Customer Reviews for

Sunset Bay

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    DawnStar Ceremony (Deputy)

    Let all cats that are old anuff to catche there own prey gather below the 'Highrock' for a clan meeting. Her voice rang out. The cats gathered. (Gtg bbt mom!=[ anouncement tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    To sparkeyes

    Are u ok with being forcemated. If not then hide! ~misty:rppd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Phantom

    "Just calm yourself geez" *he lays down and watches slightly amused*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    i love this book...

    Didnt really wanted to read it but i was so glad i did. one of my favorite book. worth every dollar. Must READ.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "What if you got another chance at the life that got away?"

    I can personally attest that Sunset Bay by New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery is a book for all women of all ages. It's also Susan's debut into women's fiction and I hope she continues on this path. I can only say I was personally blown away and cried my heart out! While reading this incredible story I was forced to take a personal look at myself and ask the question some of us are afraid to ask concerning my dreams. Have I accomplished them or some where along the way, were they lost?

    We all make personal choices for love, for family and for friends and sometimes along the way we loose a part of ourselves. Books like this exceptional story remind us, give us a wake up call and hopefully we can learn from stories like this and grow because of them.

    The character Megan Greene in Sunset Bay was difficult for me to read because of the family dynamics..her spoiled sister, her doting father and her very selfish and verbally abusive mother. As usual, Susan Mallery interjects humour into her storyline but makes this so believable you want to stand up and yell at them all while laughing and crying at the same time. But it was Megan's courage I adored and in the end the decisions she made on a personal level.

    Megan's first love was Travis, the high school bad boy who also came from a physically abusive family. Travis is so passionate and honourable and for me sort of a knight in shining armour. He is also dark and edgy and at times afraid of his feelings for Megan. Their history is well let's say sweet and yet in the end very emotional; it's a love story about second chances.

    All of the characters in Sunset Bay are unique, from Megan's immediate family, to her special friends, Travis, and her cheating doctor fiancé. When a secret is revealed which eventually rips her family apart you will certainly be shocked.

    If you believe in dreams coming true and second chances then I encourage you to read Mallery's Sunset Bay because I sincerely believe this book will win many awards, it's that special.

    Behind the Story:

    "The heroine came to me one Saturday afternoon while I was watching Project Runway. (I'm obsessed with Project Runway.) With great excitement, I told my agent all about this quirky, artsy girl. Megan was one of those kids who could take an outfit from ordinary to awesome with nothing but scissors and some thread. She saw art in fabric and texture, put together odd combinations that shouldn't have worked but did.

    What would happen to a girl like that, I wondered, if she bowed to family pressure and got a "sensible" job? And how would she feel about a sister who rejected sensibility to pursue her own crazy dream?" --------------
    Reviewed by: Marilyn's Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Unusual Read by Susan Mallery

    The store played out in the pages of this book are at one point sad, another unbelievable, heartwrenching, and down to earth.
    It takes an LA accountant Megan Greene, from her comfort zone as an accountant with a fiance and a loving father to a disallushioned woman who caught her fiance cheating, whose father shuts her out of his life after he finds out that she is not his biological child.
    She finds that her and her younger sister, whom she never had a good relationship with growing up have a lot in common as adults.
    It is a story that many families with disfuntional families can relate to in one way or another.
    Megan finds her way back to the life she had really wanted in the first place. I couldn't put it down intil the final page was turned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love Susan Mallery

    This probably isn't my favorite SM book, but it's a fast read. At points in the book, I thought "okay, she's dragging this on a little too long." But once you finish the book, you can see why the timing had to be like that. You'll find characters that you love and characters that you hate...and characters that you grow to like. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OK but lacking

    I thought this was an okay book. The writing style was good, but I found myself wanting more from the characters. I thought it was a little bland but a good read if you're just looking to pass the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I enjoyed it very much

    Great book - highly recommend it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can Travis & Megan create their dreams?

    What a wonderful story! Megan and Travis make it so! Ms Mallery has done it again! Megan & Travis's story made me cry and laugh while reading.

    Megan's parents are hard to live with, her mother is beautiful and doesn't want anyone to forget it and has decided that Leanne, Megan's younger sister is her spitting image and Megan is so NOT beautiful--she pits the girls against each other. Megan's father is her crutch through dealing with her mother of course he has ignored Leanne while doing this. What lousy parents!

    As a teenager Travis pays attention to Megan but he has big problems too. His parents are a pair of incompetent parents too! Travis ends up in jail and doesn't contact Megan. After 18 months and Megan's high school graduation she runs into Travis at a beach party--he doesn't want anything to do with her as he feels he doesn't have anything to offer her. He can't resist though and they date again but being 21 and 19 changes the tables so they go to Las Vegas for their adult weekend <G> she even has fake ID. They have a wonderful time and just know they are in love! Upon returning home Megan's father confronts them with his knowing they have been together for the weekend and makes Megan choose between her family or Travis. They are young and neither understands how the other thinks. They both have dreams of a life with jobs they want and each other too.

    Well here it is 10 years later and she's in Las Vegas w/friends instead of getting married that day. The fiancee has done something unspeakable and she broke it off within a couple of weeks of the wedding and Travis is in Las Vegas on his way home after all those years of living in Texas--they run into each other and have a good reunion. Back in L.A. they get together and try to work things out again, even though he still feels as though she's too good for him and they haven't really lived the lives of their dreams--can they go for it??

