Customer Reviews for

Sundays at Tiffany's

Average Rating 4
( 762 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(363)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fairytale for Big Girls

This is a charming fairtale for a rainy afternoon. It proves wishes can still come true even if someone told you that such ideas were only for children. I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by SundayDauber on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great start...disappointing ending

It started out as the perfect page turning, easy to get into hard to put down romatic novel. I even bragged to three of my friends that I'd found the perfect Saturday at the beach read that they just HAD to pick up. Unfortunately I had to call my friends back and tell...
It started out as the perfect page turning, easy to get into hard to put down romatic novel. I even bragged to three of my friends that I'd found the perfect Saturday at the beach read that they just HAD to pick up. Unfortunately I had to call my friends back and tell them not to bother because the plot took a major nose dive within the last five chapters. On the upside it's a really quick read so you don't invest a lot of time just to be disappointed at the end.

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 766 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Fairytale for Big Girls

    This is a charming fairtale for a rainy afternoon. It proves wishes can still come true even if someone told you that such ideas were only for children. I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Great start...disappointing ending

    It started out as the perfect page turning, easy to get into hard to put down romatic novel. I even bragged to three of my friends that I'd found the perfect Saturday at the beach read that they just HAD to pick up. Unfortunately I had to call my friends back and tell them not to bother because the plot took a major nose dive within the last five chapters. On the upside it's a really quick read so you don't invest a lot of time just to be disappointed at the end.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    A Nice Trip From Reality

    I thought this book was a wonderful summer read. I enjoyed the characters and the subject. If you're looking for a deep romantic novel, this isn't it. But if you're looking for an enjoyable story with sweet romance and a little bit of drama, then dig in. I loved the ending!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    A Story of Unforgetting Love

    Sundays at Tiffany's us a heart- warming story showing a little girl's journey through her tough life in New York City. This book is filled with romance, neglection, happiness, and memorable characters that will have you turning the page until the very end. Sundays at Tiffnay's starts ub a little cafe where a little girl, Jane, spends he Sunday afternoons with her famous mother and her imaginary friend. She and Michael, the Imaginary friend, spend every moment they have together, doing whatever they can to keep busy. But for michael, having a job as an Imaginary friend, he must leave her when she turns 9. When her nineth birthday came he tells her the heart wrenching news and slowly fades from her memory. She wasn't supposed to remember anything, yet she does. Twenty years or so pass and they run into eachother again. They catch up and realize the true love they feel for eachother. They spend their days together, but somethings bothered him since the day her sa her again; she wasn't supposed to remember him. It's his job to figure out why she never forgot him and why he was there with her.
    The major theme in Sundays at Tiffany's was basically, love conquers all. Even though years have passed since the day they saw eachother, Michael and Jane still thought about eachother and still loved eachother, though the age difference was high. hen her mother hurt her as a little girl and twenty years later, Michael was still there to comfort her so she couldnt feel the pain and so she felt loved. when they saw eachother they still had the love for one one another as they did the last time they saw eachother, but it was more meaningful and deeper than they would have ever thought.
    James Patterson did a very good job portraying the characters' emotions and personalitites. He describes each characters feeling about what there going through so precisley. It feels as if you can personallly connect to everyone in the story. Patterson does a wonderful job including enough detail in each chapter, but includes a little twist at the end of each chapter, urging you to read on. What Patterson doesn't do is include a lot of background knowledge about the whole story line, so your jumping around trying to understand exactly what's happening. The book is split into to point of views, Jane and Michael, talking about what's going on in their eyes while on their journey together. Overall, he did a fantastic job telling the love story between an unforgettable friend, and how they try to survive the world together. He puts so much emotion and interest into these characters, it makes their story believable and memorable. Anyone who's interested in romance and quick but more challenging read will enjoy this book. Most teenage girls and young adults, even older couples may enjoy this romantic novel. It is like your modern- day fairy tale. If you liked the author's writing style, I would check out some of his other books, including other romance and many murder mystery books. Yet, Sundays at Tiffany's was truly a great and touching book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Horrible read. Drags on forever

    Way out of character for James Patterson-must be more the style of Charbonnet. It's the only explanation I can come up with for such a horrible book with Patterson's name on it. The story is childish, boring, un-inspiring, and drags on forever. Do not recommend.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    Loved it

    I loved this book. About halfway through I got a feeling in my gut that I wasn't going to like the ending but I love the way they finished this book. It's heartwarming, inspiring and gives you back the belief that true love does exist.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sundays at Tiffany's

    The book was quite good! I found it to be a bit 'out there' in some parts, but really started to enjoy it once Michael came back into the picture. It was an easy read and I finished it in a couple days. I love that the chapters are nice and short! Sometimes I wish I could meet Jane and Michael( :

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    Sunday at Tiffany's a true gem

    I'm not typically much into romance novels and typically prefer legal thrillers and such, but I found myself completely engrossed in this book. What a warm heartfelt book. It was a wonderful little escape from reality.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasantly surprised!

