Customer Reviews for

Super Baby Food

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    The only book on this subject you'll need!

    I have never written a review of any product online before but I feel compelled to do so in support of this book. Super Baby Food by Ruth Yaron is the only book on this subject you'll need. If you are a new parent who is looking for advice on how to start feeding your baby solids, then this is the book you are looking for. I felt overwhelmed as a first time mom when trying to figure out what to feed my baby. Yaron does a thorough job of outlining what foods your baby can eat at different stages. There are instructions on how to select fresh food, how to prepare it, and how to store it. There are lots of recipes too. I admit that it does not have pretty pictures like a lot of the other books out there but it is packed with useful information. I refer to it several times a week when making nutritional choices for my baby. If you are thinking about making all or even some of your baby's food, it is a must have. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2006

    This is the gift I buy for all the new parents I know, and they love it.

    There are not enough ways for me to praise this priceless book for the gift it has given my son and our little family. If not for this book, it wouldn't have occurred to me to offer him such a complete, healthy menu in this way. I would have taken the route of nutritional trial and error, making the latest in 'good food' based on what he happens to enjoy. And I would have made the mistake of being guided by my tainted mature taste buds (developed in the heart of the midwest). All the while I'd be questioning if I was actually providing him a complete healthy diet. Afterall, unless you have a degree in nutrition, so much of what we think we know is actually unproven or even hearsay. Sorry, but that's not quite good enough for our babies and toddlers who are currently growing the amazing brains and bodies that they will be relying on for the rest of their lives. {¶} The alternative that Super Baby Food offers is so complete that it gives parents a terrific gift . . . peace of mind! Just imagine, starting your baby's day with a breakfast of swiss chard, broccoli, squash, whole grain oats and rice, tofu, and seeds rich in omega-3's, . . . all in one delicious dish. I was skeptical and had very low expectations as I began trying the recipes on my son. But to my amazement, it has worked out extremely well. I've been feeding my son this healthy super porridge since he began eating solids, and now he is nearly three years old. He loves eating his super porridge to this day, as well as all of the other recipes I've offered him from this book. Plus, these great healthy flavors are now what his developing taste buds have come to know. And when he has a choice of foods, these are the foods he asks for. And what a great thing it is to hear, 'Mommy, can I have more broccoli please? Can I have some cauliflower, too?' Music to my ears! {¶} Peace of mind is multiplied by the fact that my son is the one person in our family who doesn't get sick. The time I put into planning and creating the meals is nothing, compared to the time saved by having a healthy child! He didn't even get his first diaper rash until the age of 14 months. Think of all the things we have to do later in life to fight off disease, and the aging process, often due to a lifetime of inadequate eating habits. As a parent or caretaker, you are in charge of what your child eats while he's under your care. This food plan provides the best method for prevention we could ever want for our children. And it became so easy to cook everything in batches once I got the hang of it. {¶} This book is a terrific resource even if you don't want to try the nutrition plan at all. There is an appendix of specific fruits and veggies, and it will answer those questions you have about what is the best way to select, store, prepare, cook, and freeze each fruit or veggie. For example, did you know that you can avoid the gas problem with broccoli by slightly undercooking it, to retain the natural chlorophyll? Also provided is the age that your baby must be when each specific veggie or fruit is first offered to his developing digestive system. There are some great chapters on parties, crafts, and fun food decorating. And another appendix offers the reader a mini course in the how's and why's of nutrition. This book is a smorgasbord, from which you can select the ideas that appeal to you. I found it helpful to apply tab labels on the pages I refer to most often. {¶} Think of the best pet you've ever had. If you knew there was a book you could follow that would give him everything he needed to be strong, healthy, fight off disease, and live longer, would you think twice about buying it? Well our pets rely 100% on us for their nutrition, and guess what, our precious children do too. Gradually, this book has taught me how to make it the priority that it deserves to be. {¶} We are the first generation blessed enough to have such an amazing res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    Wonderful concept, poorly executed

