Customer Reviews for

Supernanny: How to Get the Best from Your Children

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Supernanny: How to Get the Best from Your Children

I have gotten a good deal of positive change in the behavior of my often defiant 3 year old son from reading this book. The suggestions are clear and simple. However, some of them were not a good fit for our family in that they seemed to bring on the compliance by insti...
I have gotten a good deal of positive change in the behavior of my often defiant 3 year old son from reading this book. The suggestions are clear and simple. However, some of them were not a good fit for our family in that they seemed to bring on the compliance by instilling fear and character attacks (finger-wagging criticism) rather than by using other more strict but positive discipline alternatives. I did learn many techniques that work, however the 'Naughty Stool' was not at all effective for us. Although much of the advice in this book does serve to change bad behavior, I prefer the book listed first with this one that your customers also bought called 'The Pocket Parent'. It is age focused... written exclusively for only 4 years of age...2's, 3's, 4's and 5's and teaches parents how to get cooperation from the child without resorting to scolding, bribing, threatening, and criticizing. Also the format of the 'Pocket Parent' is designed for quick reference with its short bullets of A-Z advice for all of the common challenging behaviors of toddlers.

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Supernanny: How to Get the Best from Your Children

I have found a number of the techniques in this book to work on my three children...however they are not new at all. The point comes across quite clearly that in order to change the child's behavior, the parent will have to change theirs first...For example, she sugge...
I have found a number of the techniques in this book to work on my three children...however they are not new at all. The point comes across quite clearly that in order to change the child's behavior, the parent will have to change theirs first...For example, she suggests using a firm but calm voice with eye contact, consistency, and giving consequences like 2 minutes on 'the naughty stool.' Jo Frost does gives some practical advice that works, however I don't care for the naughty stool (or mat) or time-out for that matter. Perhaps you too have tried to be consistent and stick to your guns by putting a screaming, kicking, biting toddler onto a time-out chair for 2 minutes...they are the ones in control!! My daughter will arch her back, won't bend at the waist and if she decides to sit down momentarily to catch her breath, she quickly become a limp noddle and literally slithers right onto the floor! This type of punishment does not work for me or my neighbor and I prefer more positive alternatives to gain compliance...and I am NOT a wimpy parent. I highly recommend 2 superior books that offer hundreds of specific positive discipline and communication skills...For parents of 2- to 6-year-olds, consider the quick reference A-Z troubleshooting guide titled 'THE POCKET PARENT'...for parents of older children, take a look at the classic communications guidebook called 'HOW TO TALK SO KIDS WILL LISTEN AND LISTEN SO KIDS WILL TALK...both very parent friendly and peppered with humor and personal trials and triumphs from the authors about their own children. Supernanny can be a but harsh, judgemental and condescending to the well-meaning parents searching for better child management strategies.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    Supernanny: How to Get the Best from Your Children

    I have gotten a good deal of positive change in the behavior of my often defiant 3 year old son from reading this book. The suggestions are clear and simple. However, some of them were not a good fit for our family in that they seemed to bring on the compliance by instilling fear and character attacks (finger-wagging criticism) rather than by using other more strict but positive discipline alternatives. I did learn many techniques that work, however the 'Naughty Stool' was not at all effective for us. Although much of the advice in this book does serve to change bad behavior, I prefer the book listed first with this one that your customers also bought called 'The Pocket Parent'. It is age focused... written exclusively for only 4 years of age...2's, 3's, 4's and 5's and teaches parents how to get cooperation from the child without resorting to scolding, bribing, threatening, and criticizing. Also the format of the 'Pocket Parent' is designed for quick reference with its short bullets of A-Z advice for all of the common challenging behaviors of toddlers.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    good, but bad infant feeding advice

