet, I gained a better understanding of what it is to be a friend. Though each woman was varied in her life experiences, the common bonds of friendship and the inclusion of God as a problem solver, listening ear, shoulder to cry on, and the sixth friend at the table made Sunday Brunch an enjoyable read. While not a caution for the next reader, I do think, this book would better be marketed to the Christian-Fiction reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Definite Movie Material!!!!

    Ms. Jarrett writes an excellent book celebrating sisterhood. Reading it evokes feeling of spirituality and the desire to never give up regardless of your circumstances. The characters are all reminders of someone we may know or even ourselves. Can't you just see Vivica as Capri, Jada as Jermane, Lela Rochon as Lexi and Joy Bryant as Jewel. What a blockbuster that would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    HOLY & HUMEROUS

    This book was a great balance of church and African American girl/woman fiction. The stories of the 5 women were realistic and very relative to todays issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    Girls Day Out

    This book just talk about women and their issues and hating on each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Couldn't Put This Book Down!!

    What beautiful writing. I enjoyed the celebration of friendship in this book. I was taken with this book until I got to the end. I was caught off guard that the author did not 'resolve the tension' of the characters by bringing it back full circle that what satifies most is our relationship with God, our intimacy with him. You're left with the impression that the love of a good man completes us as women. Norma, the love of a man is good, a real blessing, but keep on living young sista and you'll have a different ending in the sequel. Keep on writing. I'm looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    Personal Transformation

    I was all five characters at different times in my life. This book touched me so much that I have chosen it to read this month with a group of gals. We will be deciphering the intricate details of the characters over brunch. Any woman who read this will see themselves as one of the characters who are facing self doubt while seeking personal relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Couldn't Put It Down!!!!!!!!!!!!

    From the moment I saw the title I knew that this book was going to intrigue me, but Little did I know this was going to be like me looking into my own future! I felt like I had a piece of each of them. What an awesome read! For someone like myself this book was full of PURE ENCOURAGEMENT!! BRAVO!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    WONDERFUL!!!

    I could not put the book down. Definitely a great read for a book club. A very positive book with great characters and true to life experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 1999

    Excellent Choice

    Sunday Brunch is an Excellent Choice. I saw myself in some of the characters. It deals with some of the issues that we as Single Christians face today. I picked this book up at our Homcoming and even got my copy signed. I could not put it down. I have even loaned out my copy . I'm going to suggest this book to my book club. I am very proud of my fellow 'Aggie'. Stay Blessed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1