BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sunset and Sawdust

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Day

    Watches the skys fire and laughs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Scoure

    Looks curious nd follows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Faye

    "You two have fun, I'm heading back."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Wow

    Another good one by a master story teller. Lansdale. Thanks for sharing your talent. This is one of books that when your done, your sad, because you know the next book you read probably won't stack up to it. Or the next. Unless it's another Lansdale. Yeah, he's that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    REVIEWED: Sunset and Sawdust WRITTEN BY: Joe R. Lansdale PUBLISH

    REVIEWED: Sunset and Sawdust
    WRITTEN BY: Joe R. Lansdale
    PUBLISHED: January, 2005

    This is classic Lansdale: Well-written, gripping, and at times poignantly funny. Sunset Jones kills her abusive husband in self-defense in the middle of a cyclone. It’s really quite symbolic as not only her home and husband are gone, but her entire life is torn apart. From the very beginning, it’s a story of her reconstructing everything around her, including her own world views. Through the assistance of her wealthy mother-in-law, Sunset becomes Sheriff of the town, a small logging camp in the 1930’s depression. One of her first orders of business is to solve a brutal double murder that her late-husband (the former Sheriff) buried. The book effortlessly cuts across genres of mystery and thriller, horror, western and humor. Lansdale, as common for him, deals with race and gender issues and takes a progressive stance against commonly held clichés. Great read overall. The only complaint was that Lansdale built up such a pair of clever and creepy villains, but then rarely used them. He needs to write a prologue story stat, just about McBride and his half-brother, Two!

    Four out of Five stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hunted it Down to Read it Again

    It has been six years since I first read this book. It's one of those things that was "lost in the divorce." AKA he threw a bunch of my stuff out. I've never been able to remember the title but the story has lingered in my brain all these years. A couple times a year a craving for it would begin and be dismissed because I had no title to put with the story. Until just yesterday...something about sawdust. And there it was and I can't tell you how excited I am to read this gritty, vintage crime novel again. Have you ever read a really good book, where the characters and emotions seeped into you and became part of your memories? This is one of those books and I am thrilled to get reacquainted. It has been far too long. ....One scene has always stuck in my mind, it involves rope, a bed, and a baseball bat. And one very angry wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    page-turner

    Not the kind of book I usually pick but...loved it! The descriptions of landscape, scenes and characters were 3-d without wasting paragraphs and paragraphs. I expected a "beach-book" but it was much more. Great plot that unfolded perfectly. It kept me turning pages without getting bored and jumping ahead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    One of my 3 favorite reads of the year......

    Better served reading Harriet's review but this is one of the better books that came out during the 2004 year but its not surprising as Joe R. Lansdale is now in the ranks of our nations finest writers, this is just another well written gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    A wacky wonderful tale

    In Depression Era East Texas, Constable Pete Jones assaults his wife Sunset before he rapes her. Badly abused and bruised, and in fear that he will one day kill her and beat the rap, Sunset takes Pete¿s gun and kills him. While she murders her spouse, a cyclone destroys most of their home. She is not charged with homicide not because she was protecting herself, but because no one liked the abuse of power pistol Pete.............................. After healing, Sunset is elected to complete Pete's term as constable though most doubt her capability to do the job. As she sets out to prove her worth, Sunset investigates the corpse of a baby that leads to a second dead body, crazy grasshoppers and Klansmen, and unethical oil dealers all leading to her beating the bushes questioning folks who seem more at home in a chainsaw massacre........................ The setting is typical Lansdale, which means East Texas. The cast is also typical Lansdale, which means eccentrics running loose outside the asylum.¿ The era is atypical Lansdale as he takes the audience back to the 1930s. The results is typical Lansdale, which means a wacky wonderful tale that seems just out of control yet somehow comes together to provide readers especially the author¿s fans with a fabulous crazed time................................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1