Customer Reviews for

The Supernaturalist

Average Rating 4.5
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Cute, Witty, and Fun

In this gem of teen speculative fiction, Cosmo Hill makes a death-defying escape from an abusive orphanage, only to be propelled into a rogue group of spook-chasing youths. As the plot unfolds, Cosmo learns about eerie similarities between life in the orphanage and his ...
In this gem of teen speculative fiction, Cosmo Hill makes a death-defying escape from an abusive orphanage, only to be propelled into a rogue group of spook-chasing youths. As the plot unfolds, Cosmo learns about eerie similarities between life in the orphanage and his new life as a Supernaturalist. Fans of Colfer¿s typical wit, humor, and creativity will again be thrilled. However, I have to admit that I was a much bigger fan of the Artemis Fowl books. This book had a more obvious opening for a sequel, and some of the plot twists were predictable, even if they were cute. If you are an Eoin Colfer fan, this book is definitely well worth a read. If you are new to the author, try Artemis Fowl first.

posted by The_hibernators on November 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Bad

two words......DONT GET!!!i hated it. i didnt even finish it. Please dont spend your money on this.its only 176 pages long and i got to 100. It was a bad book dont get!

posted by 5640623 on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    These reviews are weird. Its a good book, idiots.

    Why don't you have common sense?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Ehh

    Ehh

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not Bad Set in a distopic future where a fugitive orphan, Cosmo

    Not Bad

    Set in a distopic future where a fugitive orphan, Cosmo Hill, joins a group of misfits, the Supernaturalist, in order to survive this unforgiving future as well as hunt down these paranormal creatures, the Parasites, that are sucking the life-force out of people. In classic Colfer style, the group realises that they've seriously misjudged the nature of the Parasites. Add a mega-corporation into the mix that has an interest in the Parasites and the Supernaturalists and you have a unique and weird story. There are some funny moments, the characters are likeable enough, and there are some twists in the plot to keep it from being predictable. However I won't go as far as to say this is an "omg, u hav 2 get this title!!!;)xoxo". It's decent enough and Colfer fans will like.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Want a Book That Does Not Have Typos

    I thought this book was ok, it was not the greatest book ever written, though. It was a little weird for my taste, but all in all if a person loved this book than more power to them.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    NOT EOIN COLFFER'S BEST

    Not Eoin Colffer's best but 'The Supernaturalist' is readable and entertaining. Nothing in the vein of the Artemis Fowl series, the story takes place in the future, in highly industrialized and dehumanized earth. The characters, orphan Cosmo Hill, Bartoli baby Ditto, etc are sympathetic but altogether nothing special. Still, if you're interested in fantasy and science fiction, this book is okay. I liked it but I won't be reading it again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    Good, but he's done better

    I am a fan of Colfer's Artemis Fowl series, but this book fell short of the charm and meticulously chosen language I've come to expect from him. The Supernaturalists paints a colorful picture of an intricately sculpted world, however, the ending proved to be a major disappointment to me. Something happened that just seemed out of place, not for the character, but for the situation. Wanton disregard for character life is never appealing, especially in one who has exploited so much reader empathy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    Not one of Eoin's bests

    Eoin colfer is one of my favorite authors. He alwsys seems to be able to grab my attention. But this book was was not the same. It was good don't get me wrong, but it didn't intrigue me as much.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    a boy in space

    The supernaturalist is about a boy in space. I liked it but its not as good as Artemis Fowl, Harry Potter or Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1