BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Super Baby Food: Absolutely everything you should know about feeding your baby and toddler from starting solid foods to age three years.

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    A NECESSITY for Every Parent!

    Super Baby Food is the BEST nutrition book I have ever encountered. It was recommended to me by my sister, who had it recommended to her...and so on. Not only did I learn how to make nutritious meals for my son (now almost 2), but it has helped to make a lifestyle change for the entire family. We now are more awaare about the products we buy and put into our bodies. We have learned how to save money, use safe cleaning products, make stickers, buy produce...you name it, it's in this book! I reference my Super Baby Food book for everyday cooking more often than Betty Crocker!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Great book!

    I bought this for my niece as a 'welcome baby' gift. I had the first edition myself when my 13 year old was a baby and I used it all the time. There is a section that goes over specific foods and what age to first give to baby and how to prepare etc. The simple instructions on making your own baby food were great - my 3 youngest kids never ate a jar of store bought baby food! The only negative is there is almost an overload of information and some of it is like "duh!" - very basic, common sense things, but I just skipped over the stuff I knew and took in all the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended if you are looking for a book with the right information!

    DO NOT get overwhelmed by the size of this book. It is large and packed with INCREDIBLE information!!! The author, a mom herself, wrote this book knowing how difficult it is to actually find time to...well...read a book. She instructs the reader what to read and where to stop. Some of her comments are quite entertaining. But in all seriousness, she includes all that a healthy Mom would want to know in regards to what she should be feeding her child. The day and age everyone is looking for convenience, well good things take time. We all need to go into the cobwebbed filled "common sense corner" and think for a moment...if you are buying food for your children that requires you to peel back the plastic top and toss it to your children as you are driving down the road, something is wrong...good food doesn't come in shrink wrap. The book is packed with information...isn't the health of your children worth it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    A complete food reference

    This book gave me all the information I needed to make all of my own baby food, but it also is a helpful food reference I use to plan meals for my whole family. It includes a section that lists the most commonly used fruits and vegetables with information on at which age to first give to baby, cooking instructions, when it's in season, and more. It also lists the top sources of each vitamin, mineral, fatty acids, and healthy fats. Don't be discouraged by the fact that the Super Food diet does not include meat. This tells you everything you need to know about preparing all other types of food. And the author does (grudgingly) include a token section on meat that gives you the basics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Essential for your library

    This book is clear and easy to read. There is a lot of information about food in general such as how to choose, store, clean, and appropriatly cook produce for baby or yourself. I especially liked the sections that outline what kinds of foods to introduce at different months. There are also a ton of recipes for baby or toddler. Overall, a useful and practical book for feeding baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    VERY EASY RECIPES

    TRIED SEVERAL AND WERE ALL EASY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Great book for first time mom

    This book has been an amazing resource, helping me to wade through all the useless and silly information that the baby food companies put out there. I learned how to prepare very nutritious (organic) meals for my little one for a fraction of the cost of store bought food. The author takes you through how and what to feed your baby month by month. Bravo!

    The author also includes lots of other helpful kitchen and baby info. Its nice to have this all in one resource.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    The best book for learning about baby's early nutrition

    This has become my Bible as I introduce foods to our first child. I LOVE knowing that I'm providing the healthiest of foods AND saving money. And it's very easy!

    The structure of the book is helpful in that it suggests monthly foods to introduce to baby starting at four or five months. It also tells how to prepare the foods, which is extremely helpful. We've especially loved the "food cube method" of pureeing fruits and steamed vegetables and freezing them in ice cube trays, then bagging the foods and keeping them in the freezer for easy to use portions. We buy organic fruits and veggies, and even with those premium prices, we're saving tons of money by not buying much traditional baby food in jars.

    The book does not have a large section on meat, but the author suggests alternatives to get baby her protein. It also doesn't mention organic foods much, but that may be because it's 10 years old and that wasn't often an option then. We don't take all the advice she gives - for example we haven't completely incorporated the "super baby porridge" into baby's diet - but so much of the info is extremely helpful.

    The book has a lengthy and excellent bonus section about finger foods, crafts, activities, fun recipes kids love, etc. Great resource!

    I wish they would release a newer version because every parent would enjoy this book! Even though it's older, it's still a fantastic reference and guide. Enjoy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book and so did all my friends!!!

    with my first two children I read it from cover to cover, and would spend more time reading this book than anything else. it is sooo helpful!! - gives you info on when you can introduce each type of food, how to cook it, i loved the recipes. Now with another child on the way, going to purchase another copy (gave mine away to a friend).
    i'm sure you will find it helpful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    The only book on this subject you'll need!

