Customer Reviews for

Sundays at Tiffany's

Average Rating 4
( 762 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(363)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fairytale for Big Girls

This is a charming fairtale for a rainy afternoon. It proves wishes can still come true even if someone told you that such ideas were only for children. I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by SundayDauber on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great start...disappointing ending

It started out as the perfect page turning, easy to get into hard to put down romatic novel. I even bragged to three of my friends that I'd found the perfect Saturday at the beach read that they just HAD to pick up. Unfortunately I had to call my friends back and tell...
It started out as the perfect page turning, easy to get into hard to put down romatic novel. I even bragged to three of my friends that I'd found the perfect Saturday at the beach read that they just HAD to pick up. Unfortunately I had to call my friends back and tell them not to bother because the plot took a major nose dive within the last five chapters. On the upside it's a really quick read so you don't invest a lot of time just to be disappointed at the end.

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Horrible read. Drags on forever

    Way out of character for James Patterson-must be more the style of Charbonnet. It's the only explanation I can come up with for such a horrible book with Patterson's name on it. The story is childish, boring, un-inspiring, and drags on forever. Do not recommend.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Did not deliver

    It's taken me 4 months to read and I'm not done yet. That's how exciting it is...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Disappointment

    Let me just start off by saying that I love James Patterson--when he writes mysteries. Unfortunately, this book was a great disappointment and I can't believe that he actually allowed his name to be printed on the cover!

    This book is definitely for an underveloped middle school age mind. The whole concept of having an imaginary friend should be left to school age kids, not adults. It didn't make sense in some parts because you didn't know whether it was reality or fantasy that you were reading. I think James failed at romanticising the book. Frankly, I think the whole book is definitely not worth reading and definitely not worth buying. If you must read it, since there are a lot of positive reviews, PLEASE check it out of a library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    Not Worth the time

    Although the story line was good I didn't care for this book at all. It's too predictable. I found it bland. Don't waste your time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    not worth your time

    I read this at the beach and finished it within a couple of hours. I thought it might be like "The Time Travelers Wife" but it's not at all. I enjoyed a different book by this author but was extremely disappointed by this one. I wish I hadn't bothered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    Romance?

    This book started off strong, but it ultimately fell short. The language used was at a middle school level. The chapters were too short and most of the time I felt that the break between chapters were unnecessary. The characters were cute...but their relationship, as the book progressed, didn't interested me. When I was done with this book it didn't strike me. Nothing about it was particularly beautiful or moving; in language or story. Something wasn't conveyed well enough.
    In short, even if you like cute romances I'm not sure that this book lived up to even that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    weird

    The story is unusual and boring and a total waste of time. The only good thing in this book is-it's short, that you can finish reading it in one sitting but, that is if you just want a closure and you have too much time in your hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    Insubstantial fluff

    I finished it. That is the best thing that I can say about the book. It is a very easy read and doesn't require your full attention. I did not like all the product placement scattered throughout the book. I understand that the reference to Tiffany's is essential to the book but the continuous mentioning of car brands, clothing stores, stroller manufacturers, and so forth was nauseating. I also didn't care for chapters that were one single page in length! The last time I read a book with one page chapters was probably second grade. The story was implausible and as many other reviewers pointed out, left many unanswered questions. Borrow from library if you must read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Yuck

    blah!!!! so boring. so predictable. just left you there yawning most of the time. really blah is the best word to describe it. and he left so many questions unanswered. why was jane getting sick? oh yeah forgot to explain that one. & how was michael there to 'help' vivienne? he barely ever spoke to her. so stupid. it never really 'made sense.' you finish it & you're like ".....the end?" yuck. i read my first james patterson book yesterday, absolutely LOVED it, and grabbed the next one i could get my hands on--which happened to be this book. what a shame. i'm not giving up on him though. just, please, no more poorly written love stories for me, thank you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    MR. PATTERSON,NOT A TEA AND SYMPATHY BOOK,MORE SELF-INDULGENT,SORRY.

    HOPING FOR A SECOND WINNER AFTER READING A BOOK BY NICHOLAS SPARKS, WAS I EVER SOOOOO WRONG! TRULY THE COVER GRABBED MY INTEREST QUICKLY.FINALLY, I STOPPED READING AT PAGE 58. THE AUTHOR ,PREHAPS SHOULD STAY WITHIN HIS GENERE-"ALEX CROSS",THE CHARACTER. I DID ENJOY THE REASON FOR THIS BOOK.THE SENTIMENT FOR HIS SON SO VERY LOVING. A MEMOIRE FOR HIM,(THE SON)NOT FICTION, WOULD BE A WINNER. OTHERS HAVE WRITTEN IN THIS EXACT WAY,ALAS WITH MORE SUCCESS.I.E. THE TRAVELER'S WIFE,BELIEVE IS CLOSE TO TITLE. THE FEMALE WRITER THAT WROTE THIS WITH MR. PATTERSON,MAYBE WAS REALLY HERS? WISH I COULD RETURN.SORRY MR. PATTERSON,I MEAN NO ILL-WILL TO YOU OR THOSE THAT TRULY ENJOY YOUR WRITING. NOT AS STATED THE BOOK WAS ABOUT,A BIT SLOPPY ON PART ABOUT VIVIENNE IN HOSPITAL AT THE START. BELIEVED SOMEONE ELSE. WHY LEAD THE READER ON?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    What a piece of garbage.

    If this book was on the five for a dollar table it would be overpriced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Waste of time and money

    Really really juvenile writing. Good concept (looked interesting at any rate) but it really didn't work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sorry Mr. Patterson but it just fell short...

    What started out as promising quickly transformed into the predictable sad story line of the girl wronged throughout her childhood who forgives on a whim while unrealistic scenario's swirl about her and he tries to call it her life? come on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Terrible heroine!

    The plot idea seemed great, but the vapid, dull, childish female lead character left me wanting much, much more. Super quick and easy to read, but perhaps because there are no deep thoughts. It could have been so much better for such a fantasical plot. If you've read "The Time Traveler's Wife" DO NOT read this book. It is boring, predictable, and almost offensively stupid. I donated it away from my library after purchasing it because I never want to read it again. I kept waiting for it to get good, but alas...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    Skip It

    I enjoyed Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas, but I thought this book read almost like a childrens book. It was very corny and predictable. I found myself very bored.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    Totally unrealistic and unexpected of this authori. I kept reading it and hating it but I said to myself let me finish it and give it a chance. There was absolutely nothing that I like about this book. A big surprise form me since I love James Patterson's books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a Disappointment!!!!!!!!

    I was so excited to read this book- I really should have read the reviews. I agree with most all of them. This was not remotely believable and just plain a waste of time!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great idea, not so great delivery.

    I felt that this book had a good premise, I just wasn't that impressed by how the book was written. It seemed very childish and I simply couldn't get over the romance with someone who watched you grow up. It was a good story and I will look forward to a better delivered love story in the future that is comparable to Suzanne's Diary to Nicholas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    First time reader of Patterson

    Never again, perhaps the worst book I have read in years.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Bit of Fluff

    My book club chose this book and it was NOT book club material. There was no depth to the plot, the chapters were very short (some only one page long), and the characters were shallow and bland. Every aspect of the story gave the feeling of floating on a surface and never going to any depth at all.
    If you are looking for something light to read in an afternoon or two, then this bit of fantasy might fill the bill. If you want a juicy, engaging, or challenging story, this is definitely not for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3