Customer Reviews for

The Sunflower

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    The best part is the orphanage!

    While reading the other reviews, I think the best part is left out. The Sunflower orphanage in the book really exists to this day...it is amazing. They literally save the kids from the streets and they are giving them a new life. I think that is the best part of the story. I now want to go help in places on earth that are not as fortunate as we in the US are. It's a great read for anyone who has considered missions work. Southern Cross Humanitarian makes trips here alot. Read the book and go help save lives...make a difference!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Thrilling and Romantic at the same Time

    This ia a wonderful book to read. The whole story made me realize how fortunate we are to live here in the USA but also how much we take for granted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    An uplifting, compassionate tale

    Since I've recently returned from a village where our group helped set up a medical clinic, I enjoyed the humanitarian setting as compassion meets romance in the lush, Amazon jungle. In 'The Sunflower,' Evans again weaves some wonderfully insightful journal entries from our hero into the story, so his dedication to the children is as vivid as it is to getting the girl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    Thank you Richard for giving us another great book......

    I was so excited when I heard The Sunflower was in the book stores. I went immediately and bought it and immediately read it. Then I was sorry it was over. I wanted the story to continue. So I purchased A Perfect Day. Also a great book, and so timely at Holiday time. Richard, you touch so many lives. Your words are so endearing and go deep into our hearts and minds. I guess I will have to start over with The Christmas Box and re-read all your books as I wait for the next new one. This is going to be a great literary year!! And I love your childrens books as well. I have bought The Light of Christmas for my 5 nieces for Christmas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    This book Inspires

    Richard Paul Evans¿ new book The Sunflower is one of my top favorites. I personally have traveled to Peru and the description and imagery are right on. The story takes place in the Amazon jungle which makes the story incredibly romantic. It also helps that one of the main characters, Paul Cook, is a rugged humanitarian and exceptionally good looking. You know, the kind of man all of us women would like to meet in the jungle. I enjoyed the love story but it is not the reason why I liked the book. The Sunflower has a deeper side to it, like all of Evans¿ books. It is that of thousands of hopeless street children that don¿t know anything better than sleeping on a cold door step or eating scraps at every meal. This book inspired me to reach out and help. I recommend it to all!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    Super 'Sunflower'

    This book was amazing... What a feel good story! I couldn't put it down, I read it in one night (of course I was up until 2 am) but it was so worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    READ THIS BOOK

    Just one more book of Mr. Evans that changes hearts and lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    A journey of love, love that captures your soul!

    I was fortunate enough to read ¿The Sunflower¿ by Richard Paul Evans and let me tell you that you will not want to miss out on reading Evans new book! I actually felt as though I was on the Peru expedition with Christine and Paul. Evans took me on a journey of love, love that captures your soul. Just be sure to have a box of tissues nearby as you read this novel! This is a book that you will want to pass on to all your friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Cyrus

    Okay *follows him*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    loved it

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    A shattered crystal wall

    Shards of transparent crystals are found aroubd here. Watch your wings, the gems are sharp. A distance away, there is a tiny wall of the transparent stuff. Its pointed and you can enter the brick flower from here. Be careful with your wings here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Wonderful book

    Must read and The Sunflower is an actual place loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very inspiring!!!

    A good read about rebuilding when you lose hope, there is always someone there for you at the perfect time. Evans puts it all together. Paul In the wake of personal tragedy, two people meet on a humanitarian mission in Peru. Christine is a shy, unadventurous woman whose fiancee broke off the engagement only a week before the wedding, and Paul is a former emergency room doctor whose glamorous lifestyle, stellar reputation, and beautiful fiancee are cruelly snatched from him one fateful, snowy Christmas Eve. Deep in the Amazon jungle, against a backdrop of poverty and heartbreak, they must confront their deepest fears and, together, learn to trust and love again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great book..Great Author

    Never been disappointed by a Richard Paul Evans book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A touching story that everyone needs to read. Made me feel so th

    A touching story that everyone needs to read. Made me feel so thankful to be where I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Enjoyable

    This is a book that you should read, its about love, sacarfice, and friendship, a good overall read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and had a hard time taking putting it down. If you are looking for a weekend read where you just curl up with a romantic book. This is the book I would recommend for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    AWAZING!!

    i got this book before i got my nook and i must say that i LOVED it. its a good story abbot love and hope i think everyone should read this book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This book inspired me to go to Peru and see the sights that the author wrote about. I am so glad I read it! Machu Picchu is incredible. I did not climb to the top of Huayna Picchu, like they did in the book, because we didn't have time after our tour. My son and I did, however, do the 1 day Inca Trail that starts from the 104K marker in order to get to Machu Picchu. It was sureal to just hop off the train in the middle of nowhere and watch it leave us there. It was a tough climb due to the altitude but it was so worth it! We chewed coca leaves and drank coca tea while we were there and didn't have any altitude sickness at all. We also tried the cuy while we were in Cusco like they did in the book - it tasted like roasted duck. I don't remember the book mentioning the national drink, Pisco Sour, but we tried that too, a few times! We didn't go to the Peruvian jungle but we did go to the jungle in Ecuador. It was exactly like the author described, we even stayed in a lodge very much like the one in the book. We made sure to take malaria pills!! I know everyone else wrote their reviews about the characters and the storyline in the book but the places those characters went were so interesting to me that I just had to go and see it myself... Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4