Customer Reviews for

Sunrise At Sunset

Average Rating 3.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Read a great read by Jaz Primo!

Sunrise at Sunset by Jaz Primo It was nice to come across yet another author who writes in my favorite genre, the paranormal, and uses my favorite character, the vampire. I was very intrigued with this book and it was easy to get into. I did find it a bit frustrating on...
Sunrise at Sunset by Jaz Primo It was nice to come across yet another author who writes in my favorite genre, the paranormal, and uses my favorite character, the vampire. I was very intrigued with this book and it was easy to get into. I did find it a bit frustrating on two counts though. One, although as the reader the book does hint to a sexual relationship between Caleb and Katrina, but never goes into detail about the passion they share. The only clue they ever made love was that they held each other and cuddled afterward. I do not understand why the author did not enhance or go into depth about their sexual relationship, but it was a little disappointing especially when in almost every vampire book I have read, always shows the passion the vampire emits with his or her partner. So, I did find this disappointing. The other thing I found to be a little irritating was the fact throughout the entire book, I kept looking at Caleb like a small child. Katrina treated him throughout the whole book as 'the boss', 'the protector', 'the dictator' and more like a mother to him than a life mate. I know in the beginning when she first met Caleb he was a small boy who helped save her life, but even after she met him again as an adult, she continued to treat him as that small boy. That would have been a little more tolerable IF their love making would have gone into detail. And Caleb always allowed Katrina to treat him as such, except in certain areas of the book where he 'tried' to stand up for himself. To be honest, I wanted him to be turned so he could be a man, stand on his own feet and maybe Katrina would treat him like a man instead of a helpless child. Now, with that all said. I loved the book. It had a great story behind it, and it was written well. The author shows a great deal of imagination and creativity and it kept my attention. I was pleased to see when I finished reading the book there is another one coming after it called A Bloody London Sunset. So, I hope the author will allow me to read and review it. Although Sunrise at Sunset disappointed me in two areas, I can't wait to find out where Jaz is going to take Caleb and Katrina next. Hopefully the author will open up a bit and allow the intimate part of their relationship to come forth and have Caleb grow a 'set'. *grin* I give Sunrise at Sunset four stars **** Reviewed by Nora Chipley Barteau

posted by Angelfirewithwings on October 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Hard to swallow

The man is way too wimpy for my taste. I tried to keep an open mind about the strong, independent female lead, but it was a tough pill to swallow. The woman vampire came across as parental and the relationship was almost like incest. It gave me the creeps. I quit re...
The man is way too wimpy for my taste. I tried to keep an open mind about the strong, independent female lead, but it was a tough pill to swallow. The woman vampire came across as parental and the relationship was almost like incest. It gave me the creeps. I quit reading around page 300. I had no more interest in seeing that poor man imasculated further.
Perhaps the dominant female and the submissive male relationship will float your boat more so than mine. In that case, it is a 900+ page urban fantasy book. The grammar and spelling are decent. I agree with other reviewers-- too many "smirks"!!! I suggest a lot of skimming and reading the dialogue only. Too many words spent on inner thoughts and not enough action.

posted by 7176450 on August 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Read a great read by Jaz Primo!

    Sunrise at Sunset by Jaz Primo It was nice to come across yet another author who writes in my favorite genre, the paranormal, and uses my favorite character, the vampire. I was very intrigued with this book and it was easy to get into. I did find it a bit frustrating on two counts though. One, although as the reader the book does hint to a sexual relationship between Caleb and Katrina, but never goes into detail about the passion they share. The only clue they ever made love was that they held each other and cuddled afterward. I do not understand why the author did not enhance or go into depth about their sexual relationship, but it was a little disappointing especially when in almost every vampire book I have read, always shows the passion the vampire emits with his or her partner. So, I did find this disappointing. The other thing I found to be a little irritating was the fact throughout the entire book, I kept looking at Caleb like a small child. Katrina treated him throughout the whole book as 'the boss', 'the protector', 'the dictator' and more like a mother to him than a life mate. I know in the beginning when she first met Caleb he was a small boy who helped save her life, but even after she met him again as an adult, she continued to treat him as that small boy. That would have been a little more tolerable IF their love making would have gone into detail. And Caleb always allowed Katrina to treat him as such, except in certain areas of the book where he 'tried' to stand up for himself. To be honest, I wanted him to be turned so he could be a man, stand on his own feet and maybe Katrina would treat him like a man instead of a helpless child. Now, with that all said. I loved the book. It had a great story behind it, and it was written well. The author shows a great deal of imagination and creativity and it kept my attention. I was pleased to see when I finished reading the book there is another one coming after it called A Bloody London Sunset. So, I hope the author will allow me to read and review it. Although Sunrise at Sunset disappointed me in two areas, I can't wait to find out where Jaz is going to take Caleb and Katrina next. Hopefully the author will open up a bit and allow the intimate part of their relationship to come forth and have Caleb grow a 'set'. *grin* I give Sunrise at Sunset four stars **** Reviewed by Nora Chipley Barteau

