Customer Reviews for

Supernanny: How to Get the Best from Your Children

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Supernanny: How to Get the Best from Your Children

I have gotten a good deal of positive change in the behavior of my often defiant 3 year old son from reading this book. The suggestions are clear and simple. However, some of them were not a good fit for our family in that they seemed to bring on the compliance by insti...
I have gotten a good deal of positive change in the behavior of my often defiant 3 year old son from reading this book. The suggestions are clear and simple. However, some of them were not a good fit for our family in that they seemed to bring on the compliance by instilling fear and character attacks (finger-wagging criticism) rather than by using other more strict but positive discipline alternatives. I did learn many techniques that work, however the 'Naughty Stool' was not at all effective for us. Although much of the advice in this book does serve to change bad behavior, I prefer the book listed first with this one that your customers also bought called 'The Pocket Parent'. It is age focused... written exclusively for only 4 years of age...2's, 3's, 4's and 5's and teaches parents how to get cooperation from the child without resorting to scolding, bribing, threatening, and criticizing. Also the format of the 'Pocket Parent' is designed for quick reference with its short bullets of A-Z advice for all of the common challenging behaviors of toddlers.

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Supernanny: How to Get the Best from Your Children

I have found a number of the techniques in this book to work on my three children...however they are not new at all. The point comes across quite clearly that in order to change the child's behavior, the parent will have to change theirs first...For example, she sugge...
I have found a number of the techniques in this book to work on my three children...however they are not new at all. The point comes across quite clearly that in order to change the child's behavior, the parent will have to change theirs first...For example, she suggests using a firm but calm voice with eye contact, consistency, and giving consequences like 2 minutes on 'the naughty stool.' Jo Frost does gives some practical advice that works, however I don't care for the naughty stool (or mat) or time-out for that matter. Perhaps you too have tried to be consistent and stick to your guns by putting a screaming, kicking, biting toddler onto a time-out chair for 2 minutes...they are the ones in control!! My daughter will arch her back, won't bend at the waist and if she decides to sit down momentarily to catch her breath, she quickly become a limp noddle and literally slithers right onto the floor! This type of punishment does not work for me or my neighbor and I prefer more positive alternatives to gain compliance...and I am NOT a wimpy parent. I highly recommend 2 superior books that offer hundreds of specific positive discipline and communication skills...For parents of 2- to 6-year-olds, consider the quick reference A-Z troubleshooting guide titled 'THE POCKET PARENT'...for parents of older children, take a look at the classic communications guidebook called 'HOW TO TALK SO KIDS WILL LISTEN AND LISTEN SO KIDS WILL TALK...both very parent friendly and peppered with humor and personal trials and triumphs from the authors about their own children. Supernanny can be a but harsh, judgemental and condescending to the well-meaning parents searching for better child management strategies.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    Admittedly Clueless As Young Parents...No More!

    This book (along with the TV show of the same name), SUPERNANNY, has been a wake-up call for my husband and I...and is giving us some options to consider to put us as parents back in charge of our young children. We have 3 sons, ages, 6, 4 and 2 whom we both love to the 'Nth' degree. In a very conscious effort to not raise my children the way I was raised...which included spankings, shouting, Catholic guilt trips (such as...'God's going to punish you'), heavy shaming, and blaming...my husband and I thought we were choosing the more 'loving' approach to parenting our children. Due to SUPERNANNY we have now clearly realized that we are ALSO failing our children from the OTHER END of the parenting style specturm...as 'out of the box' overly permissive parents. Although our intentions were only loving and well-meaning...Jo Frost has clearly pointed out that it is actually OUR BEHAVIOR that has enabled our 'naughty' toddlers to literally 'rule the roost.' We now see that in order to change our children's behavior we are going to have to change our behavior first. Although we already knew that a child craves 100% of a parent's attention 100% of the time (that is the prize)...we just learned that if they can't get positive attention...NEGATIVE attention (from you...that gets you to stop what your doing even to scold them) is almost as good for them! That was another eye-opener for us. Although we are both very successful CEO's in our professional life...we admit (anonymously to the world) that we are in serious need of better options to discipline and communicate in general with our children. The truth is, our family seems much like the family with the 3 boys portrayed in an episode of the SUPERNANNY TV show where the little 3-year-old wandered out of the house-- where for a short time no one knew where he was. That was shocking and dangerous to say the least. We decided that before we'd resort to professional private counseling, we would select some materials to study on our own. The TV show mentioned Jo Frost's book which initially brought me to look at SUPERNANNY on line and the other reviewers offered some additional recommendations. We found the quick-read advice in THE POCKET PARENT to be extremely helpful and complimentary to SUPERNANNY. It's only been about a month...but things are much better in our home. Many thanks to ABC and Jo Frost for the wake-up call that things need to change in our house. It is actually quite hard and embarrassing to admit (via pen name) that Ivy League graduates have been clueless as far as disciplining their children. But, no child comes with a guaranteed operator's manual... and it is very comforting to know that we are NOT ALONE!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    I liked this book because it gives you tips and pointers on how

