Customer Reviews for

Supernaturally (Paranormalcy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

This was a great read and didn't disappoint. The writing is beautiful, the story was captivating. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

posted by BookaholicTracy on July 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

While Supernaturally was a fun and worthwhile follow up to Paranormalcy, I found myself frustrated with a few aspects of the book.

Kiersten White is back with her sharp wit and quirky phrases that come together for an overall quick and entertaining read. If you thought Evie in Paranormalcy was hilarious, then you'll probably think the same of Supernaturally. White has one of those writing styles th...
Kiersten White is back with her sharp wit and quirky phrases that come together for an overall quick and entertaining read. If you thought Evie in Paranormalcy was hilarious, then you'll probably think the same of Supernaturally. White has one of those writing styles that has the tendency to suck you in and keep you there, and I definitely enjoyed my return trip to the world she created in Paranormalcy.

With that being said, I didn't enjoy Supernaturally quite as much as Paranormalcy. The thing that bothered me the most about Supernaturally is also one of the things that I like most about White as an author. Confused? I thought so. Let me explain. There were many times when Evie drove me crazy in the book. Keeping secrets from your boyfriend? Stupid. Justifying your actions with flawed logic to avoid a guilty conscience? Immature. Avoiding your friend (who's about as clinically depressed as they come) in order to pursue secret agendas? Selfish. I wanted to grab Evie and shake her a few times and shout What are you thinking, girl? This is SO going to come around to bite you in the behind!

At first, I wanted to chalk up my frustration with Evie to the ever-dreaded second book flop. After all, a great first book like Paranormalcy has got to be hard to top. But then I got to thinking...(and here comes my explanation of the whole love/hate thing): are people ever completely perfect in real life? Do they always make the right decisions? Nope. Do they frequently act like they're dumber than a box of rocks even though you know they know better? Yep. Cue light bulb and sudden realization. While I hated many of the decisions that Evie made in Supernaturally, I loved that White was able to flesh out her main character in a way that showcased both her good and bad sides because, let's face it...people are a pretty twisted bunch. We don't tend to operate in extremes. We go back and forth and inside out and upside down and who knows what else. And Evie's journey isn't over yet. She still has another book, which makes me think that we haven't seen the last of the caring, passionate, heartwarming girl that I loved so much in Paranormalcy.

An element of Supernaturally that I really enjoyed was the development of the minor characters...specifically: Jack (who's new) and Arianna (who we first met in Paranormalcy). Like Vivian played the part of being Evie's foil in the first book, Jack played a somewhat similar role. I didn't really realize this until the end of the book, and since I don't want to spoil anything for you guys, I won't elaborate much, but I did enjoy the addition of Jack's character to the story line. On the other hand, Arianna's character kind of fell into the role that the mermaid Lish had originally had...that of best friend to Evie. But unlike Lish, Arianna is a much darker character. Lish was born a paranormal and seemed to be proud of what she was, while Arianna, being a vampire, was once human and had no desire to stop being human.She was forced into the (un)life she now has, and you can really see the effect that has on her in Supernaturally, which made her into the type of complex character that I like reading about.

Overall, my current recommendations concerning this series are these: if you enjoyed the first book, then you should definitely give the sequel a shot. At the same time though, if you, like me, find yourself not as fond of the sequel, don't give up hope.

posted by natalierenae on July 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This was a great read and didn't disappoint. The writing is beautiful, the story was captivating. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    A Super Sequel

    Evie's story continues in SUPERNATURALLY and the kick-butt character's trademark wit, cleverness and heart is on full display in the second installment of this trilogy. Evie faces new challenges in this story and new temptations as she seeks deeper answers to who she is and to who's causing so much trouble, both in the faerie realms and the real world. This book is funny and clever, and also deep and thoughtful. What I love best about Kiersten's books is that they make you laugh, cry AND think. She creates this fantastical world with witty characters and unusual creatures and then she presents them with true moral dilemmas. I love how in SUPERNATURALLY Kiersten explores temptation and choice - it reminds me of Dumbledore's famous line: "Soon we must all face the choice between what is right and what is easy."

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!

    I recomend it to everybody because this is THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Supernatrally

    Lemme just start by saying #1...this book is oficially my favorite book ever!!!!!! And #2... i stayed up way late reading this book! PLEASE BEWARED THERE MAY BE SOME SPOILERS!

    In this book evie gets an offer to return to IPCA from raquel. Evie thinks about it and later says yes, but she does not tell Lend or Arriana so they start to get suspisios. And did i
    mention that IPCA is no longer really that dependent on faeries, they found a teen who can travel the faerie paths even though he is.not a faerie. This teen, jack, turns out to be quite the pain in the buns for evie. Lend and Evie have 2 fights in this book(the first fight was not bad but the second fight was bad, but it does eventully work out for them, which made me so happy!) And i almost forgot but Reth tells Evie about her parents. Oh and Evie gets bit by a Vampire.(that was one of my favorite moments, not the fact that she got bit but who saved her.)

    I gave this book all five stars because it is fantastic!!!!!! You should really get this book because it still has the funny comments, witty charrectors, charrectors that you love, action moments, plots that keep you guessing, and Evie still Bleeps!(in fact Lend said bleep in this book!!) So if you are still on the fence about getting this book, then i don't know what to say.