    I was lent this book by a friend and I had my doubts (she is a die-hard Nicholas Sparks fan, while I gravitate toward romances of a smuttier variety) but I was pleasantly surprised! The story line was excellent and the characters are wonderful! The chapters are relatively short which offers many chances to put it down... if you can!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    An easy, unrealistic escape

    James Patterson writes a love story with a twist. The book is a page turner, but is not realistic in any way. However, that's the beauty of the book. If you want a sweet, romantic escape, not with a complex plot; this is a good choice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    New James Patterson Fan!

    This was a beautiful, heart warming story! I loved it! First time reading James Patterson, I love it so much i have purchased several more of his books. easy to read and the story captures your heart!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    what a great feel good book. I lent it to my friends and they all loved it too. It's a wonderful escape from everyday life.
    Recommend!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This contemporary romantic fantasy is an enchanting tale

    Born to affluence and fame, Jane Margaux grew up lonely with one exception. While her famous producer mother Broadway creates musicals and her father preferred spending quality time with his second wife in Nantucket, her only friend and companion is Michael, who provided her solace even if he was only imaginary. However, when she turned eight, Michael informs her he will no longer be with her though he will always be her best friend.<BR/><BR/>Over two decades later, Jane remains lonely even with a boyfriend and neurotic though she works for her mother. No one would believe she is Vivienne¿s daughter as she is treated scornfully and horrifically. As Jane produces her first play based on her childhood with Michael, he returns bringing light into Jane¿s dark life. They fall in love as each find their groove with one another; but Michael fears he will not be allowed to stay with his beloved as adults are not supposed to remember imaginary friends while she has never forgotten him especially since he left her once before.<BR/><BR/>This contemporary romantic fantasy is an enchanting tale in which Jane breaks the rules of imaginary friends by somehow always remembering her Michael. The story line effortlessly switches from preadolescence in which he is a sort of guardian big brother to her to and adult love story. Although the standard operating procedures of what an imaginary friend does and does not do and the laws of physics that govern the relationship between a child and their buddy are lacking so that the audience cannot fully appreciate the heroine¿s breaking the barrier, fans will enjoy it happened to Jane.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    Perfect!

    Sundays at Tiffiny's was truly a wonderful book. It was very original and I loved reading it. I felt the connection between the two main characters was amazing. I would deffinatly read it again sometime and I suggest to only adults and mature people because of the language and certain "scenes."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    A good quiet weekend book.

    Aa touching story that allows the reader to wonder "what if"..... This is one of those books for a quiet weekend. It warms the heart with out taxing the brain or requiring the reader to watch their diet for a week. It is simply good reomanic escapism.

    This not your typlical Patterson. Fans might find the lack of suspence disappointing. Devotees of Patterson will find this a refreshing break from his typical writings. Refreshing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Romantic, Charming, Heart Warming

    I throughly enjoyed this book, I finished it in 2 days. It is a very sweet story with an odd ending I must say. So much happens in the last 5 chapters and its almost rushed unlike the majority of the story. I liked the characters and the style of writing changing between characters point of view. Quick easy read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great, touching story

    The idea that your childhood imaginary friend can actually come to life is different and appealing. Michael unexpectedly comes back into Jane's life when she's grown-up and provides companionship, comfort, and love. The story is sweet and charming and the two main characters are lovable. Set in New York City, you get the feel for the life of a city girl and some recognizable landmarks.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Softest candy you will ever read

    I took this on a 12 hour plane ride and it was fine but very weak and soft for Patterson.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Dreams can come true..

    An unrealistic love story that becomes true. This is a great beach book for those who want to escape reality and live in a true love story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Escapism at its best...if you're looking for reality, skip this one.

    I'm a fan of the more romantic James Patterson. I picked this one up because I'm a fan of "Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas". Totally unbelievable, but just sometimes you have to do it just for the relaxation. I love the writing style and short chapters that allow you to put Patterson's books down, but you'll find yourself picking them right back up again. This is a great rainy days book to just get lost in.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 766 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39