    comprehensive guide to feeding your baby, loaded with misinformation, arrogant tones, and no credentials. Ruth Yaron is a mother of two. She decided to write a book about what she fed her children. She has some very good ideas for parties, healthier versions for fruit snacks, great manners in which to prepare baby food and offers loads of information about each fruit and vegetable. The advantages for making your own baby food are you can control what goes into the food. This is wonderful if you have children with allergies. Also, you can control the texture. When I fed my children homemade baby food, they seemed to adapt quicker and easier to new foods and table foods much easier than their friends who ate from store brands. Despite that my children are picky like everyone else's, they love fruits and vegetables and I get comments all the time on how well they eat. Unfortunately, despite the wonderful potential this book has, it is also loaded with extra misinformation. Ruth Yaron recommends feeding nut butters as early as ten months of age. Most pediatricians (if not all) do not recommend giving children any food considered a high allergen until they are older. Imagine having an infant suffering from an anaphylactic reaction? Would you be able to identify one? Or would you feel safer following your doctor's advice and wait until your child is older where the symptoms would be easier to recognize? Also, she suggests feeding spinach and carrots early as well. Depending on where you are getting your spinach and carrots, they can be loaded with chemicals. What adds to all of the misinformation in this book is the fact she writes with a patronizing attitude and has absolutely no official training outside of parenting. She is not a nutritionist, nor is she a dietician, and she is not even a doctor! Then, as if that was not enough, she strays off topic from her book's title, Super Baby Food and suggests tie dying stained onesies, not owning an iron in the house as it may be too dangerous, making your own crayons, a section on bibs, and how to clean your house. Some readers may find this extra information as a bonus. I found this to be an annoyance. If I wanted a book on how to clean my house, I would have bought one. I wanted a book on feeding my baby. What she may have considered was renaming this book to suggest that these types of suggestions were included in this book, or come up with a second book. Parenting is a tough job. No one wants to be told that what they are doing is wrong. Each child does not come with his own instruction manual. Then, you get this book where Ruth Yaron preaches her beliefs and basically infers if you do not raise your children her way, then you are not being a good parent. After reading this book, it would be really hard for any mother not to take her tone personally. If you are an intelligent person who can sift through the information in this book, listen to your doctor and use your instinct for raising and feeding you child, than this is a good book. But, if you are a person that believes everything in print, and you plan to follow this book like it is the Bible, then this book could be dangerous to you. My suggestion is for someone who is a registered nutritionist get together with a pediatrician, and revise this entire book. There are too many people out there that take everything at face value and do not research on their own. Having a book like this on the shelves was a wonderful idea yet it was poorly executed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    Excellent Source of Valid Information

    Ruth Yaron was ahead of her time. Take a look at the new 2005 food pyramid and you'll see how good her information is regarding feeding your babies. I'm not a vegitarian - but, feeding your children a semi-vegitarian diet is very healthy. People, family members, etc. cannot believe how well my children eat. It is completely in your hands - I've never had feeding problems and part of it is because what I feed my children. I have twins (2 years/3 months) and I never purchased processed baby food for my children (yes, I work full-time as well). In addition, they are so healthy, that have never seen the doctor for a sick visit! I attribute that to many factors, but, a main one is that their diet is so healthy. I will say this: I didn't follow everything she said - you will have to decide what is right (and ask your doctor, too). But, if you're following 1/2 of what she teaches, then, trust me, your child is much better off than the majority of American kids. It is so important to teach our children to eat well. No fast food, minimal processed foods, etc. You can do it! This book will teach you how.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Great Book

    I am not a veggie and I loved this book. I just went ahead and gave her meat when her pediatrician said to. Other than that because of this book I knew so much on cooking good food for my baby that I found the confidence to do everything at home. I highly recommend this book...and just follow whatever time schedules that your doctor sets (or you feel comfortable with). I waited on Yogurt until she was a little older than was recommended and I am waiting on nuts. I think that with everything in life you get great information and use it when you need it. Happy cooking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    I tell everyone about this book!

    Everything you could dream up is in this book. I don't use everything and I run things by my doctor first but it answers lots of questions. I found the ideas helpful and easy. She recommends little meat and lots of nuts but use your judgement ... you know your child and family history. I love this book!! I saved money and it REALLY wasn't hard to make the food. Tons of ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Cooking up GREAT food for your kids!

    This is an absolutely great book for new moms and moms of toddlers. Easy to follow recipies and cooking instructions for making your own healthy vitamin-rich baby foods. Great way to start out your kids on healthy eating. My kids love veggies, oatmeal, whole grain breads, and other foods that most children their age will not touch. Broccolli, asparagus and avocados are cheered at our table! No requests for french fries, chips or twinkies at this house ... and I do believe it's because I started them out well with the help of this book. This book has had some over-the-top ideas (unless you are a totally dyed in the wool vegetarian) and is a bit unorganized. Some recommendations were contrary to 'the norm,' but with a bit of research and discussion with the pediatricians - I used my brain and made the choice on how to feed my children. Lots of information, useful tips and graphs, plus fun toddler foods, crafts and more. If your open-minded enough to take control and responsibility over your children's well-being and eating, get this book. You will enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    Should Be Super VEGETARIAN Food

    This bottom line, this is a vegetarian book. The title and jacket description is misleading. I wish I had read reviews before I bought it. While there is a good fruit/veggie guide, nutrient tables, and fun arts and crafts section, she lost all credibility with me when she advises that we stand away from the blender and food processor because of EMFs, electromagnetic fields (pg 209). The amount of nuts used to meet protein needs is also counter to what is being learned about food allergies. The entire baby diet is built on feeding your child a base diet of what she calls Super Porridge that involves grinding whole grains in your EMF-emitting blender. Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    not so great

    I gotta tell you, I didn't love this book. I question the author's medical recommendations. Some go against the AAP/ and my pediatrician (like the drinks of water to infants). And some don't make sense and aren't practical. I think her vegetarian/health-nut views have shaded what could have been a great book. I found the format/layout more cumbersome than it had to be. There has got to be a better choice for those of us who just want help feeding our babies, but aren't fanatical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Watch the nuts and dairy!

