BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sunrise Point (Virgin River Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

delightful small town contemporary romance

Sunrise Point by Robin Carr takes us back to the wooded hills of Virgin River. This is the nineteenth book in the Virgin River series. If you follow my reviews you know this is one of my favorite small-town contemporary romance series. I was delighted that Carr brought ...
Sunrise Point by Robin Carr takes us back to the wooded hills of Virgin River. This is the nineteenth book in the Virgin River series. If you follow my reviews you know this is one of my favorite small-town contemporary romance series. I was delighted that Carr brought us Nora Crane’s story. Carr delivers a heart-felt romance built on friendship and trust. We first met Nora and her two small children in the novel Bring Me Home for Christmas. She and her girls had been left in an old abandon home without any means of supporting themselves. That Christmas the people of Virgin Rivers reached out providing food and support. Slowly with their help Nora has gotten back on her feet. She is a great mom and determined to be independent and someday give back. When she spots an ad for apple pickers for the Cavanaugh farm she is eager to apply. When she interviews with handsome, Tom Cavanaugh he takes one look at this petite, pretty mother of two and turns her down for the job. He doesn’t think she can handle it and he’s fearful of the attraction he immediately feels for her. Maxine, Tom’s beloved grandmother has other plans. She sees herself in Nora and informs them both that Nora is hired. The tale that unfolds is absolutely delightful as Nora and Tom figure out what is important in life. The romance is slow and bittersweet and grows from friendship. Tom Cavanaugh is a likable guy. He is an ex-marine who has returned to the family farm to help run it with his grandmother Maxine. His war experiences and loss of his fellow soldiers have given him an appreciation of all that Virgin River and his family farm have to offer. The only thing missing is a woman in his life. He knows exactly what he wants and that’s someone who is smart and respectable like his grandmother. What he feels for Nora is confusing because she is nothing like his grandmother. Or is she? When the widow of one of his old units shows up, he thinks he may have found the perfect woman. Oh how I hated Darla. This woman has an agenda and Tom is at the top of her list. Watching Tom figure it all out hand me rapidly turning the pages. I consumed this novel in one afternoon. Carr’s tales of this small town and its people capture me every time. If Virgin River was a real town, I would want to live there. She has created characters that feel like family and call you home again and again. We didn’t see a lot of the townspeople, but we do get a story about Jack and an ex-pilot named Hank Copper. This side-tale wasn’t very exciting, but if I know Carr she is preparing us for his story. For my delicate readers, this romance offers some hot and heavy kisses and hand-holding. There is one love scene that is mostly implied. It complements the tale and felt genuine and sweet. I want to thank netGalley and Mira publishing for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

posted by kimba88 on March 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This one just didn't do it for me. A big part of it was the dia

This one just didn't do it for me. A big part of it was the dialog (and good heavens, this one has a lot of dialog! At times it seemed that's all this book was, one conversation after another sprinkled here and there with internal musings)--it just didn't read to me a...
This one just didn't do it for me. A big part of it was the dialog (and good heavens, this one has a lot of dialog! At times it seemed that's all this book was, one conversation after another sprinkled here and there with internal musings)--it just didn't read to me as real conversations that normal people would have. Even the internal dialog just didn't ring true. The romance--such as it was--was extremely slow to develop, up until the last ten pages or so, when it went into hyperdrive. It almost felt as if Carr suddenly realized she had to wrap it up, and wrap it up darn quick. Overall, it was extremely predictable, which isn't necessarily a bad thing (nor unexpected, in the romance genre), but a few surprises--with the writing if not with the plot--here or there would be nice. Once again a seemingly unrelated and random plot line was inserted--and yes, it's obviously in order to give the new character, Coop, his own book in the future, I get that--but it really didn't increase my interest in either this story or the future one; instead it just made this one seem even longer than it already was.

Eternal optimist that I am, I'm still going ahead with the series--I just hope the next installment has more going for it than this one, which just seemed to be resting on the series' laurels a bit too much.

posted by beckymmoe on April 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    delightful small town contemporary romance

