Customer Reviews for

Super Sad True Love Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 330 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It is super sad, but super powerful too. An amazing picture of a

It is super sad, but super powerful too. An amazing picture of a world that we could easily slide into (maybe we have already) and what it could do to us. I have to say I liked Absurdistan better, but when you write something that good, it's okay to not quite reach that...
It is super sad, but super powerful too. An amazing picture of a world that we could easily slide into (maybe we have already) and what it could do to us. I have to say I liked Absurdistan better, but when you write something that good, it's okay to not quite reach that height every time. Shteyngart might just be the best novelist writing today.

posted by RJAP on May 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It made me sad

It really did make me sad but not the way you would think. This is not your typical love story an i dont think it has very many happy endings. The picture of the world it creates is so realistic and so depressing, you cant help but go into a bit of self reflection once ...
It really did make me sad but not the way you would think. This is not your typical love story an i dont think it has very many happy endings. The picture of the world it creates is so realistic and so depressing, you cant help but go into a bit of self reflection once you're through.

posted by Athena_Sphinx on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    It is super sad, but super powerful too. An amazing picture of a

    It is super sad, but super powerful too. An amazing picture of a world that we could easily slide into (maybe we have already) and what it could do to us. I have to say I liked Absurdistan better, but when you write something that good, it's okay to not quite reach that height every time. Shteyngart might just be the best novelist writing today.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Another Shteyngart Success!

    Author Gary Shteyngart is adept at creating worlds with an absurd tilt -drawing the reader into an extrapolated vision of the near future which somehow manages to be simultaneously laugh out loud funny as well as a disturbing, dark indictment of the direction in which our culture is headed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Good

    Good

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    It will be true, and that's what's truly sad.

    It will be true, and that's what's truly sad.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Super sad true love story

    Best book ive ever read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Amandas history

    Amanda grew up in a slave mill wich is like a puppy mill where they raise slaves then sell them she watched her mother be killed for trying to escape she was a hsppy child but when she aged ten she was auctioned off she grew up taught by the whip her last master was cruel and when he ws gone he would put a collar around her neck and tie her up like a dog with chains she grew up learning several phrases the cheeriness was whipped from her long ago

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Recommended

    I read a lot of reviews before buying this book and wasn't entirely sure what to expect. I enjoyed it, but understand why some people wouldn't. The love story is not what you'd expect, and the characters aren't the most developed or likable, but everything in the background to this story is what makes it different and enjoyable. This view of America is interesting, believable and somewhat frightening. But in the end I really enjoyed the book and would recommend reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Guess

    I guess i havent but it looks good -advice giver

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Heyy i need some advice

    Heyy i havent read the book yet should i read it, is it worth it?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Angelkit

    Cries and curls up sadly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    From angel

    Can someone lend this to me?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    CAT TO IMARI

    Bye ill miss u forever ill try to be on but ill probally be on once a week but im going to college all the way in london my home town looz ill miss u soooo much tell caitlin i said bye ok by daughter :)( (thats a happy and sad face at the same time) lolz ill miss u sooooooooo much wish me luck for college and if u ask what im gonna do with the baby well hes gonna be with my sister while im at college BYE IMARI I LOVE U FOR EVAS

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Serena

    Ok. Bye b her later or tomorrow

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Elijah

    Sighs a lil ok

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Elijah

    B on here tomorrow after school k

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Addi is here!!!!!!

    Addi to diana......

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Ninco

    Read my p...post at ewe result two

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    To i need advice

    Whatdya need advice on ask meh anything

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Sptber

    She holds he head and listens to hero of wt

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Super Sad True Love Story

    Gary Rocks!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5