Customer Reviews for

The Supernaturalist

Average Rating 4.5
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Cute, Witty, and Fun

In this gem of teen speculative fiction, Cosmo Hill makes a death-defying escape from an abusive orphanage, only to be propelled into a rogue group of spook-chasing youths. As the plot unfolds, Cosmo learns about eerie similarities between life in the orphanage and his ...
In this gem of teen speculative fiction, Cosmo Hill makes a death-defying escape from an abusive orphanage, only to be propelled into a rogue group of spook-chasing youths. As the plot unfolds, Cosmo learns about eerie similarities between life in the orphanage and his new life as a Supernaturalist. Fans of Colfer¿s typical wit, humor, and creativity will again be thrilled. However, I have to admit that I was a much bigger fan of the Artemis Fowl books. This book had a more obvious opening for a sequel, and some of the plot twists were predictable, even if they were cute. If you are an Eoin Colfer fan, this book is definitely well worth a read. If you are new to the author, try Artemis Fowl first.

posted by The_hibernators on November 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Bad

two words......DONT GET!!!i hated it. i didnt even finish it. Please dont spend your money on this.its only 176 pages long and i got to 100. It was a bad book dont get!

posted by 5640623 on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute, Witty, and Fun

    In this gem of teen speculative fiction, Cosmo Hill makes a death-defying escape from an abusive orphanage, only to be propelled into a rogue group of spook-chasing youths. As the plot unfolds, Cosmo learns about eerie similarities between life in the orphanage and his new life as a Supernaturalist. Fans of Colfer¿s typical wit, humor, and creativity will again be thrilled. However, I have to admit that I was a much bigger fan of the Artemis Fowl books. This book had a more obvious opening for a sequel, and some of the plot twists were predictable, even if they were cute. If you are an Eoin Colfer fan, this book is definitely well worth a read. If you are new to the author, try Artemis Fowl first.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Loved it

    Read the book and loved it! Should have made it into a series

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Yearning to Read Review

    Cosmo Hill, nosponsor, orphan at Clarissa Frayne. Guinea pig for new chemicals and medicines. One of hundreds of thousands who long to be free of the dreadful orphanages. He has one friend, Ziploc. Well, if you could call him a friend. He was a nosponser like the rest of them, and the only one with the audacity to talk more than needed. If anything, Ziploc would get him into more trouble than he already was.


    And that's exactly what happens. When Ziploc, chained to Cosmo, jumps off a building to avoid being taken back to Clarissa Frayne, Cosmo is pulled with him. With the accident comes terrible consequences - Ziploc dies almost immediately from the force of the impact. But Cosmo...Cosmo is different. He's alive, yes, but he's also seeing things. The little blue creatures around him are sucking the life out of him - he can see the life flowing through their small bodies and back into the sky. It is then that the Supernaturalists come to Cosmo's rescue, saving his life and killing many of the life-sucking Parasites. Cosmo soon discovers that he and only a few other people can see these blue Parasites, and he is pulled right into a mystery that he never would have dreamed existed.




    If you've read my review for Colfer's newer novel, Airman, you know that I'm a fan. This was my second Colfer book and once again, I was thoroughly impressed. I picked it up because I needed a filler for my free time, unsure of what I would find behind the cover of the book or if I would like it. However, I found within the first twenty pages that I loved it. Not only is it written fantastically well, but it has an atmosphere that was entirely unexpected. It takes place in a futuristic world, one where you would expect people to be living large. A world where everything is perfect. Where everyone has jobs and everyone is happy. At least, that's what you would believe if you lived in the upper class of society. But this book takes place in the slums, where food is scarce, clothes are torn and used thin. Where children are trying to survive and gangs are strong and hard and cold.


    The characters are believable, even with their strange, futuristic attributes and/or their flaws. Stephan is by far my favorite. Dark, handsome, tall...trying to be a leader but unsure of how exactly to help those around him. He loves his friends with a sacrificial love and only wants to rid the world of the Parasites that are sucking the life out of us all.


    And the writing... Colfer is one of those writers who knows what he's doing. He's got the story structure, the characters - and the style. He is his own voice, and his voice carries like a shout in the mountains - one that echoes and echoes and echoes. One that will always be remembered.