    Sunrise Point by Robin Carr takes us back to the wooded hills of Virgin River. This is the nineteenth book in the Virgin River series. If you follow my reviews you know this is one of my favorite small-town contemporary romance series. I was delighted that Carr brought us Nora Crane’s story. Carr delivers a heart-felt romance built on friendship and trust. We first met Nora and her two small children in the novel Bring Me Home for Christmas. She and her girls had been left in an old abandon home without any means of supporting themselves. That Christmas the people of Virgin Rivers reached out providing food and support. Slowly with their help Nora has gotten back on her feet. She is a great mom and determined to be independent and someday give back. When she spots an ad for apple pickers for the Cavanaugh farm she is eager to apply. When she interviews with handsome, Tom Cavanaugh he takes one look at this petite, pretty mother of two and turns her down for the job. He doesn’t think she can handle it and he’s fearful of the attraction he immediately feels for her. Maxine, Tom’s beloved grandmother has other plans. She sees herself in Nora and informs them both that Nora is hired. The tale that unfolds is absolutely delightful as Nora and Tom figure out what is important in life. The romance is slow and bittersweet and grows from friendship. Tom Cavanaugh is a likable guy. He is an ex-marine who has returned to the family farm to help run it with his grandmother Maxine. His war experiences and loss of his fellow soldiers have given him an appreciation of all that Virgin River and his family farm have to offer. The only thing missing is a woman in his life. He knows exactly what he wants and that’s someone who is smart and respectable like his grandmother. What he feels for Nora is confusing because she is nothing like his grandmother. Or is she? When the widow of one of his old units shows up, he thinks he may have found the perfect woman. Oh how I hated Darla. This woman has an agenda and Tom is at the top of her list. Watching Tom figure it all out hand me rapidly turning the pages. I consumed this novel in one afternoon. Carr’s tales of this small town and its people capture me every time. If Virgin River was a real town, I would want to live there. She has created characters that feel like family and call you home again and again. We didn’t see a lot of the townspeople, but we do get a story about Jack and an ex-pilot named Hank Copper. This side-tale wasn’t very exciting, but if I know Carr she is preparing us for his story. For my delicate readers, this romance offers some hot and heavy kisses and hand-holding. There is one love scene that is mostly implied. It complements the tale and felt genuine and sweet. I want to thank netGalley and Mira publishing for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This one just didn't do it for me. A big part of it was the dia

    This one just didn't do it for me. A big part of it was the dialog (and good heavens, this one has a lot of dialog! At times it seemed that's all this book was, one conversation after another sprinkled here and there with internal musings)--it just didn't read to me as real conversations that normal people would have. Even the internal dialog just didn't ring true. The romance--such as it was--was extremely slow to develop, up until the last ten pages or so, when it went into hyperdrive. It almost felt as if Carr suddenly realized she had to wrap it up, and wrap it up darn quick. Overall, it was extremely predictable, which isn't necessarily a bad thing (nor unexpected, in the romance genre), but a few surprises--with the writing if not with the plot--here or there would be nice. Once again a seemingly unrelated and random plot line was inserted--and yes, it's obviously in order to give the new character, Coop, his own book in the future, I get that--but it really didn't increase my interest in either this story or the future one; instead it just made this one seem even longer than it already was.

    Eternal optimist that I am, I'm still going ahead with the series--I just hope the next installment has more going for it than this one, which just seemed to be resting on the series' laurels a bit too much.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    I was not given this book in exchange for an honest review...so

    I was not given this book in exchange for an honest review...so here is an honest review! As far as Virgin River books go, this was one of my least favorites. This was supposed to be the love story of Tom and Nora, but it seemed more like the friendship of Tom and Nora and then in the last 30 pages, they decided to have a love story. Very slow build-up between the two to have a very rushed ending. It was so rushed, I had a hard time really believing the feelings the characters supposedly have for each other. Not typical of a VR novel at all. I had really hoped we would get more interaction between Tom and Nora after they decided to pursue a relationship - a lot of stuff was hinted at, but never pursued. One example - Tom's military experiences and emotional scars he may have come home with. I assume the side story and introduction of Coop was used to set up a future book, but not much to talk about there. As much as I love this series and love to catch up with characters (not as much in this book as previous ones), I was disappointed in this book. If you love the series, then read it just to stay current. If you want to just read a stand alone book, there are better VR books for that (Virgin River, Temptation Ridge, Whispering Rock, Second Chance Pass).

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    5 STARS I like her books. Sunrise Point does not disappoint at

    5 STARS
    I like her books. Sunrise Point does not disappoint at all.
    Nora is a single mother with a baby and a two year old. Her boyfriend abandoned her and took most of the furniture even the fridge and left her in small abounded house. It was winter and she had a 2 week baby at a time.
    The town when they found out all pulled together to help her. Nora had 2 part time jobs but when she heard their were jobs at a apple farm for pickers. Nora almost did not get hired because Tom was attracted to her and thought she was two small. Maxi Tom's grandmother though hired her.
    She walked 31/2 miles to the farm and after picking all day walked back to the town. But she was happy to be able to support her children better.
    Tom had been away from the apple farm for 10 years, 4 years of school and 6 years as a marine. He was home to stay at the apple farm. His grandparents raised him. Tom was ready to get married but he did not want
    one with baggage.
    Maxi had one son and raised her grandson. Her husband has been dead for ten years. She is in her 70s and still picks apples, cleans and cooks. Very active life.
    Their is drama,community,humor,reunion with father. I hated to put the book down last night.
    I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley.
    04/24/2012 PUB Harlequin Mira

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Good With The Rest But Alone Not The Best

    I would have to agree with the majority of the rest of the reviewers that this Virgin River series book is not the best book of the series. I believe you would be a little lost if you picked this book to read first in the series but when you read it as a continuation of the series, everything ties together. This book has a bit more context to it but I like that. Makes it seem real to me. I loved the character of grandma Maxie! She was a hoot! This book portrays the hard work and dedication needed to keep an apple orchard functioning. Robyn Carr is such a wonderful author that I can't give her less than 5 stars for each book she writes! Keep this series coming Robyn!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    not great

    Didn't really enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Really enjoyed!

