Customer Reviews for

Super Dark 1 (Super Dark Trilogy)

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

This was an overall great book. It was great writing, and to top it off, it was free on my nook. Sam, the heroine, was kidnapped at a young age with her best friend, Elliot. Elliot, being the awesome person he is, sacrificed himself so the people would let Sam go. They ...
This was an overall great book. It was great writing, and to top it off, it was free on my nook. Sam, the heroine, was kidnapped at a young age with her best friend, Elliot. Elliot, being the awesome person he is, sacrificed himself so the people would let Sam go. They dumped her on the streets, Elliot waved to her one last time, and well, that was the last time anyone had seen Elliot. But Sam struggles on with her life, unable to escape the negative publicity and guilt of her best friend being kidnapped, and most likely, killed. Her Mother is always moving around, looking for work ever since the kidnapping, then the divorse. Sam goes into yet another school, and someone inevitably recognizes her, despite her short, dyed hair, worlds different from her real red hair. She manages to make 2 friends in this new school, one a nerd; Fraiser, and one whom happens to be one of the mosy popular girls in the school, whose name escapes me right now. Then this totally hot (tall dark and handsom) guy, Lee, shows up. Well, he mixes things up a bit. She has an uncontrollabble desire around him that she manages to keep to a minimum and not act upon. But, she notices something weird about him, and starts having suspisions about a mysterious black ford that seems to be following her around, and something DEFINATLY doesnt add up about Lee, or her Moms new boy friend. Hmmmmm... something fishy, wouldnt you say? Great book, even better since it was free, and nothing like the twilight series, trust me on that. Great for people who enjoy YA paranormal/supernatural fiction. I know I do ;) Cheerio! --- Tori H.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I can understand why the synopsis starts out with, "For fan

I can understand why the synopsis starts out with, "For fans of Stephanie Meyer." Not that Super Dark mimicked the Twilight series, but there were certain elements that rang a familiar Twilight-esque tone. This was a quick read, one that I enjoyed, for the mos...
I can understand why the synopsis starts out with, "For fans of Stephanie Meyer." Not that Super Dark mimicked the Twilight series, but there were certain elements that rang a familiar Twilight-esque tone. This was a quick read, one that I enjoyed, for the most part. I would characterize this first book as more YA than Paranormal. The second book in this series will dive much deeper into the paranormal realm, from what I can tell. 




Tanith Morse is an intelligent writer, and her words flow in such a way that it possesses the reader to flip the pages at an alarming rate. It was interesting to read this story set in the UK, as it is outside of my comfort zone. What I mean by that is, the terms that are used to describe their roads, their habits, their clothing and such. At times the words demanded my full attention to envision the surroundings indubitably as I read. I do like a good challenge. I had to laugh when Lee took Sam to the Winchester for lunch. It certainly wasn't a pub, but it caused imagery of Shaun of the Dead to flood my mind. I can't help it, it's one of my favorite movies. 




As I'm sure you've read the synopsis, I won't bore you by rehashing that portion of the story. Sam Harper is living with the guilt that her best childhood friend was snatched up, and she was free to live her life. She is withdrawn from pretty much everyone around her. She isn't looking for friends, or a shoulder to cry on, she just wants people to leave her to her own devices. Sam and her mother have moved around a lot, and the thick of the story really begins with Sam in a new school. A super chipper girl by the name of Becky aggressively nudges her way into Sam's life, and a new friendship, of sorts, begins. Ping! Along with Becky came Frasier, who is undoubtedly my favorite character in this book. He is quirky, and quite nerdy, and he fancies all things sci-fi, and deeply believes in all the conspiracy theories and mysteries of the world. My kind of character, hands down. But once Lee enters the picture, everything heads sideways. I get a little excited, then let down, then thrilled again, then deflated, then, "Oh, wait, here it comes..." nope, not happening.








"He stomped out the room, leaving me wondering what on earth I’d done to deserve this kind of treatment. I just couldn’t figure him out. One minute, he was so sweet and nurturing — and the next, he couldn’t stand the sight of me. What was I doing wrong?"




--Tanith Morse, Super Dark 








The hot and cold exchange between Sam and Lee was a little frustrating, sometimes in a good way. It definitely kept my eyes moving quickly across the pages in the desperate hope that I would find what I had been seeking. In the end, and I mean THE END, it finally became clear why this emotional roller coaster was necessary, and I breathed a sigh of relief as I closed the book. But, of course, this being the first book in the series, that hook pierced through my unsuspecting skin just in time to make me say, "Damn, what happens next?" 




Overall I think this is a good start to the trilogy, and I look forward to seeing what happens in the next installment, as they are fully immersed into the paranormal aspect of this tale. 

posted by Toni-MyBookAddiction on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Great book!

