Customer Reviews for

Sunrise Point (Virgin River Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

delightful small town contemporary romance

Sunrise Point by Robin Carr takes us back to the wooded hills of Virgin River. This is the nineteenth book in the Virgin River series. If you follow my reviews you know this is one of my favorite small-town contemporary romance series. I was delighted that Carr brought ...
Sunrise Point by Robin Carr takes us back to the wooded hills of Virgin River. This is the nineteenth book in the Virgin River series. If you follow my reviews you know this is one of my favorite small-town contemporary romance series. I was delighted that Carr brought us Nora Crane’s story. Carr delivers a heart-felt romance built on friendship and trust. We first met Nora and her two small children in the novel Bring Me Home for Christmas. She and her girls had been left in an old abandon home without any means of supporting themselves. That Christmas the people of Virgin Rivers reached out providing food and support. Slowly with their help Nora has gotten back on her feet. She is a great mom and determined to be independent and someday give back. When she spots an ad for apple pickers for the Cavanaugh farm she is eager to apply. When she interviews with handsome, Tom Cavanaugh he takes one look at this petite, pretty mother of two and turns her down for the job. He doesn’t think she can handle it and he’s fearful of the attraction he immediately feels for her. Maxine, Tom’s beloved grandmother has other plans. She sees herself in Nora and informs them both that Nora is hired. The tale that unfolds is absolutely delightful as Nora and Tom figure out what is important in life. The romance is slow and bittersweet and grows from friendship. Tom Cavanaugh is a likable guy. He is an ex-marine who has returned to the family farm to help run it with his grandmother Maxine. His war experiences and loss of his fellow soldiers have given him an appreciation of all that Virgin River and his family farm have to offer. The only thing missing is a woman in his life. He knows exactly what he wants and that’s someone who is smart and respectable like his grandmother. What he feels for Nora is confusing because she is nothing like his grandmother. Or is she? When the widow of one of his old units shows up, he thinks he may have found the perfect woman. Oh how I hated Darla. This woman has an agenda and Tom is at the top of her list. Watching Tom figure it all out hand me rapidly turning the pages. I consumed this novel in one afternoon. Carr’s tales of this small town and its people capture me every time. If Virgin River was a real town, I would want to live there. She has created characters that feel like family and call you home again and again. We didn’t see a lot of the townspeople, but we do get a story about Jack and an ex-pilot named Hank Copper. This side-tale wasn’t very exciting, but if I know Carr she is preparing us for his story. For my delicate readers, this romance offers some hot and heavy kisses and hand-holding. There is one love scene that is mostly implied. It complements the tale and felt genuine and sweet. I want to thank netGalley and Mira publishing for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

posted by kimba88 on March 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This one just didn't do it for me. A big part of it was the dia

This one just didn't do it for me. A big part of it was the dialog (and good heavens, this one has a lot of dialog! At times it seemed that's all this book was, one conversation after another sprinkled here and there with internal musings)--it just didn't read to me a...
This one just didn't do it for me. A big part of it was the dialog (and good heavens, this one has a lot of dialog! At times it seemed that's all this book was, one conversation after another sprinkled here and there with internal musings)--it just didn't read to me as real conversations that normal people would have. Even the internal dialog just didn't ring true. The romance--such as it was--was extremely slow to develop, up until the last ten pages or so, when it went into hyperdrive. It almost felt as if Carr suddenly realized she had to wrap it up, and wrap it up darn quick. Overall, it was extremely predictable, which isn't necessarily a bad thing (nor unexpected, in the romance genre), but a few surprises--with the writing if not with the plot--here or there would be nice. Once again a seemingly unrelated and random plot line was inserted--and yes, it's obviously in order to give the new character, Coop, his own book in the future, I get that--but it really didn't increase my interest in either this story or the future one; instead it just made this one seem even longer than it already was.

Eternal optimist that I am, I'm still going ahead with the series--I just hope the next installment has more going for it than this one, which just seemed to be resting on the series' laurels a bit too much.

posted by beckymmoe on April 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    delightful small town contemporary romance

