Customer Reviews for

Super Rich: A Guide to Having It All

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    This Book Help me Organize my thoughts. Buy it now if your have issues in your life.

    My name is Rashad Glover from RashadGlover Dot com and my mind can sometimes be all over the place. Im a inventor from the south side of Chicago with a back ground in engineering and business and also a "Jack of all trade"s when it comes to CNC manufacturing and plastic rapid prototyping on my 3D Printer.I learned so much in college and grad-school to the point where I don't know what I want to do any more. It seems like the sky is the limit but I don't know what to do first. When someone has all this stuff running around in his or her mind, its very easy to jump from one thing to the next. Mr. Simmons book helped stop what I was doing and find that little bit of stillness through meditation that I need in my life. Thank you Mr.Simmons for showing a young brother something useful other "the norm". Im sure you started something positive in my life that I can give to my child and future children.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Great Book

    This is the first book I read since high school, 7 years ago. This book is not about getting rich quick. But about vision and hard work. How to achieve goals and give back. So excited to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Shelby

    Yea[^_^]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    dont like

    sell ur soul to the devil & u will be rich too..... Sell out.. dont like.... to each it on.. never like Rs.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Great read

    As above, so below. The only way to seek success is to start from within.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    He got me! I saw the title, and of course assumed that much like

    He got me! I saw the title, and of course assumed that much like his first book "Do You," that "Super Rich" would be an outlined guide to career, business, and self-empowement. I thought there would be lists, and details, and specific steps that would lead readers one step closer to millions.

    But Russell Simmons is smarter than that. Smart enough to give his book an appealing title...but also rich enough to know that he's one of the best people to speak about what being "rich" really means.

    Released in January of 2011, "Super Rich" is Russell's account of how he achieves personal satisfaction--despite his financial success, and how he feels that "inner" wealth and progress is much more liberating than any monetary figure.

    Easy for the rich guy to say. In fact, he says that a few times in the book, knowing that any reader would also share the same sentiments. It's easy for the guy with millions to tell you that it's not important to have money. But at the same time...who better to tell you that than someone who has experienced it?

    Now, the book is a little big yoga-heavy. He emphasizes how important the practice of yoga is to his daily routine, and also the huge role it has placed in keeping him in a great mental space, and allowing him the energy and state of being to achieve his successes. At times it's almost like a sales pitch for the yoga lifestyle, for meditating, and for veganism and related practices.

    But given that this is Russell's personal guide to gettin' rich, he makes sure that his method is outlined loud and clear. It is because of yoga and the peace and clarity it brings him, that he has been able to achieve all that he has.

    Along with encouragement for meditation, he also did drop a few gems of knowledge:

    Dont chase the money. This was a key message throughout. While following your heart, and giving to others, by being true to yourself...the money will inevitably come, he believes. But he stressed that the money shouldn't BE the objective, but rather a product of your honest intentions.

    There was a great story he told about being in a dorm room at NYU with Rick Rubin, and the memories he had in the early stages of Def Jam...the FEELING he received from those successes and milestones NEVER compared to any cheque he's received or other type of compensation. Years later, and millions richer, he made it clear that the feeling of wealth was nothing in comparison to the feeling of pure joy, accomplishment, and exercising his true passions.

    The book was pretty spiritual, still. Again, quite unexpectedly, but definitely appreciated. He outlined the 8 steps of classical yoga, including DHARANA (concentration on one's purpose in life) and DHYANA (meditation and devotion on the Divine), and reminded his readers repeatedly to take joy in whatever you are doing and leave a great impression at whatever you are doing...which could inevitably lead to greater opportunities.

    It was an easy read, an inspiring page-turner, and while it didn't give me 101 tips to get dem dollars...it did remind me that with patience, the right frame of mind, a positive and healthy spirit, and the trust and faith that life will give you exactly what you need to succeed at the right time, when you are ready...we can all be just like Uncle Rush: motivated, progressive, and most importantly...genuinely filled with joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Very plain

    Didnt really tell me much. Everything is fairly obvious. I dont fully believe the author is true to every word written throughout this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Super Rich!

    I enjoyed this book tremendously. I've read a number of books that have discussed similar principles. However, Russell delivers the message in a fashion that anyone, young or old can quickly grasp. He talks about the lessons he's learned along his journey in life and how the practice of yoga and meditation has helped give him more peace with the world, and ultimately more success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Beautiful, Enlightened, Uplifting..BRAVO Russell!

    Russell Simmons shares his "gems" very selflessly in this wonderful book, relating the Law of Attraction to his experiences in the Music world, and his raise to success. If you are a Law of Attraction practitioner, you will immediatly see that this is the next step in the journey of creating and manifesting. An interesting and easy read, once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down and had to write a positive review, to get the word out there. Russell is another example of a person who "gets it" and realizes that sharing his insights not only lifts him up but also lifts up the collective consciousness. Buy this book and tell your friends about it, you will not only be giving a gift to yourself, but you will see how these principles do work in your own life.. Yhank You Russell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3