    This was an overall great book. It was great writing, and to top it off, it was free on my nook. Sam, the heroine, was kidnapped at a young age with her best friend, Elliot. Elliot, being the awesome person he is, sacrificed himself so the people would let Sam go. They dumped her on the streets, Elliot waved to her one last time, and well, that was the last time anyone had seen Elliot. But Sam struggles on with her life, unable to escape the negative publicity and guilt of her best friend being kidnapped, and most likely, killed. Her Mother is always moving around, looking for work ever since the kidnapping, then the divorse. Sam goes into yet another school, and someone inevitably recognizes her, despite her short, dyed hair, worlds different from her real red hair. She manages to make 2 friends in this new school, one a nerd; Fraiser, and one whom happens to be one of the mosy popular girls in the school, whose name escapes me right now. Then this totally hot (tall dark and handsom) guy, Lee, shows up. Well, he mixes things up a bit. She has an uncontrollabble desire around him that she manages to keep to a minimum and not act upon. But, she notices something weird about him, and starts having suspisions about a mysterious black ford that seems to be following her around, and something DEFINATLY doesnt add up about Lee, or her Moms new boy friend. Hmmmmm... something fishy, wouldnt you say? Great book, even better since it was free, and nothing like the twilight series, trust me on that. Great for people who enjoy YA paranormal/supernatural fiction. I know I do ;) Cheerio! --- Tori H.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    I can understand why the synopsis starts out with, "For fan

    I can understand why the synopsis starts out with, "For fans of Stephanie Meyer." Not that Super Dark mimicked the Twilight series, but there were certain elements that rang a familiar Twilight-esque tone. This was a quick read, one that I enjoyed, for the most part. I would characterize this first book as more YA than Paranormal. The second book in this series will dive much deeper into the paranormal realm, from what I can tell. 




    Tanith Morse is an intelligent writer, and her words flow in such a way that it possesses the reader to flip the pages at an alarming rate. It was interesting to read this story set in the UK, as it is outside of my comfort zone. What I mean by that is, the terms that are used to describe their roads, their habits, their clothing and such. At times the words demanded my full attention to envision the surroundings indubitably as I read. I do like a good challenge. I had to laugh when Lee took Sam to the Winchester for lunch. It certainly wasn't a pub, but it caused imagery of Shaun of the Dead to flood my mind. I can't help it, it's one of my favorite movies. 




    As I'm sure you've read the synopsis, I won't bore you by rehashing that portion of the story. Sam Harper is living with the guilt that her best childhood friend was snatched up, and she was free to live her life. She is withdrawn from pretty much everyone around her. She isn't looking for friends, or a shoulder to cry on, she just wants people to leave her to her own devices. Sam and her mother have moved around a lot, and the thick of the story really begins with Sam in a new school. A super chipper girl by the name of Becky aggressively nudges her way into Sam's life, and a new friendship, of sorts, begins. Ping! Along with Becky came Frasier, who is undoubtedly my favorite character in this book. He is quirky, and quite nerdy, and he fancies all things sci-fi, and deeply believes in all the conspiracy theories and mysteries of the world. My kind of character, hands down. But once Lee enters the picture, everything heads sideways. I get a little excited, then let down, then thrilled again, then deflated, then, "Oh, wait, here it comes..." nope, not happening.








    "He stomped out the room, leaving me wondering what on earth I’d done to deserve this kind of treatment. I just couldn’t figure him out. One minute, he was so sweet and nurturing — and the next, he couldn’t stand the sight of me. What was I doing wrong?"




    --Tanith Morse, Super Dark 








    The hot and cold exchange between Sam and Lee was a little frustrating, sometimes in a good way. It definitely kept my eyes moving quickly across the pages in the desperate hope that I would find what I had been seeking. In the end, and I mean THE END, it finally became clear why this emotional roller coaster was necessary, and I breathed a sigh of relief as I closed the book. But, of course, this being the first book in the series, that hook pierced through my unsuspecting skin just in time to make me say, "Damn, what happens next?" 




    Overall I think this is a good start to the trilogy, and I look forward to seeing what happens in the next installment, as they are fully immersed into the paranormal aspect of this tale. 

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Bad

    I gave this book 2 stars only because I thought the writing was good, and the author has real talent.

    That being said, I absolutely hated Sam. The last thing Y/A books need is another whiny, selfish, helpless heroine. She was awful! All she did throughout the book was bemoan her life, demand someone else save her and think solely of herself and her feelings.

    Poor Elliot! It is clear after his kidnapping that he has suffered and yet all anyone cares about is answering their own curiosity. He literally begs for time and patience because of the trama he suffers but Sam is too selfish to give it to him. Even during his reveal she is constantly interrupting and asking rude, mean questions that you never ask a kidnap victim! Like "why didn't you fight" "why didn't you flee". She showed zero compassion for the friend who sacrificed himself for her, which made her totally unlikeable to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Super Dark is a mysterious love story that keeps the reader gues

    Super Dark is a mysterious love story that keeps the reader guessing up unit the end. Sam has been traumatized when she and her friend were kidnapped when they were children. The fact that Sam convinced them to let her go, still was heavily on her mind. The guilt and the shame that she did not try to save her friend turns Sam into a loner that avoids everyone. I really love the fact that Becky and Frasier are relentless in becoming friends with Sam. They really help to break her out of the self-imposed prison that she has erected around herself. When Lee Weaver shows up at school, Sam is floored. They undeniable pull that she feels between then is beyond anything that she has ever felt. Sam and Lee cannot resist their chemistry, but Lee has dark secrets that he is keeping from Sam, and these secrets could mean the difference between life and death…

    Tanith Morse has written a beautiful story about first love, betrayal, loss, friendship, and mystery. The world and mythology behind it is really well thought out, and a refreshing change. The characters are realistic and they really grow on you. This a promising start to a new series!