    They both want their dreams but........what a great book! I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    SUNSET BAY BY SUSAN MALLERY, HAS PATHOS, HUMOR AND ROMANCE

    The main character in this book is a young woman called Megan, who is the apple of her father's eye, and her mother's venomous and selfish attacks.
    her younger sister Leanne is a brat and is the mother's favorite, and her father pays her no mind. The father in his quiet ways dominates his household that swivels around his wife's pretenses of illness. I find that in this story the author shows extreme humanization of the characters by giving them real life roles and persona. It is easy to see how the girls have grown up, the father still dotes on his eldest and the younger is still jealous, although she tries to get closer to her sister but the mother still lives in la la land, where only her wants are to be met . I finished the book in less than 24 hours, each page I read, made me turn to the next one, I only put it down, when I was squinting, then the next day I finished it, and wanted more. I am not going to give away the plot, but Megan and Leanne finally grow up to become their own persons, through a lot of angst and humor. I am sure that this book will positively make you look for more of Ms. Mallery's books. Each book of hers, will find you laughing out loud and rooting for the hero and heroine and booing the bad guys when there are some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An insightful drama

    On the plus side, Los Angeles CPA Megan Greene is doing well at work, has a great nurturing father and is engaged to a doctor. On the minus side she is somewhat estranged from her shallow younger sister Leanne and a source of scorn from her even shallower mother. <BR/><BR/>Megan¿s life goes into tailspin when she learns her fiancé is cheating. She ends her engagement angering her mother who reminds her she had no prom date. At work, a newbie is trying to use her not as a mentor but someone whose reputation is to destroy so there is one less body to step on in the climb up the ladder. Dealing with these issues seems easy until her father tells her to grow up. However the worst blow occurs when her high school boyfriend Travis comes home as he still owns her heart, the one he broke when she was eighteen. She considers returning to what enabled her to cope as a teen: designing clothing.<BR/><BR/>This modern day Job is an intriguing character study of a woman who seems contented in her life though she has relationship issues that she has ignored until the plus side of her personal ledge implodes. The poignant story line will leave readers thinking how they will react to what one perceives as a strength turning into a potential debilitating weakness. Although too much hammers as the heroine at one time, fans of contemporary second chance at life tales will appreciate Susan Mallery¿s insightful drama.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Sunset Bay by Susan Mallery

    Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release March 2009<BR/><BR/>What does a woman do when the emotional `props¿ in her life disappear¿one by one? Susan Mallery is one of my favorite authors and her books always linger in my mind after I¿ve finished reading them. It seems there¿s always something about her female heroines that I can identify with and wonder, ¿What would I do if I were her?¿. ¿Sunset Bay¿ is Mallery¿s latest novel which will be released in March 2009. It didn¿t take long for this story to grab my attention and my heartstrings.<BR/><BR/>Megan¿s life is pretty darn good. Not perfect, but darn good. And she¿s worked her butt off to make it so. She¿s a successful accountant, with a supportive father and a doctor for a fiancé. Jealous yet? Well, don¿t be because her happy life is about to fall apart right before her eyes. Her father¿isn¿t; when he finds out, he doesn¿t take it well. Her fiancé? A cheater and she finds out right before the wedding. Her job? A new barracuda of an intern is sabotaging hers. To top it all off, her old boyfriend Travis is back in town. You know, the one who¿s all wrong for her? The one her father drove away? The one she can¿t seem to stay away from?<BR/><BR/>When I re-read what I just wrote I realized that my description made this book sound `heavy¿. And I guess maybe it was, a bit. But somehow Mallery kept me reading without having to burst into tears (okay, a few sniffles, but that¿s all I¿ll admit to) when Megan¿s life went down the toilet. Even though I normally write a quick synopsis of the hero¿s side, this time I didn¿t because this story is much more all about Megan and how she reacts and thinks and feels about everything going on in her life. It¿s still definitely a romance, don¿t worry, and a darn sexy one to boot; but there¿s more depth and soul-searching on Megan¿s part or maybe I just identified so much more with her, but Travis came across as almost a secondary character for me. And that didn¿t bug me at all.<BR/><BR/>I mean what woman hasn¿t had a boyfriend that cheated? Or faced a time when she might lose, or at least have her name blackened in, her job? Or suffered through a horrible `family¿ issue? I¿m guessing not many. We all have difficult times in our lives and I remember a couple of times as I read this book I was thinking, ¿Well, my life doesn¿t seem so bad in comparison.¿ I mean, really. Imagine all the above things happening within a space of two weeks or so? How would you deal with it? Hello therapy! But Megan coped almost like one of those pop-up bozos that were popular at one time. You punch `em and they go down but then they bounce back up¿over and over and over again. Her life changed in almost every way and she managed to find some good (eventually) in each of the changes. How uplifting is that?<BR/><BR/>Did I like this story? Yes, I surely did. Will I read it again? Yes, but it will be a while. ¿Sunset Bay¿ is Susan Mallery¿s depiction of a woman who reinvents herself and `finds¿ herself at the same time. It¿s also a story about determination and overcoming adversity¿and in the uncertain and troublesome times we¿re living in now, I can¿t think of a better message for an author to send her readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3