    Please excuse all spelling mistakes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    I love this book

    This book was not as good as the first onebut I still loved it. I HIGLY recommend it for kids around 10- 11. If you liked the lsst one you will love thid one too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I love this bleepin book!

    This book was bleepin fantistic. I had to buy it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Shocking

    This book was almost as good as the first! I loved getting to know Arianna better, and Jack was a whopping surprise from beginning to end.. speaking of the end, i never expected it. it completely turns you around to think one thing..then suddenly your spun around again! The ending shocked me! i would recommend this book to anyone, along with the first. you defintely need to read the first before you read this one. i am eagerly sitting on the edge of my seat for the next book :D if you like adventure then go and pick this up, i know you'll love it like i did :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    IT IS SO GOOD :)))) <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Awesome book like this read these

    If u like this book read the hunger games, maximum ride series, the host ( dont be scared of its size its the size of my teachers world websters dictionary great book movie coming.out in 2013), tomarro girls, nightshade thanks read the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Bookish Compulsion Review: Supernaturally This was a fast and

    A Bookish Compulsion Review: Supernaturally
    This was a fast and fun read. Taking up just a little bit after Paranormalcy left off it brings us through the trials and tribulations of Evie attempting to be &ldquo;normal&rdquo; in both a very paranormal environment, and with her own personal differences. It is a very teen oriented viewpoint, but well written enough, I feel, to be enjoyable to all ages. The pendulum swing from enjoying the before un-tasted &ldquo;normality&rdquo; to the realization that sometime&mdash;even with a locker&mdash;everyday high school life can be a bit boring (especially if one is used to chasing after vampires, hags, and tangling with the fay) was a nice inverse, and I think it allowed Evie to find her own balance.
    The character conflicts, interactions, and development in this offering ranged the gamut, from the teen angst of fear of losing your boyfriend, to the classic finding of roots, it played up the strengths in our characters and revealed their weakness, making them feel quite real; if not always wise. I did miss some of the interaction that was so well done in the first book. Lend especially got the fuzzy end of the lollypop in this book, flattening a before rounded character, due in part to Evie&rsquo;s insecurities and his lack of involvement in the plot due to distance. I also felt that there was no good substitution for Lish; while I feel that the attempt was made to have Arianna fill that gap, it was an incomplete fit for me.
    The world that was already introduced into this series gets expanded and fleshed out in this book, both the physical landscape and the sociological concepts that I feel make this work so compelling. This is not a book of black and whites, but shaded with all variations of lovely gray. The new characters introduced into this volume both exemplify and defy this concept of gradient; and while I can&rsquo;t really say I was surprised at the end, I did feel that this book was well-woven.
    One of the impetuses behind picking up this series again is that the third and final book in this trilogy is coming out July 24th 2012, and as great as I remembered the first book to be, I hadn&rsquo;t gotten around to reading the second. I am very glad I rectified that situation and look eagerly forward to the conclusion, Endlessly, even while I mourn the ending of such a wonderful series.
    This book made five stars for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    This book rocks!

    Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeey! This book is soooooooooooooooooo COOL! I finshed this book and I can't wait for the next book to come out! I am only 12 and I can tell you that I will keep reading the series and nothing else until the very last book! Evie is so cool and when she was with Reth, I was going crazy! I am going nuts waiting to read this next book! WHEN IS IT GOING TO BE ABLE TO BE PURCHESED! I CAN'T HOLD BACK THE SUSPENSE! When the book comes out I will be the first to buy it! I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVE THIS SERIES! WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! BEST BOOKS EVER! READ IT, I TOTALLY RECEMEND THIS SERIES TO EVERY ONE!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Love this book!!!!

    This book is absolutelt amazing!!! I really enjoyed reading Supernaturally and I can not wait for the final book to come out. For those of you who have not read paranormalcy, it is a great book and a must read. Supernaturally is an amazing book and i hope every one of you reading this review will read this book because it is so AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended - a must read!

    I love this series. A must read if you have read the first one already! It has great structure and its a very full book! Characters are great and very good described! Overall GREAT book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    <3

    Best book ever!!!!!! A great read of adventure and excitement!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Sarah

    She smiles and laugh,"this is my house!",she laughs twirling around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Riley

    *she rolls in on her skateboard*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Light Humor and despair and hope in a cute series

    Grest quick reads. I'm 30 and enjoy getting out if my head. These books definitely do the trick for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    HOLY FREKING BLEEP!!!!

    I just finished this very awesome book!!! I love how Evie says bleep instead of cusing! Nice touch Keirsten! The charecters have one my heart in this action,romantic,comedy bundle of awesomeness. Im so anxious to read the third book!!! This is a definite must read!!!!!!!!!!! You go White!!! Love,Courtney Burch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Fast paced, funny...fantastic read!

    Evie is in love with her boyfriend and not afraid to take on the entire fae kingdom to save him and her friends. Very much like the tv show Buffy and the Vampire slayer in that it is well written and keeps you guessing. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Amazing

    I read it in one day becase i luved it sooo much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6