    I was given this book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Amazing

    This book was really good! I couldnt stop reading it, now its time for the second book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    A must read!!!!

    I literally could not put this book down. Omg... best book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    This was a book that I could not put down. It seemed to have bee

    This was a book that I could not put down. It seemed to have been written for YA readers, but I enjoyed it as well. Of course I pretty much knew how it was going to pan out. There were some times that I felt the author was just trying to add content, and then other times, it would skip from beginning of a week to the weekend. I understand that nothing worth mentioning happened in between, but this is teenager drama. You wonder how Sam, the main character, got away without explaining herself more.  All in all, very enjoyable reading and I look forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    What a surprise

    Got this book for free and it turned out to be a really good book. Just bought book 2 and I am really excited to start it. Must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    cant wait to read the next one

    good book. cant wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    I really loved this book. The characters are very unique, and I

    I really loved this book. The characters are very unique, and I liked that they were different from each other. You can really be friends with anyone no matter your differences. I also loved the emotions. The guilt, the anger, the sadness, the fear, the hesitancy. They felt so real. The plot was great, and I loved how Sam and her friends went to different places. Sometimes it felt all over the place, but I liked that. It never bored me.

    The first thing that stopped me from giving the book 5 stars is how much importance was placed on looks in the book. I hate when books make men out to be so, so unearthly gorgeous. Its just so annoying how much emphasis they put on trying to make the boy so incredible looking. I understand people want the main guy to be hot, but its overdone. And I don't need to know how perfectly amazing and kissable someone's lips are every single time you see them, you know?

    The second thing that annoyed me was how quickly Sam, Becky, and Fraiser became best friends. They spend a few hours in the library working on a project and all of a sudden they're hanging out constantly and freaking out because one of them misses a day of school. Just because your friend, a friend you barely know, misses a day of school, doesn't mean you need to keep texting them and worrying. I don't understand how Sam thought that was normal. Is that normal? To me it isn't.

    But aside from that, I really enjoyed this book and definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Interesting concept

    Waiting to see where the author is going with this in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Good book...

    Did you ever consider since the books are just over 200 pages, to take all three books of the Super Dark Trilogy and just make one book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Idk

    It was a ok book but it could of been better with more deatils

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Fantastic YA paranormal.

    You just can't halp but love the characters. Even the minor ones seem to have richhostory behind their obvious stereotypea. I kept waiting and waiting fo the "unexpected twists" that everone hypes about in the reviews. But in the end, they weren't *really* that flabberghasting. Nevertheless the story is well crafted and leaves the reader hanging on edge thruought. Can't wait to see where this goes now that the first mystery is all solved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Great beginning to what looks to be a promising trilogy!

    I never know what to expect when a full length novel is given for free and its an author I've never read. Some books are bad, some great, some fall in between. This book fell into the great category! I loved it, its definitely a page turner, engages the reader from the first page to the last and keeps them wanting more.

    The whole story line is very creative and well thought out. I love how the author describes all the characters in such great detail you can clearly get a mental picture of them. Its also a nice change to see how teenagers actually spoke like teenagers not small children or adults. I am eagerly anticipating picking up the next two book in this trilogy, I can't wait to see what's awaiting Sam and Elliot!

    SR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    The first book of the Super Dark series was quite good.  I read

    The first book of the Super Dark series was quite good.  I read a lot of paranormal fiction both for adults and young adults/teen. The first book in the series was good enough that I wanted to buy the second book so when I was through I went ahead  and purchased it along with the third book at the same time.  I rarely do this because I figure I might not like the second book in the series.  Boy did I sure live to regret those purchases.  The character of Sam started out fine but throughout the series she turned into a reprehensible character that even though she professed to love Elliot she just kept leading other boys on and causing all sorts of problems.  She was hateful and mean to him at times and whiny at others.  Elliot on the other hand was controlling, angry, and obsessive.  It was the worst relationship ever.  Not a good romance at all.  The paranormal was interesting and the idea of the Gresvalts new.  Overall the first book was ok but I would never recommend the last two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    page turner

    Turn pager could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Great

    This book is a real page-turner!! A lot of mystery and excitement!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This book is very good. And intresting read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    I thought this was a very good book, so good in fact that I purc

    I thought this was a very good book, so good in fact that I purchased and read the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2