Customer Reviews for

Supernatural: Meetings with the Ancient Teachers of Mankind

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Revolutionary

    Frankly, I always had the impression that Graham Hancock was one of those New Age authors marshalling pseudo-scientific evidence for unprovable theories about grand conspiracies, which is why I never read anything by him. But since 1988, as a freelance journalist, I began reading the most objective reports I could find about UFOs and alien abductions and began writing for UFO Magazine (based in Los Angeles) And then I studied shamanism and began experimenting with psychedelics. Eventually, I decided (partly because of research, partly from mystical experiences, natural and induced) that the spiritual path that best explained the nature of the world was Gnosticism (per Stephan Hoeller's books on the subject). But I still had questions about who these beings were who were interferring with the human race. Hancock's work here will be eventually recognizes as a landmark in understanding who we are and our relationship with the supernaturals. And no one should think the latter's intentions are entirely benign, as some alien enthusiasts do. But buy this book now--it will blow your mind.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Seeing through the Third-Eye of a Spiritual Scientist

    This brave world explorer examines firsthand the prehistoric painted caves of Europe and South Africa and the paintings of Amazonian shamans while participating in their indigenous mind-altering ceremonies, that the same 'super-natural beings' are seen over and over again. How can that be if consciousness is not a flowing stream, a 'field,' of imagery common to mankind? Of course, it cannot no matter how the skeptics slice and dice it! Anyone worth their salt as a 'quantum' neuro-scientist, of whatever ilk (e.g., biology, psychology, physics, even theology) knows that all paranormal phenomena are screaming this singular truth at us today: 'We are one global human being!' That is, we share a unified field of mind that is only partitioned out into six billion bodies presently. We even have a name for this type of biological distribution throughout nature we call it 'fractal geometry.' Thus, it is not much of a leap when cell biologist Dr. Bruce Lipton declares in The Biology of Belief that our 'DNA/RNA' itself is constructed in accordance with this same mirror-image, self-replication, process of the world around, and within, us. I can't help but meditate on the wisdom of 'as above, so below, as within, so without,' and wonder where did that gem come from anyway -- a third-eye-open shaman? Hancock is right-on-target, therefore, when he forcefully declares: 'Gifted and experienced shamans the world over really do know more -- much more -- than they [scientists] do.' (p. 285) To the point: Is the world we see outside of us, also inside of us, but a fractal spiral at varying scales within the Mind of God? I mean do states of trance and 'vision' plants let us see behind the curtain of creation? Could we be peering into the neurological soul of invisible albeit 'real' realms -- the archetypal, ideal, home of gods? Indeed as this rhetorical question is asked in this book: 'Could it be that human evolution is not just the 'meaningless' process that Darwin identified, but something more purposive and intelligent that we have barely begun to understand?' Ya' think? Go figure! How about when we all learn the secret truths of the shamans' rituals and begin to focus our minds as a single laser of cutting-edge consciousness to solve our planet's problems of pollution? How about when we form larger spiritual communities to heal one another using the 'solar' power, the photosynthesis, contained within organic, natural, plants? That is to say, don't we grasp that we are a cancer-haunted, dis-eased society today because we live, and move, and have our being, for the most part, in a low-energy, highly-toxic, radioactive, asphalt jungle? Oh, now there's the deeper meaning to this astute explorer's 'supernatural' revelations -- we are tasked with restoring the Garden of Eden now! As Hancock himself proclaims, as I do profusely, 'This is hardly surprising since Christ was so obviously and so profoundly a shaman.' (p. 499).

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Zipf's Law

    According to Graham Hancock, the non-coding DNA in every living entity follows Zipf's Law which is a law formulated using mathematical statistics that applies to all of the spoken languages on Earth. If I understand correctly, he's suggesting that non-coding DNA also known to molecular biologists as "junk-DNA" might not be a random sequence, but instead an unknown language, or set of instructions from the makers. Fierce!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Brilliant

    An awesome book that really captivates the nature of our past and how we came to be. I raises many more questions then it answers and I love the mystery. A great read, I really recommend this book! Do not listen to the skeptics, they have no idea what they are talking about!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    Graham Hancock has explored in a massively breathtaking manner the depths, heights and expansiveness of altered states of consciousness with a an eye for detail, fairness, insight and undaunted exploration! Whether for the "advanced" reader of Hancock or a first timer, this book and it's nook book counterpart are equal additions to the shamanic journeying seeker of higher consciousness. Written with superb detail, great introspection, and a conscientious journalist's adeptness with choosing the right words and phrasing to dramatically and succinctly convey his thoughts, reflections, and positions on the rightful place of shamanic plants, more precisely ayahuasca with it's principal natural compound DMT, in the rise of thought, art, philosophy, religion, and the search for meaning from earliest man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For those not familiar with Graham Hancock's bestselling work, F

