Customer Reviews for

Sunshine

Average Rating 4
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not an ordinary vampire novel...

Rae (Sunshine) Seddon has found her place in the post Vodoo Wars world, making cinamon rolls beginning at four a.m. every day. Life is quiet and predictable, until she is kidnapped and thrust into the midst of a vampire feud. Her captors leave her chained beside a vampi...
Rae (Sunshine) Seddon has found her place in the post Vodoo Wars world, making cinamon rolls beginning at four a.m. every day. Life is quiet and predictable, until she is kidnapped and thrust into the midst of a vampire feud. Her captors leave her chained beside a vampire who is also bound. She is there as a temptation for the starved Constantine, for her blood has been poisoned. Only by calling on powers she has chosen to ignore can Sunshine free herself and the unexpectedly 'human' vampire with her. ................... Now, Sunshine and Constantine share a bond that makes her a part of the ages old war between Con and Bo. She is also brought under the scrutiny of the secret police, enlisted in the ever present conflict between humans and others. One thing is sure, Sunshine's life will never be quiet and predictable again. ........ ***** Sunshine is at once edgy and haunting. Con moves through his heroine's world in the shadows, much like Vincent in the Beauty and the Beast show. Sunshine is a cross between Stephanie Plum and Anita Blake, fighting to stay ordinary in a world of wonders. However, Sunshine can not be pigeon holed as just another vampire romance. It has it's own flavor, quite unlike any other you have read.

posted by Anonymous on October 3, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not enough Con!

Over all...The book was okay. After reading some reviews, I thought this was going to be the next great vampire book. Eegad! It had it's moments to be great and then those moments fizzled out. I felt that there were too many darn cinnamon rolls and not enough Constantin...
Over all...The book was okay. After reading some reviews, I thought this was going to be the next great vampire book. Eegad! It had it's moments to be great and then those moments fizzled out. I felt that there were too many darn cinnamon rolls and not enough Constantine! I might as well have read the rundown on Bubba's (Forest Gump) shrimp recipes. A little more interaction with her new Vampire "friend" would have kicked this story up a notch or two.

posted by SoCalMom on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    Did not Follow

    I went to B&N and found this book. I looked over the reviews and thought this book seemed to have potential. The synopsis seemed pretty intriguing. However, when I actually started reading it there was a lot of descriptions of cinnamon rolls and bread that the book could have done without. I have to agree with other reviewers, that there could have been more character building and more of a connection building between Rae and Constantine. At times I felt the story had a case of A.D.D. <BR/>This was not one of my favorite books. I'm actually a lot more favorable of books that read like a movie (fast paced, good character building, clear synopsis, straight to the point, etc). I don't recommend.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Two words for this book!

    Sheer garbage!

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is Not the Vampire Book You Are Looking for, Move Along . . .

    Get up, bake the bread, get on with life and do your best to ignore your past. It's seems to be working for Rae Seddon. She can forget that she's the only daughter of Onyx Blaise famed magic handler. That her boy friend has a dubious past and likely magic imbued tattoos. That the SOF, the police force designed to deal with the dangers of the otherworldly, are keeping a close and personal eye on her. In fact she can be blissfully oblivious to all of that until she's chained to a wall next to a vampire. So what's someone who desperately only wants to be a baker to do? Now Rae, nicknamed Sunshine, finds herself in the thick of it. She needs to draw on those secret classes with her grandmother where she learned to transmute matter; to develop this unexpected skill of vampire destruction; to comprehend how she can find the undead through their email and last but not least to understand how her relationship with the vampire she saved will fit into the life that she so desperately wants to hang on to.

    &lt;Stop - go read The Blue Sword, which contains a strong female lead who actually does things. No really, don't let Twilight decide this for you . . .&gt;


    I pretty sure when I was moaning about wishing that this one was over, that I said to a co-worker-"This is done in first person, and I've never met a more verbose or whiny character. This book would be 150 pages, if Sunshine just shut up and got on with it." Now I'm not saying that occasionally she's not funny but what you have to wade through is mind wearingly unrewarding. Over and over I hear from writers, editors and reviewers - "Show, don't tell". Well Sunshine does nothing but tell, and tell, and tell some more. The action sequences are vague and disconnected and punctuated by - you guessed it - more of that fine vintage of whine that Sunshine has been brewing all of her pitiful life. The only thing that could have surprised me about this book is if it had the recipes for all of the bakery items in the back... My biggest concern is that this lackluster book will turn off readers from some of McKinley's finer works. Sunshine originally was written in 2004, probably the only reason it's on the shelf now is the current Vamp Craze...

