Customer Reviews for

Super Baby Food: Absolutely everything you should know about feeding your baby and toddler from starting solid foods to age three years.

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Great book!

    I bought this for my niece as a 'welcome baby' gift. I had the first edition myself when my 13 year old was a baby and I used it all the time. There is a section that goes over specific foods and what age to first give to baby and how to prepare etc. The simple instructions on making your own baby food were great - my 3 youngest kids never ate a jar of store bought baby food! The only negative is there is almost an overload of information and some of it is like "duh!" - very basic, common sense things, but I just skipped over the stuff I knew and took in all the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Buy the new edition instead...SO MUCH BETTER!

    Buy the new edition instead...SO MUCH BETTER!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Lots of great information

    I bought this book for my daughter at her request and she is enjoying it greatly. The book covers a wide variety of topics and the recipes are easy and yummy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended if you are looking for a book with the right information!

    DO NOT get overwhelmed by the size of this book. It is large and packed with INCREDIBLE information!!! The author, a mom herself, wrote this book knowing how difficult it is to actually find time to...well...read a book. She instructs the reader what to read and where to stop. Some of her comments are quite entertaining. But in all seriousness, she includes all that a healthy Mom would want to know in regards to what she should be feeding her child. The day and age everyone is looking for convenience, well good things take time. We all need to go into the cobwebbed filled "common sense corner" and think for a moment...if you are buying food for your children that requires you to peel back the plastic top and toss it to your children as you are driving down the road, something is wrong...good food doesn't come in shrink wrap. The book is packed with information...isn't the health of your children worth it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    A complete food reference

    This book gave me all the information I needed to make all of my own baby food, but it also is a helpful food reference I use to plan meals for my whole family. It includes a section that lists the most commonly used fruits and vegetables with information on at which age to first give to baby, cooking instructions, when it's in season, and more. It also lists the top sources of each vitamin, mineral, fatty acids, and healthy fats. Don't be discouraged by the fact that the Super Food diet does not include meat. This tells you everything you need to know about preparing all other types of food. And the author does (grudgingly) include a token section on meat that gives you the basics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    A lot of info

    I am currently using this book and I will keep using it for my future children, unless I find something better. This book offers a lot of detailed information and would not be a good choice for a person who is looking for a quick reference book.

    Pros:
    1. Beginning solid foods
    2. Month by month food guide
    3. How to prepare homemade baby food
    4. Preparing homemade "super porridge"
    5. Healthy recipes
    6. Food reference appendix

    Cons:
    1. Her opinions and biases (which are stated throughout the book) may conflict with your beliefs
    2. There is a lot of other information (i.e. crafts and homemade products) that may not interest you
    3. The section on meat is too brief
    4. Some of the info is outdated (information is only current up to the copyright date)
    5. She contradicts herself in a few places
    6. The books seems a little scattered

    This book is not absolute, but what book is. I have been happy with this book even though I haven't followed her recommendations precisely. As the author states, you should consult with your pediatrician before using this book. I am the kind of person who likes to get all the information I can and then pick out what is best for my family. With the information I have received from this book, my pediatrician, and current research, I feel I can make the best decisions for my child's nutrition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Essential for your library

    This book is clear and easy to read. There is a lot of information about food in general such as how to choose, store, clean, and appropriatly cook produce for baby or yourself. I especially liked the sections that outline what kinds of foods to introduce at different months. There are also a ton of recipes for baby or toddler. Overall, a useful and practical book for feeding baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    VERY EASY RECIPES

    TRIED SEVERAL AND WERE ALL EASY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    Would like to read as ebook

    I am interested in reading this book and have heard great things about it. I would like to read it right away and download to my nook, but it is not in eformat. Does B&N have a link to suggest adding titles to their ebook collection? Please add this one!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great book for first time mom

    This book has been an amazing resource, helping me to wade through all the useless and silly information that the baby food companies put out there. I learned how to prepare very nutritious (organic) meals for my little one for a fraction of the cost of store bought food. The author takes you through how and what to feed your baby month by month. Bravo!