    For those not familiar with Graham Hancock's bestselling work, Fingerprints of the Gods (about ancient lost civilizations), will find this book a bit far off and too deep into the wormhole of explored far-out ideas of altered states of consciousness but it does question preconceived notions of what is reality and what is the mind. The main topic is ayahuasca and DMT. Reading the chapter titles alone might intrigue some and will definitely put off others. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    Drivel

    Books like Hancock's are nonsense. Any books whose titles include any of the words 'mysterious', 'secrets', 'Templar', 'alien', 'code', 'supernatural', 'mythic', 'cosmic', are just giving away the fact that they are unscientific rubbish. They are based on wishes and dreams, but we should all know that children wish, adults decide.

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    Courageous exploration of our shamanic history.

    I¿ve followed Graham Hancock¿s work through the years with great interest and appreciation, even when he has been on a few side trails. History is less easily tested than the ¿hard¿ sciences, but Hancock has made a career of gathering together many small bits and pieces of things to reveal the underlying patterns that were not as noticeable before, but now appear strongly and certainly to be true. ----- Always in pursuit of the presumed lost civilization that gave birth to our own, Hancock has been all over the world and even under the seas in his recent book, Underworld, searching for empirical evidence in ruins of human structures dateable to a time before the commonly accepted genesis dates of civilization. It was quite a twist for me, then, when I learned that he was writing a new book on a totally different angle. In Supernatural, Hancock takes us on an epic journey from the famous pre-historic cave art of Europe and rock art from Africa with its strange menageries of part human-part animal beings, through modern expressions of shamanistic beliefs and techniques, and the use of and research into psychoactive substances that seem to open a doorway into another reality. These things, he maintains, are all connected and should be given the consideration of representing something real rather than being casually dismissed as primitive superstition or ¿brain fiction¿ caused by chemical reactions in the molecules of the brain. ----- This is a philosophy I¿ve been personally exploring for some time, and it is quite a treat to have a researcher with the time, resources, and courage of Hancock, to forge so strongly ahead in a direction I was going. He has locked on to the same literary resources that propelled my own interest - Narby¿s ¿Cosmic Serpent¿, Shanon¿s epic ¿Antipodes of the Mind¿, Strassman¿s ¿DMT The Spirit Molecule¿, etc. Plus, he has now personally experienced the effects of those natural psychoactive plants that have opened a portal for humans for millenia, from magic mushrooms to iboga to ayahuasca. Far from being ¿pleasure trips¿, most of these substances are difficult and extremely unpleasant to use. The ritual and sacremental use of them is endured in order to experience the non- ordinary realities that they can reveal. Realities that seem to include non-human entities. Hancock takes us through the centuries with stories of angels, demons, fairies, goblins, and all the ¿other beings¿ called by various names through the centuries. Not the least of these are the modern concepts of extra-terrestrial aliens. He shows how these are all expressions of the same phenomenon, from the part-human/animal cave art depictions to the grey aliens of UFO¿s, and how their interactions with humans over time has seemingly evolved towards some purpose. ----- The first part of the book dealing with the cave art can get somewhat long and repetitive, but I realize that Hancock is being rather more careful these days to back up what he is saying with the most thorough research job he can achieve in order to deflect as much of the certain academic backlash as possible. ----- Supernatural is a very important book for those seeking a quantum jump forward into unknown but extremely compelling territory. Its subject matter will certainly cause it to be profoundly ignored or at most crassly denigrated by the orthodox scientific/academic community, but that is the nature of human nature. It takes someone with courage who has no turf to protect to simply go in pursuit of these things with the golden purpose of finding out what is real. That is certainly my goal, and it is a valued resource, as well as a pleasure and a comfort, to have Graham Hancock on that road with me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Excellent book, delves too much into religious symbolism

    I love the ayahuasca reflections and spirituality, but dont enjoy the part where he basically says that gods are real. And that smarter humans used to live on earth. Cmon now, be serious. Maybe he had one trip too many,but I love his writing and am tempted to go to the amazon myself now

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2