    I encourage you to read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    The Supernaturalists

    Have you ever seen a creature that could absorb life force or even kill someone in a second? In the book, "The Supernaturalists" by Eoin Colfer is a great book that is fit for readers who love science-fiction. This greatly written book is about a boy named Cosmo who has interesting traits including his friends as well. These people/kids fight the dangers of their world which are parasites and greedy agents. This book is futuristic and exciting. This book also has a good ending which would make people think more. The excitements in this book are really the times where something dramatic happens such as when Cosmo the main character gets shocked and almost dies and this whole story amazingly takes place in one-years from know which also makes the book fun and interesting. Throughout the book, everything including the characters change a lot which is the main part of the ending as well. This book is also an inspiring one that can change how you live by effort or by even, by just your mind. I suggest this book to any reader in the world but mostly to people who think a lot and love science-fiction.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Undeniable Excellence

    Readers of this novel, do not despair. Eoin Colfer has simply outdone himself once more. Twists, amazing character background, and suspense all contribute to this book's overall perfection. I could not deny my mind the honor of reading such epic brilliance. As for my fellow reviewers, you shame the NOOK products. A device of education, used by none other than unintelligent fiends looking to slander the good Colfer name with poor grammar. This is a shopping site! Get a job at a drug store. That is my opinion of your reviewing skills. Also, try the book "Airman" for a great read. Farewell, amateurs in intelligence! Obi-wan Ravioli, away!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Bad

    two words......DONT GET!!!i hated it. i didnt even finish it. Please dont spend your money on this.its only 176 pages long and i got to 100. It was a bad book dont get!

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Still Leaves A Positive Mark In My Head!

    The Supernaturalist was the very first book I ever read in middle school and I believe it was this book that made me to start to read like a brainiac maniac! The plot, characters, and setting were surprisingly great for a not a big sci-fi fan. Colfer's imagination took him to another level with this book. It's still my favorite by Colfer. To this day I still read for fun. The Supernaturalist is a book you won't want to return to your library without a fight.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    I just finished reading this book, and I have to say that I absolutely LOVED IT! The plot was amazing, and not like anything I've ever seen before, the characters were funny and original, and actually acted like real people. And the writing was (as always, Mr. Colfer) wonderful. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Hi

    It was a good book but Cosmo Hill is a little creepy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    ...........

    .......

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    GREAT BOOK! Must have sequel. Too good of a book to not

    Great like the part where cosmo kisses mona.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Bought a Nook for this!

    I read this book in middle school about 7 years ago. I read alot of books then but this was the only one I truly remembered! It is a great story that will leave a positive impression and memory for years to come!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    A must read! Highly reccomended!

    The supernaturalist is a book for any reader. It has a bit of everything. Its full of adventure, tragedy, lessons,and suspense. This book is an amazing story of a boy, growing up with a rather unique family.His life is full of adventures and survival. A beginning that will grasp you in the first paragraph. Eoin has done it again; just like he did in Artemis Fowl. This is a book that is worth reading over,and over, and over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    Good Read

    The Supernaturalist, by Eion Colfer. Publisher: Hyperion/Miramax Kid Pub. Date: 04/20/2005. Young Adult Fiction.

    Cosmo Hill, a teenage boy in the future, is an orphan. He lives in Satellite City. In his orphanage he and the other boys are used to test experimental drugs, weapons, and other various items. When Cosmo escapes the orphanage and almost dies he begins to see small blue creatures that seem to eat the life of the unsuspecting people of Satellite City. He joins the Supernaturalists, a group set on destroying the blue creatures.

    This book showed me a darker side to life. A harder and less relaxed one full of the struggles for safety and happiness. This book affected me by helping me see how different other peoples' lives are. Not everyone immediately gets what they want, and often dreams are never realized.

    The setting in this book, Satellite City, plays a significant role in the development of the characters. The futuristic backdrop and technology play into the book frequently as the characters use technology and have it used on them. Eion Colfer makes the setting real by giving good details and making you feel as if you were there. The author is able to pull you in to the book and make you want to keep reading.

    This book was really well written in my opinion. It was interesting the entire way through and had no dull points. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of science fiction because of its fast pace and likeable characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    MAKE MORE.

    More Supernaturalist books, Eoin Colfer! This one was amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    To the 3 below me

    Get real. you guys are soo wierd.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Loser

    Ash an Ashlay are all mine

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Delila to gabe

    Want to have sex at son of neptune lovr you not Loser

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Eoin Colfer has done it again

    First Artemis Fowl and now another amazing book. Colfer never ceases to amaze me with the books he writes. In his books, they put you in an amazing world that is impossible to forget. I cannot wait until he writes another book.
    - Eoin Colfer's biggest fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    2 results below me

    Dont judge others if you cant even spell yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11