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    A must vampire read

    Hi everyone :)
    As you might know I'm participating in the Romancing Your Dark Side Tour, for me it's really exciting as it's my first and I hope to do allot more^^ So my first book is this one. I LOVED it.
    I love it when the alpha is the female I mean come one we can't always be the one getting rescued, us girls can kick ass to right?? Of course :)
    Jaz is really good at writing the story from a female alpha POV. Katrina is strong and protective of Caleb but also loving and feminine, and as most alphas (female or male) she is very possessive and she has the most amazing red hair. But there's more to Katrina than meets the eye.
    Caleb in this occasion is the damsel in distress, well not exactly... as he's not a damsel. But he is an easily liked character right from the beginning. Shy, good looking, a community college history teacher and willing to do anything to save his loves life.
    Alton is Katrina's mentor and a good friend. And Chimalma (yes I know cool name ^^) is the baddy.
    But my favorite character is Katrinas best friend Paige, she's modern, sassy, quirky, funny and a great friend, she's also fiercely protective of Caleb.
    You'll like this book if you like vampire books but your fed up with the alpha male stories in which the female character is weak and always depending on the male. Because not only is Katrina a female but Caleb is far from helpless.
    So I give it 5 stars. :)

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great book with tons of suspense

    Sunrise at Sunset by Jaz Primo was an exciting book that had enough action to keep me hooked. I started book 2 in the series immediately after finishing Sunrise at Sunset. The character of Katrina was great, I loved that she was a strong, take no prisoners type of woman, especially when it came to the people she cared about. I'd have to say that my favorite character of the book was Paige because she was so spunky and fun. I hope that I don't have to wait too long to get my hands on a copy of book 3 of the Sunset Vampires series.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "SUNRISE AT SUNSET" (GMTA REVIEW)

    "SUNRISE AT SUNSET" BY JAZ PRIMO

    From the moment Katrina meets Caleb she felt the need to protect him. At the time he was little more than a child. Over the years she has kept tabs on him making sure his life is comfortable. She has discreetly maneuvered every aspect in order to keep him safe. After losing touch for quite a few years she can't help but seek him out again with the need to see him at least one more time and be sure that the boy that once saved her life, has become the man she always hoped and knew he'd be.

    She never expected to fall in love, she never knew she'd feel so drawn to him.

    A vow to protect him forever is made, a vow to be forever his is consummated, but can a vampire keep those vows? Can she truly protect Caleb from one of the greatest threats of all? One of her own kind has come to make trouble and what Katrina thought would be a beautiful beginning with the man she loves soon turns deadly.

    Jaz Primo writes with great detail and pulls you into this timeless love story. Alternating between romance and adventure with perfect fluidity, he weaves a tale that is unforgettable. I enjoyed this story and can't wait to read the sequel!

    Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Extremely Good!

    Must read ! The reader becomes immediatly hooked ! Jaz Primo has a great style of writing ! Its Thrilling , Passionate, and full of Suspense ! The characters really are very interesting and come through well. This book delievers ! I can not wait for the next book for come out next spring !!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    a must read

    cover 3/5 plot 5/5 ending 5/5 i loved this book it was totaly awesome

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Yes this book is almost 1000 pages! That being said.

    It is a fabulous book the two main characters Kat and Caleb are great I love that the female takes charge to protect her man. So it is alot of story, but that being said I still love it. You get to know how their relationship started when Caleb was only an 8 year old who finds a burnt up vampire in his garage, and how he saved her and then she saved him again, and again, and again, I love it. There is not a whole lot of in detail sex spots, just a description of a close loving night together. So its clean for young people as well. I love this story and can't wait to read the others in the series. Thanks Jaz for making a different and interesting clean story that any age can enjoy. I love your work and will continue to buy and read it all. Much love... keep it up!!!??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Sunset at sunrise

    Katrina Rawlings and Caleb, are two of the sexiest vampire plus human couple ever!! I could not put the book down, it was that good, and the great battle was excellent!! And I loved Katrina's friends, two other vampires who became friends with Caleb, I am keeping this review short. I can't wait to read the other two novels as well!, Jay Primo, you really did a really fantastic job as well. Your ability to add layers to each character, which waas really exellent and made me like eah character even more!! And JAY PRIMO!! YOU ROCK!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    No better setting than NO

    Good read! Loved the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    ?... interesting

    I got this book for free.... on my nook...then theres this one im looking at for 99 cents..... why is that?
    But i absolutly lovr the book. And caleb sounds HOT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Mmmm...Yessssss!!!!!!!!

    Everything about this book will draw you in and keep your attention. I often found myself staying up later than i should so that i could "finish the good part." Truthly, the entire book was a good part-hence the late nights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    I could hardly put it down

    Looking forward to reading the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Cc

    Great book lovd every chapter of it as well ...but Katrina seemed more like the male and caleb thd guy in my opinion : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Best book everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great read

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Highly recomend this author, fantastic storyline that hooks you

    Highly recomend this author, fantastic storyline that hooks you right away. I just hope he is a fast writter because we need more ....love the books we just bought his 4th book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Rate

    Liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Loved it!!!!!! A DEFINITE must read!!!!!!!

    Sunrise after sunset was an azing book tha i just ould not pt down!!!! Truly an amazing book!! A must read in my opinion, especially if you like a mixture of suspense, romance, action, and fantasy!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    I loved it

    I loved all the twists and turns the book takes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Amazing

    If you read this and feel you can't give it 5 stars then read it again and pay attention the next time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3