    If you are not already aware, there is a very serious problem with the book, Supernanny. Regardless of what some people might think about the individual opinions on child rearing practices, the book is filled with harmful information about breastfeeding. Specifically, much of the 'advice' in the book will lead many moms and babies, should readers believe the information, to early weaning, unnecessary problems, and increased health risks. p Breastfeeding management is difficult for many women who are new to motherhood and nursing, and often requires the intervention of Lactation Consultants, La Leche League Leaders, physicians, etc., especially if the mother is to overcome misguided advice (such as Frost's advice) that is given in the book which interferes with nursing. Breastfeeding is in the best interest of both the mother and child and should continue exclusively for six months, and remain the main source of infant nutrition for the first year as new and unfamiliar foods are introduced. Additionally, the World Health Organization (WHO) recommends children are breastfed for at least 2 years, the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) notes that If the child is younger than two years of age, the child is at increased risk of illness if weaned, and the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP aappublications) states that increased duration of breastfeeding confers significant health and developmental benefits for the child and the mother... and that there is no upper limit to the duration of breastfeeding and no evidence of psychologic or developmental harm from breastfeeding into the third year of life or longer. Specifically, see the following excerpts, which are absolutely false, and are not agreed upon by the American Academy of Pediatrics, Le Leche League, the World Health Organization, or many other breastfeeding experts. For detailed information, see their statements at: breastfeedingnetwork breastfeeding babyfriendly Page 21, ¿if you give a breastfed baby a bottle at 11 PM, she can hold out until 4 AM before she needs another.¿ Five hours is a long time for a young infant to go without eating, and this excerpt was in the section for babies from birth to six months. During the period of exclusive breastfeeding (at least the first six months), babies need to be fed on demand. Some babies may not eat for these long periods, but on average a breastfed baby may need to nurse every 2-3 hours. The book's misinformation leads to supply reduction, early weaning, and could harm an infant that has special needs such as a short tongue, tongue-tie, illness, prematurity, or slow weight gain those special cases should nurse on demand even if it is every hour or more often. Consider the book might be advising a bottle of formula (against medical advice and puts an infant at increase risk of death and illness) there is no study that shows this will make a baby sleep longer, and it might make some babies sleep worse do to reactions to the foreign ingredients in formula. See more problems with feeding formula to get a baby to sleep longer at ivillage.com and kellymom P age 124, 'If you do decide to bottle-feed... Your child will still be getting everything he needs.' This statement is too simplistic and is just blatantly false. Formula has been proven to be far inferior to breastmilk. Whatever the intentions are here- to ease guilt or appease mothers who do not wish to nurse, it is irresponsible to make such a statement. This remark needs to be deleted or revised. It is understood that a small percentage of women may not be able to nurse their babies or a very small percentage of infants may have galactosemia and for them formula feeding will be necessary. aappolicy Additionally, some mothers may choose to feed their infants formula, but they should make the ch

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    Great book, but Beware the photo shoot...

    This is a great book with lots of good, easy-to-follow and practical advice. I really found it helpful as a no-guilt method to understanding what you're doing right as a parent and what you need improvement on. She doesn't make you feel like a dope for having made a mistake which is often done by new parents, instead she says 'Ok, this is what was done, and here is how we can quickly correct it' with easy steps and methods. The only thing I didn't like was the amount of photos in the book. There are a lot of meaningless pictures that take up unneccessary space. I'm one of those people who likes to see a book get to the point without all those frills and extra things that aren't needed. But if you like more photos than written word, this is a good book for you - some folks are more visual than others :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    Supernanny: How to Get the Best from Your Children

    I am enjoying the Supernanny TV program and I have purchased Jo's book to go along with it. She offers a variety of helpful, very sensible tenets to keep in mind in addition to a number of specific techniques for challenging situations. I tried a few of her suggestions and have actually gotten more cooperation from my children. The eye to eye contact tip--getting down to their level and speaking calmly but firmly--has really helped me a lot as I often spend so much of my time shouting louder and louder from another room to 'parent deaf ears.' It's not that these tips are new...you already know most of them, but on automatic parenting mode you can easily forget they are options in a difficult moment with the children. I find myself saying, 'That makes so much sense...why didn't I think of that?' I was glad to see that 'Jo-jo' did not do as much finger wagging at the children as in previous episodes because I used to unconsiously do that all the time... and my children started wagging their finger at ME when the were making their point! I found that kids do as you do, not always as you say. One more comment--I will not use the naughty stool, the naughty mat or the naughty room or corner in my home...and, I am aware that this type of 'punishment' does 'work well' for some families and so does fear, guilt, blame, and shame. There are many other discipline options that serve to make it just as apparent to the children exactly who IS the parent! I agree with the first reviewer...there are more effective ways to teach the child right from wrong than attempting to place a tantruming out of control 2 year old on a naughty chair for 2 minutes which in my opinion teaches absolutely nothing. I have also recommended 3 excellent books based on Haim Ginott's Positive Discipline philosophy, that has endured the test of time for almost 50 years, suggesting alternatives to yelling, bribing, threatening, criticizing and punishing, thereby disciplining children (defined as teaching right from wrong...rather than synonymous with punishment) in ways that preserve the dignity of both the adult and the child. Contrary to the second reveiwer...Positive Discipline is NOT a wimpy parenting approach...it is a method strict with behavior, but permissive with feelings. I believe there is no one book's advice that works every time, in every family on every child. So pick and choose the strategies that seem to be a good fit for your personalities, family values, and parenting style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Good Parenting Book For Toddlers

    This is a good parenting book for parents of young children. Supernanny offers some helpful advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1