    Sunrise Point by Robin Carr takes us back to the wooded hills of Virgin River. This is the nineteenth book in the Virgin River series. If you follow my reviews you know this is one of my favorite small-town contemporary romance series. I was delighted that Carr brought us Nora Crane’s story. Carr delivers a heart-felt romance built on friendship and trust. We first met Nora and her two small children in the novel Bring Me Home for Christmas. She and her girls had been left in an old abandon home without any means of supporting themselves. That Christmas the people of Virgin Rivers reached out providing food and support. Slowly with their help Nora has gotten back on her feet. She is a great mom and determined to be independent and someday give back. When she spots an ad for apple pickers for the Cavanaugh farm she is eager to apply. When she interviews with handsome, Tom Cavanaugh he takes one look at this petite, pretty mother of two and turns her down for the job. He doesn’t think she can handle it and he’s fearful of the attraction he immediately feels for her. Maxine, Tom’s beloved grandmother has other plans. She sees herself in Nora and informs them both that Nora is hired. The tale that unfolds is absolutely delightful as Nora and Tom figure out what is important in life. The romance is slow and bittersweet and grows from friendship. Tom Cavanaugh is a likable guy. He is an ex-marine who has returned to the family farm to help run it with his grandmother Maxine. His war experiences and loss of his fellow soldiers have given him an appreciation of all that Virgin River and his family farm have to offer. The only thing missing is a woman in his life. He knows exactly what he wants and that’s someone who is smart and respectable like his grandmother. What he feels for Nora is confusing because she is nothing like his grandmother. Or is she? When the widow of one of his old units shows up, he thinks he may have found the perfect woman. Oh how I hated Darla. This woman has an agenda and Tom is at the top of her list. Watching Tom figure it all out hand me rapidly turning the pages. I consumed this novel in one afternoon. Carr’s tales of this small town and its people capture me every time. If Virgin River was a real town, I would want to live there. She has created characters that feel like family and call you home again and again. We didn’t see a lot of the townspeople, but we do get a story about Jack and an ex-pilot named Hank Copper. This side-tale wasn’t very exciting, but if I know Carr she is preparing us for his story. For my delicate readers, this romance offers some hot and heavy kisses and hand-holding. There is one love scene that is mostly implied. It complements the tale and felt genuine and sweet. I want to thank netGalley and Mira publishing for providing this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Nora Crane's made some bad decisions in life, which lead to her

    Nora Crane's made some bad decisions in life, which lead to her now living in
    Virgin River, squatting in a tiny abandoned house with two small daughters,
    while her ex-minor-league ballplayer turned meth-head ex-boyfriend rots in jail.
    Who would want to take on THAT mess?

    Not Tom Cavanaugh, former Marine and current boss of the family apple
    orchard. He knows what he wants in a woman, and Nora's not it; he doesn't
    even want to give her a seasonal job picking apples. But his grandmother
    insists and the scrappy single mother makes a go of it, impressing him despite
    himself.

    As the local counselor/pastor helps her to discover, Nora is not entirely alone in
    the world, after all; her father did not abandon her willingly, but gave up in the
    face of repeated rebuffs by her mother, and when he seemed to be making life
    worse for the little girl. My one quibble with this book is when Jed talks about
    how Nora's mother might have had borderline personality disorder, but how
    she wasn't REALLY mentally ill.

    There's a lot we don't understand about mental illness, and I don't have the
    credentials to diagnose anyone, let alone a fictional character. But the
    "personality" disorders - borderline, OCPD, narcissistic personality disorder
    are as real mental illnesses as anything else in the last two editions of the
    DSM, and those who have them, as well as those who are involved in family,
    love, or work relationships with someone so disordered, officially diagnosed or
    not, are well-advised to get qualified professional help. The damaging impacts
    can last a lifetime, especially if they are brushed off as not "real mental illness."
    It's potentially as harmful to grow up in a household with a disordered person
    as it is to grow up in a household where there is alcohol or drug addiction.
    [Climbing down off soapbox now.]

    These discussions only takes up a little of the book, but having such a mother
    and an absent father helps us understand why Nora made such bad decisions
    re: the boyfriend, and admire her all the more for her determination to make
    something of herself and for her girls.

    The heat between Tom - who is trying desperately to become attracted to a
    lovely woman with less emotional, if not literal, baggage, and Nora is slow to
    develop. She's attracted to him all the way through, but isn't going to hit on her
    boss, especially one who's dating another woman. Loved Maxie, the
    grandmother, the town events as described, and the way other characters
    make an appearance, here and there, but this book too works as a stand-alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    You will love this series!

    I love this series, as well as other's Robyn Carr has written. Following the lives of these characters makes for a more satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Good

    I usually hate it when they drag it out, but it made since in this book. Showed how, especially, Nora has grown and learned from her past. I guess i just liked how believable it was, i mean any normal guy would hesitate lol. Would have given it 5 stars, but didnt like the jack side story too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    wonderful series

    I started with the first and rapidly went thru this series. I love a story that takes me somewhere else and has me caring for the characters. Avidly awaiting the next addition to this town and how they weave in. Thnk you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Sab

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Maria C

    This is my first time reading this authors book.
    I really enjoyed this book. It was wholesome and romantic.
    Looking forward to reading more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What you get isn’t always what you wanted, but sometimes i

    What you get isn’t always what you wanted, but sometimes it’s what you needed.
    As always the Virgin River series is chock full of memorable characters and Sunrise Point definitely lived up to that expectation. The storyline was sweet and full of lessons on life and love that will have you thinking about it long after the stories over.
    Tom is opinionated, stubborn, loyal, and the sweetest man you will ever meet. I loved getting to know him as well as Nora especially when they were butting heads. These two were perfect for each other and I couldn’t get enough of them. Nora has many of the same traits as Tom, but because of her tough life she learned her lessons the hard way.
    I recommend this story to anyone looking for a touching story and a sweet romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Picking Apples Will Never Be The Same We return to the peaceful