    The author also includes lots of other helpful kitchen and baby info. Its nice to have this all in one resource.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    The best book for learning about baby's early nutrition

    This has become my Bible as I introduce foods to our first child. I LOVE knowing that I'm providing the healthiest of foods AND saving money. And it's very easy!

    The structure of the book is helpful in that it suggests monthly foods to introduce to baby starting at four or five months. It also tells how to prepare the foods, which is extremely helpful. We've especially loved the "food cube method" of pureeing fruits and steamed vegetables and freezing them in ice cube trays, then bagging the foods and keeping them in the freezer for easy to use portions. We buy organic fruits and veggies, and even with those premium prices, we're saving tons of money by not buying much traditional baby food in jars.

    The book does not have a large section on meat, but the author suggests alternatives to get baby her protein. It also doesn't mention organic foods much, but that may be because it's 10 years old and that wasn't often an option then. We don't take all the advice she gives - for example we haven't completely incorporated the "super baby porridge" into baby's diet - but so much of the info is extremely helpful.

    The book has a lengthy and excellent bonus section about finger foods, crafts, activities, fun recipes kids love, etc. Great resource!

    I wish they would release a newer version because every parent would enjoy this book! Even though it's older, it's still a fantastic reference and guide. Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book and so did all my friends!!!

    with my first two children I read it from cover to cover, and would spend more time reading this book than anything else. it is sooo helpful!! - gives you info on when you can introduce each type of food, how to cook it, i loved the recipes. Now with another child on the way, going to purchase another copy (gave mine away to a friend).
    i'm sure you will find it helpful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    FULL OF IDEAL

    yes, it's full of ideal but i try some and it not work at all. The book don't have any color photo, all the photo is in black and white and in bad quality. i prefer many book by Annabel Karmel, it's have very good recipe and easy to follow. the two I got is "Supper food for baby and children" and "The healthy baby meal planner", love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Super Baby Food

    This book was recommended to me by another first time mom. Its a terrific reference book. Super Baby Food is full of ideas, recipes, charts, and nutrition guides. I have not, nor will not, be making some of their staple recipes in the book, super porridge or fruit leather. (The mom that recommended this to me did make the fruit leather and did NOT recommend that recipe.) Luckily, there are many companies out there now that take much of the work out of needing to cook baby food. (ie Earth's Best Organic) Please check with your pediatrician first before using some of Super Baby Food's recipes recommendations. Our doctor does not recommend honey until a child is 2-3 years old, but the book has a recipe that includes honey for a 1 year old. There are more examples like this one, so please be careful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    WAY TOO MUCH INFO

    All I wanted was a basic book and this book has way too much info scattered every where. You just end up getting a bit confused the books recipes are NOT listed user friendly either and all I wanted was to make homemade baby food...I suggest another book Blender Basics simple and to the point.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    Poorly organized, Not too many recipes

    Even though there is some helpful info, the book is too disorganized and diluted to be useful in the long run. For a busy parent (and aren't we all) it is a waste of time and money. Look somewhere else. <BR/><BR/>Here is why:<BR/><BR/>1)It's very poorly organized, you have to keep jumping pages back and forth. One section tells you what foods are age appropriate, but then the recipes are 100 pages away, and the safety guidelines somewhere totally different. Not efficient at all.<BR/><BR/>2)Too much fluff, she could have easily omitted 90% of the book. The money saving tips are purely commonsense. And some of the instructions are downright insulting, even for parents who don't usually cook.<BR/><BR/>3)Misleading title - super foods, except meat, that is. The author is full of baseless conclusions about the qualities of certain foods and meat is "the worst, most dangerous food". While I don't eat meat myself, I wanted to at least introduce my baby to some healthy types. Apparently I am buying another book.<BR/><BR/>4)Not enough starter recipes - there are no creative recipes for first foods (like blending different types of veggies or fruit), just the basic instructions for a single type of food. But hey, there is an entire chapter on colored food, funny shapes cutout cookies & sandwiches, because that is so nutritionally important.<BR/><BR/>Needless to say I had to buy another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    A great start for anyone seeking a healthy, wholesome diet for baby