    I had only read Roybn Carr as part of of a three author X-mas book and decided to check this book out, I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed it. I was a little confused when another sort of story came into play but now I'm hoping that there's more to come with that. Loved it and was sorry when it was over. I will check out more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    this continuing saga of the people of virgin river just gets bet

    this continuing saga of the people of virgin river just gets better and better. i keep hoping it will go on forever. in this story which concerns nora, an unwed mother of two girls, and her story of hard luck. she first appeared in another of virgin river's stories. she finds a job in an apple orchard owned by tom cavanaugh. there are side stories that i'm sure will be in another story of themselves, but this one revolves around nora and tom, and their discovery of each other, and what they expect in their lives. the characters have become almost like family to any reader, i'm sure, as we travel through virgin river with robyn carr. if you haven't dicovered this place yet, you should, virgin river is a place you wish was real. maybe it is somewhere, i'd like to think so. read and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    great writer

    love reading her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    highly recommend

    she has to continue this series. all the characters are all so typical of a small town that is growing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Robyn carr virgi

    Wood like to know tlo know I.ike to know what number#
    12 book is I the virgin river series. I just i finished #11. moonligbt road but do know what book number is. Please let me know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Must read! I loved all 20 books in the Virgin River series

    Must read! I loved all 20 books in the Virgin River series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Carolmachado780@yahoo.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Nora Crane's made some bad decisions in life, which lead to her

    Nora Crane's made some bad decisions in life, which lead to her now living in
    Virgin River, squatting in a tiny abandoned house with two small daughters,
    while her ex-minor-league ballplayer turned meth-head ex-boyfriend rots in jail.
    Who would want to take on THAT mess?

    Not Tom Cavanaugh, former Marine and current boss of the family apple
    orchard. He knows what he wants in a woman, and Nora's not it; he doesn't
    even want to give her a seasonal job picking apples. But his grandmother
    insists and the scrappy single mother makes a go of it, impressing him despite
    himself.

    As the local counselor/pastor helps her to discover, Nora is not entirely alone in
    the world, after all; her father did not abandon her willingly, but gave up in the
    face of repeated rebuffs by her mother, and when he seemed to be making life
    worse for the little girl. My one quibble with this book is when Jed talks about
    how Nora's mother might have had borderline personality disorder, but how
    she wasn't REALLY mentally ill.

    There's a lot we don't understand about mental illness, and I don't have the
    credentials to diagnose anyone, let alone a fictional character. But the
    "personality" disorders - borderline, OCPD, narcissistic personality disorder
    are as real mental illnesses as anything else in the last two editions of the
    DSM, and those who have them, as well as those who are involved in family,
    love, or work relationships with someone so disordered, officially diagnosed or
    not, are well-advised to get qualified professional help. The damaging impacts
    can last a lifetime, especially if they are brushed off as not "real mental illness."
    It's potentially as harmful to grow up in a household with a disordered person
    as it is to grow up in a household where there is alcohol or drug addiction.
    [Climbing down off soapbox now.]

    These discussions only takes up a little of the book, but having such a mother
    and an absent father helps us understand why Nora made such bad decisions
    re: the boyfriend, and admire her all the more for her determination to make
    something of herself and for her girls.

    The heat between Tom - who is trying desperately to become attracted to a
    lovely woman with less emotional, if not literal, baggage, and Nora is slow to
    develop. She's attracted to him all the way through, but isn't going to hit on her
    boss, especially one who's dating another woman. Loved Maxie, the
    grandmother, the town events as described, and the way other characters
    make an appearance, here and there, but this book too works as a stand-alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    You will love this series!

    I love this series, as well as other's Robyn Carr has written. Following the lives of these characters makes for a more satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Same old same old!!

    The thing is that even though the books are all so much alike you just can't wait to read the next one!! Why is that ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Awesome Must read

    Like all the rest of her Virgin River series, this was an awesome read. Hated for it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Good

    I usually hate it when they drag it out, but it made since in this book. Showed how, especially, Nora has grown and learned from her past. I guess i just liked how believable it was, i mean any normal guy would hesitate lol. Would have given it 5 stars, but didnt like the jack side story too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked this book. I liked how the book was mainly focused on th

    I liked this book. I liked how the book was mainly focused on the romance and not a lot of side plots. However, the side plot that was there
     annoyed me. lol. It was just a set up for the next book/series and we did not need it. I liked Nora. I wish I had liked Tom (I liked him but
    his growth needed to be more) a bit more and kind of wish he had been forced to woo her at a certain point and that even though we have
     a nice discussion of women's range of valid choices she had/or would in the future invest in herself a bit. But all in all a solid book in this
    series. There is a dig at vampire romance that is funny.

    If you like these themes, you will like this book! Spoilers below!

    abandoned-by-parent, abuse-sexual-or-physical, abusive-mother, baby-infant, body-art, california, class-difference, contemporary-romance,
     contemporary-romance-series, discovered-parent, farm, food, friends-to-lovers, grannies-aunties, iraq-war,  mountain-local, older-male,
     poverty, pregnancy-at-end, single-mother, slow-seduction, small-breasted, small-town-romance, terrible-first-spouse, uptight, veteran,
    working-class-heroine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11