Customer Reviews for

A Sunday at the Pool in Kigali

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Omashu

    "Yes, just not to much."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Inkkit

    *falls asleep*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    NURSARY

    POOLCLAN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    A Love Story In Hell

    To truly understand a holocaust one would have to have been there. This story told through a fictional(or is he)French Canadian's eyes gives it a real and personal dimension. His love for a local Tutsi woman takes us into the center of the storm. Beautifully written with a touch of French Canadian sarcasm thrown in, it brings to life the terrifying politics of the Rwandan genocide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    Haunting images that will stick with you

    I ignored my family and my job for a day or so while reading this book. It really grabs you. My interest in the Rwandan genocide led me to this book, and weeks later I still find myself sitting and thinking of the characters and their fates as though they are real people. In a way, they are. The people in Rwanda, both perpetrators and victims of the killing and even the U.N. and foreign press people who witnessed the genocide are all depicted well in this book. Read it, but don't expect to forget about it anytime soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    DISTURBING

    The first time I read this book was in French back in 2003. Reading it in English still has a chilling effect on me. I still feel haunted. It is one of the most beautiful and disturbing books I have read. And Courtemanche did a wonderful job bringing the genocide in Rwanda and the atmosphere leading up to it to close to the grasp of the average reader. His characters are real and the setting is real, which makes the story all the more disturbing. However, despite all the horrors, the writer allowed us to see the light and magnificent beauty of Rwanda and its people, and in portraying these, the writer made us see hope which is the prerequisite for healing, recovery and progress for a new Rwanda. This book is a must read if you want to understand what happened in Rwanda and get a clue to the other massacres that happened and/or are still happening in the continent. In the horrible violence that took place in Rwanda, that happened two decades back in Cameroon, Congo and Algeria and that is happening today in Sudan , one can not avoid asking this question: where was and where is the international community ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    A genuine feel for that time

    Once immersed in this book, you really feel that for once you can make sense of the complexities of the genocide in Rwanda. An excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Masterpiece

    I read this book about a year ago, and it has stayed in my mind ever since. Rarely would I give a more urgent recommendation to read a book. Courtemanche will let the genocide envelop you, allow the stench of rotting flesh to invade your nostrils, then point out that -- amid all the dying -- the business of living is to live and to love. (I keep hearing that a movie is to be made of this book. I enjoyed 'Hotel Rwanda,' but this book's plot could, if filmed correctly, quite possibly be the best movie ever made. Read the book first so you know what you'll be missing in case the filmmakers fail to live up to the text.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Recommend but...

    It's a very good book, and as well as it is written (or translated for that matter), there are two issues I have with it. One, is that there are too many characters coming in and out. Yes, there are 4 or 5 main characters, but friends of these characters come in and out, and it's tough to remember every character's story. Secondly; it goes in and out of 1st and 3rd person, so some times you don't know who is talking, but if you pay close attention you can get it. Overall it's still a great read. Go for it. It's certainly worth the 12 bucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Haunting

    One of the most beautiful and disturbing books I have read this year. The story of love against the backdrop of horrible violence is moving and raises the question of where was the international community during this horrible genocide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1