    I have never written a review of any product online before but I feel compelled to do so in support of this book. Super Baby Food by Ruth Yaron is the only book on this subject you'll need. If you are a new parent who is looking for advice on how to start feeding your baby solids, then this is the book you are looking for. I felt overwhelmed as a first time mom when trying to figure out what to feed my baby. Yaron does a thorough job of outlining what foods your baby can eat at different stages. There are instructions on how to select fresh food, how to prepare it, and how to store it. There are lots of recipes too. I admit that it does not have pretty pictures like a lot of the other books out there but it is packed with useful information. I refer to it several times a week when making nutritional choices for my baby. If you are thinking about making all or even some of your baby's food, it is a must have. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2006

    This is the gift I buy for all the new parents I know, and they love it.

    There are not enough ways for me to praise this priceless book for the gift it has given my son and our little family. If not for this book, it wouldn't have occurred to me to offer him such a complete, healthy menu in this way. I would have taken the route of nutritional trial and error, making the latest in 'good food' based on what he happens to enjoy. And I would have made the mistake of being guided by my tainted mature taste buds (developed in the heart of the midwest). All the while I'd be questioning if I was actually providing him a complete healthy diet. Afterall, unless you have a degree in nutrition, so much of what we think we know is actually unproven or even hearsay. Sorry, but that's not quite good enough for our babies and toddlers who are currently growing the amazing brains and bodies that they will be relying on for the rest of their lives. {¶} The alternative that Super Baby Food offers is so complete that it gives parents a terrific gift . . . peace of mind! Just imagine, starting your baby's day with a breakfast of swiss chard, broccoli, squash, whole grain oats and rice, tofu, and seeds rich in omega-3's, . . . all in one delicious dish. I was skeptical and had very low expectations as I began trying the recipes on my son. But to my amazement, it has worked out extremely well. I've been feeding my son this healthy super porridge since he began eating solids, and now he is nearly three years old. He loves eating his super porridge to this day, as well as all of the other recipes I've offered him from this book. Plus, these great healthy flavors are now what his developing taste buds have come to know. And when he has a choice of foods, these are the foods he asks for. And what a great thing it is to hear, 'Mommy, can I have more broccoli please? Can I have some cauliflower, too?' Music to my ears! {¶} Peace of mind is multiplied by the fact that my son is the one person in our family who doesn't get sick. The time I put into planning and creating the meals is nothing, compared to the time saved by having a healthy child! He didn't even get his first diaper rash until the age of 14 months. Think of all the things we have to do later in life to fight off disease, and the aging process, often due to a lifetime of inadequate eating habits. As a parent or caretaker, you are in charge of what your child eats while he's under your care. This food plan provides the best method for prevention we could ever want for our children. And it became so easy to cook everything in batches once I got the hang of it. {¶} This book is a terrific resource even if you don't want to try the nutrition plan at all. There is an appendix of specific fruits and veggies, and it will answer those questions you have about what is the best way to select, store, prepare, cook, and freeze each fruit or veggie. For example, did you know that you can avoid the gas problem with broccoli by slightly undercooking it, to retain the natural chlorophyll? Also provided is the age that your baby must be when each specific veggie or fruit is first offered to his developing digestive system. There are some great chapters on parties, crafts, and fun food decorating. And another appendix offers the reader a mini course in the how's and why's of nutrition. This book is a smorgasbord, from which you can select the ideas that appeal to you. I found it helpful to apply tab labels on the pages I refer to most often. {¶} Think of the best pet you've ever had. If you knew there was a book you could follow that would give him everything he needed to be strong, healthy, fight off disease, and live longer, would you think twice about buying it? Well our pets rely 100% on us for their nutrition, and guess what, our precious children do too. Gradually, this book has taught me how to make it the priority that it deserves to be. {¶} We are the first generation blessed enough to have such an amazing res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    Excellent Source of Valid Information

    Ruth Yaron was ahead of her time. Take a look at the new 2005 food pyramid and you'll see how good her information is regarding feeding your babies. I'm not a vegitarian - but, feeding your children a semi-vegitarian diet is very healthy. People, family members, etc. cannot believe how well my children eat. It is completely in your hands - I've never had feeding problems and part of it is because what I feed my children. I have twins (2 years/3 months) and I never purchased processed baby food for my children (yes, I work full-time as well). In addition, they are so healthy, that have never seen the doctor for a sick visit! I attribute that to many factors, but, a main one is that their diet is so healthy. I will say this: I didn't follow everything she said - you will have to decide what is right (and ask your doctor, too). But, if you're following 1/2 of what she teaches, then, trust me, your child is much better off than the majority of American kids. It is so important to teach our children to eat well. No fast food, minimal processed foods, etc. You can do it! This book will teach you how.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    I tell everyone about this book!