    When I was expecting my daughter, I took a trip down the baby food aisle of the supermarket and became dismayed at the dull colors of the foods and the limited selections for vegetables so I decided to do some research about making my own baby food. I realized that I should write a review of this book when I recommended it for the 5th time tonight. My mom called me for the author of the book because she was telling someone she knew about this 'amazing diet' that my sister and I followed for our children. This is a great book and an excellent reference. I should say that I'm not a vegetarian though I do try to eat a wholesome, plant based, healthy diet. My daughter is 18 months old and I've used this book as a reference since she was born. She is an amazing eater and (thankfully) a very healthy little girl. I bought this book for the information on feeding babies and I didn't find Ms. Yaron's suggestions for arts/crafts, etc. particularly appealing. (that's the only reason I gave this 4 out of 5 stars) That said, the information about feeding your baby and how to make the food is priceless. Now that my daughter has moved into toddlerhood, I have given her some more mainstream (non veggie) foods but I must say beans are by far her favorite food. She could easily be very happy, and nutritionally satisfied, following a vegetarian diet. She asks for lentils! Knowing that I was giving her the most wholesome, unprocessed food possible, I found the process of preparing and freezing her 'cubes' to be very fulfilling. I am a working mom and I don't have tons of time but if you set this system up in batches and do a veggie a weekend it is really do-able. As an added benefit, it's a lot cheaper than buying commercial foods. Also, I don't know many children my daughter's age that can't wait to eat their broccoli, cauliflower, collard greens, spinach - you name it, she eats it. (fingers crossed that she keeps it up.) I realize that nuts are a highly allergenic food and may not be for everyone but my daughter loves, loves, loves nuts. Whenever I give her yogurt, she says, 'Walnut-sh?' Also, the Super Porridge that Ms. Yaron recommends is a WONDERFUL base for any healthy diet. We typically make ours from brown rice and barley and my daughter absolutely loves it. The first person to whom I recommended this book was my sister and she has followed it for my nephew who is 11 months. He too is a very good eater and extremely healthy. I am so, so glad that I decided to give my daughter the best start possible and hopefully pave the way for a lifetime of healthy eating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    Poorly Named. Poorly Excecuted

    This book is full of judgmental opinions and extraneous information. It is a good resource on cooking and freezing baby food, but much of it is common sense. Mash the food? Really? The good information on that topic is only 20% of this book. The author is very against meat saying it is the most dangerous thing in your kitchen. So be warned. It was not really worth my 13 bucks for the food reference. I ignored the majority of the writing. Don't feel bad if you don't follow her advice! Your Dr. is your best resource!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Good tips on when to introduce what and terrific detail on specific fruits and veggies. However, tremendous author bias is apparent and I have yet to make the baby porridge with dessicated liver. Plus, the author's style is pretty scattered because she is going off on many other topics not at pertaining to baby food but touting her beliefs and how she raised her children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    A worthy effort

    In summary, the not so good review below sums it up. I was really disappointed on a lot of levels by this book. I expected something dedicated to making baby food-a wealth of information and what I got was a book with a lot of things that don't really apply to my reason for purchasing this. Arts and Crafts??? in a babyfood book. The title should read something like-'Adjusting,Learning,Coping and Feeding Your Infant or Toddler' There are really no good infant receipes, she pretty much refuses to cover meats because of her beliefs, and although the fruit and veggie section is great-it's missing some pertinent information-such as how to cook or not cook items. I found the internet to have as much information as the book and the information was more complete.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5