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    All over the place

    I found this book at my local Barnes and Noble and liked the synopsis but upon reading, found it to be very disjointed, sometimes confusing and just not realistic at all. Like sci-fi gone wild. As someone else mentioned, it does seem to have ADD and spends much more time talking about baking than about the meat of the story. I would not recommend this book unless you are looking for something to waste time with or to put you to sleep.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2004

    What!!

    I bought this book because I enjoy a fantastic vampire tale every now and then. Reading the previously posted reviews I thought that was what I was getting. Nothing about this novel excited me. The plot fell short of anyhting to get worked up about, and the blood and gore-lame. To put it plainly, it was just corny. Oh, and the ending was so disappointing all I could say was -What!! Sorry to all those who enjoyed this novel, I must have been reading something else!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sunshine is as sunny as a dark and cloudy day! Better go out for a walk, even without the sun shining!

    After reading the book’s back-text I was curious about Sunshine, because it promised to be a 400 pages long breaking-free-struggle and about dealing with the interesting situation of a human and vampire being imprisoned together.
    But the book’s back only describes the story’s beginning and the exciting imprisonment scene has an ending even before I’ve reached page 100. What about the remaining 300 pages?
    Well, I do not want to offend someone, especially the author, because writing a novel is a lot of work and should be highly respected, but I have to express my disappointment now.

    The story of Sunshine then develops a very strange and uninteresting fight against an evil vampire. In the end I couldn’t even follow the plot. My imagination (usually very vivid) couldn’t keep up and so I just finished it, because I hate giving up a novel until I’ve read its last page.
    There are pages over pages describing the heroine Sunshine baking. Furthermore every friend and family member is introduced (which would be a nice thing to establish a connection to every character) but I wondered where their active plot parts were and why the author had to describe them so detailed when there was no further role for them.

    Another quibble about Sunshine is the relation between Sunshine and the vampire Constantine. There is an existing relationship between them, but it is never clearly defined so that I always waited for a determining event, action, expression of emotions… in vain.

    Despite my critique, I would still give another Robin McKinley novel a chance hereafter, because every novel is different and remember: Just because I didn’t like it, you have to avoid this novel, too. Maybe give it a chance and find out yourself if you like Sunshine!

    THE VERDICT

    Sunshine does not shine very brightly! Read this novel only if you are a huge fan of Robin McKinley or interested in very detailed and long-winded descriptions of sub-plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Frustrating Beyond Belief

    This book had great promise but ended in disappointment. The story is told from the first-person POV, which in the end is this book's downfall. Sunshine, our heroine, is a baker, and believe me, after reading this book you will never want to hear or speak of cinnamon rolls, cherry tarts, and the like ever again. She is thrown together with Con, a vampire, in order to survive. Sunshine's inner dialogue is NEVERENDING. The small segments of this book I was actually interested in lasted for literally 2 - 3 pages and were surrounded by the inner musings of a baker and her quest to think everyone to death. Sentences would run on and on for sometimes 6 or 7 lines. Paragraphs, sometimes pages, separated answers from the questions which made for an incredibly confusing and frustrating read. I stayed with the book to the bitter end in the foolish hope that the action would pick up and we would (finally) get somewhere. Alas, I was sorely disappointed. Sheesh. I rarely hate a book enough to voice my opinion so strongly, but in this case, I feel I owe it to the hours of my life which were wasted on the reading of Sunshine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Bad

    I found it almost too painful to read through. She made all of the taboos authors are supposed to avoid, such as telling instead of showing, repeating the same things over and over, veering off about something to the point that it became mindless chatter. 'Killer Zebras' and 'Bitter Chocolate Death' came up so many times, it honestly made me just want to slam the book against the wall and never look at it again.

    There WERE a few good parts, but this book isn't worth the effort. You have to trudge through a lot of disappointment to get to the goods, which don't last very long.

    My advice? Don't read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    I Give Up!

    I tried 4 separate times to read this book, I have never read and never will read twilight, so I was drawn to this book because all of the reviews said it was so much different. I have never been so annoyed and bored while reading a book. Even the first sentence shut me off from the book, "It was a stupid thing to do, but it wasn't that stupid." The first few pages dragged on and on. The author seemed to introduce WAY too many characters all at once and you as the reader have no feeling for these characters yet. So, it just feels like another family's family reunion. After the first painful pages all of a sudden it was like, 'OH!, Did I mention that vampires and other mythical creatures exist openly in our world?" I feel that what I have read of the book was poorly written, exhausting to get through, and had no feeling in the author's words. I give up, I cannot finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    gross!