    Picking Apples Will Never Be The Same

    We return to the peaceful mountain town of Virgin River once again and meet up with some favorite characters. We met Nora Crane and her two little girls, Berry and Fay, when they arrived in town in desperate need of help. (In Bring Me Home for Christmas) The residents of Virgin River, mostly headed by Reverend Noah Kincaid, have pitched in to help the struggling single mother in her many efforts to stay afloat and support her small family. Nora has been through a lot, with a substance-abusing and dangerous ex-boyfriend and father of her girls who left her high and dry, to a mother that was borderline mental and a father who she thought abandoned her. After living through so much in her 23 years, Nora is in no way ready to have a man in her life, but can't seem to keep Tom Cavanaugh out of her thoughts. Tom, an ex-Marine, returned to Virgin River to help his grandmother, Maxine, run the family apple orchard. Nora needed a job and applied to be a seasonal apple picker, and Tom only reluctantly hires her after Maxie tells him what's what. Throughout the book, Tom and Nora fight their growing attraction and make attempts to avoid each other, but Virgin River is a very small town... and you never know what you will learn about yourself.

    I enjoyed this installment of the Virgin River Series and the skills of Robyn Carr as she weaves a story about two people who have gone through a lot and aren't necessarily on the same page when it comes to relationships. The characters each have their own decisions to make about what they really want and are supported along the way by a strong group of family and friends. Nora learns a lot about herself as she meets the father that left her when she was six and realizes that there was a lot more to the story that her mother told her; she gets a second chance to form a bond with her father as he visits his granddaughters. Tom on the other hand, believes that he knows exactly where he is in life and what he wants, but when the widow of a fellow Marine keeps dropping by with plans of her own, he begins to really take a look at what is waiting for him in Virgin River - Picking apples can be like choosing the right woman - though they may be shiny and red on the outside, who knows what you will find on the inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    A little slow in the beginning but it was necessary to bring us

    A little slow in the beginning but it was necessary to bring us up to date on Nora whom we had barely met at Christmas. Enjoyed the story. Loved Maxine. Tom's manners to the widow of one of his soldiers drove me crazy, but it was realistic. Nice guys can be manipulated too easily by women who know how to play them. As usual when I got to the end I wanted a little more. That is one of the things I love about the Virgin Rivers series, if the people stay there, I am sure to hear more about them.
    I am used to these books being written in trios and did not read the preceding two until I got this one. This one was not connected to the other two. As always, a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Nora Crane, young single mother of two adorable little girls, wa

    Nora Crane, young single mother of two adorable little girls, was abandoned in Virgin River by her drug addict, abusive boyfriend. Nora hadn’t known much stability in her life because of a mother who had her own psychological problems and an absent father. This all changes in Virgin River; Nora’s own resilient nature and desperate circumstances drive her to accept the friendship and help of local people. They help her to find life’s necessities and babysitting. Finding a job to make her way is a top priority. She finds peace, friendship, a paycheck, and a good-looking former Marine, Tom Cavanaugh, in the apple orchard.
    As far as “baggage” goes, Nora has it all. Yet, it is fun to compare hard-working, “appreciates life” Nora with Tom’s other possible choice. It’s fun to read and see Tom slowly figuring out that Darla’s good points are only skin deep…maybe not even that deep. I loved Tom’s grandma, Maxie, who shared common circumstances with Nora. When Carr set up the similarity between Maxie and Nora it helped me to like Nora better. I felt sorry for Nora, but if Tom was my grandson, I would want him to steer clear of her problems. Seeing Maxie’s reaction to Nora helped me to like the character. Tom and Nora’s growing attraction is fun to read about. Seeing Nora reconnect with her father, who genuinely wants to become a father and grandfather, is cheering.
    Three Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    very good

    Sure enjoyed this book. Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Another great book!

    I loved this book! I think the story unfolded great. Nora was just looking for a job and he was a bonus! I have already read this twice:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Another great book from Robyn Carr in the Virgin River series.

    Another great book from Robyn Carr in the Virgin River series. Tom Cavanaugh the owner of the apple orchard who makes a brief appearance in Redwood Bend is our main character in this book. As he has returned to be back in the apple business he is finally getting into his groove when Nora walks in needing a job and some support for her and her two young daughters. The reader may know where this story will end, but Robyn Carr takes you on an adventure before depositing you right where you thought you would end up. A little bit of romance and a lot of great characters give this book the depth to make it more than just a romance novel.

    My only negative thought for this one was the random story line between the bar owner Jack and Coop. It popped up in the middle of the book and resolved, but seemed very random as it didn't go along with the bigger story that this book was centered around. Just thought it was kind of random.

    I may have said this before, but I love how each book takes place in the same town but centers around a different character. It is so fun to learn more about each towns person in their own book. I will definitely continue to devour this series.

    On a side note, you do not have to read this series in particular order because each book stands quite nicely on its own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3