Customer Reviews for

Sunset in St. Tropez

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sunset in St. Tropez

    As a fan of Danielle Steel's is is tough to write a review others won't think has no merit. Steel just tells a good story. To that end, she has no need to use complicated words or long metaphoric sentences to convey human feeling. She tells it like it is and in "Sunset" she writes a great little story of three couples - friends who come together at a house in St. Tropez to heal old wounds and find new happiness. Predictable and ends with hope, but that is the kind of book we want to read sometimes. And what others term as repetitiveness is really just the realism of life. We often say and do things repeatedly and it keeps the story firm. Her longer books have more character depth, but the story was simple and told simply. A wonderful afternoon or beach read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    My First Danielle Steel Novel

    My mom has read many of Danielle Steel's books (she is her favorite author). I got bored one day and noticed this book on the shelf. This is one of Steel's shorter books. I've always wanted to read a novel by her, and I'm glad I read this one. Although I am only sixteen years old, and this novel is about three couples is their 60s, this story was still an absolute page turner. I did a lot of critical lens essays on this novel, too, because each couple overcame different hardships, so it fit into many essay categories. Even though it's an adult novel, Steel's writing can be easily understood by many young people. In addition, this book was quite entertaining too! I didn't expect the maid to dress in high red stiletto's and wear a bikini. I'm sure I will be reading more by her soon in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Nitro

    "Got a 1930 .44 magnum?" he says walking in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    FF

    "This is one nice store," she says in a deep Southern accent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    &starf | Moone's Old Fashioned General Store | &starf

    Here! Not AL's no more cause she left.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    AL's Yam Shoppe

    All the yams you'll ever need!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    simple, sweet and quick read. friends for a life time coming tog

    simple, sweet and quick read. friends for a life time coming together to find comfort from each other in the magic of St. Tropez!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Touching

    This is a good book about friends, tragedy, loss and being able to start again while having support from ghose you love. Very good and very touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    DANIELLE STEELE HAS DONE IT AGAIN!

    This book called sunset at St Tropez was wonderfullly exciting and amazingly inspiratiomal on numerous levels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    I really loved this book!!!

    This was a really great book. it had lots of happiness and sadness in it. The ending was really great, I think that was my favorite part of all. I have published my own book so if anyone reads this and wants to buy it it is on this site, you can search by my name. Avanti Scriven

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    GREAT BOOK

    This was a really great book. I really felt as though the characters were brought to life! Great bargain price as well :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Not worth reading

    This is a very boring book. It's not worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    It deserves zero stars, for heavens sake.

    I cannot believe someone gave this trite, worthless book - five stars. Thank God I did not purchase it or I would be kicking myself. It saddens me that such trash sells so readily...maybe it is just one more sample of 'dumbing down America'...this book is awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    Too many ands

    I usually enjoy DS but this was the pits. Not only was it too short to give any depth to the couples envolved, it seemed every other word was 'and'. I'm sorry, but I would not reccommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Why bother?

    This was one of the worst books I've read in quite a while. It was repetitive, boring, and simplistic. Steele kept using the same descriptive phrases about the characters within paragraphs of each other. It almost seemed that she couldn't trust the reader to remember anything. A huge disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    She's done better

    I read this book thinking that it would be as stellar as some of DS's others. I did not find the plot as enticing or the outcomes as meaningful. I recommend any of her other books I have read, but this one was not my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2002

    Good-But Leaves You Wanting More

    I liked the story line and the characters, but I think this book was just too short. It could have and should have been longer. It's almost like she was in a hurry to finish it! The ending left you wondering and wanting more...as in, she should've added at least another couple chapters to let us know how the couples fared after leaving St. Tropez.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2002

    Danielle does it again!

    This is a truly moving book about life and friendships! A must read for the Steel fan! Great for end of summer travel as it is a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    A NEW REFRESHING STORY

    This is one of the best from Danielle Steele I have read in a long time. I was captivated from start to finish which was read in one day! Her characters are a refreshing change from the usual heroines, sex and new love that she normally writes about. I was genuinely pleased there was only two curse words in the whole book. The fact that it was based on older couples and lifelong friends was a delightful change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Another great one..

    Those three words describe it all...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3