Customer Reviews for

Sunlight and Joy: An eBook Original Short Story

Average Rating 3
( 198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Short Story

This was a simply wonderful short story. It truly caught the angst of a woman in that situation (husband thinking of uprooting family AGAIN for his career without considering impact on her or on their relationship) and her fight for her self-respect and for their relati...
This was a simply wonderful short story. It truly caught the angst of a woman in that situation (husband thinking of uprooting family AGAIN for his career without considering impact on her or on their relationship) and her fight for her self-respect and for their relationship. Good resolution. I'd not read anything by her before. I think I'll look for some of her novels now.

posted by JoAllison on May 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

This is a short story, not a full novel.

I am going to have to start paying more attention to file size before I buy, in future. This is only a short story, which really disappointed me. It was so short, in fact, I thought it must be a mistake. When it was clear that I had indeed reached the end, it felt reall...
I am going to have to start paying more attention to file size before I buy, in future. This is only a short story, which really disappointed me. It was so short, in fact, I thought it must be a mistake. When it was clear that I had indeed reached the end, it felt really abrupt. Seemed more like a college writing assignment...make this, this & this happen, in 20 pages or less. OK, so I only paid $ .99 for it, but it wasn't worth even that, in my opinion.

posted by KLM51 on May 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    Disappointing Purchase

    Being an avid fan of Barbara Delinsky, I was delighted to see Sunlight and Joy on the Nookbook Deals page. Yes, I saw that it had only 2 stars and that it was a short story. There were no reviews at the time. For those reasons I hesitated to buy it and now I wish I hadn't wasted 99 cents on it. Not that 99 cents is alot of money by any means BUT this should be a free book. The story itself is only 13 pages. Husband wants to take a new job in another state - wife doesn't want to uproot the family again - husband decides not to take the job after all. The end. Ok, there is a bit more to the story than that but definitely a disappointing read. The story is followed by an interview with Barbara Delinsky and a preview of her upcoming book Escape. I would not recommend this book unless you can get it for free!

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    yeah, i got stiffed too...

    this is only 38 pages long!!! i paid .99 for 38 pages. i'm really, really, really, really, really ticked off. but i was the stupid one that didn't check the file size. don't be an idiot like me. at the same though, b&n should be ashamed of themselves for even charging for that. are you kidding me??? 38 pages will take me like 2 mins. to read. i wasted a dollar of hard earned money and will never fall prey to this again.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    RIP OFF!!!!

    I can't believe that I paid the same price for this 38page very short story with no middle or ending that I paid for a full length Maeve Binchy book.

    Doesn't seem like a very smart marketing plan for BD. Shame on Barnes & Noble for not showing the number of pages in the books they sell.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Don't bother reading

    It's a good 20 page story.

    Problem is that it's not worth paying for. What a rip off.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Not enough

    Only 18 pages saave your .99¿

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Not worth the time to buy

    I agree withe the previous review it wasa short story and ended quickly. wast of money.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Too short

    18 pages isn't a story. This plot wasn't worth the cost. Interesting that the interview and sample was 20 pages. Rip off! Why not post the number of pages?

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    I

    I like her books but to think i paid 99 cents for less than 18 pages. Was so not worth it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Not worth it

    I agree with the other reviews. Should have read the file size. I would not have paid .99 cents for a 13 page book. Wasn't even that compelling of a story. Very disappointing.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    DO NOT BUY!!!

    This short condensed story was a real waste of $$$$$...33 pages..
    Best part of the book is the COVER.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    I feel ripped off!

    B&N should refund everyone that bought this book their money. Its just wrong to sell such junk. I will not buy anymore of this authors books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    boring

    Boring

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    Disappointment

    I was expecting a short story not only 18 pages, then questions and answers..

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Not recommended

    Not worth the 99 cents! Most of the 38 pages are an interview. I generally like the books the author writes, but this was a ripoff.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    No!!.

    Total waste of money. Why even offer such a short story. Save your money...don't buy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    highly disappointed

    Thought i was getting a "book" not just a very short story. It should have been a "free" short story. There was more "promotion" for her upcoming book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Wish I would of seen it was only 38 pages.

    I thought a short story should of been more than 18 pages, then there was section "A conversation with Barbara Delinsky and the an excerpt from "Escape". I was expecting more than 38 pages in this ebook. Very disappointing. I will check to see how many pages are in each ebook before purchasing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Not recommended

    I did not like it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Don't buy!!!

    This 'short story' (my fault for not looking at that more closely) is all of 30 pages long. Total rip-off.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I thought I was purchasing a full novel not a short few page story. I'll be very careful of my future Nook book purchases.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3