    Ruth Yaron's book is very good on basic food stuff, and has good recipes but DO NOT follow her food schedule for babies. Giving nuts to babies is dangerous!. I did it with my daughter at 10 months and she was fine but when my son had a piece of bread with a minute amount of nut butter on it at 11 months, he almost ended up in the hospital. Also, maybe raising vegetarian kids sounds like the coolest thing to do, it may not be right for your child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2003

    Make baby food that's healthier, tastier and cheaper!!

    This book is a wonderful resource for learning how to make healthy food for your baby and toddler. It provides you with instructions on what foods to feed your baby, when to introduce them and how to prepare them. You can even make your own cereal from whole grains. Unlike jarred foods, the food I make tastes so good, I eat what my baby doesn't finish! It's healthier and about 1/3 the cost of store bought food. It's an excellent book and without it I know my baby's diet wouldn't have been so varied and healthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    Take it with a grain of salt

    I have been very concerned about allergies with my son as he has eczema, so I've read a lot re: when to introduce foods. Yaron's book flies in the face of even the most liberal recommendations, suggesting giving babies nuts at 8 months, yogurt at 4 to 6 months and peanut butter at 10 months!! She says to check with your pediatrician, which is good advice because my pediatrician almost choked when I told her about this book. While Yaron's quick-reference section on how to buy, cook, prepare and freeze foods is a great resource, I would take her schedule of foods with a grain of salt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    Not completely worth the hype

    Although she has some great recipes and her tips for preparing foods for baby are helpful, I found that a lot of her recommendations for daily serving were inaccurate. For example, she recommends that an 8 month old get 4-5 servings of fruit and veggies a day, which is not in line with what my pediatrician says for a baby that age on formula. A lot of her suggestions are inaccurate and make you worry for nothing. However, it's a decent reference guide for recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    Not all it's cracked up to be

    I had heard about this book a lot so when my son was old enough for solid foods I bought it. I was very disappointed in this book. For one it so long, if you took out half of the authors side notes it would take out half the book. Also my son is a very picky eater and very small for his age and I found no useful information about picky eaters. Buy at your own risk but I say its not worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    This book cannot possibly explained any simpler

    This book is so jammed pack with a lot of wonderful information. Even though it is long, the book is settup that you don't have to read the whole book but its written in a way that whatever question you have can be referred to very easily. Its a must have for every parent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    Great Resource!

    Many thanks to the author for writing this fabulous book! You have saved us much time, money & energy. Hats off to you. p.s. This book also makes a great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    The Best Resource Book for Babies!!!

    I can sum up my feelings/comments in one word - WOW! Thanks so much to Ruth Yaron for sharing her vast knowledge about food (and lots of other things!) with the rest of us parents. My only regret is that I didn't buy the book sooner. I started my daughter on the commercial stuff at 4 1/2 months. I bought this book when she was a little over 5 months old. My first 'homemade' food was a smashed banana. I was very skeptical to make my own food. Ruth Yaron's book has given me the confidence I needed to embark on a journey of healthy, wholesome feeding for my daughter. Now, I'm whipping up large batches of fruits and veggies, grinding whole grains to make rice, you name it. I was surprised and relieved by how easy homemade baby food is! My daughter loves her wholesome food too! One day I was out of some homemade cereal, so I gave her some boxed oatmeal. She barely ate it! Also, constipation is no longer a problem. When my baby was on the commercial products, her bowel movements were not regular at all. I would get quite concerned about this. On the wholesome foods she is now eating, her system is quite regular. This book has great explanations about so many things. For example, I always knew that brown rice was better than white rice, but didn't quite understand why. Ruth explains this very easily and clearly. This book has been by far the best resource book I've purchased for my baby. Thank you, Ruth, so much for sharing your knowledge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2003

    I use it daily!

    I love this book! I find the following sections particularly helpful: the month-by-month guide on appropriate foods, and the fruit and vegetable section that teaches exactly how to select, prepare and store each food. What really sold me were the extras like the arts and crafts section and the homemade cleaning products. I hope all parents will use the book to guide their child's food choices. Too many parents today give their babies anything and everything to eat and then wonder why the baby always seems to have a cold!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2003

    All your baby food questions answered!

    Just when you think you get the whole baby thing figured out, you find out that it's time to start on solid foods. That was enough to completely overwhelm this new mom. I found this book on the internet and it has been awesome. My favorite parts are the appendix with produce information and sample feeding schedules for each month. The produce appendix explains how to choose, store, and prepare fresh produce for your baby. The feeding schedules are updated every month (depending on the age of your child - 6 mth, 7 mth, etc.), along with a list of foods appropriate to introduce. I have saved money by making my own food, it's faster, easier, and cheaper than I thought it would be. This book took the guess-work out of starting solids for me. It has also given me the confidence that I'm getting my baby off to a healthy start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    A Must Have for Homemade Baby Food

    When I decided to make babyfood at home I searched and searched for a reference. Super Baby Food has everything I need. I take it to the grocery store with me to help me buy the best foods for my son. The entire book is easy to navigate and comprehend. I have and will continue to recommend it to anyone who is interested in making their own babyfood!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5