Customer Reviews for

Sunrise in a Garden of Love & Evil

Average Rating 4
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as I had hoped

    After reading the reveiws by other readers I really expected more than I got out of this book. I wasn't expecting the novel of the century, but certainly something that didn't have me looking for a Rod Serling like narrative telling me I'm about to enter The Twilight Zone.

    The book is an offbeat take on vampires and has the potential to be humorous. Unfortunately, for me, the flaws of the book were so distracting that is was hard enjoy the positive aspects. The author did more than create a small town feel, it was more a representation of life in a bubbble. There was a lack of flow. Transitions between scenes were rough. Several times I would flip back a page thinking I had misses something, only to find that the author had. Perhaps this was an issue of over editing, I don't know, but did not make for easy enjoyable reading.

    There was also the issue of the characters. On the positive side, she had some likeable characters, Constantine and Zelda (whio was protraysed as someone far older thant a 12 year old) being top of the list. However, the majority of the characters were extremely annoying. Their responses were way over the top. They often did things that defied common sense. Ophelia being the biggestg offender. Ophelia's reasoning for her actions seemed to only make sense to Ophelia, no one else. Some things could possibly be explained as a vampire quirk I suppose, but if so that explanation was never clearly given.

    I understand the author may have been trying to creat a small, quirky town that we readers would love to escape too. Perhaps in future books she could concentrate on flow and clarity. It's hard to sit back and immerse yourself in the book if you're wondering why characters are responding in a certain way. Overall the book felt like I had missed a previous segment in the book series. The problem with that is this was the first book in the series.

    I won't be going out of my way to read another book by this author.

    STATS:
    Ebook Pages: 264
    Genre: Paranormal Romance
    Re-Readiblity: NONE
    Steam Factor: Steamy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    good book

    this book was only 1.99 at walmart so check there first! you might get some good deals on cheap books. my local walmart had a ton of 1.99 books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Gripping Read

    Small-town landscaper (and reluctant vampire) Ophelia Beliveau would never willingly deal with the police, but when someone poisons her garden and tosses a dead cat on her porch, she's forced to make the call, bringing hunky detective Gideon O'Toole (definitely not a vampire) to her door and into her life. Quel problème! Within the first chapter, the reader connects to these two strong characters and hopes for a positive outcome-both in solving the mystery and in finding love.

    The more Ophelia tries to hide from her vampire nature, the more she's forced into action. Action that includes asking for help from straight-laced Gideon, who isn't immune to her charms, even though she does her best to thwart his desire. Gideon's finally found his equal in a woman. Too bad she claims she wants him only for his detective skills. Blackmail and murder spread throughout Bayou Gavotte, linking Ophelia's vandalism complaint to other criminal activities Gideon is trying to solve and carrying the reader along at a galloping pace. As Ophelia and Gideon work together to solve first a simple case of vandalism and then a full-fledged conspiracy, the repartee the two characters use to distance themselves can't hold back their mutual building desire.

    Monajem has created a strong and likable female character in Ophelia. Gideon is a hunk, with intelligence and a heart. Monajem's secondary characters-Constantine, the rock star who hangs out with the underworld, Leopold, the Native American vigilante, and the teen-aged Zelda-all are well developed, intriguing characters. Complex and hilarious teen Zelda deserves her own book.

    Who knew a small rural town in Louisiana could have numerous kinky sex clubs, a criminal underbelly, and vampires? Monajem has created a delightful Mayberry setting with a twist in the town of Bayou Gavotte. Bayou Gavotte is the kind of small town where the sheriff stains plywood in the middle of his station, so adding in multiple kinky sex clubs and a realm of vampires may be a bit of a stretch for some, but Monajem deftly weaves these plot lines into the book without compromising the small-town, rural feel. At times both sultry and inviting, then gritty and dark, Monajem's Bayou Gavotte invites the reader in to visit and then doesn't let go.

    The dynamic between Ophelia and Gideon is filled with tension, but that tension sometimes gets in the way of the story. Too much reliance on misunderstood communication results in an annoying tension throughout Ophelia and Gideon's interaction. In addition, over-the-top, incongruent reactions on the part of various characters results in a melodramatic feel during many scenes, pulling this reader out of the action to figure out what all the fuss is about. However, Monajam's strength in creating both an environment in which a reader is reluctant to leave and characters a reader is reluctant to let go of smoothes over any rough spots.

    A well-paced storyline, engaging secondary characters and a complex setting add depth and interest to a contemporary human/vampire love story. Consider this a good summer read. Monajem's a writer to keep an eye on.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book Ever

    This was one of the best books i ever read and i really dont like reading but this one i can red over and over again if i have to...they should make a movie on this book!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Another vampire novel

    I bought this book because it came with a publisher's guarantee, which probably set my expectations too high. I was a bit disappointed. Though a fan of vampire literature, this new take on vampires was not that exciting; in fact, this twist on how one becomes a vampire was a bit boring. It was a good read, but I'm not sure I'd buy the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fascinating southern vampire police procedural with plenty of Bayou atmosphere mindful of Sookie's world.

    In Bayou Gavotte, Ophelia Beliveau is like every female going through puberty. She got boobs, fangs and emitted an overwhelming attraction that males cannot resist. Ophelia's bloodline is that of a vampire.

    To escape the male pick-up attempts, Ophelia became somewhat of a recluse. However, recently vandals devastated her beloved garden. She calls the local police; detective Gideon O'Toole responds. However, like every man she has met since she went through puberty, he wants her; this time she is considering reciprocating. Meanwhile at the same time Gideon's sister Artemisia is being blackmailed. Bayou Gavotte is becoming a dangerous place to live as death has come to town.

    This is a fascinating southern vampire police procedural with plenty of Bayou atmosphere mindful of Sookie's world. The diverse relationships across species and within species are fully delved into with Ophelia as the center holding the plot together. Although evil has entered the garden at almost the same time as love has, the peril for the most part takes a back seat to the romance between the vampire who has done without and the detective willing to give his all.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1