    I NEVER HATED A BOOK SO MUCH IN MY LIFE! I WAS LIKE DREADING THE WHOLE TIME, TRYING TO FINISH IT AND I WAS GLAD IT WAS OVER! IM GIVING THIS BOOK AWAY. DON'T BUY IT!!!! WASTE OF MONEY!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I mean seriously, cinnamon rolls?

    Why oh why did we have to sit and listed to chapter after chapter on how to make cinnamon rolls and who eats them and why? I thought this was supposed to be about vampires. What little there was of the vampires was cool, but what about all that nonsense and noise? Just a bunch of nonsense and noise, filler words, to fill in the places where the author had a serious lack of imagination when it came to story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Save your money

    I'm an avid reader and I especially love books about vampires and monsters (with or without the romance). I am in the middle of this book and I think I'm going to shelve it. One of the issues I have is that I feel like I need to read the book before this (there isn't one) to understand the VooDoo Wars and what type of "Others" are in this book. Everything is so confusing. Also, I can't stand the way the character rambles on. It's useless rhetoric full of run on sentences. I get lost every few pages. If you are thinking about reading this book, I suggest you find something else. Anything by Charlaine Harris will definitely entertain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ugh....It's so boring!

    I usually read every book that I start no matter what, but I just couldn't finish this book! I only made it halfway through it. It was so boring! All Sunshine ever talked about was her stupid cinnimon rolls! Who cares?! I had heard from a few people that it was pretty good, but seriously it's not. Sunshine would also talk about nothing at all that pertained to the story! Also I didn't understand half that things she was talking about. I mean what are "bad spots"? The only reason I pretty much kept reading the book as far as I did was because I thought that it would get better. There were parts that were good and that I was starting to think that it was starting to get better and pick up, but then Sunshine would go off on some other (non-related) topic. I also hated how there was never any dialog! Nobody ever talks! <BR/><BR/>I do NOT recommend this book to ANYONE.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Disapointment

    This book was kind of hard to follow alot of times. I dont feel like I knew the main characters at all. There was very little charcter description so I never had any connection to them. There was also alot of running on about stuff that could have been left out. <BR/>There could have been alot more building on the relationship between the main character and the vampire.<BR/>All and all a disapointment, I kept waiting for it to get better but it didnt.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    This SUCKED!!!

    It was sooooooo boring! the author took FOREVER to get to the point..and where's the romance?!?!? There were definetly not enough dialogue!! Robin puts 3 pages into a usless peice of the story...there is no point to this book!! SKIP IT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Boring

    I thought Sunshine was going to be an interesting vampire romance... but once I started reading, the author took FOREVER to get to the point. It seemed that the Author went by way of Japan to explain what was going on. The first scene that I thought was even the slightest bit interesting was when she first meets the vampire. But then after she does, there's no romance, and the author doesn't even have the story talk about him. The author let the main character go on, and on about her life and things informaion that was like she had ADD. I regret ever reading this book, and i think that borrowing this book from the library would be a better idea than going and buying it so you don't waste your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    Shockingly disappointing

    When I'd heard comments and recommendations about this book, I'd given it a high expectation that it be a well-stable vampire romance novel. I was disappointed when I read it. It took the author a while to get straight to the point, and I often forgot what the subject was in the moment. It would often get too descriptive about a single subject and return back to the story, and then stray away to another subject there's too much information about every little thing. I often found myself rereading pages because I forgot what happened. The story plot is incredibly broad, which shouldn't be because there are so many pages, but the majority is unneeded information on the main character that has nothing to do with the plot whatsoever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    not enough

    This book frustrated me to no end!!! Instead of focusing the details on magic and vampires, this book seemed to drone on and on about Sunshine's life as a baker. It was a let's get up and bake cinnimon rolls this morning and hope the vampire comes to call tonight. It didn't really even start to get interesting until Sunshine found out her landlord was more than what she appeared to be. But even then, there still wasn't enough details to really let you understand exactly what was going on. This was a book that I was really hoping would get better and have a great ending. I was very disappointed, and I thought the ending was short and abrupt, it had no real meaning. I know there are other rants and raves about this book, I guess it just isn't my style.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Very poorly written and edited.

    The story line was OK, but I was very disappointed in the quality of the writing. It is the first book by this author I've read, and it will certainly be the last. The dialogue is stilted and interupted with paragraphs long ideas of one character, then another character answers a question that was posed so far back, you don't remember the question. Altogether too choppy and cumbersome, and definitely not up to one reviewer's comparison to Laurell Hamilton's 'Anita Blake' series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2005

    dissapointing

    i have read some of McKinley's other work and i must say this is a very disspointing piece. It was rather choppy, and there was not really much to the plot. However, the ending could be a good begining if McKinley were to continue to deviate from her spins on fairytales

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2