Customer Reviews for

Sunrise with a Notorious Lord (Lords of Vice Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Is it possible you were created just to bedevil and bewitch me?

Christopher Avery Courtland, Earl of Vanewright is determined not to get married. He is been sticking with this theory while at the same time attempting to stop his mother from trying to make that happen. When you have one of the most conniving of woman as your mother...
Christopher Avery Courtland, Earl of Vanewright is determined not to get married. He is been sticking with this theory while at the same time attempting to stop his mother from trying to make that happen. When you have one of the most conniving of woman as your mother you have to out fox her but this time he may have been caught in a trap of his own making. The problem is not the woman his mother is pushing on him but her sister giving him a reason to blush, the radiant Isabel Thorne.

Isabel has always been as much a parent as a sister to Delia so trying to get her married off to a titled gentleman is the perfect set up. With an introduction into London society promised, Isabel takes Vane’s mother up on her offer to get Vane interested in Delia regardless of the consequences. Problem is with great plans and organized thinking is that when the heart takes over all rules and clear thought fly out the window. Isabel is trying to stop this over whelming desire to rush into Vane’s arms and feel his lips brush hers. This trip has been nothing but trouble, confusion, and terrible decisions that keep leading Isabel back to Vane.

Vane has led the most spirited life imaginable with his friends and never thought he was ever going to marry. Nevertheless, there stands Isabel with her innocence and striking beauty flowing around her like roses falling from the vine. Vane knows that Isabel cannot be his but has that stopped him before, no and as tempting as Isabel is in the simplest of frocks he cannot stop imaging the magnificence of seeing just her bare shoulder.

This book starts on a fast pace and never slows down. The action between the characters is riveting and when one pushes, another one shoves all to achieve their individual goals. One man has no way of defending himself when all these women have a plan written in such a lovely fashion by Ms. Hawkins.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointed

First off, the beginning started off well. Then it dragged. Then there could've been a little more chemistry with the two main characters and Lastly there was only one real "love" scene...ok 1 and a 1/2! Love the series and the lords of vice...hopefully the next book in...
First off, the beginning started off well. Then it dragged. Then there could've been a little more chemistry with the two main characters and Lastly there was only one real "love" scene...ok 1 and a 1/2! Love the series and the lords of vice...hopefully the next book in August will tickle my pickle! Lol

posted by Fara on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    A little disappointed

    First off, the beginning started off well. Then it dragged. Then there could've been a little more chemistry with the two main characters and Lastly there was only one real "love" scene...ok 1 and a 1/2! Love the series and the lords of vice...hopefully the next book in August will tickle my pickle! Lol

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE THIS SERIES! ANOTHER AMAZING STORY TO THE "LORD OF VICE" NOVELS!

    SUNRISE WITH A NOTORIOUS LORD by Alexandrea Hawkins is another exciting addition to "A Lord Vice" Novel set in 1823 England. It is the 4th book in "A Lord Vice" novel,but can be read as a stand alone. See " After Dark With A Scoundrel","All Night With A Rogue" and "Till Dawn With The Devil". Although,you will see some to the characters from the previous stories re-appearing throughout this story with their wives,of course. "Sunrise With A Notorious Lord" is the story of "Vane",Christopher Courtland,Earl of Vanewright and Miss Isabel Thorne. It is written with details,the plot is interesting and the charcters will capture your heart. I have enjoyed the Lords of Vice. Although,considered dashing,scandalous,and over indulges in their vices, they are also,caring,dedicated to a cause,sexy,daring,and looking for something. This author has done it again,with this story. It is fast paced,adventure filled,with smart,sophisticated females and sexy,dark males. A wonderful addition to the "Lord of Vice" novel. I can hardly wait for the next installment. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at St. Martin's Paperbacks and My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: Mild

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR,My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviewd

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Don't waste your time!

    Isabel Thorne is a great character; witty, intelligent, kind to an obnoxious sister. Vane has no character qualities other than loving his mother. Hawkins could have done so much more. This book lacks any kind of plot, is disjointed, and is held together by sex, barely. Hawkins could have done so much with Isabel's father's papers to make this a good story. She must have written this over a weekend and her editor never saw it at all. This one is garbage. Don't waste your time or your money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Is it possible you were created just to bedevil and bewitch me?

    Christopher Avery Courtland, Earl of Vanewright is determined not to get married. He is been sticking with this theory while at the same time attempting to stop his mother from trying to make that happen. When you have one of the most conniving of woman as your mother you have to out fox her but this time he may have been caught in a trap of his own making. The problem is not the woman his mother is pushing on him but her sister giving him a reason to blush, the radiant Isabel Thorne.

