Customer Reviews for

Sunset Bay

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Sunset Bay by Susan Mallery

    Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release March 2009<BR/><BR/>What does a woman do when the emotional `props¿ in her life disappear¿one by one? Susan Mallery is one of my favorite authors and her books always linger in my mind after I¿ve finished reading them. It seems there¿s always something about her female heroines that I can identify with and wonder, ¿What would I do if I were her?¿. ¿Sunset Bay¿ is Mallery¿s latest novel which will be released in March 2009. It didn¿t take long for this story to grab my attention and my heartstrings.<BR/><BR/>Megan¿s life is pretty darn good. Not perfect, but darn good. And she¿s worked her butt off to make it so. She¿s a successful accountant, with a supportive father and a doctor for a fiancé. Jealous yet? Well, don¿t be because her happy life is about to fall apart right before her eyes. Her father¿isn¿t; when he finds out, he doesn¿t take it well. Her fiancé? A cheater and she finds out right before the wedding. Her job? A new barracuda of an intern is sabotaging hers. To top it all off, her old boyfriend Travis is back in town. You know, the one who¿s all wrong for her? The one her father drove away? The one she can¿t seem to stay away from?<BR/><BR/>When I re-read what I just wrote I realized that my description made this book sound `heavy¿. And I guess maybe it was, a bit. But somehow Mallery kept me reading without having to burst into tears (okay, a few sniffles, but that¿s all I¿ll admit to) when Megan¿s life went down the toilet. Even though I normally write a quick synopsis of the hero¿s side, this time I didn¿t because this story is much more all about Megan and how she reacts and thinks and feels about everything going on in her life. It¿s still definitely a romance, don¿t worry, and a darn sexy one to boot; but there¿s more depth and soul-searching on Megan¿s part or maybe I just identified so much more with her, but Travis came across as almost a secondary character for me. And that didn¿t bug me at all.<BR/><BR/>I mean what woman hasn¿t had a boyfriend that cheated? Or faced a time when she might lose, or at least have her name blackened in, her job? Or suffered through a horrible `family¿ issue? I¿m guessing not many. We all have difficult times in our lives and I remember a couple of times as I read this book I was thinking, ¿Well, my life doesn¿t seem so bad in comparison.¿ I mean, really. Imagine all the above things happening within a space of two weeks or so? How would you deal with it? Hello therapy! But Megan coped almost like one of those pop-up bozos that were popular at one time. You punch `em and they go down but then they bounce back up¿over and over and over again. Her life changed in almost every way and she managed to find some good (eventually) in each of the changes. How uplifting is that?<BR/><BR/>Did I like this story? Yes, I surely did. Will I read it again? Yes, but it will be a while. ¿Sunset Bay¿ is Susan Mallery¿s depiction of a woman who reinvents herself and `finds¿ herself at the same time. It¿s also a story about determination and overcoming adversity¿and in the uncertain and troublesome times we¿re living in now, I can¿t think of a better message for an author to send her readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1