    Everything you could dream up is in this book. I don't use everything and I run things by my doctor first but it answers lots of questions. I found the ideas helpful and easy. She recommends little meat and lots of nuts but use your judgement ... you know your child and family history. I love this book!! I saved money and it REALLY wasn't hard to make the food. Tons of ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Cooking up GREAT food for your kids!

    This is an absolutely great book for new moms and moms of toddlers. Easy to follow recipies and cooking instructions for making your own healthy vitamin-rich baby foods. Great way to start out your kids on healthy eating. My kids love veggies, oatmeal, whole grain breads, and other foods that most children their age will not touch. Broccolli, asparagus and avocados are cheered at our table! No requests for french fries, chips or twinkies at this house ... and I do believe it's because I started them out well with the help of this book. This book has had some over-the-top ideas (unless you are a totally dyed in the wool vegetarian) and is a bit unorganized. Some recommendations were contrary to 'the norm,' but with a bit of research and discussion with the pediatricians - I used my brain and made the choice on how to feed my children. Lots of information, useful tips and graphs, plus fun toddler foods, crafts and more. If your open-minded enough to take control and responsibility over your children's well-being and eating, get this book. You will enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    Make baby food that's healthier, tastier and cheaper!!

    This book is a wonderful resource for learning how to make healthy food for your baby and toddler. It provides you with instructions on what foods to feed your baby, when to introduce them and how to prepare them. You can even make your own cereal from whole grains. Unlike jarred foods, the food I make tastes so good, I eat what my baby doesn't finish! It's healthier and about 1/3 the cost of store bought food. It's an excellent book and without it I know my baby's diet wouldn't have been so varied and healthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    This book cannot possibly explained any simpler

    This book is so jammed pack with a lot of wonderful information. Even though it is long, the book is settup that you don't have to read the whole book but its written in a way that whatever question you have can be referred to very easily. Its a must have for every parent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    Great Resource!

    Many thanks to the author for writing this fabulous book! You have saved us much time, money & energy. Hats off to you. p.s. This book also makes a great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    The Best Resource Book for Babies!!!

    I can sum up my feelings/comments in one word - WOW! Thanks so much to Ruth Yaron for sharing her vast knowledge about food (and lots of other things!) with the rest of us parents. My only regret is that I didn't buy the book sooner. I started my daughter on the commercial stuff at 4 1/2 months. I bought this book when she was a little over 5 months old. My first 'homemade' food was a smashed banana. I was very skeptical to make my own food. Ruth Yaron's book has given me the confidence I needed to embark on a journey of healthy, wholesome feeding for my daughter. Now, I'm whipping up large batches of fruits and veggies, grinding whole grains to make rice, you name it. I was surprised and relieved by how easy homemade baby food is! My daughter loves her wholesome food too! One day I was out of some homemade cereal, so I gave her some boxed oatmeal. She barely ate it! Also, constipation is no longer a problem. When my baby was on the commercial products, her bowel movements were not regular at all. I would get quite concerned about this. On the wholesome foods she is now eating, her system is quite regular. This book has great explanations about so many things. For example, I always knew that brown rice was better than white rice, but didn't quite understand why. Ruth explains this very easily and clearly. This book has been by far the best resource book I've purchased for my baby. Thank you, Ruth, so much for sharing your knowledge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2003

    I use it daily!

    I love this book! I find the following sections particularly helpful: the month-by-month guide on appropriate foods, and the fruit and vegetable section that teaches exactly how to select, prepare and store each food. What really sold me were the extras like the arts and crafts section and the homemade cleaning products. I hope all parents will use the book to guide their child's food choices. Too many parents today give their babies anything and everything to eat and then wonder why the baby always seems to have a cold!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    All your baby food questions answered!

    Just when you think you get the whole baby thing figured out, you find out that it's time to start on solid foods. That was enough to completely overwhelm this new mom. I found this book on the internet and it has been awesome. My favorite parts are the appendix with produce information and sample feeding schedules for each month. The produce appendix explains how to choose, store, and prepare fresh produce for your baby. The feeding schedules are updated every month (depending on the age of your child - 6 mth, 7 mth, etc.), along with a list of foods appropriate to introduce. I have saved money by making my own food, it's faster, easier, and cheaper than I thought it would be. This book took the guess-work out of starting solids for me. It has also given me the confidence that I'm getting my baby off to a healthy start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3