    I liked this book because it gives you tips and pointers on how to take care of your kids. Jo Frost said in her book that she has always thought that one day she would do some sort of job with kid and now she is giving great tips on how to control your kids. In her book it talks about how to toilet training, her top ten rules,dressing, setting boundaries, routines and rules, ages and stages, and many more. Jo sets a great goals for the family for them to achieve the expectations of the family. There are many many techniques in her book on how to raise a child and how not to. This is an easy read book and interesting one to. I think that it a great book for a new mother or family or anyone that is looking for a great how to take care of kids book. Over all it is a great book by Jo that will help anyone that is looking for a good how to take care of your kids book and I love kids!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    To Volunteer Ma Ma

    Just had to say, please give us a little more credit. Some of us moms understand enough about nursing to know that you can't strictly follow advice from any book because every baby is different and needs a different combination of things associated with feeding them...amount of time they eat, how often they eat, how long they sleep at night, etc. I'm glad that you know so much about breastfeeding and what the experts recommend. I, however, will do what is just right for me and my baby, as I hope every other mom will too. My daughter started sleeping 5 or more hours through the night at a month old. She is thriving, growing well, gaining weight as she should and is happy as can be. My pediatrician isn't concerned and I'm not going to wake her up every three hours throughout the night just because some expert somewhere says that I have to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    supernanny !!

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Loved the focus on raising a well behaved and enjoyable child!

    I loved the way this book focuses on child development and working with the skills and abilities a child has and helping them to grow in a positive manner. The author gives the impression that all children can be well behaved children when given the appropriate direction, authority and skills to do so. I feel the author really does enjoy children and helping them (and mom and dad) be the best they can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Great Book

    Ok to the breast feeding mom, when a child can pull up your shirt and say feed me it is time to stop?? or am I wrong. I would also like to state I breast feed my daughter till she was 6 months and guess what out of 3 kids she is the only one with jaw problems and we have had to spend over 4 thousand on her jaw and now another 6 thousand on her teeth for braces. My advice is each child is diffent and you have to do what is needed for the child. My other children were breast feed for a total of 2 months and they are fine. None of my kids have alergys and my children are heathly my oldest is now 18 and I never had a schedule I always feed on demand. Why feed a child who does not want to eat? All you do is make yourself soar and stress yourself an baby out. But to each there own. I have healthy children each one of them are great and active an into sports and good kids. Read the book read lots of books but...... do what is best for you and your child!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Techniques Worked For Me

    The transition from bed to crib was difficult until I used Jo's method. Now my son sleeps in his crib w/out a problem. The technique worked along with persistence. It paid off. Awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Amazing Book!!

    I found this book to be so helpful. No, I am not yet a mother but infact I am a nanny myself!! (Awesome Job I might add) This book gave me so many ideas that have really helped me out and made my job less stressful. Sometimes it's hard being the nanny, the kids always want mom or dad to do something. Well, I feel that this book has put Me more in charge around the house instead of the kids!! I would highly recommend this book to EVERYONE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2005

    Great Book

    This book is wonderful. I have recently experienced Jo Frost 'Supernanny' at work. She has turned our family around. All of the techniques that she used are in this book. They really do work. It takes both the parent and the child to make these techniques work. I feel that this book and the techniques are a must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Mother of 3, Grandmother of 6

    I think what many people miss is that when you become a new parent, the hospital does not hand out how to books. This book gives ideas, guidelines, suggestions, many helpfull tip for new parents & parents with siblings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    My Opinion Book About The Book

    I am not a parent yet, but I enjoyed the Supernanny television show. I watched one episode of Nanny 911 on Memorial Day Monday. I was also very disappointed with the Nanny 911 show itself. I looked the Nanny 911 book briefly at my local B & N store. I felt that it is too wordy. I feel that Jo Frost's methods are very simple and very easy to understood. If I were babysit and raise children of my own children, I will definitely use her techniques. If I were to discipline kids, I would like to use to the Naughty Chair, the Naughty Corner, the Naughty Room, the Naughty Step, or the Naughty Stool. It will depend on the age of the child and the nature of issue. While I am watching the television program, I feel Jo explains extremely well and has an adorable personality. I am keeping it as it is a reference in the future. I would strongly recommended it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    Great Insight Into Preschoolers

    I think this is an excellent book which proves to be helpful into the insight of small children. I have preschool twins and it has been a true blessing. I love the show as well. The time out spots shared in the book are working in our home and we have had great success with Jo's 'tone' secrets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    This book should be given to all parents at birth

    Jo Frost is excellent at giving desperate parents the techniques they need to discipline unruly children. My daughter is generally well behaved, but Jo's techniques have made the times when she does act up much easier to deal with. You can really tell that Jo Frost has a heart for children. Typically, if you see misbehaving children, look at the parents for the source. Parents who do not find the Supernanny method useful more than likely are not willing to stand up to their children consistently. Jo Frost tells parents, gently but firmly, how to make life a whole lot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    pay no attention to the first review

    The first reviewer couldn't be more off the mark. It is that type of parenting that has brought into this country a generation of young people who think that they must always have things their way and have no understanding of the word respect. As a school teacher, I would like to send one of these books to each of my kid's parents. I have used many of the techniques Jo presents in my classroom and they work. It amazes me to see what happens to some of my kids after they have been home with their parents for an extended period of time, such as over Christmas break. It takes me a couple of days to remind them that, in my class, there are consequences for actions and they will behave in a respectful manner. Jo's advice is easy to understand but it requires effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1