    Isabel has always been as much a parent as a sister to Delia so trying to get her married off to a titled gentleman is the perfect set up. With an introduction into London society promised, Isabel takes Vane’s mother up on her offer to get Vane interested in Delia regardless of the consequences. Problem is with great plans and organized thinking is that when the heart takes over all rules and clear thought fly out the window. Isabel is trying to stop this over whelming desire to rush into Vane’s arms and feel his lips brush hers. This trip has been nothing but trouble, confusion, and terrible decisions that keep leading Isabel back to Vane.

    Vane has led the most spirited life imaginable with his friends and never thought he was ever going to marry. Nevertheless, there stands Isabel with her innocence and striking beauty flowing around her like roses falling from the vine. Vane knows that Isabel cannot be his but has that stopped him before, no and as tempting as Isabel is in the simplest of frocks he cannot stop imaging the magnificence of seeing just her bare shoulder.

    This book starts on a fast pace and never slows down. The action between the characters is riveting and when one pushes, another one shoves all to achieve their individual goals. One man has no way of defending himself when all these women have a plan written in such a lovely fashion by Ms. Hawkins.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Disappointed

    Overall I have adored the Lords of Vice series. It is so much fun watching these hardcore bachelors give up their womanizing ways for conventional family life. That being said I found this installment pretty disappointing particularly the end. The story felt rushed and the characters and the plot were underdeveloped. Much of the conflict was weak and many of the important plot points were spoken of after the fact but never actually shown. This story lacked the rich descriptions present in the other books and I'm really hoping the next story brings back the Lords of Vice wow factor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Not as good as the last three

    I was sorry to be so dissapointed in this one, but I know this author does it much better than this. I think it was rushed and somehow she wasn't focused on her characters or her plot. Maybe the next installment will bring her back to her true self? To bad because I waited for this one with very little patience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Great book

    Loved this book i just wish it was longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Love this series!

    Love this series! The Heroine is wonderful. The Hero is fabulously arrogant, protective and incredibly hot! No real drama in this one. Just a fun little romantic romp thru the Ton!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Good Read Some Questions

    The story was good it was a fun fast read While giving Vane and Isabel their HEA the sub plots of Lord Botly and runaway bride Delia were dropped Hoping to get the resolution with a casual mention in the remaining books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Lords of Vice

    #4 is not my favorite by far, but it is an ok read. I will, however, read #5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Great book

    It was a cute book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Really Good

    Totally love this series. Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Sunrise with a Notorious Lord

    Great Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    I've read all 4 books from this author and each one only makes me eagerly the next. I highly recommend her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Alexandra Hawkins is spot on with the 4th installment of The Lor

    Alexandra Hawkins is spot on with the 4th installment of The Lords of Vice. I can't wait to see which Lord is next to find his love. My heart goes out to Isabel and Vane. I couldnt help smiling as I was reading. I hate that the wait is so long for the next. But, that's how it goes for a good series. Will Frost be the last to go down??/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Excellent Romance

    The new book by Alexandra Hawkins titled "Sunrise with a Notorious Lord" was an excellent book. Christopher Courtland, Earl of Vanewright known as Vane is one of the Lords of Vice. He is a rich and handsome ladies man, who's trying to forestall his matchmaking Mother. In the opening scene of the book, Vane is with his soon to ex-mistress in a dressing room at the dressmaker's shop making way too much noise doing what he does best. When Vane exits the dressing room, he spies a beautiful woman shopping. He is attempting to flirt with her when a youth in the dress shop bumps into him. He is momentarily caught off guard when he realizes he has been duped by a pickpocket. Vane tries to stop the youth when the beautiful woman he was flirting with proceeds to interrupt. Vane is totally outraged by the woman putting herself in danger and starts yelling. But not to undone, said lady manages to retrieve item from the pickpocket. Of course, Vane is not expecting said item to be flung at his head, catches it. The lady in question, Miss Isabel Thorne is not going to be scolded by this insufferable, erroneous, stupid man. She tells him off, and right then Vane is smitten. Could another "Lord of Vice" be stung by cupids' arrow? You'll just have to read and find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Weak all over

    I was very disappionted with this book, it was rushed and some parts get confusing. There are several parts that arent even resolved. This book is a waste and needs to be rewritten

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Good!!

    This was my least fav in the series, i loved the first 3 . This one was still well written and very good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Love the Lords of Vice

    A great historical romance series. The repeat characters in the series help you connect to them and let you watch them develop especially in the featured book. Another must read by Alexandra Hawkins - can't wait for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Love it!

    I am absolutely loving this series. A must read for historical romance lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4